National Parks don't want us?

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 20:12
ThreadID: 38169 Views:4130 Replies:10 FollowUps:38
Took a day trip today before the holiday hordes arrive up here. A nice drive through Mount Jerusalem NP (between Uki and Mullumbimby) then out to Ocean Shores for a swim at the mouth of the Brunswick River.

It's not a long drive through the NP but it is nice. All side-tracks are closed of course. There is one dirt road we hadn't been down before sign-posted 'South Chowan Rd' 'No Through Rd', what the hell, let's check it out. After a short distance we came across a clearing next to a creek amongst ferns and sub-tropical raiforest with a beautiful waterfall with a deep swimming hole at the bottom. No one else there.

Not sign-posted, no info in any brochures I've seen. On the NP website for the Nthn Rivers Site Link the park isn't even listed. I did a google and there is a page on the NP site with bugger all info Site Link

I can only come to the conclusion that since it is a park with no day fees, camping grounds, toilets etc, they can't make any money from people visiting such a beautiful spot so they black-list it?

So we get to the coast and being the long weekend and start of the school hols there is a few people around. I'm observing the world go by and I realise how many people are using their mobile phones. Can't you relax on along weekend? Can't go to the beach for a couple of hours and just soak up some rays and play in the water? There was a couple there in about there thirties that were totally ignoring each other while they played with their phones; they weren't even making calls, just playing with their phones!

While they were all absorbed in there toys, my boy and I chased bush turkeys, went swimming, watched pelicans landing on the water, followed a school of baitfish up the beach while terns dived for their dinner.....Some people just don't know that there is a world all around them.

Reply By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:27

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:27
When we go away either for a week or the two of us to just getaway even for a day, one phone stays home, the other comes with us in case of needing to make an emergency call, but is kept turned off. the watch is left at home, and we switch off from the rest of the world. Gotta have some time together without the world interupting. Time is precious when it comes to your marriage, children, family... we have to make the most of every moment, you don't know when it will be your last moment.
Look at how we went through life 10-15 years ago? and look now at how much the world, work and everything seems to take more of our time and priority than the things that really matter the most.
Call me old fashioned but I try to keep family ways and certain things of life as old fashioned as possible so as to not get caught up in the world trying to barging in and take over.

(I even fought for 5 years before I got the internet! everyone else was getting it and I was making my own personal stance that I am not going to get it until necessary just for the simple fact that everyone else was getting it and I am not going to let the world make me conform to its ways until it suits me!!!!!!)

Jo
AnswerID: 197313

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:34

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:34
Yeah Jo, you have turned old fashioned into an artform with that old car your running around in at the moment.

Bware,
That sounds like a nice part of the world you found the other day, would it suit for an o/night stop??

Regards to you all, Trevor.
FollowupID: 455789

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:41

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 21:41
Ahh yes that old Blizzard..... and imagine how much money we'd probably all be saving ourselves if we got around in an old car like that and enjoyed it for what it was instead of all our big toys!!!!! If I had my way, give me something like that and Mark can have the paj!!!!!!!! (But alas, I was told no....ohhhhhh but hang on he still has to pay pennance to me.... a Yes answer would make those brownie points be all paid out all in one go!!!!!)

Jo
FollowupID: 455790

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 22:21

Saturday, Sep 30, 2006 at 22:21
Jo, that is exactly what we do with the phones; the last thing I want is to get a call from work 'cause they're short staffed. And that's exactly right about modern life taking up way too much of our time.

Trevor, it would be an ideal overnighter. According to the NP website it doesn't say camping is allowed but it doesn't it isn't allowed either ;-)). No probs if you want directions.

Regards, Brian
FollowupID: 455793

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:29

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:29
And I'm sure if you missed seeing a loved one for the last time because the hospital or a family member couldn't get through to you would make it all worth while.
FollowupID: 455924

Follow Up By: Member - Mark & Jo (Brisbane) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:44

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:44
I do periodically check the phone in case of an emergency message, but generally there is no phone reception anyway. It is work and just general calls that I don't want when we go away to be by ourselves. We don't have much in the way of family ourselves and out of what we do have if anyone is going to die out of them it is Mark first anyway with his disease and that being the case I would already be with him!
I take it that you have had a bad experience of something like what you wrote happening?

