Happy Ending - Insurance Experience

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:42
ThreadID: 37720 Views:2817 Replies:10 FollowUps:19
2-3 years ago I had the misfortune to have make an insurance claim on a vehicle via AAMI, absolute horror story and drama with the only good thing being the actual panel shop who informed me that if it had been GIO there would not have been a problem.

Anyway as a result of the above incident all our insurance policies were transferred to GIO

Week and a half ago SWMBO kisses another vehicle in a shopping car park - $1500 for a tennis ball size dent in the cnr of the rear bumper.

Ring GIO lodge a claim , take it to their assessing shop 1/2 later and approx 1hr later it is booked into the aforementioned panel shop.

GIO insist on giving us a hire car without the subject being broached by myself.

Picked up the JEEP from the panel shop today and returned the hire car.

Just all too easy and a breeze.

For the life of me cannot work out what AAMI's attitude/problem's are.

Ken Robinson

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:47

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:47
Been there done that with AAMI.................... they can such SHI^ for all I care the crap they put me through. Would not bless them with my worst enemies money.

AnswerID: 194588

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:57

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:57
Oh oh, they are my insurers ! I've only claimed for hail damage and had no problems whatsoever. Apparently you guys have had. Oh dear....
FollowupID: 452603

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:24

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:24
Had an excellent run with AAMI. They organised the quote, sent me home in a taxi and sent a taxi for me when the job was done. At no cost to me.

Car was repaired with new genuine parts to as good as new. They even replaced bits I thought they would repair.

Rang us up some time later to check if we were happy with the work/sevice.

We sure are. I guess it's the luck of the draw......
FollowupID: 452723

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:57

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 20:57
Good to hear/read you had some good dealings with GIO 'Lucky'.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 194593

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:04

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:04
I've had a couple of claims with AAMI over the past few years..

a. tipped the back of a car which failed to indicate - my fault
b. young fella pressed the garage remote as my wife was backing out - scraped the roof - just like the ad
c. had a problem with a river crossing - car written off.

In all cases, AAMI were nothing less than first class - in the writeoff, they didn't quibble at all, and I was paid out within 10 days.

I guess for every bad story there's a good one (or vice versa)...
AnswerID: 194596

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:00

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:00
Hey Ivan!! You could do your own AAMI ad!!
FollowupID: 452626

Follow Up By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:02

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:02
Unfortunately!
FollowupID: 452627

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:08

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:08
I am impressed.

(1) They made me take the vehicle (Honda Accord) it to their assessment centre first

(2) Leave it there for the assessor to do what ever

(3) It stayed there whilst prospective repairers were allowed to inspect and then tender for the repair.

(4) I wanted to use a repairer of my choice - nup! best tender wins the deal.

(5) By the grace of god the repairer is about 1km as the crow flies from place and turned out be chit and a bit on the repairs. Adrian from AAMI would be one p i s s e d individual if he had worked that out.

(6) Anyway half way through the repair I get a phone call which tells me that the reparier had discovered a front brake senor warning light on and that it has to be fixed before releasing it.

So fix it

Oh! its not on the assessing sheet sir and therefore outside the authorised repair which was the rear boot area after a Nissan driving 4WD'er ploughed into whilst stationary at the lights.

(7) Thats when the nightmare hit top gear, with Adrian piling the fuel on the fire every time he spoke on the phone. Sir ! we assessed the damage on the rear. Warning lights weren't checked . on and on and on it went.

(8) End result - I paid $300 to get that mother back with a new front brake sensor in it and AAMI lost insurance on three vehicles and a house.

Chicken feed I supposeOh! and the plicks refused a hire care whilst it was being repaired.

As I said above the dude at the repairers informed me that GIO were the best to deal with for everyone concerned and so far they have been.

Not much more I can say other than they have my two 4WD's and never battered an eyelid with values, accessories and modifications. (engineering Cert's provided)

FollowupID: 452643

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:04

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:04
Kissing in car parks could become a hazardous passtime.

You had better detune your testosterone levels, Aunty Lucy....

