Simpson with a trailer

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 09:34
ThreadID: 37839 Views:3406 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
I have to drive from Mt Dare to Birdsville towing a 700kg camel CT tow vehicle is NJ pajero v6 petrol. Normally on highway with trailer consumption is 15-17l/100k. Any ideas how much fuel I will need and the best route to take.

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 09:48

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 09:48
Hi HR,

Try this,

Site Link

There are others there as well, we were pretty well loaded (read heavy) but I suggest that a good guide might be to do a beach trip - not sure where you are. This will give a good idea on your ability and fuel consumption. We did a fully loaded trip to Fraser to find out that our combo used 3.2 K/L as a worse case.

Hope this gets you started + there have been some prior posts on this forum.

AnswerID: 195256

Reply By: Member - Vincent A M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:20

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:20
Is this a reel camel, hump & all? & Not some trailer called a camel, I think you would have to go via the rig road & even then the poor thing would not be much good at the end of it as the trailer is going to buck & try to put your camel on the bonnet of the pajero. good luck please supply more info
I put a baby camel (hobbled) on the back of my ute once to take from Ulladulla to Narooma nsw (1hr) & it just sat there the whole time funniest load i ever had
AnswerID: 195271

Reply By: hr - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:23

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 10:23
Ive been to Fraser with the trailer but we mostly camped at central station. I didn't find that towing on Frazer doubled my fuel use but people tell me that the Simpson will at least double my consumption.
AnswerID: 195274

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:37

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:37
I also should have said that I normally get about 5 K/L. From memory we used about 180 litres but we had 250 with us. It is not a good place to run out of fuel for any reason. If you have done Central Station then you should find the SD ok, usual rules apply.

FollowupID: 453357

Reply By: Robin - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:16

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 11:16
Hi Hr

Won't take you quite double , but you should take double your normal fuel usage as loaded. looks like around no less than 200lt for you.

Go straight across , shortest.

link describes options

www.mtdare.com.au/
AnswerID: 195285

Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:15

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:15
Heh HR,

Not many have to drive the Simpson most just prefer to want to.

The desert is quite benign at the moment. You can go from Wonga around the Rig Road to The Knolls without any stress or difficulty with the last bit up to the Knools/French Line junction the harder part. Fuel injection is on your side and you shouldn't have difficulties, but then again always travel with at least one vehicle without a trailer.

As said before, minimum for ULP is 200 lts for a solo and 20% more for you. I would still expect you useage to be about 170/180ltrs.

That all said I would not recommend you take a trailer into the desert. Next year we will introduce a trailer casualty board like the Rainbow Beach pub has for the rocks.

Hope that helps
Ian@Mt Dare - see you at the fuel bowser
AnswerID: 195339

Follow Up By: hr - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 18:09

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 18:09
the same people will be on both. cu soon
FollowupID: 453432

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 22:18
G'day Ian

You can take a trailer anywhere if your trailer is well set up and if you know your trailer and tow vehicle.

The trouble is that many travellers across the desert either won't take advice, overload their trailers and vehicles, and won't reduce tyre pressures. Then they have breakages.

I ran my tyres 13psi cold on the GQ and 10psi cold on the trailer and drove from the French Line to the Geo Centre of the Simpson and back overe trackless country for around 200km. My trailer weight into the rough stuff would have been 800kg all up. Had no issues at all.

Coming out of the desert I was stopped by the last dune on the Rig Road. This was at the beginning of May this year. The sand drift was 5 metres over the normal road surface. I took an approach slightly to the left and bogged on top of the dune with the trailer hanging over the edge. I reduced the truck tyres to 9psi, put my rubber floor mats under the rear wheels and drove out.

It is all a matter of knowing your vehicle and how to drive on sand. That said I had to back down a few dunes in the Gibson Desert recently when the I ran out of puff at the wrong angle over the dune. No one is infallible....LOL

FollowupID: 453489

Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:33

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 19:33
Can't wait to see the trailer board

As Ian said, your usage will probably be 170 litres, but could be more. I would go for a minimum of 200 litres but don't take more than 250.
FollowupID: 453675

Reply By: scoof - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:15

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:15
I did the same trip 2005 Rig road mostly.
Pajero 3.5 petrol, my trailer was closer to 1000kg took 3 day's took it easy.
Never got stuck or bogged was lucky because it had rained about 1-2 weeks before so the sand was quite hard. YMMV

I had 210 litres all up and used 145 - 150 litres. (Mt Dare to Birdsville)

Enjoy the trip it's a great place. "Just take it easy it's not that difficult". IMHO

Regards Scoof
AnswerID: 195340

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:51

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 16:51
My Rig Pic is at Poepples Corner in 2004.

Trailer is about 1000kg all up, had 5 people on board. Mt Dare to Colson then down to Rig Rd up past the loan gum along QAA, up Knolls track then French Line, about 600km. No problems at all apart from a bit of rain on the 2nd night, camped on QAA.

Used 130l of diesel. I would normally get about about 800km from that amount of fuel with that load on.

Take it easy enjoy the scenery, let your tyres down, including the trailer, and you will have a fun trip.

AnswerID: 195350

Reply By: Mike - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:16

Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 23:16
Shouldn't be a big problem, doing it the sensible way. Fuel is available at Oodnadatta, William Creek, Maree and Mungarannee.

Keep trailers out of the Simpson! You are stuffing the tracks for the considerate travellers!

We get flamed every time this subject comes up, but I have followed trailer groups across and those "experts" don't see the carnage they leave behind.

