9 missing in Outback

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 17:43
ThreadID: 37974 Views:3265 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
Wonder what they were doing out there to become lost

Nine missing in outback
4:41 PM September 23

There is a search in outback South Australia for a group of nine people who have failed to return from an outback driving trip.

The four adults and five youths are part of an adventure trek and were due to arrive at a base camp at Cockroach Valley north of Quorn late yesterday.

The group went on a day trip to Secret Gorge near Wilpena Pound but have not been seen since.

National park rangers have been searching the gorge without success.

SES volunteers and police are now conducting a broader search using quad bikes and four-wheel drive vehicles.

The adults in the group are experienced trekkers and are believed to have adequate equipment for an extended stay in the isolated area.

Source: ABC

Reply By: Black Beard - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:04

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:04
Funny what they call the "Outback" nowadays!
AnswerID: 196141

Follow Up By: Kev M - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:14

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:14
My thoughts exactly.
Kev
FollowupID: 454339

Follow Up By: Nick R - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:21

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 18:21
you mean where the electric trains stop???
hahaha
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 454345

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:26

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:26
Shopping centre will be there soon.
FollowupID: 454361

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:35

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:35
Considering that 85% of Australians live within 100km from the coast the Outback can be classed from places as far away as Ballarat from Melbourne or Bathurst from Sydney or Toowoomba from Brissy.

I live 250km north of Adelaide. From here it is 960km due north to Birdsville and from there the next town to the north and another 700 odd k's is Mt Isa.

I suppose Outback can be classed as No Services. ie No Coles Woolworths or video shops...:-) After 7pm you can buy nothing in my town except a beer at one of our 4 pubs. Could this be the outback?

FollowupID: 454365

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 06:10

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 06:10
I guess the term "outback" is an Australianism for "out the back". So when I am working on our property behind the house I must be "outback" !

Come to think of it, if I don't do some work there soon it will certainly resemble the outback ! :)))))))
FollowupID: 454405

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 07:53

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 07:53
Footy

I too have a date with the 'Out the back' today. But it is a coolish morning with a gusty wind blowing so I might just put it off until tomorrow...lol
FollowupID: 454412

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:27

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:27
I thought the outback started, when people started to wave to you when you pass each other?

FollowupID: 454446

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:29

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 12:29
Richard, of course you're quite correct. But the real outback starts when there's nobody to wave.
FollowupID: 454447

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:25

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:25
was thinking about this today and i reckon as a general rule the outback could be considered after the farmland padocks stop
FollowupID: 454668

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:57

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:57
Mate, I can remember my parents remarking about our new house 25 years ago, "Oh you do live in the bush don't you?"
Yeah, like 6 mts from a Gold Coast beach ! To them it was the bush !

Personally I thought the GJT remote, but to those who live along it, it probably isn't.

The Kidson seemed remote, until I was told it was relatively easy.

I guess it's what you make it. Remote or outback might start where there's noone else to get you out of the chit :))

FollowupID: 454671

Reply By: Darian (SA) - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:11

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:11
6.30 news on the ABC - found 'em - all ok.
AnswerID: 196151

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:31

Saturday, Sep 23, 2006 at 19:31
They were at Gloria Jeans' having a coffee.
FollowupID: 454363

Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:47

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 17:47
Where is Secret Gorge?

Have heard of Sacred Canyon, but cannot see them getting lost here.
Russ

Life-often hell but never boring.

AnswerID: 196244

Reply By: WDR - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:01

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:01
Yeah - Does anyone know where secret gorge is?
I just cannot believe anyone getting lost around there - there are just too many tourists - it must really be a secret gorge.
Years ago I remember driving (in a falcon) on private property east of Wilpena to a gorge that had aboriginal paintings - I knew the owners of the hotel a little and they put me on to it.

It has just cooled down in Sydney - Too late for the poor buggers who lost their homes today at Camden - We were in that area and it was unbearable - 34-35 degrees and a gale blowing - So much dust we were drinking every 15 mins or so because of it.
AnswerID: 196257

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:05

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:05
If I told you I would have to kill yo'.

It's a secret!!!!!!!! :-)

FollowupID: 454511