The Music Generation?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:26
ThreadID: 38119 Views:3510 Replies:16 FollowUps:28
Following on post 38110 it seems that most of us drive our 4wds surrounded by music. We camp with music. We work with music. We relax with music. We probably do our housework with music. We might be the first generations to murder the term "peace and quiet".

My bro had to have the ABC news on at mid day, and went ballistic when he realized that his 3 mobile phones (don't ask) wouldn't work in the bush. To overcome the lack of noise he talked incessantly, almost as if any quiet would let in a world that he couldn't cope with.

I don't have a mega sound system in the 4wd. In fact, I rarely even use the broadcast radio. Occasionally, very occasionally I'll drive with a favourite song or two. But I prefer my own observations and reflections to the incessant chatter of some dill brained ego pumped radio "personality".

The bush is to me, a place for observation and learning. A place to enjoy the sights and sounds.
Don't get me wrong. I love a wide range of music but I choose when and what I listen to.

I worked with incessant noise all day for a very long time.

And until our kids grew up, our house was a mixture of song and guitar sounds. I reckon I've often been the oldest bloke at the gig. My 4wd has been the transport for more band gear than I can remember.

Now I value my solitude. I'm not very groovy, and I'm not going to get jiggy with it.
I'm totally uncool, and I'm the original revenge of the nerds. But I'm a sky pilot rather than a space cadet...although that's changing with age.

Are we taking into the bush the very things that we're trying to escape from? The endless gadgets, garbage and trivia of modern day living ? Do we really need that coffee maker ? Are we trashing our experiences with travellings little luxuaries ?Are we loving nature to death ?

Can you imagine the wildlife chatting about our music ? "Oh no ! Not another Cold Chisel fan ! I tell you, I'm SO over that group. The humans here last week were worse ! Neil Diamond. Give me a generator any day. I mean like who listens to him any more? Do you know that five crows fell out of the sky when they heard him again ? I think it's time we moved !"

Reply By: howie - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:48

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 11:48
only five crows?
i thought that there was 6 members in that group, but whose counting.

does this mean my mate should stop getting his inverter out at morning tea in the bush, so he can use his electric knife?

can i still use a navigator in the morning, just in case i get lost on the way to the shops?
it took me 3 hours to get a loaf the other day!
1/2 hour driving and buying the loaf, the other 2 1/2 starting up the laptop, pda and getting the 3d oziexplorer working.
AnswerID: 196939

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:02

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:02
snip>> "Are we taking into the bush the very things that we're trying to escape from? The endless gadgets, garbage and trivia of modern day living ? Do we really need that coffee maker ? Are we trashing our experiences with travellings little luxuaries ?Are we loving nature to death ?" <<snip

Yep, you are absolutely on the money here. I sometimes have to check myself from buying certain gear to go camping with when really there is no need for it. I believe a lot of it is just trying to keep up with the Jones's. K.I.S.S. works for me - less to worry about - just get out and enjoy the freedom.
FollowupID: 455335

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:13

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:13
"I sometimes have to check myself from buying certain gear to go camping with . . ."

LOL - So when, exactly, was the last time you went camping?
FollowupID: 455339

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:21

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:21
doesn't sound like the real off-track to me either :)
FollowupID: 455340

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:40

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:40
I think it is the person to whom you refer, Mr Dog and if so, I hear from a reliable source that he hasn't been camping for a few years now.

We're on for tomorrow - I just have to work all night.

Anything Mrs Mad would like us to bring other than a suit of armour to protect me from the two smallest basher upperers?
FollowupID: 455346

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:55
Oooops - Off-track is an imposter.
FollowupID: 455348

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:55

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:55
ok, we will give him a chance to explain himself then we'll cane him :)

Great stuff, looking forward to your happy face.

Just told Liz that you are comming tomorrow, what a reaction, arms went up into the air and a big wow. That suit could be a good idea

Nothing to bring, we have electricity, food, beer and plastic wine glasses
FollowupID: 455349

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:57

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:57
Doesn't matter we'll cane him anyway.
FollowupID: 455351

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:21

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:21
?? LOL - Guessing that someone else has a similar nic, as I am pretty sure that I dont know any of you'se :-)

Last time we went camping though was about a year ago - bloody infants can do that to ya. Well, not bloody as in blood, but as in colooquial...ahh forget it

:-)
FollowupID: 455373

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:10

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:10
Yes but Howie your shop is 200K away through the bush :))
FollowupID: 455388

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:08

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:08
mid-life crisis again?
AnswerID: 196943

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:10

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:10
:-)
FollowupID: 455338

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:17

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:17
"Are we taking into the bush the very things that we're trying to escape from?"

