Patrol Shocks Gas or What

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 11:33
ThreadID: 37970 Views:4741 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
I am about to renew my shocks & springs after 108,000,and swap over my poly air bags I would like to know from all the experts who have a Patrol, no heavy off road just a tow truck so whats all the nissan owners running done lots homework so far and best advice to date ,and cost effective (pensonier) $850-$950
Lovell springs H/D front and rear.
Billstine gas, OME, XGS assy by munroe i think , TJM ,all gas but I dont like the idea of gas with a ball weight of 250kg and carry weight of around 200kg,
would love some sensible advice so nissan knockers go some other post,

come on motherhen took your advice on the honda 20i many thanks,

dj patrol

Reply By: PaulnLou - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:47

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 12:47
G'day there,

I don't reckon you can go past the Koni Heavy Tracks. I've had them on a couple of cars now, my mate has them on his GU and they've been brilliant. As soon as the existing shocks on my GU wear out I'm fitting a set.

Seeya
AnswerID: 196119

Reply By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:01

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:01
Got ARB Old Man Emu coils, Nitrocharger shockies and because of the 2" lift a rear swaybar extension on my GU. All up fitted (with a set of castors) was about $1400. Your polyair bags would go straigh into coils no worries. I can say that they hold out the corrugations brilliantly being a single tube shockie and have been very impressed with the kit. This is with a 2" lift but I think you will be struggling to get any quality for the figures you want pay and at that price even if you fitted them yourself I dont think you could get away for less than $1200.
Sorry mate, but you pay for what you get
AnswerID: 196121

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:32

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:32
OME shocks quoted to me are nitrocharged, $144 each, the cost of all your bits,extras like swaybar,castor kit,sounds too cheap to me, as a single left side castor kit fitted where I am is $370 so take that off the quote and I am I front ah, how about breakin down your prices or are you playin with yourself.
FollowupID: 454317

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:02

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 14:02
" as a single left side castor kit fitted where I am is $370 "

Think somebody is playing with you mate !

Pezza
FollowupID: 454319

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:22

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:22
I also think somebodies playing you mate as $370 is a joke. Cant break the down prices I personally paid as i'm in sydney for a few months on work and the truck is living in with my olds with the reciepts in brisbane. Check the current ARB catalouge or email ARB to get one. Quoted price in the February 2006 (which they sent me in August)Pricelist from ARB is for castor kit fitted is $278.00 or $138.00 to buy off the show room floor. The quoted price of four light-medium-heavy load OME coils and Nitrocharger shockies is $1301.00 fitted or $1081.00 to buy and fit forself.For very heavy loads it is $1125 to buy and fit or $1345 fitted. To be quoted $370.00 just for the left side castors is a joke, do some research 4 yourself and dont be so quick to ark up. I would also strongly suggest you lay off Mrs palmers and her five daughters as to be sucked in like that, man, you must be concentrating on nothing else.

For any other 'quoted' prices let me know and I be more than happy to assist.
FollowupID: 454378

Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:24

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 21:24
And also, these are only 'quoted'prices, so try something called haggling and you might be surprised with the results.
FollowupID: 454379

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:43

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:43
Yea thats fine ,I have been all week for best prices, As far as the left hand castor kit fitted also has a truck laser alignment done n/s and I got him down to $340 he normally charges $240 for the alignment and fitting castor kit 80km south of me.

The quotes I have XGS-Nitro $120 OME-LTR Nitro $144 Bilstine-$175
TJM-$120 springs lovell h/d $370 kit 30km north of me.

Others around town not competive at all in our little town.Dont want the cash,

So I been shopping an talkin on the forum all week.I use this fourm to get advice thats all, so as not to buy somerubbish thats not any good.

as far as the other comment you made I dont know what your talkin about never heard of palmers or her 5 daughters .Better wake up now.

FollowupID: 454390

Follow Up By: mattie - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 13:35

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 13:35
He may have ment a camber adjusting kit and not a castor bush.

Mattie
FollowupID: 454454

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:32

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:32
Hows it going ,

Just got the Koni heavy track , and so far I am impressed.

Rang around a fair few places and got them for $1300 because I left it till the week before going away ! Have since seen them for heaps cheaper on Ebay , just had a look and there arent any there at the moment .

If you dont need them today and can fit them yourself , or get them fitted I reckon this is the go.

Glenn
AnswerID: 196124

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:42

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 13:42
Are they the 82 series that you have and yes I am fitting all myself ( Retired mechanic but just out of touch prices an new products now) so I am asking for advice on new techonology I have run koni in the past just dont think that they are worth the extra money if you change every 5 years or 100,000km cost $202 up to $325 each, my post was onroad not tearising through the scrubb at silly speeds and over BIG RED. I am all grown up now.
FollowupID: 454318

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:32

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 14:32
Lost the catalogue , cant remember if the guy said you could still get the 82 .

" Heavy track " were the second best and " Raid " were the best , also said that the heavy track were the affordable ones so I hate to think how much the raid ones were.

Liked the idea of them being rebuildable , just went through a set of Ranchos in about 2 years ,the 3yr warranty disappeared into the fine print.

Glenn
FollowupID: 454682

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:32

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:32
Different vehicle (Jack) but can plug the Koni mono tube gas Heavy Tracks as mentioned above - just been into the top end and over a lot of corrugations (Tanami track - Mitchell Falls etc) they got very hot but did not fail. Same for the TJM- XGS on the rear - I use mono's on the front (they are said to cool more efficiently and don't get hit by stones) - twin tubes ar used on the rear due to potential stone damage.
AnswerID: 196137

Reply By: madfisher - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:50

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:50
Very happy with Lovells ehd and Monroe Magums on 4runner. Shocks varied in price by $100.00. Best price I was quoted was from repco. But I do not do desert crossings. Mainly towing and 4wd down to fishing spots
AnswerID: 196139

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:22

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:22
Yep me either madfisher lovells sound good.Hows the fishin goin I am out of touch must be doin something wrong .Had to go to the co-op the other day.Not Good.