Jo
FollowupID: 455925

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 09:49

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 09:49
I have a mobile phone. Its for emergencies. I cant even remember how to SMS anything.
The keys are too small for me to see without glasses. One day the designers are going to get old, then we'll see the re emergence of *brick* mobiles :))
I resisted the latest puter stuff for years, technology for technologys sake isn't my bag. Seems to me that even relationships are throw away these days.
Technology is a tool, not a lifestyle.
AnswerID: 197344

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 10:02

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 10:02
Brian, re that spot. I wonder if the fact that it didn't have Maccas and a coke machine might be the reason for them not listing it ? If you list somewhere that you don't have the resources to maintain, and the screaming hoards arrive, then you have to divert resources. So you then have to build facilities and charge visitors. In no time at all you have to employ more staff. But that means you need more money and it isn't there.
The last time I went to a favourite overnighter, there was a regulated camp area, water and toilets, firewood etc. Sounds brilliant doesn't it ?
The place was also overflowing with tourists.
A far cry from the old bush clearing that I enjoyed for short term stress relief.
FollowupID: 455818

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 10:47

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 10:47
Yep, I reckon you're right about NP resources. Instead of complaining about NPWS, I should be counting my blessings for finding the spot and have kept quiet about it ;-))
FollowupID: 455819

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:26

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:26
Bware,

Since you've let it slip, does that mean you have to kill us all :))))))))))))))))
FollowupID: 455843

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:07

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 13:07
Hahaha,
You all better be gettin' your affairs in order.....
Hmmm, alphabetically, by zodiac sign, or age? LOL
FollowupID: 455855

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:33

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 11:33
I am getting more and more dissapointed with the restrictions national park authorities are imposing upon us.........they are slowly squeazing us into overcrowded campgounds, restricting activities and closing tracks. I remember many things I used to do many years ago which is not allowed now. The main one is having a camp fire. I am finding more and more many parks are banning the use of fires.
for example......
Fraser Island had the biggest change. No camping at Lake Mackenzie for 4wders. No fires anywhere except Waddy and Dundaburra. Central Station camp has moved. My first trip on the island there were pretty much no restrictions. I asked the ranger why we could no longer have fires on the beach and she said was because children were walking on the hot coals...... That really is a parents responsibility to educate the kids.
Mungo Brush National Park....... the road from Seal Rocks to the south has been closed and the nice little camping areas behind the dunes closed. Due to trees falling onto campsites.
Mungo National park. Even though they have pit fires they advise not to have fires and I can see with in a few years there will be no fires.
Sturt National Park........ A strict no fire park...
I rocked up to many of these parks with firewood loaded in the back of the ute I had purchased from servos and i ended up bringing alot back to Sydney.
What other restrictions will the National Parks be imposing?????? No swimming in the creeks/rivers/lakes? For fear of people drowning and sueing the government.
People, Enjoy our parks now for what we have before they all get closed down or restricted so much that it will not be a pleasure to go. I don't want to be looking over my shoulder in fear the ranger will come along and say..... "Mate that is prohibited in this park".
Sorry but I am really getting peaved with all these restrictions that are coming into force and I want my children to have the same experience I did when I was a boy.
There is nothing like sittng around a campfire in the middle of nowhere telling a few yarns, having a few beers and simply watching the "Bush TV"
AnswerID: 197354

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:28

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:28
Amen :)))
FollowupID: 455844

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:58

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 12:58
I think it's our birthright to be able to enjoy nature for free and that National Parks should be the means to do this. The fees keep going up and we get less access. I reckon my kids will have to go 'virtual camping' using some fancy gizmo which costs thousands of dollars when they grow up.
FollowupID: 455853

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:32

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:32
So what are you going to do about it guys? Other than whinge on a remote internet forum no one, except the people who basically agree with you, reads?

