GQ Nissan Patrol Diesel fuel consumption

Submitted: Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:01
ThreadID: 37805 Views:37931 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Hi all.. Just after some info from other 4.2 diesel patrol owners. I have an aftermarket turbo fitted to my 4.2 diesel GQ.. I have (up until now) enjoyed diesel economy, getting up to 650km per 75 litre tank... I have recently been getting only 420-450km per tank and am wondering if there are any suggestions as to what it may be? I have had the injector pump checked out and have had the all clear on that.. The injector pump people suggested I try getting fuel from a different servo (changed from BP to Shell) which didnt seem to make a difference.. I have done a premature service (3000km service instead of the usual 5000km) and still nothing.. Should I be getting the turbo checked out?? Any suggestions would be great. Cheers all...

Reply By: handy - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:15

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:15
i have got a 92 gq diesel non turbo and get same as you 420 to 450km to the tank.
have you checked air filters. i know you said its been serviced but sometimes these things get forgotten. cheers
AnswerID: 195060

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:26

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:26
Cheers Handy.. Yeah I did a full service and have replaced both air filters as part of the service..
FollowupID: 453145

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:19

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:19
You mention the injector pump but not the injectors..?? The injectors may not be atomising properley..? Did the change in economy come after you fitted the turbo.? If not then I doubt you have issues with the Turbo if it isn't that old. Has the air cleaner been replaced with a new one..? Were fuel filters replaced..??

Have your injectors checked.? Air Filter replaced.? Fuel filters..?? Turbo would last resort.
AnswerID: 195061

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:29

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:29
Cheers Terra Firma... I havnt had the injectors checked... I might book it in to get them checked. The turbo has been on since brand new. The patrol was driven from the shop to the diesel fitters to have the turbo put straight on back in 92.. Cheers for the suggestion about the injectors mate... As I mentioned to Handy all filters were replaced as part of the service... Will let you know how I go with the injector check up... Cheers again...
FollowupID: 453146

Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:38

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:38
Just serviced 12 injectors on my boat (2 x Cummins Diesel Engines) as it was down on speed , putting too much black soot on the back of the boat etc, it doesn't take much , some of them weren't atomising properley and some needed replacement nozzles. The difference was amazing, got my top speed back, was down by 5 knots, expect fuel ecomony to improve also. In my Hilux I run Chemtech Diesel Injector cleaner every 3 or 4 tanks, I haven't had an issue although I strongly believe the quality of the diesel can change with different servos, I couldn't recommend a brand, not sure if it's all the same.

Good luck, let us know how it goes..
AnswerID: 195067

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:24

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:24
Cheers mate. Will get the injectors checked out and see what happens... It hasnt seemed to be blowing excessive black smoke or anything but I have booked it in to get checked out so I will see what they come up with... Cheers again and I will post a follow up when I find out what is wrong.
FollowupID: 453157

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:38

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 12:38
I had a 94 4.2 diesel GQ patrol with a Mike Vine after market turbo already fitted when I bought it. I was in the same boat the fuel economy was not all that great compared to a mates patrol. Just can't remember the k's per tank, but on asking around at the time I was none the wiser, had already done the injectors and the pump, so I looked up Mike Vine the guy who put the turbo in. I was lucky enough to have his shop near me so I took it back to him, he did things to it that were a bit over my head but $700 later it went like a rocket and was more economical. Sorry I can't be more specific but a guy who puts them in should know more than the local mechanic.
Wazza
AnswerID: 195068

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:27

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 13:27
Cheers Wazza... Im gonna get the injectors checked out and if I dont have much luck I will have the turbo checked out... Its a bit ough up here in Darwin as there are no Turbo specialists up here so turbos need to be sent away for work.. The problem with this is that this means that the vehicle cant be tuned with the Turbo on.. Anyhow, I might look up Mike Vine if the injectors arent the problem. Cheers again mate..
FollowupID: 453159

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:27

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:27
GQ has a 95ltr tank, not 75...

this has occured only since fitting the snail the bleep economy?
AnswerID: 195088

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:36

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 14:36
Hi Truckster.. Its got a 75 litre tank as far as I know.. The turbo has been on since it was brand new. Fuel economy has always been good up until the last 3 weeks or so... I havnt changed anything to warrant the change in economy.
FollowupID: 453169

Follow Up By: handy - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 15:19

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 15:19
same as me truckster its only got 75 lt tank
FollowupID: 453180

Reply By: cokeaddict - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:46

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 17:46
Im wondering if you have at any stage lately used biodiesel ? The reason i ask is this, biodiesel cleans out sediment in your fuel tank and this is eventually pushed along the fuel lines and over a bit of time starts to restrict your fuel filter. Personally I would go back to basics first before spending huge amounts of money with expensive pumps and stuff.

From expierence (some wont agree with me here but thats ok) The injectors are good for 300,000 kms before thinking about having them changed. Most will tell you they should be done around 200,000kms but if you have looked after ur GQ as most long term owners do, then 300,000 is about right. Also makes a difference if you are using the factory std fuel filter as to an after market one.
Personally I would start with replacing your fuel filter...thats a good start and a cheap one.

NEXT... get rid of your pre filter, remove it and just use the oval one. Reason why i suggest that is from expierence. When i ran my pre filter, I went from 11 -12ltrs / 100 kms to 14 -16ltrs / 100 Kms. Turbos dont like them on, they need to breath heaps of air. The pre filter restricts air flow thus causing you to burn more fuel. Also If you have a donaldson fitted to your snorkel (assuming you have a snorkel) Take it off as well and fit the standard snorkel top back on. The Donaldson pre filter is not big enough for turbo diesels (4.2).

If after you try all that, things are still bad then start looking at injectors..its cheaper this way !

