Peugeots (sigh)
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:07
oldbaz
I got a bit exited to see " Peugeot" mentioned in a recent post. I've driven them
for the last 40 years. I'm sure you are all aware of the infamous 203 & the success it had in the first rallies in Aust. in the 50's. My old diesel 504 served me for 469 thousand ks (popped a ring) & consistantly gave 800 k for 50 litres. It was
noisy, slow, smelly, only 4 cogs & I loved the thing. My current stable includes an
auto 405 of 1994 vintage that does 14 K to the litre on a trip, and a 205 si with nearly 300 k on the clock, 1.6 litre & still going fine. I would dearly love to get back into a diesel Pug, but I dont buy new, on principal, & suitable used ones are
like rocking horse manure, but I keep looking. Hi to all my fellow Pug cotcases out
there, maw we pedal the Lion forever!!!. Regards..Baz.
Reply By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:12
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:12
Make that excited, will you, you can see I really was!!!!! Baz
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:35
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:35
g'day oldbaz,
our family grew up with two cars back in wa. one of them was always a frenchie and usually a pug. my earliest memory is the 504 sedans (petrol) but we kept at them and the 504 wagon was a great vehicle for us. One day Dad brought a 604 home and was vocal in the "much higher" fuel consumption, going to a six. But it had these things from mars called electric windows, power steering and a bloody sunroof! I should say though that perhaps my favourite was the 505 SRD turbo diesel, manual. Watch out for these if you don't mind going back that far.
Great seats, great brakes, great engineering etc. (but now he drives merc diesels....:)
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:07
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:07
Hi bushfix, I never had a 604, 3 504s though, 2 petrol & 1 oiler.. I can remember joining the throttle linkages on my twin carb one with a piece of wire, & damned
near got whiplash from the acceleration, fuel consumption tripled though.
The 505 oilers are starting to get a bit long in the tooth for me. I would settle for a 2 litre turbo 306 though. You may be interested to note that in 40 years & 8 Peugeots I have spent just over $41k in buying them, & have never had to walk away from one on the road (except for running out of fuel), That sort of money will only
buy you one common garden commodore. I have put my substantial savings towards several overseas forays & a constant supply of Bundy. The trips broadened my mind & the Bundy stuffed my spelling, but do I care? Not Likely.
Regards..Baz
Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:36
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 14:36
Put a Holden 6 cyl (and 4 speed box) in our 504. Kept the worm & pinion diff tho.
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:11
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:11
Hi, Troop-a-dour, I never got that adventurous, but I must admit to cutting the ends of 403 coil springs & then winding them into the existing springs to cure a
saggy bum problem. It worked too. Regards Baz.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:01
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:01
I learned to drive in a 404 petrol. Nice to drive, 4 on the tree, would sit all day on 100 km/h
Only problem was when I went to drive my mates EH.....The gears were "upside down" to what I was used to. Reverse gear at 60 kmh....................
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:18
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:18
Hi GaryInOz, yes had a 404 petrol, beautiful car but rust beat me in the end.
The gear pattern you speak of was interesting, but if you go back one model to the 403 you could get two different 4 on the tree patterns, depending on what model.
Father in law had one, I had the other, made for some strange noises when using each others car. My neice managed to put one of my 504 petrols in reverse at about 40 kph. Left some wild skid marks but nothing broke..thats a Pug for ya!!!
Regards..Baz.
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:27
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:27
Before someone puts this wonderful discussion to bed for not being 4wd,
camping or caravan related, might I say that all my Peugeots had a wonderful
camping body as standard equipment. Excellent for
camping & not entirely
unsuitable for other pusuits either...Baz.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:24
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:24
We had a 404 wagon years ago, late '60's model I think (petrol-slant 4) I remember Dad put one of those new-fangled car radios into it (it came without one back then).
It got 30MPG when it was new, and 30MPG when it was sold, some 17 years later.
It had done 250,000
MILES and the engine had no rattles, and not blowing any smoke, but rust got to it in the end. Try getting these sort of
miles out of a garden variety falcon or commodore.(not taxi)
Beautiful
old car, went like stink, and solid, not tinny like cars of today.
Stu
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:46
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 15:46
I had a 404 ute at one stage. Also bought a 203 in
Melbourne once with me tax refund. Had a lot of fun with it. Was working on it one day lying underneath and it rolled off the scissors jack. I did not have time to move and got stuck there until my missus and the neighbour came to my rescue.
I worked at the Renault/ Peugeot factory at West Heidelberg for a while.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:42
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 07:42
Gday Willem
I used to work for Reno Aust in
Sydney back in the old days..I had a 203 for a while and it went rather goodly.It had the 403 innards in the engine ..
well i must be getting to work as my boss is a rite as***e..bast***
Reply By: RichieK - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:57
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 19:57
became a pug-fan at about 10 years of age when my dad and i visited some friends who had a 504 - it rode like it was on air and cornered on rails..i made a mental note to buy one as soon as i was able. It took a bit longer than i expected and it ended up being a 205gti, but nothing has given me automotive pleasure like the pug did (though my prado comes close). When I get a bit of land to put up a decent shed, I'll be looking out for an old 504, a 404 and possibly a few others to just tinker with into the wee small hours and occasionally go for a bit of a putter around the paddocks....
Ted Egan is a mad Peugeot nut - he took his 403 around the outback along roads that would stop most fourbies and I think from memory it clocked up over half a million
miles before he upgraded to a 504 wagon...
Was in Albury a few years back when a Redex
recreation rally arrived in town..there were more old pugs there than i had seen in all my life...It took me a few days to get the grin off my face...
Just remembered - I used to have an Alfa and was in the Alfa club. Was at a meeting one day and i quietly whispered to another clubbie that I had a hankerng for a Peugeot. The club president overheard me, he came striding over with his eyes ablaze. i got ready for a tonguelashing but he said "Peugeot? NOW you're talking about cars..."and he spoke at length about rallying Peugeots mny moons before he discovered Alfas...I swear he was quite misty-eyed...
Anyway, they are my little stories that I thought I'd share...
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:50
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:50
Well done,Richie, you sound almost as adicted to Pugs as me. The Hatchback from Notre Dame must be one of the clssics of the last 50 years. Baz.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:38
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:38
My parents have just bought themselves a Peugeot 407 Touring HDi turbo diesel and WOW what a car it is. It is a pure delight to drive and would make a fantastic car just for touring around the country. With a range of over 1000 kms to the tank and a beautiful 6 speed auto I wish it were
mine.
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:20
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 08:20
I was looking at those at the last 2by car changeover. Still look at them on the road with the Ferrari like mouth on the front. Bought another Euro derivative that is smaller but goes just as
well, but gets service locally which can be important.
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:51
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:51
Wow, i'm still drooling over the photograph. I want one....Baz.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:58
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 20:58
Ye haven't driven nuffink till you've had a VANGUARD!!!!!
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:35
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:35
We also had a Renault Dauphine!!!
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:42
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:42
I had a quarter share in a Vanguard back in my college days, it had two gearsticks, one for !st & reverse & one for 2nd & top. It went ok , what can you
expect for 25 quid? Baz.
Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:43
Tuesday, Sep 19, 2006 at 21:43
I had a Hillman Imp GT which was so powerful my eyes are still slanted from the accelerative G forces.
Not only that, but it was so economical I used to go to the servo to empty the excess fuel out of the tank..
So there.
Follow Up By: oldbaz - Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:45
Wednesday, Sep 20, 2006 at 09:45
Too good for me mate, you win. Baz