4Terrain 4x4 Clutch for GU?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 15:15
ThreadID: 37691 Views:8393 Replies:9 FollowUps:33

Had the Patrol at ATOC today to find a 'clunk' in the front end (was loose bolts through the castor correction bushes) and they reckon my clutch is on its way out. Patrol has done 92,000kms so from what have read on here it doesn't surprise me it needs doing.

ATOC recommend fitting a 4Terrain Performance 4x4 Clutch which clams to be 3 times stronger than standard. As far as I can tell they are made by Clutch Industries (www.clutchindustries.com.au) I have not been able to find any info on them other than the web page.

Have read plenty of recommendations for the Daiken or Safari HD clutches - has anyone used / know about the 4Terrain clutch?

BTW, I have been quoted approx. $1200 to get it done - seems about right from what I've read???

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:13

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:13
As my truck is a GU patrol 6x4 always overloaded for work i always fit a centre force clutch & have never had to replace one even in the 94 6 x 4 over 450,000klms since fitting one (they are a bit noisy you can here the bob weights in them spin in & out from time to time)
AnswerID: 194368

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:14

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:14
Hi Vincent, not sure what a centre force clutch is????
FollowupID: 452388

Follow Up By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:11
It is a Heavy duty brand of clutch (center force), mainly used in trucks & race cars, most dragsters use this type, a very hard clutch to slip & can handle heaps of HP
they are dearer than most but as i have found you normally only do it once

note some people don,t like them as they are very hard to ride the clutch, its in or out normally
FollowupID: 452665

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:49

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 17:49
Moggs,

Please go back to your supplier and ask them to document EXACTLY what you get for your $1200.

I have been out of the brake & clutch game (ex Girlock) for many years and so am ready to be corrected by someone CURRENTLY IN THE INDUSTRY with current information, however until that happens I would suggest:

1) As would be expected for a four wheel drive of this age/mileage, one would be looking for a NEW Pressure Plate Assembly, not "reconditioned" or "re manufactured".

2) A new Driven Plate/Drive Plate/Clutch Plate, you only look at a rebuilt unit if you have the last existing example of something built in 1922.

3) A new thrust race.

4) A new spigot bush, yeah I know! Every Tom, Dick and Harry will now tell me that the spigot bush in their whizz-mobile is original after travelling four times around the world and twice up Mt. Kilimanjaro. After replacing everything else and paying the labour why would you skint on the cheapest bit of the job and risk having to drop the box & transfer case at sometime in the future when it could have been avoided.

5) A NEW FLY WHEEL! - - Why a new flywheel? At 92,000K's you are sure to have hot-spots on the flywheel. I don't believe an ethical workshop would offer a warranty on the job utilising the original flywheel. Evidence suggests that the original fluid damped flywheel can't be successfully machined. This then tells us we are looking at a genuine or after market unit.

I just can't see how your supplier can provide all of the above at the price quoted.

I am aware of an Exploroz Forumite who just had the same job done by his Nissan Dealer, the parts were actually non Nissan and an aftermarket solid flywheel utilised, he was quoted $1700 and was so amazed that he phoned and emailed all over Sydney to get check prices, then went back to his Nissan Dealer an additional two times, making three in total. After having the price again confirmed he booked it in and when delivering the vehicle the "normal man" was back from holidays, well! Didn't the poo fly! Screams! Protestations! Denials!, All to no avail because our member had the paperwork and quotation number.

I don't wish to sound like a wet blanket, (whilst acknowledging that that's exactly how I sound), however I must say that I would be so nervous about such a costing that I would walk away from it and start again.

As I stated right at the start of my post, I stand to be corrected but must again say that a price of $1200 for:

New Pressure Plate Assembly
New Drive Plate
New Thrust Race/Throw out Bearing
New Flywheel - Genuine or Aftermarket
New Spigot Bush
Labour to fit the above

Is just too good to be true, last time the Tooth Fairy came to my place it was to visit my youngest son, and at the end of that exercise it cost ME! No one else.

