Patrol console lid peeling

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 09:59
ThreadID: 37708 Views:3092 Replies:7 FollowUps:24
Not long after I bought my Patrol 3 years ago some paint started coming off the lid of the floor console. It was a known issue, but without a fix.

Nissan now have an injection moulded plastic unit to replace it under warranty.

The grey is a little brighter than the console a little wider too. But still better than a scratched up lid.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:12

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:12
Yes my paint is also worn off and looks dirty, You would think it would be cheaper to mould in the same colour than have to paint it afterwards. But at 172,000ks and just 3 years old , they wouldnt replace mine i wouldn't think? If you had to buy a ew part, it probably would be $120 from Nissan for a $3 part.
AnswerID: 194487

Follow Up By: Lyds- Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:17

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:17
it is a known problem, so it wouldn't hurt to ask.

mine came off with very little wear and tear, they just weren't able to do anything about it. They did offer to replace it with a new painted lid in the mean time, but I didn't take that up.
FollowupID: 452458

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:59

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 10:59
Quantify "$120 for a $3 part".

Just because you believe thats what a part is worth bears no relevance to what that part actually costs. This attitude annoys me as I have to deal with such ignorance every day, as i sell Toyota parts.

Its the same as me going into a plumbing supply shop, and having no knowledge at all as to what plumbing fittings are worth, then complaining about the cost of said plumbing fitting!

Let me assure you. its very frustrating!!
FollowupID: 452468

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:02

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:02
Apparently it is a warranty replacement, and many have requested the leather console lid and got it as a replacement. Steering wheel and gear nob too...

They are just painted old stock from wat pres of another club told me (he had all his replaced with the up spec parts)
FollowupID: 452470

Follow Up By: Lyds- Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:18

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:18
Thanks Truckster, now you tell me :-{

the new one is coloured plastic, not painted.
FollowupID: 452476

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:37

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 11:37
Chris!! I dont know about ignorance, I have been and still currently in the plastic industry for 30 years . Yes i know it has to be warehoused, distributed, and that everyone that handles it wants to make 80% to 100% ot of it.. but the cost of imported spares is horrific. There is no money in selling cars, just spares and servicing.
FollowupID: 452480

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:10

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:10
G'day Michael,

A couple of weeks ago they ran an article in the press up here, breaking down the cost of a $23,000 vehicle. The vehicle only cost $6,500 landed in Oz the balance was taken up by the local people (including the tax man). Now I'm with you on this as I would be happy to pay $6,500 for the vehicle and not contribute to the miriad of other costs like marketing, warranty (hahahahah), storage (happy to buy in when I want it (like the dealers), GST (for most they probably somehow claim this anyway) that leaves wholesaler and retail profits. I know there are other costs but I simply find it difficalt to believe that there isn't a whole lot of fat in the retail price.

FollowupID: 452502

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:54

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:54
Beatit!! I dont think there is a lot in the retail end of the actual car sale. The cost of good real estate and a fair amount of people go into making up a good dealership. But many a fortune has been made from selling cars. Michael
FollowupID: 452506

Follow Up By: Darren C - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:22

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:22
Hi Beatit

Did that 6k include any element of cost to recoup development expenses?

Companies spend millions on R&D for cars and these costs all have to be recouped via future sales. Each car sold will be priced to recapture some of these costs in addition to the basic cost of production and the profit margin. This is what I think people dont appreciate when people say "it only costs $x to make"

FollowupID: 452513

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:32

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:32
G'day Darren,

It just said landed cost - so I presume that includes R&D as it is sold by the manufacturer with his costs and shipping. And good profits as well no doubt.

Michael, probably right but there is plenty of businesses that feed of that one sale etc. And whilst the margin is probably modest as with these spares as well I expect it is calculated from a higher base to the dealer. ie. 20% on $6,500 is nowhere like the 20% built into $23,000.

FollowupID: 452515

Reply By: CHRIS UREN - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:14

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 12:14
Michael,

A spare parts department is doing well if its running at a 20-30% profit margin,
out of that are obviously wages, rent, insurance, warehousing, freight etc etc.

I wish we were making 100% profit on parts we were selling!
The point i was trying to make was that if a Nissan, or Toyota dealer for that matter, was selling a part for $120, whether its plastic or not, their cost on that item would be a lot higher than $3!!

Sure, some parts are expensive, but they're expensive for us to buy as well, there's nothing like the margins that people think that there are.

Cheers, Have a good one

AnswerID: 194512

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:36

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:36
Chris, the $3 was figuralively speaking, That would really be its base price out the door, yes i mentioned the warehousing and distribution. There is also packaging, shipping and the rest, but the end user price is still generally over the top. Michael
FollowupID: 452505

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:56

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:56
Michael,

I just want everyone out there to understand that the dealer pays an exorbidant amount for some of these spare parts too.

If something costs me a lot of money to buy, its gonna cost you alot of money to buy!!

I completely understand the point you are making, but levelling the criticism at the the dealer or point of sale is not fair, as their margins are nothing like you suggest.
(I also know that you used $3 figuratively)

Cheers, Chris
FollowupID: 452508

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:23

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:23
To Chris Uren,

In regard to your statement about people not understanding the price of Spare Parts. Just had the occasion of replacing the Viscous Fan Hub on a Toyota 60 Series Diesel. Toyota Price $897 after market price $160. Why would you want to understand the Parts Business. Guess what went on ! Toyota oil filter for the same $45 after market $22 & to top it off $1.58 for a sump washer. Fair Suck of #$%@.
FollowupID: 452514

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:18

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 09:18
To Shane

Retail price on a genuine oil filter for a hj60 is $35, retail on a viscous fan hub for the the same is $640, still expensive i admit, and probably no better or worse than an aftermarket variant.
On the subject of oil filters, have you ever cut a geniune filter and a non genuine filter apart ?