FollowupID: 456001

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:42
I don't know, Mike, that's part of the problem. I write letters but feel that is pointless at the end of the day. Debate here isn't pointless; your comment might be someone's catalyst for action? Feel free to contribute ideas :-)))
FollowupID: 456003

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:55

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:55
Trying to get Aussies to take positive, pre-emptive action is like trying to push water uphill - I'm afraid....

Prove me wrong people - I'd love you to...?

If I mention "Civil Disobedience" on this forum how many will attack me for it?

But what the f...? else do you think will get you what you want...?

God, but am I tired of people who whinge but never act...?

FollowupID: 456004

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:16
I wont attack you for mentioning 'civil disobedience'; that would make me a hypocrite ;-)
I may have camped where I am not supposed to (as an example, of course!); the whinging is about being sick of committing an offence while doing something that you don't believe should be an offence.
FollowupID: 456008

Reply By: cabbageoz - Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:45

Sunday, Oct 01, 2006 at 22:45
All you need to do is go back to a place you remember as being really good 10 yrs back and have a look what the Terrorists have done to it. Every piece of wood within 1 km has been burnt, trees destroyed and left stuck in firepits?? with the end just singed, creek banks destroyed by idiots in 4b's with dont bugger the bush stickers all over them who think that doesn't apply to them and I only did two or three times cause the photo didn't come out any good.My first visit to Dargo Wonnangatta etc was when I was about 16-17 yrs old,was bloody magic back then.My brother and I both worked at the timber mill for a while so we were able to have a look all over the area when we felt like it, catch the odd trout or rabbit if we got a bit hungry, get woken up Sunday morning to the sound of the generator gettin fired up at the pub so we knew we could some brekky off Mrs Lee if we asked nicely. Dont even bother to go near these places now cause their bugg3red
Now you can reverse the numbers in the age [61]
In that time most of these places have been destroyed by unthinking, uncaring bloody fools.The main reason you can't have a fire anywhere any more is because you cant be trusted not to chop the trees down chop up the tables seats toilets etc and try and burn them for your fire.
Every now and then you see someone whingeing about this or that fire trail being to difficult to get up because of the ruts etc that have been caused by fools with
bearclaws etc tearing the tracks to pieces and rain doing the rest. What these tracks are actually for seems to have been forgotten. If you cant get up there how the bloody hell do you expect volunteers to get up there with fire vehicles to try and stop the destruction of the very thing that you go there to see.
Go and ask a few of the land owners why you cant go down to the river behind their property how many times they have had their water tanks shot, prize and stud stock worth many thousands [up to $60 G] shot with bleep ant little 22's which dont kill them just leave them in agony until the owner finds them and has to shoot them himself [sometimes days].Yeah I know, it wasn't me, I wouldn't do that.
How many times has the Carlton Courage caused you to do something you shouldn't when you're away with the boys and the usual mines bigger than yours
comes up and you instantly become Captain Dork to prove yours is the biggest.
Thanks to all the people who have destroyed my most favourite fishing spot at Mt Tamboritha
Yeah I know, enough whinging and bleep off
Take nothing but photos and leave nothing but footprints..
AnswerID: 197410

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:55

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 00:55
Hi Cabbageoz,
I generally agree with your reasoning but I don't think an ever-increasing number of laws and rules achieves anything. Rules are only words on paper; they can't stop people from doing the wrong thing, only make them punishable if caught. The idiots will still cut down trees etc even though they are 'not allowed to', drive down tracks that are closed, speed through residential streets and school zones etc. The majority who do the right thing are the ones who live an increasingly restrictive life. I left school quite a few years ago, as I'm sure many others here did; we don't need to be treated like when the teacher says "unless whoever did the wrong thing owns up, the whole class will get detention", but that is effectively how we are treated.
FollowupID: 455915

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:02

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:02
And one of the most destructive things I have seen in the bush was a couple of Police 4wds driving on a perfectly dry forestry road in Tasmania with chains on all 4 wheels. The track did not even warrant 4wd and I knew the area they were travelling through. They would have had no need what so ever to use chains on this track in the middle of Summer........
I have seen Government officials who should be setting an example doing the most attrotious (spelling) acts.
FollowupID: 455916

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:17

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 02:17
Hmmmm ...

all the time I read these complaints about buerocrats and CALM and local gouvernments and state and federal gouvernment etc etc .. but what are you doing about it ...