We are talking GU 3Litre I assume.

AnswerID: 194383

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:04

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:04
Nah mate, Moggs is a proud 4.2 owner.
FollowupID: 452313

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:57
OK Moggs!

I will now crawl back into my shell never to reappear.

Gee's mate! Why didn't you say straight up that you had a 4.2.?

Here was I talking 3.0 ,assuming the majority ruled as usual and then you left me hanging out on the line like a brides nightie.

Now! Is it your fault for not telling us you got a 4.2, or is it my fault because I made an assumption?

Nah! Forget the question, I think I'm gunna be stuffed whichever way it's answered.

FollowupID: 452333

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:17

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:17
LOL! Ian, I suppose I could have put what Patrol I have in the question. I have just got home from the kids school concert and read your reply and started to weep.

I have a lot of faith in Aaron at ATOC - he knows his Patrols pretty good so I hope he will do all that is needed. Also took some comfort in doing a search and finding that most others seems to be around the $1,20 to do.

Still not sure on the 4Terrain clutch though - maybe its new as there doesn't seem to be many using them at this stage.
FollowupID: 452389

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:18

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:18
Hey John, still got a rim sitting here with your name on it - still want it? I recall reading somewhere that you are not carrying 2 on the back anymore?
FollowupID: 452390

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:27

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:27
I had to have mine replaced a few months ago at around 200,000klm. I got one from :

www.adelaideclutch.com.au/products.htm

I used the Xtreme Outback which set me back $430-. I had it fitted by a local Repco Mechanic for $1120-, which included getting the flywheel machined and new clutch master and slave cylinders etc.
FollowupID: 452399

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:38
Moggs, yes please. I am currently aiming to be on the tour 23rd/24th with you, providing I get back from the Crow Eaters supplier dinner I am going to the Thurday before.

I have one set of STTs on at the moment but want to have a set of ATs on the other set of wheels. What would be best that weekend - ah will probably be only STTs.
FollowupID: 452402

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:23

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:23
John,

Look forward to catching up on the 23rd/24th if you can make it. I'd be wearing the STT's if I were you. Will bring the steelie if you are coming.

Roachie,

That is a good price from what I have read. I asked ATOC about the master and slave cylinder and they reckon it would be ok as the vehicle has done less than 100,000kms. They said that they would replace them as standard on a higher km patrol. They will check the cylinders out when the new clutch is in and have change-overs available if needed - so happy with that.
FollowupID: 452461

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:50

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:50
Ads suggested camping there the night before, so it would be a half way house. Cya mate.
FollowupID: 452465

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:56

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:56
Hi Ian,
Pays to check rig pic profiles before making assumptions mate, lol.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 452748

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:18

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:18
O.K. Everyone,

Is there anyone else out there who wants to pay out on me?

Thanks Pezza, you know how to twist the knife, but yes you are correct!

I wil check rig profiles. I will check rig profiles. Iwill check - bugger!

FollowupID: 452787

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:24

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:24
Then after checking the rig profiles I'll use the Spellcheck.

FollowupID: 452788

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:03

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 18:03
lets fit your clutch on your workshop day lol
AnswerID: 194387

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:19

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:19
LOL! - Nah, that is why I am getting it done - so it doesn't become a maintenance item in the future.
FollowupID: 452392

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 19:59
Are you sure you need the clutch done? On what basis did they tell you that?? 92,000k is nothing much for the 4.2 clutch. By definition, every clutch is on its way out, but you may find that yours has another 100,000k left in it.
AnswerID: 194410

Follow Up By: Moggs - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:25

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:25
To be honest Phil, no I am not sure. This is the first manual Patrol I have owned and am a bit unsure on how the clutch should feel. It is not slipping at the moment, but the take-up is about 2cm from the top of the pedal travel.

I take the Patrol to Aaron at ATOC and am confident that he wouldn't give me a bum steer on it - he has a decent reputation and knows his Patrols inside out. He drove it today and reckons it needs doing, so I thought I'd get it done. I suppose if I don't I'll always have that nagging thought in the back of my mind when out 4wdriving that it could go - would rather just do it.

