Your worst 4wd experiences?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:36
ThreadID: 37930 Views:4174 Replies:22 FollowUps:18
We all make mistakes. When it's all over we can look back and call it an "experience".

I've done it and you've done it. Bogged. Broken down. Restarted a diesel while stuck in a river. Filled the diesel with petrol. "Whew ! That was close"
experiences. Forgotten to take the spade and toilet paper experiences. Choosing the wrong travelling companions or camping spot experiences.

Here's a chance for you to fess up. You might be the worlds best 4wder now, but come clean. You were once a newbie.

A wise man learns from the mistakes of others. So if thats true, lets all learn from each other.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:51

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:51
Man who changes gears halfway up large, soft sand dune soon has lots of time to reflect on his foolishness :))))))
AnswerID: 195860

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:52

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:52
Oopsies !
FollowupID: 454013

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:56

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 01:56
Not quite what I said at the time LOL and for a good few minutes after as well :))))
FollowupID: 454014

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:32

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 02:32
We have been quite fortunate I think.. We only started 4wding in December when we bought the pajero. Trevor and Perry helped Mark go from nappies to boxers, plus the knowledge Mark did have himself and our constant 4wd off road territory exploring done in an XF panel van and an EL Ford (boy did we get looks from 4by drivers!!!!!) Mark has had the few failed attempts like his last one at Rover on the weekend. (He didn't let nearly enough air out of the tyres for the hill climb, hence after 4 odd tries still no go because by then he was just spinning on the loose dirt he dug up the attempt before). We have never yet gotten bogged and had to be snatched out...

Ohhhh I do have a story for you...
We were on Fraser Is, got the car serviced before we left. Mark and I packing the car to leave for Fraser.. Darl do you reckon we should check the fluid levels in the battery? nah, cars just been serviced, he would have checked it... YEH RIGHT!
Day 3 on Fraser battery is flat as a tack, got jump start, drove the car for a bit thinking it might help charge, nope, we ended up leaving Fraser early, got to the mainland, under body car wash.. smoke pouring from bonnet, drive to mechanics across the road, lift bonnet, all step back from the inhaled fumes of foul acid and look in disbelief at the smoke and smell coming from battery... Completely fried she was!!!!!! the mechanic says, I have seen some dead batteries in my time but My God you take the cake!!!!!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 195864

Reply By: stevesub - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 07:13

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 07:13
In a convoy of around 100 4wds in New Zealand and taking a shortcut through the long grass that hid a swamp. Took 3 vehicles to snatch us out with everyone watching - that was after we burnt our winch out trying to self recover.

Mind you it made for great entertainment as the whole trip was stalled by another truck at the lead of the convoy also being recovered so it filled in the time - well that is my excuse anyway..

So watch the long grass, you never know what it hides.
AnswerID: 195869

Follow Up By: Mobi Condo - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26
Oh Boy! I just can NOT resist!
100 in a convoy AND in NZ?
Didn't know NZ was big ehough! :-)
Cheers - Mobi
FollowupID: 454035

Follow Up By: stevesub - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:04

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:04
Yeap, we did one trip with 180 vehicles once - they have a problem getting tracks in the North Island so they run trips over farm land. These are generally easy to medium grade with some hard options.

Country Schools run a lot of trips over pupils parents farm land (all hills) to raise heaps of money for the school and they are very popular. One school made enough to build a swimming pool over a 5 year period.

Cannot believe it over here when we do a trip and 10 vehicles is a lot of vehicles..
FollowupID: 454044

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:39

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:39
100 vehicles! 180 vehicles!! 200?, 300?, 400? people? No thanks.

I reckon 5 vehicles is _more_ than enough and I prefer one or, sometimes, two.

What happens about sanitation for 300+ people all camped in the same bit of bushland?

Shudder....

FollowupID: 454077

Follow Up By: stevesub - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 12:34

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 12:34
All very organised with Porta Loos and usually the school (parents usually) puts on food - you pay but it makes cooking easy, like you don't. They usually have everything down to a fine art with tents, barbies, tables, etc

Drinking quality water is provided at each camp site but showers are the only problem. Good old deodorant or cold solar showers.