AnswerID: 194598

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:59

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:59
I'm more worried about his wife kissing bumbers in a carpark!!!
FollowupID: 452625

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:09

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:09
So am I Michael, so am I.

FollowupID: 452644

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:05

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:05
When I lived in NSW a while back (around 1993 I think) I got a green slip insurance renewal invoice from AAMI that was formatted just like a regular bill with an account number and a due date and all.

Only thing was that my Green Slip insurance was sith NRMA at that time and AAMI had billed me based on a data feed they obtained from the RTA that showed expiring green slip policies.

I was mildly annoyed as this was really just an unsolicited policy offer (dressed up to look like something that HAS to be paid) and I had no intention of using AAMI anyway. I tossed it in the trash.

Two weeks later I got a followup phone call from AAMI to say that my "account" was overdue and that I should make arrangements to pay it. I told them I was not interested in their policy and to delete me from their records.

I then received a reminder latter and another telephone reminder (I had even already renewed with NRMA by then!).

I told them what I thought of their shonky business practice of unsolicited invoicing and collection techniques and indicated my willingness to complain about them if I received any further contact. I have not heard from them since.

This was just a blatent attempt to con people to switch to them to increase market share and I refuse to deal with them ever again and am happy to relate this sort of conduct to anyone who is interested. I just wonder how many people paid those bills not knowing that they were not required to.

Muddy
AnswerID: 194599

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:56

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 21:56
Had a marketing call from Telstra this morning, trying to flog something I wasn't the slightest bit interested in.

I couldn't understand what the "Indian gentleman" was saying and said just a minute while I put my hearing aids in.

Left the phone for a few minutes and the bleep had hung up on me. Inconsiderate I thought! It takes a long time to insert my electronic ears:-)))

Actually I lied to him because if I am wearing them, I take one out to answer the phone.

FollowupID: 452623

Reply By: yakodi - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:00

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:00
Sounds familiar - AAMI in Geelong were the worst insurance company we have ever delt with - after making a claim which was a result of another car turning right in front of us -also a AAMI member, First they sent us to the wrong panel shop to pick the car up, and after owning a Hilux surf at the time would not proved a headlight as they could not source an original toyota headlight after 2 weeks, after 5 mins on the phone and an argument with AAMI I had an original toyota headlight which they apparently couldn't get. Never again - since changed to SGIO - have never made a claim with them so don't know what they really like to deal with.

Who is the best certified 4wd insurer - without belonging to a 4x4 club????
AnswerID: 194606

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:14

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:14
Yakodi

This is just a cut and paste from above so that you don't miss it.

I am impressed.

(1) They made me take the vehicle (Honda Accord) it to their assessment centre first

(3) It stayed there whilst prospective repairers were allowed to inspect and then tender for the repair.

(5) By the grace of god the repairer is about 1km as the crow flies from place and turned out be chit and a bit on the repairs. Adrian from AAMI would be one p i s s e d individual if he had worked that out.

(6) Anyway half way through the repair I get a phone call which tells me that the reparier had discovered a front brake senor warning light on and that it has to be fixed before releasing it.

So fix it

Oh! its not on the assessing sheet sir and therefore outside the authorised repair which was the rear boot area after a Nissan driving 4WD'er ploughed into whilst stationary at the lights.

(7) Thats when the nightmare hit top gear, with Adrian piling the fuel on the fire every time he spoke on the phone. Sir ! we assessed the damage on the rear. Warning lights weren't checked . on and on and on it went.

(8) End result - I paid $300 to get that mother back with a new front brake sensor in it and AAMI lost insurance on three vehicles and a house.

Chicken feed I supposeOh! and the plicks refused a hire care whilst it was being repaired.

As I said above the dude at the repairers informed me that GIO were the best to deal with for everyone concerned and so far they have been.

Not much more I can say other than they have my two 4WD's and never battered an eyelid with values, accessories and modifications. (engineering Cert's provided)

GIO are the only ones(general insures) who would insure it under $1000.

The so called 4WD specialists wanted $1500 plus.

You know the old trick of the value dropping each year and the premium skyrocketing.