The Americans have their gun laws and the Germans have their speed limit and other nations have other things which no politician touches because they might loose votes ... what is it that Australians stand for ? Tell me ...

Australians are unpolitical and talk about footy rather than politics .. they accept what happens around them far too easy ... why is nobody standing up and produces a 4WD show on TV or get the local Member involved in fight against animal cruelty ... well because there is no alternatives .. not enough are willing to make a protest vote and get new forces into politics .. not enough independents, not enough alternatives ...

stop winging ...

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 197414

Follow Up By: JNeiss - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:25

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:25
>> Hmmmm ...
>>
>>... what is it that Australians stand for ? Tell me ...
>>
>> .. they accept what happens around them far too easy ... well because there is no alternatives ..
>>
>> not enough are willing to make a protest vote and get new forces into politics .. not enough independents, not enough alternatives ...
>>
>>stop winging ...
>>have fun
>>gmd

_gmd_pps
I totally agree with you.

We are always the same bunch of people doing the political action work during that time the others go to the pub talking about it but do nothing.

The thinking , is "have an other one (scooner) and it'll go away.

No one in Australia is allowed to talk about religion or politic.

Who said that? What bad manners when your fun park are being controlled from overseas.

Every time I see a ranger from the National Park and wild Life I talk to him and during the conversation I tell him the good things and the bad things.

One of the bad things I tell him is about countries like USA and UK telling me how to have fun in my own National Park?
To tell me who I should vote for and so?
What back burning policies I should adopt?
What RV should I use?
How I should admire the USA and UK...?
The USA and UK destroyed their own backyard, now they are telling us how to preserve our own parks..!

CLICK on this web page

Do you know what? the ranger agrees with me.

The "big boys " form the NP and WL are the one selling Australia.
One for me one for them....

The rangers of the NP & WL are only the foot soldiers.

Say no more...

FollowupID: 455936

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 08:06

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 08:06
What scares me more than m/phones are ipods.
Looking for my first case of some one with ipod plugs in and using the phone:-).
Saw a couple out walking this morning next to each other with thier ipods on.
Chance to talk to each other and listen to the birds, and they have their ipods on :-(.

Why take your phone on holiday? To talk to your friends and let them know what you are doing? Why not wait until you get home and have them over for a coffee/teas and a chin wag? Sorry, bad idea, we are all too busy, no one has a couple of hours for friends, just a quick 5 minute chat on the phone! And you have to do it now, while you remember who your friends are.
AnswerID: 197422

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:01

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 22:01
Too true.
I have seen it many times; two people (perhaps a couple or maybe good friends) at a table in a cafe or restaurant and one of them spends the whole time on their phone to someone else, and generally talking louder than anyone else in the premises. That is just plain RUDE. And when they talk that loud you can tell it isn't an 'important business call' which will cause the demise of the stockmarket if not answered.
FollowupID: 456023

Reply By: silkwood - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:30

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:30
On the first post, I'd agree that it's kept quiet on purpose. Non-alerting is a useful management strategy which minimises the need for overt maintenance and regulation. Too many people finding out about the (few remaing) beautiful quiet spots will eventually result in restrictions and/or changes due to impact limitation. In other words, well done Bware, now keep quiet!

I get pretty tired of hearing the usual bleating about "our right to access" and "they're out to get us". Being a member of the public does not mean having a right to take your vehicle wherever you like. Most of the restrictions placed upon vehicle access in National Parks is a direct result of the behaviour of those wanting access in the first place. Sure, there are some examples of innapropriate access restrictions but overall we can expect, as more people want to use these environments, greater restictions to be put in place.

