NRMA 'Traveller Care' - WARNING

Submitted: Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:28
ThreadID: 37736 Views:5609 Replies:12 FollowUps:10
A mate has just been thru the traumas with NRMA. Toyota Landcruiser sheared a crankshaft on the Callawa Track. Got a flat tow to Port Headland, and organised NRMA to get the vehicle back to home (SW Sydney) as per his (assumed) coverage. Few days later got a call from NRMA saying they won't be bringing it home- because it weighs more than 2.5 tonnes. (At this stage they had already got it to Perth).
Anyhow, he had the vehicle fixed in Perth and flew over and got it home.
But just a warning- if you think you're covered, maybe you'll have problems. I reckon most larger Cruiser/ Patrol vehicles would weigh more than 2.5 tonnes loaded!!

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:42

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:42
I'm ringing GIO right now. 2.5t you say.

Hell Roachie! you and I doomed mate if this is true.

Better check with AAMI whilst I am at it seeing as how they have 'improved their game'.

Gotta go, the telephone awaits me.
AnswerID: 194669

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:43

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 11:43
I have heard this before as the same with RACV Total Care.
FollowupID: 452713

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:11

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:11
What does your new monster weigh in at.
FollowupID: 452720

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:14

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:14
Is that a laden weight + trailer etc - most of us would be buggered if on a serious trip.
FollowupID: 452721

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:35

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:35
Lucy - so far not much over stock ;)

Beatit - i think thats what hes gettin at
FollowupID: 452732

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:28
I've long-ago given up on insurance companies ever being "helpful". I do keep mine insured through TCIS brokers, but I know only too well that all I'm really covered for is if it gets knocked off or torched. If I happen to have a stack, they'll wipe like a dirty nose cos of all the mods I've done which, whilst I consider them to be safe, would be viewed by the assessor as a convenient means of pyshing me off big-time.

As for expecting them to give me a tow.....that's a given! There is no way they're ever gunna send out one of those tri-ax Kenworth towies to get me from some far-flung destination. That's why I gotta carry all that extra chit.
FollowupID: 452751

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 08:32

Sunday, Sep 17, 2006 at 08:32
What'd GIO say old bean?

FollowupID: 452922

Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:32

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 12:32
must depend on the attitude of the person organising on behalf of NRMA
July last year I stuffed a rear wheel bearing outside Nyngan returning from EO gettogether at Birdsville.
had completely chewed up stubaxle and needed new diff housing .
NRMA came to party with 2 nights accommodation and a 550 km tow home on the back of the flat top and towed the camper trailer.
i had excellent service from as soon as I made contact,
interestingly I had a follow up call a few days after getting home advising that i had used up $2600 out of the $3000 per year allowance the extra cover thingy provided.I would still have coverage until the renewal was due but only had $400 left.
apparently all NRMA do is take out an insurance policy to cover this extra roadside service.

Maybe this explains why they moved the vehicle to perth then jacked up.
I am aware the 2.5 ton limit is in their docos but my 80 series would have been over that.

The nrma depot also advised that the RACV additional cover would not cover the trailer as did the NRMA .
HE was also looking after a bloke with a blown up radiator at brewarrina at the time but RACV would only move truck to dubbo for repair not van.

unfortunately i dont think these can be relied on for remote/ long distance recoveries as the costs would soon exceed the $ limit.
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

AnswerID: 194674

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:43

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:43
You guys are lucky because RAA sates 2000kgs...
AnswerID: 194685

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:43

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 13:43
You guys are lucky because RAA states 2000kgs...
AnswerID: 194686

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:16

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:16
Yes the 2.5t limit is enforced randomly, a mate we were travelling with was refused help sight unseen with a broken 80 series at Warburton on the GCR few years back.
Another acquaintance who wrote off an 80 on the Strezlecki had no problems at all.
Virtually any 4wd with bullbar, towbar, roofrack and rear cargo shelving will be over 2.5t tare, never mind the GVM.
There is another mob that provide cover for heavier vehicles that the motorhome crowd use. Funnily enough it is frequently the local NRMA/RACQ/RACV etc man that turns up ;-)))
AnswerID: 194689

Reply By: Pavo - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:32

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:32
Thanks for the warning - it is important to check the specifics...

I went and had a look at NRMA's website and it says "Towing will be provided for all types of motor vehicles which do not exceed 2.5 tonnes GVM (and in some cases 4WD Vehicles which do exceed 2.5 tonnes GVM) provided that the Tow can be made with Standard Towing Equipment."

Pete

AnswerID: 194694

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:38

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 14:38
We've looked into this before and found that this type of cover is virtually useless for most 'rigs' ,especially if set up for extended touring, because of the 2.5t GVM limit. Most of the motoring organisations hide behind the position that finding suitable transport 'might' be an issue.

