NT SPEED DERESTRICTION UNDER SERIOUS THREAT!

Submitted: Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:32
ThreadID: 37645 Views:4703 Replies:12 FollowUps:32
[B][I]I'm inserting this post around motoring forums to alert interested road users, particularly those in the NT.[/I][/B]

[B]Whilst I personally support the introduction of a rural default speed restriction for NT, it must be made 'quite clear' to MP's, that the adopted rural default NOT be applied on roads to which a speed derestriction sign is posted. [/B]

This means NT can then have BOTH a 'rural default speed restriction' AND 'speed derestriction allowance' as it applies right now, but only to a specific length of road, that is, where it is posted.

[B]The speed derestriction sign (//) is an international road traffic sign, it's meaning in the UN Convention on Road Traffic, Road Signs and Signals "END OF ALL LOCAL PROHIBITIONS IMPOSED ON MOVING VEHICLES", hardly 'default speed limit', or 'speed limit 90, 100, 110km/h'.[/B]

[B]SHOULD NT residents wish to retain the speed derestriction allowance, I SERIOUSLY advise you to CONTACT your local MP, see links below:[/B]

Let them know if you support a rural default or not, BUT ALSO - let them know to KEEP the speed derestriction sign, should a rural default arrive, so it can then be used on NT''s safest lengths of road.

[B]MAKE THE EFFORT, or lose forever your right to drive 'safely' - unhindered, at speeds above 100km/h.[/B]

[B]THE THREAT:[/B]
[url]http://www.abc.net.au/stateline/nt/content/2006/s1736723.htm[/url]

[B]NT COUNTRY LIBERAL PARTY:[/B]
[url]http://notes.nt.gov.au/lant/members/Members1.nsf/d31048d912b9ea926925636c0022107f?OpenView&Start=1&Count=300&Expand=1#1[/url]

[B]NT TERRITORY LABOUR[/B]
[url]http://notes.nt.gov.au/lant/members/Members1.nsf/d31048d912b9ea926925636c0022107f?OpenView&Start=1&Count=300&Expand=3#3[/url]

[B]NT INDEPENDENT:[/B]
[url]http://notes.nt.gov.au/lant/members/Members1.nsf/d31048d912b9ea926925636c0022107f?OpenView&Start=1&Count=300&Expand=2#2[/url]

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:44

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:44
Can someone please put that in plain english???
AnswerID: 194067

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:52

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 22:52
Sounds like posted limits on open roads could become the norm in the NT as is the rest of Aus. The rest of Aus has happily used them as a method to raise revenue for years.

AnswerID: 194071

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:12

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:12
Mmm, thats what I thought he ment. The reason the Territory is so good and people like coming here is because we arent so restricted and are different! Why not make us conform with the rest of the country and stuff this up too?
They have been talking about it for years and its probably only a mater of time.
FollowupID: 451965

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:55

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:55
The rest of Aus has 'happily" used them ???
I dont think so, FZJ, here in SA we have a new system, lower the open road speed limits instead of fixing the roads, works well, gives millions more dollars to pollies to waste on crap, stuffs up those who travel country roads as part of there everyday livelyhood, and lets not forget the big pats on the backs to the bleep s in glass castles who make these decisions, the very same bleep s who never travel these roads or do business in the country.
Ah yes isnt it great be be a country bumkin, who would the pollies kick if we didnt exist.
Oh dont get me started, just the tip of the iceburg.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 451991

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:24

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:24
Settle down Pesty, I think he means that the rest of Australian Govts happily use the speed restrictions to revenue raise.
I totally agree with you that this state govt. can't see past Gawler and the conditions of our rural roads are appalling.
I cant wait to see our much deferred state budget being handed down in a couple of weeks time. Funny how things were so fantastic with our economy prior to the recent elections and now spending has been seriously slashed. Methinks there is some bad news out there that has not yet surfaced. I can tell you when the bad news will be delivered though. It will be the day after Rann leaves the country on another overseas junket.
FollowupID: 451997

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:29

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:29
Sure its been awhile since I was in SA and things may have changed but when i moved west i noticed an incredible difference to the unsealed roads - they were nearly as good as the bitumen ones - vastly different to SA which were massively potholed, 3 inches of gravel murderous when wet etc etc. the Bitumen has improved immensly in SA from when the eyre highways was so narrow truckss and busses would travel in the middle of the road and only move over to squeeze past cars. the road verges were deadly if you popped wheels onto the dirt (very likely given the width) it was all over unles you were very carefull getting the wheels back off the 3 inches of gravel and up the 3 inch shoulder of the bitumen
FollowupID: 452019

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:14

Monday, Sep 11, 2006 at 23:14
If we ever get the 110kph limit here I believe the road toll will rise dramatically. Fatigue kills now and it will be worse.