Naaahh, can't say that Footy. SWMBO is generally with me hahahahahaha Glad she does'nt read this stuff LOL
AnswerID: 196944

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:11

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:11
Gramps, your idea of womens liberation is to let her off the chain so she can open the fridge door for you ? :))))))
FollowupID: 455390

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:18

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:18
LOL only if she's wearing a muzzle so I don't cop a nag attack as well :)))))
FollowupID: 455397

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:51

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 12:51
I and my Darling were in Arkaroola in 2001 and all was quiet at the camping ground, until my bro in law turned up with his radio blaring. So after he set up his camper he put on some country , now thats not bad in itself, but after a long day it was a bit much.
I did ask him to turn it down and his reply was, "no body has complained "..
So i introduced myself to the lovely lady next door and asked if the music was too loud,she said "It was nice and quiet before that bloke turned up"..

So i said that i would ask him to turn it down..when he said that no one has complained , I told him that that lovely lady over there had.

The lovely lady to this day has no idea that we were related.

And that has been the last time that we have gone away together.

AnswerID: 196948

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:12

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:12
Yeah!! sometimes more often than not, 3 is a crowd!!! Michael
FollowupID: 455353

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:13

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:13
G'day Footie
You sound like someone I'd get along with. I despise music out bush. Sometimes drive with something playing but it gets turned off when we camp. The only sounds I like to hear out there are those provided by nature. Consequently I am not overly fond of caravan parks and any other sites where the hordes gather with little consideration for others. Give me a real bush camp any time. Even on club trips I run they all know to turn the music off once we reach camp (and if they forget I remind them!).
Cheers from the Moose.
AnswerID: 196954

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:13

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:13
Moose, sounds like there are a few of us. If camped by myself for a while I might need to hear a human voice. So other than talking to myself I might try the HF radio, but not for long.
FollowupID: 455392

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:22

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:22
Me too, & probably the musical offenders are the first to whinge about generators.
FollowupID: 455407

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:19

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:19
^^^^So other than talking to myself I might try the HF radio, but not for long.^^^^

You do that too? te he

I talk to myself so much, one night while doing the dishes, Jacqui walked in to the kitchen to hear me answering my own question. HAHAHAHA
FollowupID: 455525

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:43

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 13:43
I have been known to do long distance driving without radio or music...... ie 7 times accross the Nullabor, (Sydney to Perth). Not by choice but just have never bothered to get the radio fixed in my first old bangers.......
Even now, the noise is generally turned of. Some of my best thinking time has been when driving a long distance. And of course camping I never listen to the radio or CD's.....
Reminds me of a few years ago when Lake Eyre was full. Paddled a sea kayak for 5 nights. Mate of mine asked me if I could here that sound!!!!!!! I said "HELLO!!!!" We are at least 100kms from the car park at Belt Bay and the silence was eirie.... No wind, No birds, not one sound at all. We worked out the noise was his body working....... No he wasn't farting, he wasn't hungry...... It was just the sound of silence.....
AnswerID: 196959

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:22

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 00:22
It gets eerie like that at night when you're camped in the forrest down south near Walpole. As they say, the silence is deafening.
FollowupID: 455527

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 14:49

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 14:49
Support you all the way.
No music, well occasionally a bit of Bach (Brandenburg concertos) or Led Zepplin, say for 15 minutes (OK, 30 minutes for Bach) once or twice a day.
Just listen to those rattles and stones thumping against the underside of the car.

Creates it's own rhythm.
AnswerID: 196971

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:00

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:00
Footie,

You would have got on well with my late Dad. He loved the intense quiet of the bush. Would say to me, " hear that?" And I'd say, "what?" the reply was "nothing?"

Would probably have liked Old Plodder too, what with the Bach, and some other classics. Not too sure about Led Zepplin though.

Reckon a lot of people are scared of the quiet, so they provide their own noise.

Hooroo...

AnswerID: 196974

Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:35

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:35
On my first trip outback I was camped just north of Maree. I was by myself, and very security conscious. When I finally lay down I could hear this "thump thump" and wondered what the heck it was. Got up, looked around but nothing. Lay down again and there it was again.
You guessed it.
My heart.
AnswerID: 196978

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:38

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:38
I like the quiet sa well but also have the need to play some music.There is only so much quiet one can take being interupted by the nature sounds of Blazing saddles.
Cheer's Bob.:)
AnswerID: 196979

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:40

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 15:40
Bob, lay off the baked beans or choose your travelling companions more carefully. :)))
FollowupID: 455375

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:13

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:13
Footy, you want me to starve to death when camping,that's all i can cook. One can get pretty bored with vegimite & peanut butter sandwiches.Lol.
Cheer's Bob.:)
FollowupID: 455384