The last one we did, the school provided 3 meals a day for 4 days for approx 400 people. That trip was organised so you were in a team of 3 to 6 vehicles and you left at staggered times. The route is marked and each vehicle has printed instructions as to where to go.

Remember these trips are not hard but scenic and over farm tracks, beaches and forests. You cannot have hard tracks with that number of vehicles. At times there are hard options where farmers do not mind a track being trashed and not everyone wants to do them so it all works well. All vehicles are checked for recovery points, snatch straps, spades, etc before the trip so recoveries generally don't take much time unless some idiot (me) drives through a hidden swamp.

You either camp in a farmers paddock or in a school playground.

All works quite well, everone has a good time and the last one we did, the school made around $20,000 for a weekends work. (Trip Fees and meal profits)

Well worth while doing one if anyone is in NZ. The big one I have been referring to is next held at the end of January 2008 (2 yearly). But there are others from time to time. see

Site Link

and the events to look for are generally the Safari's.

Stevesub
FollowupID: 454089

Reply By: BravoMan - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 07:49

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 07:49
On the beach at Noosa northshore, got to the first cutting, and an x-trail is bogged about halfway up, which a cruiser behind him, snatch attached (and also bogged) there is about 15 cars waiting in a line on the beach. A decision was made by the driver (not me) that we could "Get around them"......

So now there's an Xtrail, a cruiser & a patrol with a trailer stuck in the first cut.

Sometime 'make'n your own road' isn't the best plan.
AnswerID: 195873

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:02

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:02
Back in 1987 two of us with my boss (who was driving) were doing a recce in the hills behind Lake Eildon. He was going to drop us off at the end of a track then drive about 30 km in a big circle and pick us up a the opposite end of a 5 km walk through the bush. We were walking through the area checking it out and choosing routes for military Leadership training.

We got to the top of a hill about 1km from where we had planned to drop off:

"Looks a bit steep boss, how about we walk from here?"

"No we will be fine." Drops it into low first and down we go.

We hop out at the end of the track and start out and the boss turns around and drives off. We head off walking enjoying the trees and the sounds of the bush while navigating independently and checking notes. About 20 minutes later we just hear the very distant sound of a horn. We stop and listen and figure it was coming from where we started! Back we go and there is the boss in the Yota at the bottom of the hill leaning on the horn.

We tried to get up that hill for the next 3 hours. It was:
1. On a knife edge ridge,
2. Nowhere to go either side except straight down a 45º+ slope covered in mountain ash.
3. Heavily rutted with big holes near the top.
4. Slippery dirt mixed with small round stones the size of ball bearings.

The closest we got to the top of the 500 metre climb was about 20 metres. At that point the holes in the track would stop all forward momentum and the Yota would bounce and loose traction.

It is now getting dark.

We now decide to walk back. Rudi and I are kitted out for walking with good boots, decent maps, compass, water etc. The boss was planning on driving all day and only has light boots on without decent socks.

Off we go on our long walk back to where we were camping in an old highways depot on the Jamieson Road. It took about 4 hours over very hilly country with the boss griping about his blisters.

The party of Vic coppers who were camped at the same site (Deer hunting out of season!) offered to go out right then and recover the Yota. They had been on the turps since sunset playing "burst the breathalyser" so we declined.

The next morning we head back with the coppers. The boss chucks me the keys while the coppers are laying out the Tirfor and says:

"You got it closest to the top last night, bring it up to where we can winch it."

I took a good run at the hill and drove out! DOH!

The coppers nearly died laughing. Rudi and I had to keep a straight face and the boss didn't see the funny side. We did laugh about it a with him a few weeks later (after his feet had healed up!)