There was no great issue of it being used for offroad purposes, however I would expect there to be appropriate robust dialogue in the evnt of a catastrophic writeoff whilst off road.
FollowupID: 452646

Reply By: Member - Peter D M - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:29

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:29
g'day ken,
i've been with aami for 5 years, 2o years with nrma before that, left for better premium and cover, nrma would not cover all my accessories. as i dont know the particulars of your problem i cannot comment on your experience.

3 years ago i had an claim, with 1 phone call i had all the info i needed went to my panel beater a few days later for inspection and assesment, left vehicle for a week and all attended to. lifetime no claim bonus intact, no increase in premium, first class all round and i can only highly recommend them.

cheers peter
AnswerID: 194608

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:15

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:15
See response to Jimbo below mate.
FollowupID: 452647

Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:54

Thursday, Sep 14, 2006 at 22:54
I reversed into a parked car out the front of home earlier this year and made my first insurance claim in 26 years. With AAMI.

No paper work, all done over the phone. My choice of repairers. I used one of their recommended ones and got top notch service. It was all so easy.

I also have our house insured with them. Got a text message on my phone recently to tell me the policy had expired, as a reminder in case I had forgotten, which I had. Now that is service.
AnswerID: 194610

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:17

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 00:17
Jimbo & Peter

This is a summary of what happened to me with AAMI. It was 2 & 1/2 years agao and form your experiences it looks as if they have lifted their game to the same level as their competion which would be a positive move.

I am impressed.

So fix it

Chicken feed I suppose .Oh! and the plicks refused a hire care whilst it was being repaired.

FollowupID: 452649

Reply By: Coolman - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:15

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:15
I have nothing but good things to say about them having both house and car claims in the past. Main one was the Pajero which I did an excellent job of banging up at Levuka. AAMI had no issue with me being offroad and sliding down a vertical slope intended for mountain goats, not Pajero Exceeds!! (No question it was my fault)

Assessor took the most expensive quote. Said the cheap one had missed a few things so he was not happy with it.

I could have had a choice of repairers but decided against it. I also had the choice of just dropping the car to them or directly to the repairer. I was able to work with the repairer to fix some things to suit my specs. Eg more solid side steps and bash plates instead of the plastic Mitsu ones.

Everytime I had a question or issue I called AAMI and they sorted it straight out.

Overall I have had a great experience with AAMI.
AnswerID: 194637

Follow Up By: Coolman - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:16

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:16
And Lucy...No more Followups please. I have read the multiple ones above.
FollowupID: 452669

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:21

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:21
This is a summary of what happened to me with AAMI. It was 2 & 1/2 years agao and form your experiences it looks as if they have lifted their game to the same level as their competion which would be a positive move.

I am impressed.

So fix it

Chicken feed I suppose .Oh! and the plicks refused a hire care whilst it was being repaired.

FollowupID: 452673

Follow Up By: Kata - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 10:26

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 10:26
hehehehehe

friday funny by Truckster....

lol

msut be cause Im lacking sleep

Kata
FollowupID: 452702

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:02

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:02
Truckster - you are determined to get me in the chit aren't you. Penalty = 1 large beer when next we meet.

Coolman - I'm speechless/wordless

Have a good weekend all
FollowupID: 452717

Follow Up By: Coolman - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:20

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:20
Truckster..

Good One....ROFLMOA :-)
FollowupID: 452757

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 09:43

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 09:43
Posted in an attempt to cure the australian manner of spelling legitimately, can u see where it was changed?

I am impressed.

So fix it

Not much more I can say other than they have my two 4WD's and never batted an eyelid with values, accessories and modifications. (engineering Cert's provided)

FollowupID: 452929

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 11:31

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 11:31
Slooooooooooooooooooooooooooow day in 'banjo country' Bonzzzzzzzzzzz eh!.

So! what happened with the 5th gear ithue.
FollowupID: 452956

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 14:04

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 14:04
Mr Nissan came to the rescue

FollowupID: 452972

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:45

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 08:45
Robbo, I thought you may have had someone else pay for it in their fuel cost when I saw the post. LOL Only SWMBO kissing in the car park, was dissapointed mate.
AnswerID: 194645