Darling River Run

Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 14:23
ThreadID: 37628 Views:2999 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
On our return trip from the Strzelecki we are looking at running along the Darling River from Menindee through to Bourke. Is this a well used track & are there places to camp. Help would be much appreciated.

Reply By: Peter B - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:17

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:17
Dave, we did this trip two years ago, we stayed (bush camped) along the access road into menindee lakes, just pick a spot. Also Trilby Station near Louth has spots next to the Darling, also there is a spot about twenty k's north of the Tilpa pub where tracks lead to the river. If you google Outback Beds, there are lots of places to stay. Enjoy your trip.
Regards, Peter B.
AnswerID: 193978

Follow Up By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:24

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 16:24
Hey Peter, its just like you New South Welshmen...
Googled Outback Beds to find "guide to outback Australia" and it only covers NSW.
There are some nice spots outback in other States. LOL
FollowupID: 451882

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:50

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:50
We camped at the bourke weir, bit hard to find but about 32k sth of bourke, and also at Tilpa, straight across river from pub, great shady spot.
Roads were reasonable gravel, but that was 2 years ago, but i believe they turn to chit when wet.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 451912

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:18
Forget Trilby Station for bush camping, we couldn't have been more disappointed, you might as well stop anywhere along the river for nothing.
FollowupID: 453384

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:31

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:31

We have been along bits of it at different times over the years, and have camped at Louth once, on the western side of the river, just north of the town.

Plenty of camping spots along the river, and if you contact the Bourke Info Centre www.visitbourke.com/BourkeAbout.html they used to have a screed "The Darling River Run" which we found handy.

Well worth the trip - but with the usual warning not to camp in Wilcannia.

Max

AnswerID: 193980

Reply By: Hayjude - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:32

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 15:32
We did a trip during the last school holidays which included from Louth to Wilcannia and then on the bitumen to Broken Hill. We camed at the weir at Tilpa which was quite nice. Also Killara sheep station about 25 Km North East of Tilpa. Great camping with reasonable facilities right on the banks of the Darling. approx 10 - 15 sites. Lived in Menindee for 35 years until 1997. Good camping spots on the western side of the river between Menindee and the Main Weir. Camping at the Main Weir or on the lake are good also. Wouldn't bother camping at the NP. Most of the properties on either side of the river from Wilcannia to Menindee will allow campers and some good spots. Brothers own the servo and transport in town. Happy to pass on any more info if you need it.
AnswerID: 193981

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:01

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:01
The Darling River Run rates as on of our most enjoyable short holidays. I say short because it only took about 10 days from Sydney.

As was suggested above contact Bourke Tourist Info they have a guide put together with contact details for a number of properties that allow camping.

Spend a night in Louth and check out the reflection from the headstone. It's in teh guide you get from Bourke but ask at Shindy's Inn ofr details. They may even put you onto or provide a guide.

AnswerID: 193996

Reply By: Witchdoctor - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:55

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:55
Thanks for all the information guys, looks like we will be adding the Darling run into our return trip.

AnswerID: 194003

Reply By: wilcanniares - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:51
There is also a National Park Campsite right on the river approx 40km north of Wilcannia on the Bourke rd on the EASTERN side. It's a nice spot with toilets/gas bar-b-q plenty of bush and should be reasonable water ( dropping rapidly). Advice re wet weather is correct very little rain will close the roads.

Road Menindee-Wilcannia, personally prefer eastern rd, Western is better but not as interesting. Looking for fuel in Wilcannia, find the BP- they are currently 17c yes 17c per litre cheaper than the Shell for unleaded.
enjoy

(and Wilcannia is NOT the scary place people like to think it is)
AnswerID: 195151

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:17

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:17
QUOTE: "(and Wilcannia is NOT the scary place people like to think it is)"

It was about 3 weeks ago when we were there!
FollowupID: 453383

Follow Up By: wilcanniares - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:21

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 14:21
thanks Shaker, i've lived here for 5 years and we hear all sorts of stories, many from people who have never been here or haven't for years. Would genuinely like to know what it was that resulted in yr comments. There are currently plans to expand and revitalise the caravan park amongst other things and any genuine input on improving perceptions of the town would be appreciated Happy for you to contact direct if you prefer
FollowupID: 453611

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:09

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 17:09
I guess it was the initial impression with barred up businesses, closed & burnt out shops, supermarket that you have to buzz to get in. Then there was the drunken indigenous Australians swearing, cursing & fighting ...... but other than that, it was OK.
We had to go to the mechanics premises opposite the park, just up from the courthouse & being court day I suppose there were plenty in the vicinity. WE did get pretty nervous at one stage when a group came towards us swearing & carrying on, but we avoided eye contact & maybe a conflict.
FollowupID: 453641

Follow Up By: wilcanniares - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:45

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:45
thanks Shaker for the honesty and for taking the time to answer. Court day tends to be busy but it also coincided with pension/pay/centrelink payments and unfortunately that does increase the incidence of the things you mentioned (like Bondi after a footy match on saturday)
The swearing group wouldn't have been interested in you, just say g'day and they'd probably have answered the same.
There is no "buzzed in" supermarket ????? they don't have that although the heavy screen door is painted white and keeps buildings cool in summer and the flies (well most) out.
The burnt building is a major issue here. It burnt down 4 years ago and is heritage listed. The insurance company CGU refused to pay out and the owner has since gone bankrupt. CGU have lost business in the region because of this an a few other cases.
The other barred buildings have been deserted for 10-15 years now. A town of 600 doesn't support that much commerce when you can catch a bus to Broken Hill in the morning and return in the afternoon for a total of $10 dollars.
Had some people in town recently from Sydney who commented on the same thing then realised that their own home in Glebe Sydney has bars on the back windows. Take a drive down Parramatta rd through Leichardt/ Stanmore and the old shops are the same. Guess here is is a little more obvious because there isn't much else to take the attention.

Thanks again for yr comments
FollowupID: 453778