Member - Troll 81 (QLD)
Morning Team
I remember seeing on here a couple of weeks ago something about a pet friendly
camping spot book for South East Qld...I did a search but came back with zip, can anyone shed any light please
Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:52
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:52
Hey Cornel
I haven't seen anything on here but I have seen the books that you can buy. Saw them at BCF, any
camping shops, have seen a newsagent and even one of the large BP service centres at Yatala.
I'll keep a
lookout for you.
Jo
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:04
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:04
Thanks Jo
I am going to buy the dirty weekends away today so maybe that will be good enough and might show dog friendly
places
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:00
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:00
G'Day Troll,
We (being my gf and dog) are heading up to Inskip Pt next weekend for a coupla nights. Apparently you can take your dog up there. Other than that we usually just
camp at Cruiser
Park - it's pretty tough to find a spot where the pup can enjoy the outdoors! :-(
I'll belt up a post when we get back and let you know how it goes.
Scoey!
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:54
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 10:54
There is
Bush Camping with Dogs available in the
Shop section, but this is Autralia wide.
Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:39
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:39
Also 'Holidaying with Dogs' is Oz wide and in
shop. I have both and they're pretty good.
Bush camping speaks for itself, the other covers C.P.'s, B&B's, etc plus lists pet motels and minders.
Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:07
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:07
Boiling Billy Publications have their "
Camping Guide to (each State) " series of books, these clearly show which areas are "dog friendly"
They are also available here at the Exploroz
Shop.
Reply By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:10
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 11:10
Try here:
www.doggyholiday.com/
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew W (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:05
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 15:05
or this one
www.k9.bounceme.net/
Reply By: Wizard1 - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:56
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 12:56
Camping, apart from caravan parks and alike that allow dogs are like rocking horse poo here in SEQLD. We've lived in WA and it was great for that sort of stuff, especially beach
camping. We got here and the place was almost anti-pet.
Dirty Weekends does list several
places, like properties open for public
camping at a fee in SEQLD and Nth NSW. Most, if not all, are inland, so don't expect a beach trip.
We travel to Wooyung near
Pottsville NSW as the nearest place to stay near a beach with dogs.
Try Camps 3 as
well.
Wizard
Gold Coast
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:23
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 13:23
Hey Wizard
I know what you mean...when we want to take the dog the only place around here to have a good time is main beach at Straddie...but it gets a bit expensive if you do that all the time
Reply By: Member - Bruce and Anne - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:30
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 14:30
Hi Troll, the best book I have for searching for dog friendly
places in SE Qld is
Camping in Southern and Central Queensland by Martin Bowerman from
Creek to Coast, Great South East. He has a full page of dog friendly
places and there is some great
camping spots in there to. It was $12.95 when I brought it a few years ago. Dirty Weekends tell u if you can your dog to the private
camping area as
well, but it is only the ones he has in there.
Hope this is of some help.
Cheers Bruce
Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 19:06
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 19:06
Howdy there Troll good to see ya again if you go to around oz.com they are motor home site here in Loganholme the owner of the site has a dawgy & they go almost every where with it & they even list the freindly dawgy
places where to freecamp as
well as pay camps in SEQ go to the main page & follow the links.
Cheer's Bob.
Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:00
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:00
Hey Bob,
Reckon you're gonna do yourself an injury lifting those new
wheels you got for your zook too many times !
BTW, just didn't seem the same around the campfire last w/e without the 'Bob humour' mate, we made up for you not being there by talking about you though ! Hehe.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:35
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:35
Heya,Mr Pezza.Glad you had me to talk about as that means you laeft some other silll can't alone eh.lol.:)I was trying to get them on the trailer (there were two) to bring them home for your
bright orange motorx bike but could not lift them, so you had to go without.:)See ya round like a doughnut.
Cheer's Bob.
Reply By: Pratty - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:16
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 21:16
Troll
We have taken out dogs to Lake Monduran a couple of time, good
camping area, good facilities and generally not to many people.
Have also camped on Main Beach on Straddie which allows dogs over the Christmas period. Even over the Christmas/New Years period we still had plenty of peace and quite but not much in the way of facilities.
Good choice of vehicle, recently bought a 4.2 TD and so far very happy with it.
Pratty
Reply By: pooj - Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30
Thursday, Sep 21, 2006 at 22:30
Just be careful
camping with your dogs at
Inskip Point. The Rangers there are deadly on any dog off a leash. They must be tied up, caged up or on a leash 24/7, unless of course you want to wear an on
the spot fine , then just let them run wild. We stopped taking our Toy Maltese, which wouldn't leave
camp if it's very life depended on it, because the Rangers were so savage about it. She would just live in the tent because she didn't like the sand and they still whinged. Oh
well, rules is rules i suppose. Now we stay home because of the dog.
Cheers.....................Pete!
Reply By: Member - qld_bushpig - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:48
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:48
Hi Troll 81
We just spent a wonderful 2 weeks at Sharp
Park at
Canungra. Pet friendly, platypus in the
creek and only 3 kms to town.
Toilets but no showers.
Also heard that a
park near Runaway Bay is pet friendly but do not know exactly which one. Also one at
Rathdowney.
Jack
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:03
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:03
Hi Cornel,
Congratulations mate, welcome to the "yes dear" club.
Hope everything went
well and there weren't too many ugly camels on the honeymoon mate.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:28
Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:28
Hey Pezza
Everything went great and thanks for welcoming into the club :) We will have to catch up soon somewhere. I am getting the Bullbar and winch soon....so loook out
Reply By: daisygirl - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:02
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:02
We have stayed at Wooyung and very basic camping but lovely spot.
Wooli is a bit further down and lovely little fishing village place as
well where we normally go at
Easter and even though really packed they still take dogs.
Just had a weekend 4wding at Cityview 4wd park which is a couple of kms from
Beaudesert and they allow dogs. Facilities extremely basic ie only porta loos at some
camp spots so make sure you take plenty of water. Need a good offroad camper as dont think I would like to take in a normal caravan.