Regards dj patrol
FollowupID: 454358

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:04

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:04
dj Patrol

My OME shocks and springs(2" lift) have now done 43,000km on the GQ over some VERY rough tracks and zillions of corrugations and are still working fine. Cost of these from ARB fitted, was $1220 at the beginning of 2005. I have Polyairs on the rear and I am very happy with their performance as well. They have only been in there for 13,000km.

I have been told that Koni's could be the go as, if you are happy with them, they can be rebuilt by Koni at the end of their life for $45(today's price).

AnswerID: 196140

Reply By: bluey23 - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:22

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:22
I run TJM XGS shocks on my patrol and they work well. Just came back from a trip from Brisbane, up the Canning and back through the Simpson and never had a problem. Another patrol on the same trip had Koni Heavy Tracks on and blew both front ones in 2 days. I would recommend anything made by Cofap, these include Xgs, EFS and terrain tamer that I know of. terrain tamer can be bought for about $120 each i think.

AnswerID: 196144

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:16

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:16
Spot on XGS are $120 nth nsw where I am as so thats what I was leaning to with the Lovells springs HD all up cost $850 or the OME-LTR $144- I think Its a good price up here Im not after rolls royce gear only VW stuff cause only towing van to my local fishin spot too the last being 4000km round trip only some occasonal corrogated trips bout 200km not with the van on,So I thank you bluey , willem , an a few others, you dont have to have the top gear unless your wallet is so full that ya hav to get rid of it, After 40years in workshops and spares, Its not always the most expensive that is the best to suit what your doing.So springs & shocks $850 then onto the castor kit and laser truck alignment $370,and then another set of BFG-ATR,that should fix me tow truck.All up $2300.crikey.

again thanks dj patrol
FollowupID: 454357

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:25

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:25
dj Patrol,

You don't need caster bushes with 2" lift or 3" lift in Patrols.

You don't need rear stabilizer bar extensions with 2" lift either.

XGS shocks will do you no worries at all, i would'nt use Lovell springs go with king springs!
FollowupID: 454360

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:35

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:35
OK then the post goes on, Only goin 2" lift was not gettin stabiliser,anyway the

weight i will have on the back will lower it down. Can you tell me why you dont

require castors fitted,She pulls left and i am sick of it.

dj patrol
FollowupID: 454364

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:43

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:43
Do you have Cooper tyres fitted?

You only fit caster bushes to stop wandering, i have done dozens and dozens of suspension kits on Patrols and never had to fit caster bushes yet!

If it was a Toyota that would be different, 50% of them end up needing caster bushes.
FollowupID: 454368

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 20:55

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 20:55
BFG-AT 265-75-16 it pulls to the left and a lot of them need a left hand side castor

kit to stop it pulling left on even road surface I have spoken to a lot of 4 wheel

drive centres and truck aligners that have done them and some need self centering steering damper also.They guarantee it will rectify it.

Mine is a pain in the but not the worst but steering wheel at 1 o,clock all the time

dj patrol
FollowupID: 454374

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:54

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:54
Usually it's the tyres, Coopers do it all the time.

The only fix is the self centering damper as you suggested.
FollowupID: 454391

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:58

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 22:58
Koni then OME LTR's then XGS then konis

in that order.
AnswerID: 196176

Follow Up By: ACDC - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 18:43

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 18:43
Where's Bilstein?..^_^..
FollowupID: 454509

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:39

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:39
only know one person to run them on a patrol.. but they only been on 2 mths, couldnt make a judgement that early.

ive run all the above and those bleep heap rancho wastes of money too....
FollowupID: 454546

Reply By: Matt Davis - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:24

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 14:24
Konis and kings here too (GU patrol). Lifted truck by almost 75mm, but should settle a tad. No caster kit needed, but put rear swaybar extensions in. Springs at rear are 21.5mm to cope with ridiculous loads when going away; I lost some flex but goddam it rides good now. Not cheap, but very very good.
AnswerID: 196223

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:02

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:02
Thanks Matt,
Good advice but wont fit into Garage if lift is done only have 40mm clearence to garage door open cannot go higher have Rhino low profile racks,Everyone wants to sell lift kits (Why) I dont need to lift it I am happy with standard set up.Plenty of clearence for me.
FollowupID: 454520

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:41

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:41
be careful, lifting with a 40mm lift kit WILL lift it more than that.. all kits lift more than they say due to sag in old set, different measurements.

take the racks off, you will be suprised how much better your sills will be with even a 50mm lift.
FollowupID: 454548

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:03

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:03
Sorry Truckster but I am staying standard height dont want lift kit dont know why people do that stay on black stuff. Even if I have to sacrafice quality to get them.
FollowupID: 454722

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:30

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:30
dj, since you don't need a lift there have been plenty of standard spring and shock sets show up on eBay that have come off brand new vehicles that have gone in for lifts. They go very cheaply, certainly no more than a couple of hundred bucks for the lot. Whack in your polyairs and away you go.

OT
FollowupID: 454773

Follow Up By: Matt Davis - Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:03

Tuesday, Sep 26, 2006 at 14:03
dj, are you in Melbourne?
FollowupID: 454945