Pete

AnswerID: 195880

Reply By: Member - len W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:22

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:22
sunk my early modle diesel in a large salt water lagoon right up to my belly button while sitting in it wife and kids in there also forgot the tide comes in lol it was in there over 3 hours and yes it did start under water i stalled it and the water run up the exhaust and forced the oil out
i was pulled out by 3 small Suzuki's and drove it home only 5 ks but there was salt water where oil should have been flushed out the motor with diesel put in new oil and its still going after 15 years the body ?? well it lasted less than 12 months then mr rust took hold the truck is now a farm truck
AnswerID: 195886

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:24

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:24
They say cofession is good for the soul.....

Coming home on Fraser a few years back, incoming tide about half in, approaching Hook Point, will we get through now? asks the misses. Yeah, cause we will says I....

Bad move. Kept going and tide gets further up, to the point where there's not enough room left to turn around safely. End up pushed up against the dunes, driving through 2' of water, praying the electrics don't get swamped....

Made it through by the skin of me teeth! Stony silence from SWHMBO.....

Learnt my lesson. Will NEVER attempt Hook Point on a rising tide again.
AnswerID: 195887

Reply By: Robin - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:26
To many worst experiences here !

Robe a good decade ago, first time on the beach run and with some friends.

Lotta fun, driving along the sand near the waters edge with wheels in and out
of salt water on occasion. Even the young baby seemed to sense the mood
from his cradle. Had been a bit windy though and sea was blowing up a
bit with mist drifting in. Heading for a dead whale which was in a sheltered
bay, cut off by two headlands.
As we approached the first headland there was a step up. A drift of sand about
a meter high angled across the beach. It required a change of direction up the face
which is never a good idea. First vehicle in convoy cleared it but cut it up.
I just cleared it but was so crossed up and down in rev's by the top that
I stalled just beyond ridge. I was now around the headland on edge of bay.

Struggled for a while and got car just of the main line, such that one following
vehicle had a clear run and came up to help. However it bogged next to me.
An hour of the usual techniques got cars free'd up enough to go back.
However it was noticed that the sea had closed in on the headland and was
beginning to cut off our retreat. Driving forward to headland on other
side of bay showed in was fully cut off now.
Beginning to feel trapped we explored the small bay but cliffs prevented
any option of placing the cars up high enough to avoid the tide.

The mood quickly changed and there was no way out but to attempt to
cross back via the headland behind us. The sand was water free still
between each wave for a few seconds.

To risky for family, friends took baby & wife and few things back thru sea
to saftey, leaving only my brother and I left with our repective cars.

Somehow sensing the imminent demise people and cars had gathered on safe side
to watch the attempt.

Watching and timing waves carefully my brother (the driver in our family)
kicked his chev V8 cruiser and did a beautiful timed run down into the sea as
a wave retreated, and powered up in front of the incoming wave to safety.

Alone now on the headland in was my turn.

Down into the sea following a receeding wave I headed. Swung around to go up
but a dirty cross wave was coming. The petrol engine screamed and valves bounced but it was short on power.
3/4 of way up the wave hit the car broadside on.

Onlookers said that the splash from wave went over the car.

Window was down and I tasted salt as water came in.

But the size and force of the hit actually pushed the car up onto the beach proper
leaving me beached as it receeded but where friends in position could help.

Will never own another underpowered car again.

GU4800
AnswerID: 195888

Follow Up By: Travelling Pixie - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:06

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:06
Great story!!

I felt like I was there with you
FollowupID: 454093

Reply By: troopyman - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:41

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:41
Stuck out in the bush with a rolled suzuki . Managed to tip it back over and started ok but alas , broken powertrain . Aint going nowhere . Old man arrives hours later with tow rope . He gets in fiddles around a bit and moves the 4WD selector from neutral position . WOOPS .
AnswerID: 195890

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:48

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 08:48
I won't even tell you how I got the name boo boo, it would take too long to type.

Tell you over a beer

boo
AnswerID: 195896

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:24

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:24
Having owned 23 4x4x's over the years there have been quite a few 'mishaps'

Most of the 'mishaps' happened in my earlier years and most involve Suzukis.