I know the other side of the coin is speed and single vehicle rollovers, especially on the dirt, HOWEVER will a tin sign that says 110kph stop that. I THINK NOT.

Conversely Mr and Ms average who follow the 110kph limit if their car or rig is uitable for that speedof course, will have their trip times increased and hence the fatigue factor is dramatically increased. I know from personal experience that fatigue is the silent killer and we're driving on the same roads, so increased risk.

Arguements both ways but I still believe 110kph not generally warranted on long country roads, UNLESS conditions ie road width etc dictate otherwise as has been introduced on the road to Uluru due to high fatalities, once agin single vehicle rollovers and tourists are high in the numbers.

Another 2 cents worth.

Barry

AnswerID: 194075

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 00:28

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 00:28
Barry

"If we ever get the 110kph limit here I believe the road toll will rise dramatically. Fatigue kills now and it will be worse."

How big do you think you are, have a look at WA

My 2 cents worth.

FollowupID: 451968

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 05:54

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 05:54
Going back some years now when I was a younger person and living in Darwin, we had a turbocharged sports car for the bitumen trips.

On a trip south we were cruising along at 140kmh all the way to the Alice and once across the border into South Australia I upped the nte and was cruising at 200kmh topping 240kmh near Pimba. Now that is what the digital speedo was reading and was probably not near the real speed. Nary a thought was given to Emus, Roos or stray cattle crossing the road at any hour of the day. Recently I cleaned up an Emu at 90kmh near Coober Pedy.

These days I plod along at 85/100kmh with my old oiler and speed restrictions do not worry me except in Victoria where 100kmh does become a boring trip after a while.

In my opinion most single vehicle roll overs are due to either fatigue or driver error/lack of concentration. Tourists to Central Australia fly in from Europe, hire a 4x4, and think that they can hike alonmg at 100kmh on the Mereenie Loop Road. THis year we came across a couple who had rolled their hired LC near Ayreonga. My mate commented as we stopped to offer assistance that they were most likely German tourists and asked them the same. They turned out to be French.

Politicians will stuff our lives up by changing the rules to the way we live. See how many changes have occurred in the last 20 years. Do gooder lobby groups now have front stage with politicians and sway their minds to what is the perceived 'right thing to do'.

Maybe we will get so bleeped off with travelling long distances at slow speeds that travelling on a bus or a train will be a good alternative.
FollowupID: 451973

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 07:35

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 07:35
"Victoria where 100kmh does become a boring trip after a while"...lets be thankfull its only a small piece of land
FollowupID: 451980

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:29

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:29
Victoria where 100kmh does become a boring trip after a while"...lets be thankfull its only a small piece of land

But it still takes me 1.5hrs to cross from our border to the NSW border.

FollowupID: 452000

Follow Up By: bruce - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:35

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:35
Crikey ..Des Lexic , only 1.5 hrs...it takes us nearly 6 hrs to get to the NSW border from where we are....with a van behind us of course....
FollowupID: 452001

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:12

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:12
It's interesting to note that the most common factor (in the links above) in fatal accidencts is not speed, fatigue, seatbelt or tourists. It's alcohol.

So the politicians do what they do best. Rather then inforcing existing laws, they make new uninforcable laws and pat themselves on the back.

R.
FollowupID: 452004

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:44

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 10:44
des...change gear from 1st to maybe second or even third, and you'll do it quick time
FollowupID: 452007

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:35

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:35
Thanks for the tip Nudie. Do you think it will help if I put the old girl into High range as well?
Hell, if I'm not careful, I could overshoot the place altogether.
Just another question, do you think there will be any footy played over there in the next couple of weeks?
FollowupID: 452013

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:25

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:25
"How big do you think you are, have a look at WA "

LMAO! I know, it's rediculous. I don't know anyone who does 110km/hr between Meekathara and Newman. bleep I remeber back in the days we used to cruise at 170kph in the old mans skyline between those two places. Straight road, no towns, visibility as far as the eye can see and bugger all if any traffic.

