Which vehicle for 8 month trip

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 21:59
ThreadID: 38016 Views:3178 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
Planning an 8 months trip in 2007 leaving Perth May to Darwin, Gulf Country, Cains, 1 month July Cape York, Brisbane, Sydney. High Country November home to Perth for Christmas.

My question is which vehicle:
Toyota 1HJZ 75 diesal 1998 Ute, with aluminum canopy.
Holden RA Rodao turbo diesal 2005, duel cab with aluminum canopy.
Both vehicles have had supension and shockies upgraded.

Will be towing a Kimberly Kamper, but for Cape York and High Country will be tenting.

Any constructive thoughts would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:53

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 22:53
Terry, ah, don't worry.
A Jimny would give you a real fair dinkum look,but that's not what your're after: Or am I wrong?
. Travel safe mate, JH.
AnswerID: 196319

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:01

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:01
Go for a drive in both and go with whichever one you're happiest with.
No-one else can tell you what you are looking for in a car, especially not some-one on the other end of a computer that has absolutely no idea of your personal needs/likes/dislikes etc.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 196320

Follow Up By: Member - Terry - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:46

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 21:46
we should have mentioned that we own both vehiclesjust undecided which one to take
FollowupID: 454777

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Sep 24, 2006 at 23:22
I would go with the Landcruiser. It is a tough truck and powerful

Rodeo is very nice but has limited front wheel travel and is a 4cyl.
AnswerID: 196322

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 00:22

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 00:22
Willem, don't know about the newish Rodeo. (Yes, I drive a Rodeo, and basically love it :perhaps my (2002) model is just a gasp between the brilliant old 2.8l and the reamed-out newies.
. Did a trip in 1974. (Alice - Tmba via P.Douglas) .Mate 'n (his) Missus in a 350 cc(approx)Suzuki, cruising speed around 70 k., and me on a 750 BMW(dingo on back), cruising speed adjusted up to 70 km/hr. Maybe it was a bit like pedal cycling, BUT I really ENJOYED THAT TRIP.

Terry, depends on age and expectations. You'll see couples on pushies ,and geese in (sometimes hired ) 4wds. You sound like a fit ,affluent fella (which trade? I may have work for you). I'd lean toward the (hm) Toyota.
.Have a BRILLIANT trip. jh.
AnswerID: 196332

Reply By: markeaust - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:12

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 09:12
In remote areas (outback) Toyotas are the most common vehicle by at least 10:1. There are literally thousands of Britz troopies and !05 Wagons touring the outback and consequently spare parts are plentiful. I'm not starting the debate as to which is the better brand....Nissan/Toyota etc...they all have their foibles, but this is the main reason I went for the Tojo.

AnswerID: 196365

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:20

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:20
first make sure the cruiser isnt an ex miner. check the chasis rails for mud up to the rail holes and taste the mud to se if it is salty. Also look for overdone detailing. if it is in good nick - take that, there isnt a tougher vehicle available. Some minesites are buying them for use underground because despite being minimum 7 years older than a new 79 the yearly running costs are lower
AnswerID: 196394

Reply By: Moose - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:26

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 13:26
Terry - you'll be doing a lot of ks. Which is the more comfortable to drive for long periods? I'd take it. 8 months is a long time to get about in an uncomfortable vehicle.
Cheers from the Moose.
AnswerID: 196396

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:38

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 17:38
On the recent Cape York trip we encountered many Toyo utes and many Rodeo diesels.

The Rodeos fuelled up at the same stops as the Toyos, the only difference was the Rodeos took 70 litres and the Toyos 160litres.

The Toyo have no cabin space at all, so I reckon the Rodeo would be far more comfortable and economical on the trip you are proposing. Make sure you have a snorkel.

There is no reason you should leave your KK and not take it to Cape York - we took our trailers with us up the OTL without problems, as did many otherfolk.

AnswerID: 196443

Follow Up By: Member - Terry - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:03

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:03
Thanks for all your reply's We have a snorkel on both vehicles with stratos seats in the toyota Did you see any rodeos with c/t up the OTL.
FollowupID: 454795

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:24

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 22:24
Didn't see a Rodeo with trailer, but saw 3 Jackaroos with trailers plus my Jackaroo with Campomatic.

Home territory is Victoria and we have been on plenty of trips through the Vic high country in the Jackaroo (auto 3.5), accompanied by a 1998 Rodeo v6 manual, 60 series, Troopy, and 80 series although all without trailer.

I would work out a suitable base for when you get to Vic to set up with the trailer and then explore some of the steeper sections without it on. The Rodeo would go pretty well everywhere of interest. I am assuming you would not want to do extreme 4WD'ing when you are so far from home. For this reason we bypassed Gunshot on the CY trip - you're a long time stopped asking why if you need to be flat trayed out of somewhere remote.

FollowupID: 454807

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:00

Monday, Sep 25, 2006 at 18:00
It would depend what you are looking for. As others have said the cruiser ute is tough, plentiful and has huge cargo area in the ute space. The cabin however is cramped and may be uncomfortable on long drives.

The rodeo would be more comfortable, less space in the ute but you have more interior space where the back seat is.

Personally I'm not a fan of independent suspension on 4wds and would go live axled cruiser because of that.

Write down a list of things you want, and things you're not willing to comprmise on. Work it out from there which would best suit you.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 196451