1. Drowning the 2 stroke in the Fergusson River while on a mission to buy more beer at Pine Creek

2. Rolling over down an embankment into Barramundi Creek and nearly drowning the missus.

3. Bogging the last Zook down the powerline behind Winnellie(Darwin) and only having 30 metres of winch cable when the closest powerpole was 35 metres away

4. Jacknifing a tandem axle trailer on the Stuart Hwy whilst towing with a 2 stroke Suzi

5. Parking a Suzuki on a buffalo on the Marrakai Plains

6. Trying to tow a 3.5 ton caravan with a Landcruiser around the Hepburn Springs(Victoria) area.

7. Winching a tree on to the Landcruiser while in a mega bog behind Butterfly Gorge

8.Choosing the wrong travelling companions on quite a few occasions.

There are more but I have chosen to forget some of them....LOL
AnswerID: 195907

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:45

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:45
Willem, most of your experiences fall into the "legend " class. I mean there are better ways of cooking your buffalo steak !
Perhaps I should drive down there and get you to touch my Lotto ticket for luck ? :)))))))))
FollowupID: 454139

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:35

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 09:35
My first trip to The Cape I did a bit of the Creb Track and I stalled up a steep incline and had to do a stall start in reverse on sticky clay. I had NEVER done a stall start before, just read about it on here, trust me its not the blo^dy SAME lol easier to READ it.

I had the passenger get out just in case I screwed up and over the side I went. To say I was SH%^TING myself was an understatement. Let me say when I kicked it over the vehicle lost grip and started to slide for a few feet (which seemed like 20) it was heart in mouth stuff untill the vehicle gripped. The vehicle gripped and slide for about 80 feet till I found a place to do a 600 point turn lol.

The brain was in MAJOR control of foot not to touch the brake on this surface.

I have done plenty now just for practice. I am told the expression on my face was priceless when it started to slide lol. I sunk many a RUM that night.

AnswerID: 195909

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:00

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:00
Love them long steep backwards slides on slippery clay Brian.

Did one once in the dark, sliding into oblivion.

And I agree, they rate very highly on the "Oh Heck" scale.

FollowupID: 454050

Reply By: RayJen Paj05 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:32

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:32
How about looking for a campsite for the night at Old Halls Creek. Charged down onto creekbed, it looked pretty solid....ground to a halt in the Paj and CT right in front of a family group enjoying the evening with campfire.

Bemused onlookers gather. How embarrassing!! Then one guy says: "I see the ExplorOz sticker on your window: I'm Andrew B from Kununurra".

Look for large rock to hide under. Then laboriously drive car and CT to safety.

Enjoyed meeting you, Andrew:-) all the best, Ray and Jenny
AnswerID: 195919

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:53
Might do a repost of this thread in early December. Might have a good few more embarrassing moments to own up to.
Des.

Will try to ring on the weekend.
FollowupID: 454080

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:35

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:35
Must have been dramatised,it was actually me- Kununurra Nick.
How did the rest of your trip go guys??
FollowupID: 454190

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:53

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 20:53
You'll have to forgive him Nick for the memory lapse. Alzeimers is playing tricks on him in his advanced years. LOL
FollowupID: 454196

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:25

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:25
I was keen to take the credit, but kept the booboo quiet by responding to the members message, but its all out in the open now! Shouldn't mention the time I got bogged on the beach at cape dommett, broke 2 snatch straps, did $2500.00 worth of damage to the back doors of the attempted rescuer's car (of course I paid for repairs etc), but the gods were smiling, I had to get a lift back to town & get my high lift jack and a mates ute. I would probably be one of the only people alive to have a vehicle bogged in an area with 7m tides for 16 hours and get away with it. One day a month we get a 'no tide day' (well they are very small anyway) and I fluked it. Although it was an expensive weekend, it turned out pretty well, I still have my car.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 454204

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:43

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:43
Woops, I see there is a member called boo boo, apologies, will call it a mistake from now on!
FollowupID: 454210

Follow Up By: RayJen Paj05 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:18

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:18
You were right Nick and so is Des Lexic: I'm totally losing it. Sorry mate. We had a fantastic holiday, got back here last weekend. More in Member Message. Cheers, Ray
FollowupID: 454218