110kph, Pfft, It's all about making money. Sure some roads need limits, but honestly a sign is not going to slow down those who want to speed.

It's like in WA. Most of the speed limits have dropped 10kph over the last 10 years in the metro area to 'save lives'. Oddly enough, the morons that do 140kph++++ past my house round the sweeping bend on a saturday night haven't taken any notice of the reduction from 60kph to 50kph... The cops have no problem pulling average joe over on a wed morning on the way to work for doing 55 though. Strange, the only time I see Mr Plod on a saturday night is when he knocks on my door at 12:30 at night to tell me that me, my wife and the two friends we have over are making too much noise... They don't seem to care about my baby getting worken up at 3:00am by V8's screaming past at 6000rpms....

I think I might move back to Marble Bar...
FollowupID: 452017

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:27

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:27
before you even contemplate putting it in 1st and then 2 & 3rd, shift it out of reverse .....

this way you will overshoot it...not too much to see anyway....

football?...didnt know they have a team with enough expertise to be capable of playing in the AFL, albeit the finals...

anyhow
gunna be great to see freo and crows battle it out at the MCG...i'd go but there probably wont be any seats left ..the vics will buy them all so that they can see real footballers in action...what do ya think
FollowupID: 452018

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:00

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:00
Sat 30th September will be a day of mourning in Vic as no teams that they can lay claim to will be there. A crows/docker GF would be great but so would any crows/docker/eagles combination would be good.
FollowupID: 452028

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:29

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:29
Nudie/Des,

You're both dreaming. The only football worth watching will come from the Swans, AGAIN hahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 452054

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:10

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:10
the who?
FollowupID: 452072

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:26
The Swans Nudie, you remember them lame ducks that fled Melbourne years ago. Remember how the Eagles got sandblasted coming over last year and were suffering from Sandy Blight during the Grand Final.
FollowupID: 452077

Follow Up By: Exploder - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:40

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:40
I don't know anyone who does 110km/hr between Meekathara and Newman.

True, even the cop's Are travelling faster than 110 up that way

The speed limit should be raised to 130-140 once above Kalbarri on the cost side and Wubin on the inland side IMO
FollowupID: 452080

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:43

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 18:43
LOL, yeah the coppers used to ask my old man what time he was leaving, he'd say "X in the morning", they'd say "oh ok, we'll have a sleep in, that way you can go as fast as you like. "
FollowupID: 452081

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 19:03
Nudie/Des,

You guys have obviously been drinking too much of that Adelaide water :))))) The reigning premiers will make it two in a row - easily LOLOL
FollowupID: 452084

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:12

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:12
I use to say if you could not see it at 100 km/hr it wasn't worth seeing..

But today we are learning to slow down and smell the roses

FollowupID: 452109

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 21:59
Des...yeah I rember something about a lame lot who fled to what was supposed to be better surroundings.....

hey Gramps ya old codger, what would you know about ozzie rules...your a NSWelshman right?....
FollowupID: 452117

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:13

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 22:13
Nudie,

Surely you would have realized that since the mighty Swans won the flag last year, all of us in "the Promised Land" became experts in Aussie Rules LOL

And since my League team is now done and dusted for the year I'll have to watch something in September hahahahaha
FollowupID: 452121

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:33

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:33
yeah ...right

FollowupID: 452157

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:34

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:34
bloody ole codgers

:))))
FollowupID: 452158

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 00:42

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 00:42
If they do put a speed limit on NT roads i hope it's only a recommended limit similar to the ones on Germany's autobahn. They recommend 130kmh but really there's no limit. If it's safe for a congested European freeway then surely it's safe for an outback highway.

When i was in Alice couple of years ago i saw a brand new Corvette with Vic plates. I'm sure he was testing out the top speed on the drive up. Better doing it here than on Vic country roads.

It won't impair me too much as the top speed on my fourby is only 120 kmh anyway. But i don't see the point in changing speed limits. How boring would a trip be even in a new Commodore plodding at 110 when 150 is a safe speed?