I remember when studying Outdoor Ed we had a discussion about Public Land use & access. The majority of students (predominantly bushwalkers, climbers & kayakers) were in agreement about strictly limiting vehicle access but horrified when the idea of restricted walking access was raised. "It's our right" everyone cried. When I pointed out that this was the argument of the 4WD types they were indignant, that was different! The reality is it isn't different. Managing a Public resource like a National Park is a balancing act and from what I can see, given the funding and resouces available, most agencies are doing a damn good job.

A recent discussion with a group including a few senior people in the South Australian Parks area was enlightening. One saw it as a matter of attitude change. Using a National Park as a venue to "go 4wding" is NOT considered an acceptable use. Using a 4WD to access areas in a National Park for less invasive activities (camping, fishing, etc) is. See the difference? They're saying if you want to go to a National Park to use your fourby as a type of recreation, forget it. The only legitimate use of a 4WD in a National Park is access for other uses. You know what? I agree with them! An area set aside for multi-use, including conservation has to judge activities having the greatest impact as the least acceptable. When peoples attitudes change and we see the vast majority using 4WD's only for access purposes we will possibly see a drop in the number of offensive behaviours which lead to restrictions.

If you want to go for a day of 4WDing, go somewhere other than a National Park. This will lessen the impact of those who use their fourby's for other interests which a less damaging to conservation areas.

Flame away!

AnswerID: 197427

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:56

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 09:56
I very much agree with your post ..
well said and quite true ... the more 4WD abuse we will see the worse it will get ..
a bit like the hoones in the city create the pressure for more speed limit ...
gmd
FollowupID: 455929

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 10:53

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 10:53
I don't think many will dispute that behaviour by some is one of the main causes of closures, but I think there's more than 'some' examples of inappropriate access restrictions. In Nthn NSW ALL tracks are closed except for the road into the park and day/camping area. If there's anything else of interest in the park you will have to walk which penalises anyone not able-bodied, with young kids etc. Or carry a canoe for 'x' kms along a locked track to a creek. Many of these locked tracks go somewhere like a lookout for instance.

Go 4wding somewhere else? The only other places are state forests; there used to be lots of them up here, now they're all National Parks. The ones that aren't will be soon.
FollowupID: 455932

Follow Up By: hl - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:13

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:13
Precisely...
And how come State Forests can provide basic facilities AND firewood for free??.......
I don't see State Forest camp-sites perpetually vandalized as some people would imply
And National Park fees keep going up and up..

I can see a lot of "empire building" going on.

FollowupID: 455934

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:44

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:44
hl, your point hasn't been countered yet; I think that makes it a very good point :-))))
FollowupID: 456017

Reply By: JNeiss - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:04

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 11:04
Frank Shaw the director of the "Centre for Future Studies" said in September 2006.
" Visitors may have to win the right to visit the Reef be a lottery system by 2020"

Which means Australians on their soil will have NO rights to their essources to have fun.

Have a look at this webiste

The NP and WildLife management teams are receiving orders from the USA and UK to keep our fun parks to themselves.

Letting the Devil coming by doing nothing.

AnswerID: 197439

Reply By: silkwood - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:57

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 17:57
I'm not sure where any of your comments derive from, JNIESS. Either you have some information (verifiable) to back them up or it is (as I suspect) something you feel could be true.

As for where else can we go 4WDing.. there are a growing number of private 4WD parks. I think there will be even more in the future as parks managers become more vigilant and unfortunately more restrictive. Why should you have to pay to go 4WDing? Here's my view.. roads are for transport, if you want to see how fast you can go, join a club (costs money) and play on the track (ditto). Same for 4WDing. If you want to go soemwhere in a National Park which requires a 4WD to get there, fine (in the appropriate conditions). If you want to take your fourby or dirt-bike for a play, go somewhere else (and, in all likelyhood, pay for the priviledge). I am gobsmacked that some people are indignant because park managers don't consider they have a right to use national parks as 4WD playgrounds.