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:49

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:49
Son likes having vegemite and peanut butter together on a sandwich too.
Me, I prefer the p/butter unadulterated, or ocasionally with anchovies for something different.
Had a bloke I used to work with who used to do the 'truckies stew' idea.
Peel the labels off before you left, thats if you didn't just buy a box of various tins with the labels already missing, and dinner was 2 tins of whatever came out of the can. Bit disappointing sometimes with things like 2 tins of carnaton milk :-)
FollowupID: 455386

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:07

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:07
Geez I'm glad to hear this stuff. I was getting an inferiority complex, imagining all the 4wders eating exotic food cooked in their sexy ovens :)))
FollowupID: 455387

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:09

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:09
PLod, iwas thinking two different sanwiches but have had the combo deal.3yr old g/daughter made herself vgeimite & honey sandwich last week,yuk!I cant imagine hot carnation milk,but the trukers stew sounds pretty appealing though.

Footy, the mind boggles at exotic dishes of G string stew.Mmmmmm i wonder.
FollowupID: 455403

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 22:55

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 22:55
Truckies Stew (at least as I know it) - 1 can Camp Pie, 1 can peeled tomatoes, 1 can peas. Cook in frypan on fire. Pure bliss in the scrub!
FollowupID: 455503

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:06

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:06
You're a worry Bob !
No wonder I enjoy sharing the same camp fire as you so much, even if it is from up wind on the opposite side of the fire :-))

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 455776

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:17

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:17
Pezza i thought that was why you have"NO FEAR"on you're Logo.Just making sure you live up to it.:)
Avinagooden Bob.
FollowupID: 455777

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:20

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 19:20
Bob, my motto is "no fear, all terror !" :))
FollowupID: 455778

Reply By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:32

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 16:32
I prefer to drive with just the sound of the wind and the engine. I am as yet undecided as to whether I like to listen to the engine in case something goes wrong or falls off though. : )

I have just completed a trip around Oz with my wife, and in the whole trip (5 1/2 months) we only put on *one* CD, which was a few Joe Cocker tracks. I can do without music quite happily and enjoy the quiet of the bush etc ...

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 196985

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:13

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 17:13
Jack, my sorta guy :)))
FollowupID: 455393

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 20:34

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 20:34
Occasionally I will play a cd or listen to the radio, but mainly they are both off, and just driving along. (HF is usually doing the selcall thing though)
FollowupID: 455452

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:54

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 18:54
Yeah Footy

You are totally UNCOOL man.........................

Bring on the NOISE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm a Neil Diamond fan...Croon away Man.....................

Nothion' better than driving through the heart of the Desert and creating your own N O I S E !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You really have to have a reality check Old Fella...

PS. I see you you have taken up where Lone Wolf left off,,,hahahahahaha

Cheers Old timer

AnswerID: 197021

Reply By: D-Jack - Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 22:40

Thursday, Sep 28, 2006 at 22:40
Nothing like bit of Kenny Rogers when you're out bush, not to loud though. It's the only time I really listen to that sort of music, but it seems to fit right in when you're away from the bit smoke!
AnswerID: 197066

Reply By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:54

Friday, Sep 29, 2006 at 09:54
Footy, I'm with you on the noise at work thing. Hospitality is people in your face, sporting events, the GG's, live music etc. The last thing I want on my time off is any of those things; I make Jen answer the phone at home so I don't have to talk to anyone LOL.
I think we put the radio on once while camping recently and that was to get a local weather report. Listened to two cd's; one on the way there and one on the way home.
My drive to work and back is about the only time I get to myself; sometimes I listen to a cd or the local ABC, most times, however, I enjoy the peace and pretend I'm heading off on a solo trip into the wild blue yonder :-))
AnswerID: 197110

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:37

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:37
I love my music, always have and being married to a musician I have to like it! but in the car... I have to be in the mood for music.. often will do a drive with just my own thoughts if have no desire to want to hear certain songs. But music at camp... I don't think so! We go to get away from the noise and carry on that is around home and work, And if you keep playing loud music over at Charlie Moreland while we can hear it clearly over at Bolumba Creek area 3 do expect a visit from an irate bloke wo would love to tell you what to do with that music like some unsuspecting yobbos copped from him a while ago!

Jo
AnswerID: 197294

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:51

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 18:51
Well it seems I'm like most I guess I don't mind my music be that radio or Cd while driving although very rarely does it go on when camping. As for the mobile phone if I remember it gets put on silent or at least it does after the first ring :).

I prefer the noise of the bush when I go away.

AnswerID: 197296