When i replaced my injectors on my GQ, it was worse on fuel for around 1000 - 2000kms, but then things started working for me and fuel economy improved.

Hope some of this helps you.
Ange.
AnswerID: 195116

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:50

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:50
Hi Ange

Cheers for all the suggestions mate. I have been using the BP Bio diesel for a while now and as suggested maybe it is stirring up some sediment. I have changed the filter though since so am thinking it may not be the filter. I will leave the pre-lim filter out in future.. Will the primary filter stop all the nasties though?? Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 453415

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 17:37

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 17:37
Hello again.....Primary filter (oval) will stop it yes, thats what its designed to do, but as others have suggested, when u go offroading in dusty conditions, take ur pre filter along and fit it before u hit the dirt roads, esp if u plan on being behind other vehicles.

Just keep your oval filter maintained and it will be fine. Now that i know u use biodiesel, it could be possible (not probable but possible) to have a slight restriction in ur gause mesh behind the bango of ur fuel line pump, Worth taking a peek at, its just a bolt and simple to check, just make sure u watch how the 2 washers sit so u know where they go when re fitting the bolt. I took my mesh out long ago, aftermarket fuel filter stops the gunk dead.

Ange
FollowupID: 453428

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 19:51
hello there, take your jigger round to premier fuel injection at berrimah nt. they do good stuff , turbos, tuning, dyno, coffee, tall stories etc
AnswerID: 195150

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:53

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:53
Haha.. cheers man... I did go in there a few months ago though to get the injector pump checked and when I asked about dyno tuning the guy didnt sound too interested...
FollowupID: 453416

Reply By: Member - Bulla - Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:51

Monday, Sep 18, 2006 at 20:51
I have a 90 GQ Td42 diesel naturally aspirated and no turbo. About a year ago with just over 200000k's on the clock it was getting fuel hungry and started smoking. Took it to a diesel specialist and they put it on the dyno. Found HP down and fitted new injectors, new air filter but removed pre-airfilter as it reduced the volume of air intake. Stated carry it but only use when in very dusty conditions. Didn't touch the pump as it tested OK. Got an immediate 15% improvement in economy. A few weeks ago she got sluggish on hills again. Took it to my local and he fitted new fuel filter and air filter - no pre filter- and it's a different vehicle again - literally flies (if a Td42 can be thought to fly).
Tow a 15' 6" van and get around 12.9L/100 on a good run and around 14.9 when there are heaps of hills to climb. She's no speedster but just plugs on faithfully.
AnswerID: 195166

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:26

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:26
Cheers Bulla... Im gonna have a go at pulling the prelim filter out and see how it goes... So you just run the prelim filter when you are going off-road or its dusty? Cheers mate..
FollowupID: 453423

Follow Up By: Member - Bulla - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:49

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 16:49
Yep, that's right. My Sydney mechanic made the same suggestion without any knowledge that the diesel specialist had recommended the same idea. Have since had confirmation from other sources that it is a fairly standard practice. Hope you get a good result. Don't forget to carry the pre filter with you and fit it when you hit the dusty stuff. Cheers!!
FollowupID: 453638

Follow Up By: Russ51 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:08

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:08
Hi guys, sorry to get in on your thread but I would love to send an e-mail to "Bulla"
re his rig. As a visitor I cant seem to send him email direct. Wonder if you read this Bulla you can email me at
russjex@bigpond.com
Ta mate
rgds Russ
I have a 91 GQ Patrol ute and I believe a 95 lt tank. How can you tell ,?is there any markings??
FollowupID: 453792

Reply By: pooj - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:20

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:20
Hi there,
There is a fine filter in the top of the fuel pump, if that gets clogged with crap your power and economy will go out the door. If you disconnect the banjo fitting off the intake line (top front left of pump) you will find the filter down in there. It is a fair way down and you will need a small pick to retrieve it. Some mechanics chuck it out when they service pumps because of the problems they present so it's possible yours is gone if it has been serviced! It's worth a look or a chat to the guy who did your pump 'cos they are a real pain if they block up!

Cheers...................Pete!
AnswerID: 195273

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:24

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:24
Cheers Pooj... Might check that out once I have checked the filters etc as suggested above... Cheers again mate. Will let you know how it all goes...
FollowupID: 453422

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:40

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 13:40
have you consided that its the way you drive i know that theirs no way i will get the conspution that my freind (member jamie mac) gets as he drives to the rev tacho on every gear every time the man could go in a fuel contest & win where i flog the crap out of mine & i get their sooner but alot more ltrs & we offen coment that he's is older with more Klms but mines done alot more engine revs making
AnswerID: 195304

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:23

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:23
Hi Vincent... Thanks for the suggestion.. I havnt changed the way Ive driven it so I dont think this could be contributing to the worsening economy. Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 453421

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:05

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:05
I dont spose you have fitted a roof rack or mud tyres recently and the economy has changed since then???
Either of those things change economy quite a bit..
AnswerID: 195588

Follow Up By: 92GQTRV001 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 09:36

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 09:36
Hi Voxson.. Na I havnt made any changes to the car at all. Have tried a few of the suggested remedies but havnt had any luck as yet... Cheers Voxson.
FollowupID: 453771

Reply By: 92GQTRV001 - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:56

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 11:56
Hi.. Just wanted to let you all know that I had the Patrol looked at yesterday and had it Dyno Tuned. They went all over the engine and said it was solid.. They threw it on the dyno and noticed the boost was a little low (7psi) and the air fuel mix was very ordinary. They made some changes and upped the boost to 10psi and the trol has got its economy back as well as increased power. They suggested I should bring it in to get the injectors re-tipped but apart from that, shes all good again. Cheers for all the help guys and hope this info can be of use in the future to some of you. Thanks again.
AnswerID: 197127