Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 17:07
jennifer78
Hi Guys, Mick here,
Taking off next month travelling around Australia and will be looking at working. I am a carpenter and would like to hear your thoughts regarding getting work. Any information would be greatly appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Kevin H (WA) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:17
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 18:17
Mick
Not sure where you are starting from, but if you head west you should find that there is plenty of work for you.
Have a great trip, im gunna do it one day.
Kevin
Follow Up By: AJB - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:03
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:03
You should be able to get work fairly easy with the way the building industry is at the moment. I did it for about 5 years (1995-2000) and mainly worked in the NWof WA. Did a little in the SW of WA but prefered the NW. Took a basic kit with me as NW work is mainly steel so Nail gus etc were rarely used. Now I would take an impulse (didn't have one then). Used screw guns (Metabo) and cordless drills etc. Basically the same stuff chippies use everywhere. Building materials are different but building principles are th same. As far as contacts for work, you just have to ask around and be prepared to move on as there were a few rip off merchants around but no more than anywhere else.
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:20
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:20
Thanks very much for that Kevin and AJB. We are heading out from
Sydney and have lined up work at Coonabarabran. From there we should be heading up the east coast and then inland. Looking at taking the basic
tools and definately the gas gun. AJB, Did you find that most of those that employed you out there were understanding of the fact that you were travelling through and you weren't there for a long period of time?
Follow Up By: AJB - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:27
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 21:27
I did not set out to work and was actually only heading off for about 4 months. I met up with a contractor and life changed from that point. All the people I worked for knew I would not be there forever but I did and do commit to a project and generally see it through. I also give notice of my intentions.If you can say that you'll be there for say 6 weeks then the potential employer can plan for this. Staying longer is better as you get a lot out of small/remote areas. Sometimes things did not work out with a couple of employers but most times they did. That is the same everywhere. Generally if you provide a good service then the employers/contractors are happy to take you on for any period. Initially you have to settle in to their particular methods but building is not brain surgery!
Anyway just get out and do it. You wont regret it and will return a better person with a wealth of experiences and additional knowledge.
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:34
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:34
obviously a man speaking from experiance.thanks for the advice and i cant wait to get going and give it a go for myself.
Reply By: GU - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:46
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 19:46
Hello Mick.
My wife and I are leaving Melb on a working holiday around Oz for an indefinite period latish in 2007.
It was something that we had been thinking about for some time and were most fortunate to catch a seminar by Barry Brebner of WORKABOUT AUSTRALIA who has set up a working website for people to be able to log onto and the web site will show where any jobs are as
well as contact names and phone numbers.
I appreciate that you have a trade and I certainly hope that you get work anywhere you want but I thought I'd mention the website because it may offer you work of some sort in a particular area or region that you like to stay in but may not be able to get any carpentry work.
The website covers lots of work from say the hospitality industry, tourism, crop harvest etc.
Hope you can use it and all the best on your travels.
site is www.work about australia.com.au
Would love to read on the
forum how you get on.
Cheers. GU
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:22
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:22
thbaks very much for that, we will be looking at the website over the next couple of weeks before we head off - I hope that you and your wife have a good one in 07
Reply By: Platz - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:10
Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 20:10
Hi Mick,
Just came back from WA There was a saying there that the only people unemployed are those that don't want to work. As a tradie I don't think you will have any problems out west.
Have a great trip
Reply By: LastAussieWorker - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:39
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:39
mate there is heaps work around the bush country areas
made redundent at 56 could not find a job. went on holiday with the caravan and asked if we wanted to work in Gayndah and mrs and me not stopped working. we love it and come back home to get new van and heading out for wheat harvest working in silos.
post here which helped heaps find work in bush
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:30
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:30
thanks for that,working in bush areas is what i want to do as i hunt a little bit so if i can combine the two would be wonderful.
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:28
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:28
Carpenters desparately needed in
Port Hedland . Plan on $50 per hour . Caravan accommodation will be tight until October . Book ahead for
Cook Point Caravan
Park . Avoid the South Hedland parks .
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:53
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:53
Probably won't be making it to WA until the middle of 07 - carpentry work or any work for that matter shouldn't run out by then should it?
Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Rotord - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:36
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:36
Expect an even greater shortage throughout 07/08 .
Follow Up By: jennifer78 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:50
Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 15:50
thats good to know