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:37

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 10:37
Forgetting to lock the hubs in aint so major but the number of times I've forgotten....
AnswerID: 195921

Follow Up By: BravoMan - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:27

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 11:27
Forgetting is ok - is when your mates think its a funny prank to go unlock them for you - and you spend an hour digging before you realise the front wheels aren't working.
FollowupID: 454074

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 14:43

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 14:43
Hahahaha, I did this just last weekend. Thinking this should be a cakewalk for the Jackeroo but spininng and spewing rocks out the rear like no tomorrow ended up getting up to have Pezza say are they manual hubs in that thing. I said who put them on there.....all my trucks have had auto hubs for years and then the wife goes and gets this grrrrrrrrr with a red face.
FollowupID: 454118

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:44

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:44
BravoMan,
had mates unlock my hubs before... Hasn't happened since i sat there laughing with them for 5 minutes, went back to the car and got my valve removal tool and removed all four of his valves... Soon had my own private work party digging my car out for me.
FollowupID: 454138

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:49

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 13:49
the picture in the bottom right corner of my post shows it all!!!

very lucky to get out of it, thank god for the tray is all I can say.

in hindsight- took the wrong line, too far to one side, perhaps a little too much speed.

would I try again- you bet! I now know what not to do, and would aproach things very differently, especially after watching a little paj tackle the same section that "real 4wds" had issues with (along with myself)
AnswerID: 195950

Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:28
Thanks to all for sharing. I'm sure that a few of us learned what NOT to do :))
Personally I feel much better now :) Thank goodness I didn't tell the story about not changing the engine oil in my HJ60 for almost a year and ended up using a blend of oil and kero to flush it out....engine went another 100K/km and was going fine when I sold it.
They do say that confession is good for the soul , and this post proves it.....bet you all feel better now....

AnswerID: 195963

Reply By: cackles - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:45

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:45
my worst was going joyriding at the age of 15 in dads rig, friend driving (unlicensed).
we got bogged in the salt pans at the back of a creek, "buggar".
A friend goes past on his motorbike, he decides to have a go and what was bad became worse. So he decides to go for help "but don't get anyone who will tell dad" we plead.

Half hour later he comes back with the local gossip, my uncle!? and my friend (driver) dad!? who is also good mates with my dad. So now we're well and truly busted.

But it gets worse, uncles troopy gets bogged, no worries an F-truck comes to help.
the f-truck gets bogged. No worries our neighbour!? comes with his tractor pulls us all out.

In the end we counted over 100 hundred people were there all knowing each other and all knowing my dad.
I laugh at it now, but I tell you ol mate and his flappy gums was lucky I didn't kill him myself. On the upside dad thought it was really funny.

cackles

AnswerID: 195966

Reply By: joc45 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:57

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:57
Well, I didn't exactly come to grief (thank goodness); I did a substantial trip from Perth, to Ninagaloo/Coral Bay, Newman, Rudall River NP, Carrawine Gorge, Nullagine, then back to Perth. When I got home, I found that I had left the key for the spare tyre padlock in the ashtray (as I normally do), but the ashtray had been removed to fit the HF radio control head. So the ashtray was sitting on the bench in the garage with the key inside.
Could have been embarrasing if I'd had a flat out at Rudall!
Gerry
AnswerID: 195970

Reply By: Matt Davis - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:22

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:22
I was camping out the Pines (Lake Eildon) with mates and the boy; and decided that as he was of age (12 years old), and could reach the pedals of the HiLux, it was time to learn to drive. The track around the lake perimiter was good, no real bumps or problems. Except for the bends. At the first bend he didn't realize he had to "turn" the steering wheel. Up the embankment and over we go onto roof.
It took 5 hours and $250.00 to get out of that one.
The only problem was insurance claim. No worries I say, we'll tell eveyone that I swerved to miss a mob of roos. The boy likes this, because he doesn't want anyone at home to know what happened. This was the official version until earlier this year when he got his licence, and I decided to let it out after 6 years of covering for him.
Turns out nobody had believed I would actually swerve for an animal; consensus was that I was most likely "inebriated" and that the boy had covered for me!!!!
AnswerID: 195979

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:25

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:25
Well I can fess up to the "newbie moment"....

