transport road bike froms sydney to melbourne

Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:45
ThreadID: 37623 Views:6239 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
hi just wondering if anybody knows cheapest way of getting a roadbike from sydney to melbourne . besides riding it

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:50

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 10:50
pushing it?
AnswerID: 193954

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:13

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:13
FollowupID: 451873

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:30

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:30
Start with quotes from Toll and Finemores . Bike crates are required and are available for $50 or less from bike shops .
AnswerID: 193979

Reply By: Rhys - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:20

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:20
Check in the back of Australian Motorcycle News a number of companies advertise interstate bike transport, Rhys.
AnswerID: 194007

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:51

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:51
Try a few removals co.
I used to work in one and every now and then we would transport a bike ,dunno how much but
AnswerID: 194013

Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:29

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:29
have a look in the motor cycle section on ebay - there are guys that advertise on there for transport of bikes between states

Boc

AnswerID: 194019

Reply By: Davo - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:42
...ask a mate with a Maloo Ute & Radar Detector to do it with the bike in the back ??

Seriously:
1. Apart from that - ask someone like Peter Stevens Motorcycles how they'd do it
2. check out the yellow pages ;oP www.yellowpages.com.au
3. or you could simply "Google" it and get this:
rider links>/a>
orcycle logistics>/a>
orcycle carriers>/a>
movers>/a>
esonly>/a>

Hope this helps ;o)

Davo
AnswerID: 194033

Follow Up By: Davo - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:45

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:45
oops -stuffed the links up;o)
...ask a mate with a Maloo Ute & Radar Detector to do it with the bike in the back ??

Seriously:
1. Apart from that - ask someone like Peter Stevens Motorcycles how they'd do it
2. check out the yellow pages ;oP www.yellowpages.com.au
3. or you could simply "Google" it and get this:

netrider links
motorcycle logistics
motorcycle carriers
ezymovers
bikesonly

Hope this helps ;o)

Davo
FollowupID: 451925

Reply By: jonboy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:17

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:17
Bikesonly is the main transport company and very cheap
www.bikesonly.com.au Give them a try
Cheers Jon
AnswerID: 194044

Follow Up By: Member - Rob P (NSW) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:32
G'day,
Also try Allwest Motorcycle Transport.Ask for Geoff or Jason.Tell them Rob from BIKEBIZ put you on to them,might cost more!!! Haha.But seriously,They are highly respected in the motorcycle industry and I have personally dealt with them for the last 8 years.Cost should be around $250 to $300 with insurance(but check with them)Dont have the number at hand as I am at home preparing to leave for my round OZ trip.I am sure they will look after your needs.If you cant find their number email me and I will get it for you.Hope this helps.!MPG:3!
FollowupID: 451938