AnswerID: 194082

Reply By: Rigor - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 07:43

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 07:43
Got to say that I am in 2 minds about this , I don't think there is any relevants to Autobahns as most vehicles are doing a high speed or seperated by several lanes .In Aus the roads we are talking about mostly single lane , OK I agree that in some cases 150 Ks may be safe but when you come across the likes of Willem doing his 85 to 100 (legally his choice of speed) no problems with that, Now we have a speed diferential of 50 to 75Ks In my opinion that is where things start to go wrong ,
If we had multi lane Autobahns Willem would be in the left lane and the Fangio's would be several lanes away on the right. It is a big country and I don't think I will see "Autobahns" in the Territory in my lifetime.

Cheers Dave L.
AnswerID: 194090

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:49

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 14:49
Dave, I didn't suggest we have multi-laned autobahns in Oz. I was using the example of the recommended speed limit. Nevertheless I would feel more comfortable cruising at high speeds in the NT rather than a crowded autobahn when a car may pull straight out in front of me from another lane.

If governments recommend a speed limit they are covering themselves but also allowing people to travel at a safe cruising speed that their vehicle can handle.

The roads are straight, there's little traffic and visibiltiy is good. You would only come into trouble with cars in front with the types of speeds mentioned underneath that the black Porsche was doing.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 452039

Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:17

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:17
I can remember plodding along at about 95kph in an old 47 troopy years ago on the Stuart, mate was about a k behind doing the same speed.
Suddenly the CB squarked "Faaarrkkk! look out for something coming up behind, bloody flying, couldn't even see what type of car it was!!"
I missed seeing it too, just a black blur as it shot past, but my 5 year old son in the back seat piped up "black Porsche".
Funnily enough a few days later saw a black Porsche in Katherine at a servo, asked the guy if it had been him that woke us up, he laughed and said yes it was, sitting at 250K + at the time.
He also reckoned that he had to stop at every roadhouse for fuel as it drank it like it was free at those speeds.
AnswerID: 194092

Follow Up By: Rigor - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:37

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 08:37
The last time I was in the centre was (I think) the last cannonball run when the marshalls on the side of the road got cleaned up by the Ferarri driven by a couple of Japanese , that was near Camoorweal I believe . On the run back from Uluru we had several cars pass us at warp factor 5 , scary to think what would happen if I wandered over the line a bit.

Dave L.
FollowupID: 451986

Follow Up By: handy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:20

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:20
Rigor it was south of alice. cheers
FollowupID: 452016

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:49

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:49
Yeh Near Jims Place.
And dont wander over the line a bit! If its not a Ferarri at warp speed you hit it could be a road train!!!
FollowupID: 452023

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:28

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 09:28
The great thing about travelling at those speeds is that you don't need to bother about reaction time. Just carry straight on your intended path.

You either hit something or you don't.
Your reactions are irrelevant and any attempt at manoeuvres are pointless.

So, if the troupie you are passing wanders over the line, there is only a nano-second of potential impact time - not a worry!

Ken
AnswerID: 194103

Reply By: Keepleft - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:00

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:00
My apologies for the lousy formatting in my initial post.

NT government and its various roads Ministers have been under sustained pressure from the feds and so called 'safety advocates' to 'conform' for many years. Now, with Harold Scruby on board - the whinging about NT's evil allowance has risen to an hysterical scream. To date, the NT MP's have courageously resisted the moves to introduce a speed limit as being primarily 'uneccessary'.

Over the years, each state roads transport agencies key public servants have gotten together in person - at forums, meetings and conventions to work hard on national uniformity, particularly in 'road rules', perhaps all well and good.

It is accepted, certainly 'desired' by such folk that the two 'default' speed limits be harmonised. They have achieved that with the 50km/h implementation.

Now, the effort is on to create a uniform default speed limit. This would see WA and NT come in line with the rest of the nation, BUT I know some key speed managers desire a 90km/h rural default. I personally couldn't care too much about that, because the Australian Standards allow each jurisdiction to post higher speed limits on lengths of roads within the 'default' zones.

My concern with NT is that whilst they can adopt a rural default, that they NOT then attempt to apply that 'default' on lengths of road bearing a speed de-restriction sign.

My initial post shows you the UN meaning of the sign, now even AS1742.4 of 1999 REFLECTS that interpretation. This is what AS1742.4 of 1999 has to say about the speed derestriction sign, where it is catalogued as an "R4-2";

"The speed derestricton sign shall be used where permitted by State or Territory regulations, at the end of a linear speed zone or a general urban speed limit to indicate that no speed limit applies to the road beyond the sign".