Having said that, NRMA (and probably the others) will cover vehicles over this weight, providng they are commercially registered vehicles and presumabley at a higher premium cost.
AnswerID: 194695

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:12

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 15:12
Further to previous......Land Rover cover vehicles that are purchased new and are under warranty via its Care Assist program (which is sub contracted to NRMA) and under this program they instruct NRMA to arrange towing coverage for vehicles even if they are in excess of 2.5T GVM which is the Defender Range. Once it is out of warranty you are on your own.

This may be the case for other brands as well.

The caravan and motor home association have towing cover built into their policies, but this is only extended to motor homes. Perhaps there is someone out there that offers this type of cover for 4WDs ?
FollowupID: 452749

Follow Up By: Alan H - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:20

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 17:20
Yes I can confirm that Landy, LRA Assistance/RACWA got me home plus camper without any quibbling.
What was a problem was the hauliers who objected to the roof rack, the length with camper, the fridge inside although it was bolted down("Dump it" was the advice from the fat little yard boy in Perth, "It's not standard equipment"!!).
To read the fine print on the back of their paperwork is impossible without a powerful magnifying glass!
Their attitude and feedback was very bad.
They never informed us when it eventually got to Perth, LRA did that, and after I'd picked the camper up from their yard, they didn't bother informing the RAC it was ready to go to the repairer.
I hope they're in the same position one day.
Alan.
FollowupID: 452767

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:27

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:27
Not the experience I had ...

Did a cv joint 40km out of Adelaide River, called NRMA who could not have been more helpful. Arranged my accommodation, covered the tow (on a tilt trailer), and offered me a rental car (if I could find one in Adelaide River). I will sign up again.

The tow truck driver commented on the run back into Adelaide River that my vehicle was "heavy", but nothing more was said over that. It should have been, as we were self contained for a 6 months trip around Australia.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 194702

Reply By: Old Scalyback & denny - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:45
goodday all
just out of curiosity i rang RACV
basic roadside cover 2500kgs
total care up to 4000kgs towing to a repair place and if you havea van to a place of safety until car is repaired if it cant be repaired it will go to your destination (bad breakdown = home doesnt it ) also have up to 12 days car rental and other stuff
no mention of a $ value per year

AnswerID: 194703

Follow Up By: Member - John W (VIC) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 20:38
Total care will only tow 4000kgs to a place of repair (generally within 100ks from the breakdown), they will only recover up to 2500kgs with or without a trailer or caravan, must times Landcrusiers, Patrol etc. have no problems. Their definition of a recovery is from the place of breakdown (or the attending depot) were the breakdown is more than 100ks from the members address.
FollowupID: 452802

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:59

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 16:59
I know a person who had the weight limit stunt pulled on him by NRMA. He responded that they had with out question taken the money off him for the policy with full knowlege that the vehicle was over ther prescribed weight. He was prepared to take this argument furhter if need be. They then backed down.
AnswerID: 194704

Reply By: Middle Jeff - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:05

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 19:05
I just had the need to use the NRMA service, all in all it was great. I had a few hicups and weight was the biggy, forget what you have in your rig it is worked out by your rego papers, 80 series 2.6t so would not cover any towing arfter original tow. But they orginised a car for me (we where 120K in from Gladstone ) and 2 nights accomodation in Gladstone. I was by myself with my two small kids so this alone was a great releif. The lady looking arfter me kept in contact and made sure we where all well, they offered to orginise bus or train back to Sydney but with two kids I opted for a quick flight back. They followed up when I got back to Sydney and told me they would pay my land costs back to Gladstone.

In the end the lady said to write a letter outlining all my costs, we did this and they covered everything, transport for the cruiser, airfairs back to Sydney, flight back for me and another car rental up their. I could not be happier with the service.

Have fun

Craig
AnswerID: 194721

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 22:37

Friday, Sep 15, 2006 at 22:37
I had same issues on recent trip to the Cape - fully laden, I was 3.6 ton - When I upgraded to NRMA Premium Care, they read out the specs of the contract, and the weight was listed as 2500kg max. I quizzed them on that, and they told me that it was the unladen weight, so the 100 series was fine as it is a 2300 curb weight.

Unfortunately I put this to the test, and was flat bed trucked from the Jardine River to Bamaga

Weight wasn't mentioned.
AnswerID: 194770

Follow Up By: The Landy - Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 06:05

Saturday, Sep 16, 2006 at 06:05
Hi Ivan

Which goes to show how hit and miss this is. Someone tells you it is 2.5t unladen, yet in their own guidlines it spefically mentions 2.5t GVM.

FollowupID: 452832