Is there an entomologist in the house?

Submitted: Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:09
ThreadID: 37943 Views:3033 Replies:7 FollowUps:20
I’ve got this “thing” living in my bathroom, at first I thought it was a leaf which had blown in but as it changed position on the wall I realised it wasn’t!

I first noticed it a little over one year ago, about this time of year, it appeared halfway up the wall and sat there for two days or so. Then it moved about 450mm higher up the wall and remained there for a day or two. I have never actually _seen_ it move but move it does. After about a week of this behaviour I noticed a second one of these “things” in the vicinity of the first one – well I soon put 2 and 2 together… it being spring and all, so I left them to their own devices to produce more “things”. Unfortunately the next evening I went into the bathroom in the dark and stood on the second “thing” which had, very unwisely, placed itself on the floor :( I apologised to the remaining one). The surviving one remained around for another week or two randomly moving about the walls and then disappeared. That was the end of that, I though.

However about a week ago it appeared again! It’s behaved in a very similar manner except this time it also suspended itself from the ceiling for a day, vertically – as if holding on by sucking with it’s mouth – then fell off! I picked it up and left it on the top shower wall and it’s now wondered off halfway up the wall again.

I am becoming fascinated to discover what this “thing” is and hope it’s not the last of it’s species (especially as I trod on it’s mate :( It has no eyes or other organs I can see and I can’t tell it’s belly from it’s back?

I’ve posted a few pics here:

www.traveleor.com/mike_harding

and would appreciate any input – it’s about 20mm long by 8 or 10mm wide.

Any pointers to someone/organisation who might know would be welcome.

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:13

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:13
Hard to tell by the pics but I reckon it's a moth in larval form, surrounded by its cocoon. Probably just a coincidence there were two until you murdered one :)
AnswerID: 195960

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:21

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:21
Stop it! I felt awful :)
FollowupID: 454126

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:56

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:56
murderer!
FollowupID: 454144

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:59

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:59
Sob... it was an _accident_ I tell you - an accident....
FollowupID: 454146

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:45

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:45
Mate, I thought he was talking about his 15 Year od, mine lived in the bathroom for a few years??

FollowupID: 454162

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:50

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:50
Tell that to your cellmate Mike.

Guilty as charged!!!
FollowupID: 454163

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:59

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 17:59
trevor...are you the executioner as well
FollowupID: 454165

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 18:46

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 18:46
Lynch him!
FollowupID: 454175

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:15

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:15
MN1,

Shhh, in all the movies I've seen, the executioner becomes the executed when found so I reserve my right to the 5th amendment (or something like that lol).
FollowupID: 454180

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:41

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:41
Bastards! The lot of you!

I'll finish off the witness tonight and make a run for it....
FollowupID: 454184

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:36

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 22:36
Hi Craig. Just wondering whether the ball in your rig pic is the one from near Pimba?? If so is it easy to access??

Leigh
FollowupID: 454221

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:13

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 09:13
"Bastards! The lot of you"...Us?...but your the one who stomped to death a innocent baby (albeit a moth).....oh stuff it where do we find a good firing squad these days
FollowupID: 454274

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:33

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:33
It's actually a "THINGSECT" ( FOUREXUSTHINGUS... to be correct)

Very common in round camp fires where alcohol is being partaken or just about anywhere in North Queensland.

I see these things just about every night....

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 454349

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:22

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:22
Check this site out Site Link
AnswerID: 195962

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:28

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:28
Hi Mike & Bware

That is exactly what I thought it looked like when I looked at the link.
In all the times I saw them in QLD I never saw them move "house" so to speak. Usually they are stuck quite firmly by a webby glue at the top of the cocoon.
Will be interesting to see if this is what they are or another type of insect?

Cya
MOH
FollowupID: 454130

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:29

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:29
Excellent! Thank you.

I reckon it's:
Cebysa leucotelus Walker, 1954
(one synonym: Pitane dilecta)
Australian Bagmoth

Thank God for that - at least I didn't wipe out a whole species! :)

FollowupID: 454131

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:36

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:36
These Caterpillars feed on the lichens which grow on tree trunks, rocks, old fences, etc.

And obviously a bathroom wall covered in lichens

And bathroom floors covered in size 12s.......
FollowupID: 454183

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:40

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:40

I have a thing that stays in the bathroom a lot, but I wouldn't say that that to her face.

Boo
AnswerID: 195965

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:57

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 15:57
chicken
FollowupID: 454145

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:06

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 16:06
Pass me the bird seed.

Enouhg of this idle chit chat I'm going for a beer.

Seeya Boo
FollowupID: 454149

Reply By: kimprado - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 18:45

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 18:45
Mike,

I don't know what all the fuss is about...Its obviouly a Thing.

Kim
AnswerID: 195997

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:16

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 19:16
Yep, and exitmould should clear it up LOL!!
FollowupID: 454181

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 07:49

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 07:49
LMAO
FollowupID: 454255

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:08

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:08
G'day Mike ,, sorry , its nothing to do with the thing ,, but love your dog ,, yes we have a Cavvie & yes he has his own cushion everywhere we go as well !!

All the best ,, Neil ..

AnswerID: 196022

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 07:34

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 07:34
Aren't they just the most delightful of dogs. To my great sadness I had to have her put to sleep about 15 months ago (old age) but I still miss her badly. In latter years she use to sleep on my bed with me in the bush, I am astonished that such a little dog can take up so much of a bed! :)

She was very protective of me too; one time, a hot summer day, I was sitting in the drivers seat of the 4WD (in camp) using the vehicle radio and she was sitting on the passenger seat when, suddenly, she took a flying leap to the ground (a big jump for a little dog) and went chasing a huge (6 foot long!) goanna which had wandered into camp. Thank God she startled the goanna which did their usual trick of climbing a tree out of her reach, had it stayed to fight it would have torn her to bits.

No one ever accused Cavs of being over intelligent but I always maintained that she may have a small brain but she had a big heart to make up for it :)

I do miss her.

FollowupID: 454254

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:49

Friday, Sep 22, 2006 at 21:49
I have absolutely no idea what it is that you can see, but maybe if you can let us know what you are drinking we may be able to shed some light on the problem.

eerfree
AnswerID: 196031

Reply By: Barnesy - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 00:09

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 00:09
I think you need to clean the lens on your camera Mike, there's a black splodge in the middle of it.
AnswerID: 196071