Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 19:39
Member - Duncs
Back in 1999 on our trip up to
Cape York we bought our son a baseball cap as a memento. He has lived in it ever since. He loves that cap.
Anyway back in April on a the way home from a trip to
Katoomba he left in the cabin we stayed in at
Cobar CV
Park.
When we got home I rang them and they said they would have a look. Late the next day the called to say they had it and would post it to us. "Thanks" I said and promptly forgot all about it.
I remembered it a couple of months later when we were approaching
Cobar on the way home from
Sydney. "I am sure we posted that" says the lady, "I'll check with my husband and call you back." Couple of days later they called to say they were pretty sure it had been posted. I asked if they could give me details of when so I could get Australia Post to have a look at it but they could not remember details. We gave up, "Sorry mate" I said to my son.
Anyway on Friday I am working putting cornice up in the laundry when I thought I heard a knock at the door. Couldn't come at a worse time but I get to the door as quick as I can, no one there just about to go back to work when I notice a parcel at my feet.
The
young bloke was thrilled, the cap is stuck on his head again and life is sweet.
Thanks to
Cobar Caravan Park. It would have been easy for them to ditch the battered old cap in a bin but they didn't and they have made a
young boy very happy.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:07
Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 20:07
That's tops, may be worth sending them a lotto ticket or something??
I had a ring returned to me via the
police station in Alice, the tourist who found it handed it in there. I found out she was staying in one of the parks (she ended up camped about 6 spots from me in the same
park) and I tracked her down to give her one of my NT stubbies (of which I had a few LOL), she had never heard of such a stubby and was going out to find a few more bottles to send back o/seas to family and friends. I thought it was the least I could do but she thought nothing of handing the ring into police. So yes there is still some nice folk out there, THANKFULLY.
I do believe in "what goes around comes around".
Cheers, Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 03:48
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 03:48
Yes mate; love it, & stuff the bushes.
Reply By: Wisey (NSW) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:56
Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 15:56
Great to hear the
young bloke was reunited with ol'faithful.
I work at the
Sydney footy stadium and the other week a
young lady asked where to hand in lost property, she had found a ring in the bathrooms. So I told her were to go ;)) security, lost property. A while later another
young lady turned up and asked if a ring had been found in the bathrooms? Yep, should be at security, told her where to go too;)).
Last week a
young bloke was leaving and I saw him find a wallet which he handed to me. I asked him his name, (Luke) and I thanked for Luke being honest, (he was with some friends) it was a great thing for him to do.
It doesn't take long and bounding up the steps comes this bloke with a "look" on his face. How much was in it I asked as he ran past me. He was very greatful and I said to thank Luke not me, I'm just the messenger.
"Do all the good you can in all the ways you can"
"To all the people you can in all the
places you can"
"At all the times you can as long as ever you can"
Andy