At the creation of that 1999 standard, the road agencies got together with MONASH and created a NEW road traffic sign, its called in the AS 1742 of 1999 an "END speed limit" sign, catalogued R4-12. Used to signal 'rural defaults', its meaning;

"The END speed limit sign shall be used at the start point of a section of road not covered by the general rural speed limit where it is not practicable or desirable to indicate the speed limit applying beyond the point by means of a Speed Restriction (R4-1) sign. This would be the case where the speed value of the alignment beyond the start point is substantially lower than the general rural speed limit, or there is a hazard such as a busy intersection or railway level crossing just beyond the start of the limit and it is not appropriate to extend a lower speed limit into this area".

The sign contains the word 'END' and a number in a circle, which is the ceasing speed limit.

** We teach in each state driver handbook about this newish sign.

An International version exists, it looks the exact SAME as the speed derestriction sign, EXCEPT that within the circle is stamped the numerical speed limit that ceases. Not used here in AUS because it then has the same meaning as its sister sign the speed derestriction.

AnswerID: 194114

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:40

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 11:40
Keepleft, perhaps you could do the nation a favour and invite Scrupplless up to the Territory to talk at one of these seminars. Then line him up with a 4 trailer road train and barrel the sod.
FollowupID: 452014

Reply By: Keepleft - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:16

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 12:16
DES,

He gets 'funding' that is for certain. He is involved with the change the flag mob - AUSFLAG, The Pedestrian Council ( www.walk.com.au ) etc and so on. He had a conflict years ago with Ruxton:-) A 'cause' man he is.

Not all bad - he actually supports raising the speed limit from 10km/h to 20km/h in 'Shared Traffic Zones', but that they be re-named 'pedestrian zones'! There is small hope!

He is correct in his nagging campaign against parents dropping off kids at schools 'illegally', surprised though some mother hasn't thrown make-up at him! He is the new-breed of *in your face* self righteous inquisitor. . .

Anyhow, unless good people take a few minutes out to make contact with their local MP's on this issue, these 'determined' and politicised individuals will take away our rights and abilities bit by bit.

MP's you see come and go - and are under 'constant pressure' by parliamentary agency liason staff, who are great at loading on the paper work, AND are 'career' staff. Therfore, most AUS MP's I'd argue - know not all that goes on in the world of manipulation and control, indeed much important detail is kept from MP's I'd suggest.

Found that out when I personally checked on a letter 'answered' by a Minister, only to find on determined investigation it was a 'staffer' who made a technical mistake in his response. So it goes . . .
AnswerID: 194124

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:42

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 07:42
>> He is correct in his nagging campaign against parents dropping off kids at schools 'illegally'

but he only mentions 4wds. NOT ONCE EVER mentioned cars...

So being a self admitted "4wd hater" how can you ever in any arguement expect an independant logical discussion with the psycho?

There is nothing good about him.
FollowupID: 452161

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:09

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:09
After reading the ABC report in the initial post, I find it strange that it was not mentioned that the accident they talk about happened in the suburbs of Darwin. A dual lane divided road with an 80 kph restriction. Judging by the skid marks and the reports, these guys were flying. I am still trying to work out what is the connection between an accident in the city and the de-restriction zone in the outback of the NT

Site Link

Tony
AnswerID: 194130

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:37

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 13:37
I have a theory - and I've got absolutely no evidence to support it - that governments will inevitably enact legislation to further limit speed in the NT and other places. Why? I think our ever-increasing propensity to litigate is starting to frighten a lot of people including governments. Say some goose ends up in a wheel chair or nursing home for life after a 200kph prang - who are they going to blame......yep certainly not themselves especially if they have an ambulance chasing lawyer in tow. Sue the government for not heeding all the research and imposing restrictions on roads they may (or may not) be suitable for such high speeds...then Joe Taxpayer can pick up the care bill for 40 or so years.... bleep that would only be $7M or $8M. Hell didn't you guys know that it was the governments responsibility to protect us from ourselves :-)
AnswerID: 194136

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:56

Tuesday, Sep 12, 2006 at 16:56
Last night on the good old SBS the show "TOP GEAR" had some very interesting specs on speed restrictions and speed cameras ; yes I know its a pommy show and pommy stats: turns out that places with multiple speed zones and speed camera zones have had an increase of up to 24% of vehicle related injuries and fatalities , explanation for same was suggested that people now spend TOO much time looking at the speedo rather than the road and conditions.
AnswerID: 194174