Happy trails, Mike.
AnswerID: 195441

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 00:58

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 00:58
Hi Mike,

Totally agree about keeping trailers out of the Simpson, we hire out trailers and for every one driver like Willem who knows what their doing there are 20 others who have no idea. I have done the Simpson a few times, 2 years ago I could have pulled a 16foot Caravan across and hardly even had to use 4 wheel drive it was that compacted, 5 Years earlier a different member of the group were stuck every 10 k's or so. So conditions can be very varied as we all know. Last time over Desert Parks informed us that if the amount of Camper Trailers kept increasing the park may end up closing and only be available with tag along tours. "Lets all hope this doesn't happen"
FollowupID: 453524

Follow Up By: hr - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:01

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 10:01
Hi Mike
I have only driven a trailer on beach sand tracks like Fraser so am not familiar with the desert sand could you explain how a trailer stuffs up the tracks.
thanks
FollowupID: 453568

Follow Up By: scoof - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 20:11

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 20:11
hr
I also would like hear how trailers stuff up the tracks.

If tyre pressures are down and drive to the conditions can't see the problem.

Scoof.
FollowupID: 453682

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:47

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 22:47
Yes, trailers........lol

In the beginning......hmmm about 4 years ago, when this subject came up on the forum I was dead set against trailers going anywhere. But times change and I have succumbed to the trailer mania as well....lol again

My concern came to the fore when doing the Canning in 1994 where I encountered trailers being towed by inexperienced drivers. Their vehicles were chopping up the track and the dunes were being buggered up as drivers had to reverse down the dunes with the trailers twitching and turning in all directions.

The tow vehicles cause the track damage BUT after the next summer winds, the track gets restored. I cannot see why the 'Authorities' of the Simpson Desert would want to close the track because of damage. What damage? Damage only really occurs if people drive outside the track verges over 'virgin' country. Trailers just follow along and compact the track again.

Maybe the Simpson Trek should be One Way, say from Birdsville, with a Ranger(who has Driver Training qualifications) stationed at Little Red. Each and every person coming along can then fill in a quick questionaire and given a 5 minute lesson on desert travel. I know, its a hypothetical suggestion. But closing the desert off to all except those with Tag-along Tours sounds fishy to me. Maybe there is a hidden agenda.

FollowupID: 453713

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:23

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:23
Hi Willem,

I agree with most of your points, even a ranger to make sure everyone has Sand-Flags and UHF would be the biggest blessing. As for your comment on the sand blowing back into the track holes, 5 years ago when about 10 percent of the travellers that now cross the desert I would have agreed, but now it doesn't get enough of a rest to compensate for the huge rise in traffic. As i mentioned above, 2 years ago when we went across and i admit we were about mid season after lots of campers and solo vehicles, even though the track was firm because of rains the whoops that the inexperienced drivers had made most of the hills was a mess, with not only tops but approaches having big wallowing holes, always as is the case with wheel spin caused holes at a car length apart and opposite corners. Now this may have filled in over the summer period, but everyone after us would have had to deal with the same conditions etc, including the rangers, who would then put in their reports. As I mentioned above, I hire out camper trailers but don't believe the deserts are the place for the 80% of inexperienced drivers who take them there. Example was the F250 that left in front of us from Delhousie with a Track Shack in tow, vehicle was lifted at least 6 inches by springs and another 3 by blocks, trailer had the draw bar extended and at most of the dune tops which have kicks in them he had to unhitch and winch the camper around and over.

Sorry to all for the long post.

FollowupID: 453736

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:53

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 00:53
Hi Blaze

When I travelled the Simspon this year at the beginning of May there was a bit of wind around. I met some people at Purnie Bore who said that they had had trouble on a few dunes and that conditions were sandy. We camped along the track that night and then following day set off to the east. Some of the dunes had no wheel track marks over them and many had up to a metre of drift sand on the crests. I turned north at Erabena Airstrip and came back on to the French Line 4 days later near the Knolls Track. This area too was 'deserted'....ie no visible tracks.

Over a period of 20 years I have done all the Simpson Tracks except the K1 Line and frankly I see very little change apart from the fact that Big Red looks a lot less daunting than the first time I crossed it in a Suzuki...:-)

This past summer and winter, the desert has seen very little rain and there have been significant sand blows. In the NT part of the Simpson I found severe wind erosion around the base of shrubs and spinifex clumps and huge sand deposits on top of dune crests. It made for some interesting driving but we had no problems as we ran very low tyre pressures.

With the advent of thousands of additional campers being towed behind 4x4's it is only a matter of time before the rules will change. Unfortunately that is a fact of life.

FollowupID: 453738

Follow Up By: scoof - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:03

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:03
Great to hear your valued opinion Willem.

I with 2 other vehicles and trailers crossed the Simpson at the same time as you and your mates July 2005.
We were the lot that picked up your power steering cap and handed it to you at the gum tree.
Regards Scoof
FollowupID: 453774

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:31

Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:31
Ahh scoof....I remember now...at Lone Gum .....thanks...lol

Yes I lost the bloody thing again and didn't bother replacing it.

I have done 6 Simpson treks over the years and will probably do one more back into the NT side next year. Still looking for a plaque I put there in 1987.

FollowupID: 453843

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:55

Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:55
Off you go mate, my Trak Shak has been across the Simpson ,,Just take your time and drop your pressure to 15-18 psi on your tow vehicle and between 20-22 for the camper and you will have no probs,,
But do yourself a favor, and do not do it alone, and take extra fuel ( about 1/3 as much again, from the recomended amount )
And enjoy ,, the Simpson is a realy beautiful place
AnswerID: 195461