Brand new Prado - near 60 grands worth of motor car and I had had it about a week. Decided to go and have a bit of a test drive in some Clay Pans north of Adelaide at Thompsons Beach. First time to get it dirty....

Having some tentative fun scooting around a nice big open area out the back of the beach. lots of hard tracks and stuff, even a few humps and things to play on. Having a ball I was.

Then disaster strikes. Hit a softish patch at about 60kph and suddenly the car slews off into the goo beside the track off a small embankment.

Can't move an inch in any direction and realisation sets in that I am 5km from any other person with no shovel, straps, ropes, gloves, winch. NOTHING!

The car is on about a 30 degre angle diagonally with the front drivers side deep in clay. Oh dear! An hour of ineffectual stuffing around with sticks and old tyres and stuff that were lying around proved fruitless.

Walked into town 5km thinking all the way how stupid I was and how much it was going to cost me to get it out and as i got to the edge of town a bloke walking his dog says hello and asks me what I was doing (walking around with mud all over me). Explained the situation and he came right out and said "No worries, let me take the dog home and get the 4by and we will see if we can get you fixed up"

He came out and spent over an hour helping me get out getting near bogged himself and getting his own clean vehicle mighty dirty in the process.

We headed back to his place for a cuppa afterwards and he gave me just a hint of a lecture about preparedness in off road driving and I drove the hour back to Adelaide reflecting on the situation I had been in.

Looking back now with a couple of years of experience and lots of club trips under the belt it seems pretty foolish what I did but the fellow that pulled me out assured me that it is near a weekly occurence in those parts and that most guys end up being helped by a bloke in town that enjoys charging $500 for the pleasure of driving his tractor.

I guess I was pretty lucky that day that all he wanted was a 'Thanks'.

Muddy
AnswerID: 196025

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:55

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:55
The year I left school my mate bought his first car ,a quite new Pathy.

We had attempted some very lame dirt tracks and thought we had it sorted.

Driving along one day we found a beach that you could drive on so decided to give it a crack ,

" do you think we should be in 4wd ? " " nah the sands hard "

" someone told me you should let your tyres down " " that sounds like bullchitt "

All was well till we stopped to check the surf , decided to go futher, and sunk the back end to the diff .

"Ill just lock the hubs and we'll be straight out of here"

Soon we were so fully bogged it wasnt funny ( well actually it was ).

A couple of fishos drive up in their 40 series ask if we let the tyres down and then drive away bleep themselves when we ask if you have to .

We started digging out the whole car , this take a while by hand , we were given a hurry up by the incoming tide , and my mate who was now going ballistic cause he hadnt had the car long and could see insurance not covering stupidity.

We managed to get his car out with the water lapping very close.

Luckily I managed to snap off a few photos that still manage to get my mate mad .

Glenn.
AnswerID: 196130

Reply By: John R (SA) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:02
Way back in my jackarooing days; having spent a day or more pumping out a water hole on to a large flat, my mate decided to make the most of the only mud we'd seen for six months and took the cruiser ute for a spin.

Circle work a plenty, until he drove pretty much along the path of the outlet hose . . right wheels hit the wet and sank. Left wheels stayed on firm land, but the right hand side had sunk so far, he had to climb out the window.

No winch (no trees anyway), no other vehicles.
A shovel, two hours, and two tray side panels for traction later, out she came.

-----

Last winter a team of foxers were going around the farm. Four utes bogged within a minute. The only still mobile vehicle = 600cc quad bike.

We rather optomistically joined two snatch straps & a chain (needed length to get to decent ground) and pulled all four utes out.

Mind you, in doing so I had visions of a bloke who tried a similar thing the year before - snatching a hilux out of a bog with a quad bike. He tried to pull it forward (rather than back out its own tracks), took off and when the snatch strap reached its limit, the quad bike came to a rather rapid stop. His nose kissed the speedo . . .

AnswerID: 196167