Have only had the Patrol since April, so would be good to just get it done so I can have some confidence in it.

From what I have read it sems Patrol clutches are the weak point in the 4.2's and that some go as early as 50,000kms. So I suppose 92,000kms is ok for the original clutch.
FollowupID: 452397

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:41

Wednesday, Sep 13, 2006 at 22:41
I reckon I took 50K of work off mine trying to get off the beach at Robe a couple of years back, but it doesn't feel like that. It would be hydraulic Moggs wouldn't it? Self adjusting and all that, so you wouldn't know til it slipped, a bit different to cable needing the adjustment.
FollowupID: 452403

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:18

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:18
Hi John, yep its hydraulic and self adjusting. I suppose at the end of the day I am taking a punt that ATOC are doing the right thing by me.
FollowupID: 452460

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:22

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 21:22
Geez if you feel you are taking a punt that AOTC are doing the right thing then I would be getting a second opinion.

Leroy
FollowupID: 453271

Follow Up By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:30

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:30
too late - was done today.
FollowupID: 453288

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:30

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:30
Moggs,

Don't know where or who told you 92K is normal for life of 4.2 clutch. Mine has 275K on it and still going, but it will be replaced when the gearbox comes out shortly for the dreaded spline shaft problems in the 2000 model I have. Others that I know have all got great k's out of their 4.2 clutches.
I understand all vehicles have their own circumstances and by no means am I trying to diagnose over the net so if your man says it needs doing then I am sure it does, but 92K is not high miles for that clutch IMO.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 194489

Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:58

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:58
The mechanic told me that he has seen some clutches go as early as 50,000kms and rarely sees them last over 150,000kms. From what I have been reading it seems that many need replacing between 50,000 and 100,000, which to me supports what he said.

Also have seen threads where 4.2 clutches have lasted like yours....so in the end I suppose I am putting faith in what he is saying re: it needing doing.

FollowupID: 452467

Follow Up By: Dave ....Adelaide - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 18:18

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 18:18
Hi Trevor

I have a 2000 4.2 td as well and got 260000 out of mine b4 i replaced the clutch ...just wondering though with this 5th gear prob in these models do you get any tell tale signs or noises or anything else to suggest the 5th gear is on its way out??? and i suppose at those ks Nissan wouldnt be interested.......Cheers.....Dave
FollowupID: 452871

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:28

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:28
Hi Dave,

I have heard a few things that seem to associate themselves with the 5th gear but I am no mechanic and most I have heard is hearsay except for this. My uncle said not long before his chucked the towel in he felt no matter what gear he was in, at times, if felt as though he was in too high a gear and the car would chug a long with a jerking type action and when the main shaft let go all together, the gearbox oil come out a nice rusty orange/red colour. This oil colour has just been noticed in my box which has been having symptoms of gears feeling like they are stuck in mud but once out they are out, change up smooth as silk???? When mine gets pulled apart (soon at this stage) I will no doubt find out if this is something else for the masses to keep an eye on as a symptom.
Nissan HELP.....HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA. They wouldn't help when I was in warranty so why change now that I have 275K on the clock. Quote from Nissan "blah blah blah, and how many K's do you have on your Patrol sir?" I said 275K then there was a quick " and you expect us to warrant your problem? Not likely"
I didn't expect them to warrant anything but I do believe they should supply the "right" mainshaft and 5th gear for me to fix at my expense after all this is what I paid for but did not receive when I purchased the car new.