AnswerID: 197480

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:07

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:07
Hi Mark,
It's not all about 4wd access; no fires (who wants to go camping in Winter if you can't sit around a fire?), fees - $7 per day vehicle fee, $8.50 per person camping fee( family of four = $41 per night/$410 for ten days to go camping?!!!) but I suppose outrageous costs keep away the 'undesireables' like us low income earners so that 30somethingpeople with disposable incomes can enjoy their hi-tech toys without my kids annoying them LOL
FollowupID: 455993

Follow Up By: silkwood - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:22

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 20:22
Bware, some good points (and yes, I'm a 40-something). I'm not saying the National Park strategies are all sweetness and light, and you may have noticed I have indicated I am not happy with many of their access decisions. There is no doubt a culture of disincentive has settled in. I can, however understand some of the reaction. This weekend I was at the Coorong National Park. Despite signs indicating "No Pets" about half the campers had their dogs with them.Some bike riders were cutting up the vegetated dune faces and I overheard one person saying they were'nt paying camping fees, they never check anyway!

Still there is a point where the fees and the regulations require some questioning. I get to hear the story from a number of sides and sometimes the decisions are not simple. I guess I'm saying I can agree with your perspective on some issues, but the access whinges I keep hearing about are, in my opinion, mostly a croc!

Fires in National Parks, incidentally will become increasingly rare. In desert areas this can't happen soon enough! I get sick of seeing pictures of idiots crossing the Simpson having a blazing fire ready at five in the evening! The deserts are the least able area to support burning the vegetation! Bushwalkers have had to get used to many camps being fire-free. I think in some circumstances car-campers will have to. I don't agree with no-fire regulations in all situations however.

As for your being an "undesireable", it has nothing to do with being younger, or having kids. As for being from NSW however.....

FollowupID: 455999

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:14

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:14
Now I'll buy rules _if_ they have a sensible pupose:

>Despite signs indicating "No Pets" about half the campers had
>their dogs with them

If we ignore the signs - why do you think dogs should not have been allowed?

FollowupID: 456007

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:40

Monday, Oct 02, 2006 at 21:40
Just to clarify, Mike; you're asking that if people bring their dogs regardless of the signs, what is the point of the rules?
That is the same point I was trying to illustrate further up in followup ID 455915.
FollowupID: 456015

Follow Up By: silkwood - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 08:03

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 08:03
Firstly, are you suggesting there is no reason to dissallow dogs? If so (I'm not sure you are) that's just plain ignorance. You get the "my dog's okay" type who always suggest their particular pet does no damage.They remind me of suburban cat owners who insist their moggie doesn't kill wildlife. CRAP. Then the one most people are unaware of. Camping areas tend to cluster native wildlife (foraging etc.) on a fairly consistent basis. Bringing dogs into these areas not only increases the risk of the dogs doing damage but far more importantly the smell attracts foxes. This in turn means foxes tend to congregate more in areas where the native animals do. Therefore: greater impact by foxes. Add to this, I (and most others) don't go to National Parks to share them with your pets and ...DOGS DON'T BELONG IN NATIONAL PARKS!!

As to the point about not having rules because most ignore them, this is an issue for NPs due to funding and geographic remoteness. I feel the answer is not to ignore it (this just means more damage and eventualy closure) but to A) create more funding (difficult) for more rangers; B) start a voluntary ranger scheme (as occurs in Tassie) to operate in holiday and peak use times, to educate users (I believe most people really don't want to do the wrong thing, they just don't understand or haven't been given enough info, see point about foxes above); C) If many figure it's worth the risk ignoring the signs then up the ante- put bigger signs at entry points (so there are no excuses) and introduce MUCH bigger fines and entry bans (say $500 and 12 months banned from National Parks in the state). For many they will still think the chance of getting caught is low, but the risk if they do may not be worth it. For the rest, make the fines much, much bigger for a second offence.