I have, and thats why you pay more for a genuine filter!!

Cheers, Chris
FollowupID: 452842

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 14:11

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 14:11
Chris Uren,

The prices I gave you are from Hinterland Toyota on the G/Goast, so it appears that differant Toyota Dealers rip you off with differant prices. In regard to oil filters I have used Ryco & Valvolene for years & would say they are every bit as good as Toyota. Cheers !
FollowupID: 452858

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:41

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 09:41
Shane,

"So it appears that different Toyota Dealers rip you off with different prices."

Mate if you walked into my Dealership with that pre-disposed attitude, Id have to admit i'd rip you off too. You sound like a guy who'd never be happy regardless of what price you'd been quoted.
And on the subject of oil filters, I asked whether or not you'd cut one open to see the extra filtration in the geniuine filter, not on the history of what you used.

Cheers!!
FollowupID: 453110

Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 15:14

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 15:14
Listen SMART AR-E I don't have a attitude problem, it's blokes like you that hide behind a keyboard, try & look intelligent and get great satisfaction out of making snide remarks that make my day. If there is such a great differance in prices between Dealers what is your category of the idea, No! don't tell me I'll use one of your salesman quotes " Here comes another Wood Duck". Don't bother replying to this as you have just about expended your intelligence for the week.( By the way how about telling me where your Dealership is so that I can come in & get some real personel service, I don't mind travelling, Flight's are cheap ).
FollowupID: 453179

Follow Up By: CHRIS UREN - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 16:20

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 16:20
If you want to buy some parts for the mighty 60#, I'll let you know where i work!!
Dont worry yourself with getting a flight down here, I'll look after you on the cost of parts and freight!!

Whew!!, That expended all of my intelligence!!!
FollowupID: 453195

Reply By: donks1 - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:00

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:00
good on you chris

besides.... us parts people need to make our bonusevery month aswell

l o l
AnswerID: 194519

Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:20

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 13:20
Is this the elbow rest between the seats?
My parents took it back to nissan and they said it was a known problem and replaced it with a leather covered lid for free. Problem solved under warrantee.
Tim
AnswerID: 194525

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:11

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:11
thats the lid :)
FollowupID: 452511

Follow Up By: Tim - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:19

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 15:19
Well, being a toyota man, when they told me they were taking it back for that reason and because the back doors were squeaking I told them to expect much..... to my surprise they fixed both. Not totally sure what they did with the back door, replaced the hinges and stoppers I think.
Tim
FollowupID: 452519

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:19

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 14:19
A bit off topic, but I was wondering whether anybody has tried removing that hinged lid altogether and replacing it with a "padded-top box" which could contain one of those flip-up car in-dash type DVD players? It would seem like a logical way to overcome the issue of those players for the kids to watch, still provide somewhere for the driver/passenger elbows to rest and you could put the proper lid away in storage for when you finally sell the vehicle.
AnswerID: 194534

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:41

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 17:41
Roachie!! What a top idea. Can you throw one together and ship it to me to test???? LOL!! Michael.
FollowupID: 452551

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 23:30

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 23:30
Hi Roachie, You've just solved my problem. Our latest Patrol has a DVD player and roof top screen fitted but the DVD player is mounted under the passenger seat. Apart from being a pain for the kids to get to, it cops feet, dirt and frankly is in a crappy spot. I've been thinking for a while now of where to remount it and I think I'll make up a housing to go on top of the console as you've suggested. If I'm quick it might even be an accessory you don't have, though you've probably already knocked one up by now.

Hugh
FollowupID: 453079

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:33

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:33
Brilliant idea!!! Just think first time someone leans on it....
FollowupID: 453117

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:35

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:35
Hugh,
I reckon it will sit a fair bit higher than the original lid, but that shouldn't be a real drama. The issue is going to be the wiring etc....but there is a lot of room (wasted) in that whole console. I recently removed the 4 screws that hold the back section on to have a bit of a look. There is room underneath (on the floor) to fit a UHF radio main unit (one of those smaller type ones with the remote head), and there is room there for all the cables to go too. It would mean having to cut a decent size hole (say 3/4") in the plastic top (near the hinges) for the cables to go through. This hole would be hidden by the lid itself and if you were worried about this affecting the resale value in due course, you could quite simply remove it all and use a rubber grommet to cover the hole (even though it would be hidden by the lid and probably wouldn't even be noticed by a prospective buyer).

Anyway, I'll let you do the hard yards on designing it. I haven't got around to doing anything like that yet.....hahaha

Cheers and good luck. If it all turns to chit, I accept ZERO responsibility..hahahaha

FollowupID: 453120

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:38

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 10:38
Trucky,
I'm envisaging the "box" being made of light steel (like a "Brownbuilt" shelf type of steel) and there would be a gap of around 1/2" between the "box" and the top of the unit. That gap would absorb the impact of someone "leaning" on it, ....well at least I would hope so!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 453121

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 07:48

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 07:48
mine has been replaced twice (warranty) But member jamiemac had he,s replaced with the leather TI top on warranty looks good
AnswerID: 194633

Reply By: JamieMac - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 22:28
Yeah what Vince said
AnswerID: 195198