Hope this answers your questions. I will post what is found in my gearbox when it gets opened up.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 453257

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:21

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:21
Moggs - if you haven't already seen it there is a bit of a write up on 4Terrain clutches (well in a roundabout sort of way) in the current edition of 4WD Monthly.
AnswerID: 194681

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:52

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:52
ok, thanks. Haven't seen it but will go an have a look this arvo.
FollowupID: 452737

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:09

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:09
Patrol22, just out of interest - was it good or bad???
FollowupID: 452740

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:09

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:09
From memory they seemed to say the it was one of (if not) the best kit for fourbies
FollowupID: 452766

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:41

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:41
Thanks. its a bit strange - I wonder why not many know of or use the 4Terrain clutch if it is that good.
FollowupID: 452768

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:29

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:29
I always wonder if these write-ups are not just paid for advertisements.
FollowupID: 453258

Reply By: gilly083 - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:49

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:49
The 4Terrain clutch is manufactured by Clutch Industries (formerly PBR Clutch)
for information try www.ciperformance.com.au or call Clutch Industries on 1300 369 787.
They are available at Repco, Bursons, & plenty of other places.
The 4Terrain comes with a "No Fault" 12 month or 20,000km warranty, whereas many other 4WD "Heavy Duty" clutches are not covered by any warranty.
Also check out this month issue of 4WD Monthly. They fitted a 4Terrain kit to an 80 series Landcruiser, there is a full write-up on the 4Terrain clutch.
Would also strongly suggest to spend the extra few dollars & replace the fork & pivot ball, a small amount of wear in these can still cause big problems.
AnswerID: 194697

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:01

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:01
Thanks golly083, I don't get 4wdmonthly - do you recall if the write up was positive or negative re: the clutch?
FollowupID: 452753

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:01

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:01
Thanks gilly083, I don't get 4wdmonthly - do you recall if the write up was positive or negative re: the clutch?
FollowupID: 452754

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:02

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:02
Ahhh! tried to catch it before it posted - not quick enough. Sorry gilly :-)
FollowupID: 452755

Reply By: gilly083 - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:17

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:17
yeah it was all good. its about 6 or 7 pages worth of reading. goes through the clutch, but also other stuff too look out for when getting it replaced and all that. a few q & A's
comes in a good box too
AnswerID: 194699

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:34

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:34
ok, thanks for that - didn't want to go and buy the mag if it was onlyu a one liner re: the clutch. I'll pick up a copy and have a read.
FollowupID: 452761

Reply By: Moggs - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:41

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:41
Had the clutch replaced today with the 4Terrain kit. Feels very different - clutch engages as soon as the pedal is released.

All up cost was $1,374, included:

6 hours labour
rear crankshaft seal
rear crank seal gasket
spigot bearing
machining the flywheel
4Terrain clutc kit ($720)
exhaust gasket
exhaust flange gasket
gear stick rubber boot (old one was torn)
sealant
dowel flywheel

Old clutch was 3/4 worn apparantly. It would have lasted a bit longer but now at least I know it is good and won't have that nagging feeling in the back of my mind that it might go at some point.

I will be getting ATOC to do the TD42T power upgrade soon - so I would have had to get it done then anyway as they reckon the factory clutch is not up to the job after that is done.

I suppose it can be iewed as preventative maintenance LOL!

Certainly feels different to drive - although I was expecting the clutch pedal to be heavy - it still feels light. Will take a bit of getting used to.

Also, the gear box ratle that was always there is still present - now at slightly different idle levels to before. ATOC mentioned that this would be the case due to the heavier clutch plate centre. I had read elsewhere that a HD clutch can solve the dreaded gearbox rattle - but unfortunately not the case in this instance.

Looking forward to seeing how it goes offroad this weekend at Woods Point.

AnswerID: 195199

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:28

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:28
Moggs,
From the list it sounds like they did a top job - certainly peace of mind.

Out of interest, a new clutch always feels lighter than a worn clutch - all to do with the position of the diaphragm spring fingers which are closer to the flywheel with a new clutchplate.
FollowupID: 453443

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:29

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:29
Hi Phil,

I hope they did it right - Aaron seems to know his stuff and has a good reputation amongst the Patrol fraternity down here so I trust him.

I didn't know that about new clutches - I suppose I just thought it would be heavier in the pedal as it was a heavy duty clutch. It is taking some getting used to having the clutch engage so quickly. I am enjoying the fact that there is absolutely no shudder anymore - just the geabox rattle at low revs sometimes.
FollowupID: 453455