FollowupID: 456075

Follow Up By: hl - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:56

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:56
Well.... that is quite a statement. Ok, there are many Nat Parks where it is not desirable to have dogs, but, surely... since just about everyting is a National Park or proposed to be soon by now, there most be SOME places that are ok for dogs.
That blanket "YOU ARE FORBIDDEN TO DO THIS" is what typifies much of what Nat Parks are all about these days.
And if NP are so worried about all the wood getting picked up and burned at campsites, why don't they PROVIDE some for the campers just like State Forests do. NP charge enough for access.
Would it not be easier to round up all the foxes, now that you know what attracts them?

FollowupID: 456114

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:48

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:48
Agreed hl. I though Mark's response was pretty weak too.

My post was poorly worded, by "If we ignore the signs", I meant that the simple presence of the signs is not a sufficient reason for a blanket rule. ie. If I errect a sign saying "Everyone who reads this must donate $10 to Mike Harding" will you be requesting an address to send the cheque to?

FollowupID: 456142

Follow Up By: silkwood - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:27

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:27
I'm sorry you find "my argument" (it isn't mine) weak. It's based upon solid research from three Australian states as well as overseas evidence. Whereas your perspective is based upon....your opinion? It's a pity you don't consider this issue important, I assure you Park Managers do. But supported facts aside (who needs them, hey?) I'm surprised anyone would think it reasonable to have a dog in an area designated for native conservation. It reminds me of a guy I met cutting firewood with a chainsaw in a national park. When I pointed out it was prohibited he replied he thought that's what the forests were for! And no, hl, I don't believe there are ANY National Parks where dogs would be welcomed. Surely there are enough other places to take your dog for a run. I don't buy the argument that you need to take your dog with you because it would be left alone at home. If you choose to have a pet it is your responsibility to take care of it within the limitations of the prevailing regulations. There is no God-given right to access places in the manner of your choosing. Just as you think you should be able to take your dog (apologies if you were not referring to yourself) I think you shouldn't. The difference is, my perspective is the same as that of the regulations. And we're both Park users.

Don't get me wrong guys, I am agreeing that a culture of restriction over management is prevailing and I personnaly don't find that healthy. I do however hear these issues from a number of perspectives (it's not just us vs them) and the answers are not always simple. Sometimes they are, though. In an environment of diminishing funding it is easier for managers to simply close an area off or ban an activity than fund the regulation and policing of allowing it to continue.

Let me put my point simply. On the weekend at the Coorong there were idiots with dogs when it was clearly signposted "No Pets". There were idiots with unlicensed dirt bikes riding on prohibited areas. I'm a manger with four rangers to cover a huge area with many conflicting users and outcomes. Do I spend more of my limited funding to police theese idiots or do I simply close an area off? It gets those pesky 4WDers upset but appeases the other idiots who scream at me to ban everything. And hey, it costs less and makes me look good to my managers.

So I sincerly believe I should (and do) notify any rangers I see of anyone breeching regulations. Why? I think I am helping to maintain access and activity usage in areas which may otherwise be restricted. If you are not happy with the closures don't blame me. Balme your pollie (they ultimately fund the system, with our money) and blame every single knob who thinks it's their right to do as they please, stuff the rules.

(Ain't disagreeing fun, I could be doing housework right now!)

FollowupID: 456176

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:37

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:37
>I'm a manger with four rangers

>And hey, it costs less and makes me look good to my managers.

Now how did I guess there was a vested interest there?

btw if you're going to site "research" to argue against my "opinions" then please provide references to your research otherwise, for all we know, they're just your "opinions" too.

FollowupID: 456178

Follow Up By: silkwood - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:06

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:06
Actually Mike, it was a hypothetical argument (I sell toilets!). This attitude and response is from conversations I've had with those who ARE managers. And as I've said: I don't necessarilly agree with them!

As for the references, it's been a while since I studied, but I'll try and search them out. If you want more clarification simply ask National Parks why they don't want dogs. I'm pretty sure they can give you the details immediately.

There's no vested interest, I just hear these things from more than one "vested interest's" perspective (if you're a user, you also have a vested interest).

Let me say again, I AGREE with much of what's been said. I think Bware had some very good points to make. I just think we are our own worse enemies sometimes.

BTW, there are really only four rangers to cover the area from the SA border up to the Murray Mouth. No wonder they can't get around to everywhere.

FollowupID: 456181

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:19

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 19:19
>I just think we are our own worse enemies sometimes.

I'll agree with that - I think most of us would - but that is not sufficient reason to permit all these empire builders in the various government departments to control us at their behest. Then again... what the bloody hell else is anyone supposed to do with a degree in "Environmental Management" or similar.

When did you ever hear the "Rule Makers" or "Power Wielders" say; "Well... I don't think we need those rules/laws anymore so let's get rid of them".

These people don't need any encouragement from us....

PS. I camped at various spots in the Snowy River NP with my dog (a Cavalier King Charles Spaniel) a coupe of years ago - the park still seems to be intact?
FollowupID: 456183

Follow Up By: silkwood - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:05

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:05
Mike, it's a pity we disagree on this issue, we probably agree on more than we don't. I do think you may be right about "empire builders" in higher echelons of government but my experience has been most on the ground managers are simply doing the best they can with few resources and abundant (and growing) pressures from a burgeoning array of "vested interest" groups.

Why the need to put down people who have studied "Environmental Management"? Most of those I know are genuine, caring individuals who have less self-interest involved than most of the pressure groups who condemn them.

I am sorry I didn't make my "hypothetical" approach clearer, I just wanted you to think about why managers would want to make some of the decisions which irk you.

As for taking your dog in national parks, no, they won't fall down. They will I believe be poorer for your behaviour, but I guess we're going to have to continue to disagree over this. If I see you with your dog in a National Park I WILL report you, because I truely believe you are creating conditions which give managers the excuse and opportunity to further restrict all our activities. Sorry.

This argument is getting old.

FollowupID: 456196

Follow Up By: hl - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:28

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:28
There lies the problem... Some of our National Parks are as big as small countries....
Surely some space there could be set aside for people with other interests rather than just bushwalking and drinking beer.
The Americans have National Park areas where people can bring their dogs. So, I can't see why it can't be done here. Not that I am hell bent on taking ours, but there should be places where you can. As for the hooligans you mentioned, well, they don't give a damn now about rules, so what's the difference. Do you want to lock it up for all, just because of some hoons?
We own the National Parks... why should we have to pay big $ to to stay there. As in the post above, $40.00 a night for a small family is just way over the top.
FollowupID: 456269

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:14

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:14
hl, like I said, this arguments getting old.I wasn't intending to post to it again (and now there's another post regarding dogs and National Parks!) but you raised a good point, and I couldn't resist responding in agreement. I will rectify my statement that dogs should be kept out of all NP's, just the vast majority. You're surely right though, if we have areas in some parks set aside for those with generators (another thing I believe should be left out of most NP areas), perhaps we could have some areas set up where dogs are allowed there (and there only, herein lies the management problem).

Good point, as I said before you tend to raise some! As for fees, yup no argument there. Get governments to properly fund what is, after all, a poor vote getter and you may see better access at a reasonable price.

FollowupID: 456286

Reply By: Skinny- Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 09:20

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 09:20
So many points so little time. First congratulations on enjoying the world around you.Second being an old hippie I believe what many young kids are losing is touch with whats around them. You talk to some of them and they have to unplug thier eyes or ears from some device to connect to you if they what to. My kids are too young and don't have that crap.

Awareness man awareness. Time speeds up when you lose awareness for whats around you and just repeat the mundain. Thats why holidays are great becasue we all can usually experince life again through the eys of a child.
We need to remind children of the natural beauty around them that does not require broadband.

Internet mobile etc are not inherently bad they are just very good at taking our attention from the present moment moment experince of each other and nature.

Far out I sound old

Hippie Skinny
AnswerID: 197587

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:42

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:42
Right on, brother :-)))))
FollowupID: 456109