cash cows

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:04
ThreadID: 38223 Views:4013 Replies:8 FollowUps:31
This is our first trip and I've seen enough rip offs. Try $13.50 for a 1kg bottle of gas; try $5 for a glass of beer at some very, very ordinary pub in woop woop that you would pay $3.50 for elsewhere; try .30 cents extra for fuel at a main road road-house when the fuel 200 kms further inland was the cheaper price; try $5 for water just to wash your car; try $4 for the washing machine and it is pre-set to cold wash only. And if you think the locals like us think again I've been told by them that everything was better before the tourists came; none of the rips off; no wiating in long lines at supermarkets during the tourist season; no sharing their favourite fishing spots. OK so what's the answer complain loudly and publically when you are being ripped off as I did over the gas bottle refill (I ended up getting it for $6 in the end), avoid paying the prices, drink your beer at home and eventually if enough people do this the rip off murchants will get the message and we will be truly welcomed by the locals not by the tourist operators alone.

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:27

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:27
guy from work was telling us taday that at the ute muster in deni on the weekend.
bucket of chips $11.20
can of bundy $12.50
can of beer $12.00
plain hamburger $9.00
cant see them being to busy
AnswerID: 197610

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:41

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:41
You would have manure for brains to pay that sorta bux!
FollowupID: 456137

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:22

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:22
Shyte !!!!! At those prices they don't have to rely on volume of sales to turn a tidy profit. Who said bushrangers were extinct LOL
FollowupID: 456148

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:11

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:11
If you don't like it don't go. Simple as A B C.
Cheer's Bob. :)
FollowupID: 456154

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:14

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:14
LOL no Bob. You go but you don't pay those prices.
FollowupID: 456155

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:41

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:41
Nah, half a dozen under the belt and you'd pay anything, plus line up for the $9 hamburger the next morning..........isn't that the way it usually works?
FollowupID: 456170

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:26

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:26
Gramps you are right on the money there.It is like all things if you don't like what you see you you don't pay the $$$.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 456175

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:29

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 18:29
Landy,nah don't touch the stuff.But if i did i wouldn't buy a hamburger to waste it after i had eaten it .Lol.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 456177

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:23

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:23
>>> If you don't like it don't go.

So you would have known before going the prices were that inflated? No, neither did anyone else.
What if you had gone there, expecting the usual inflated prices of $5 for a small paper cup of beer and $4 for 2chips in a paper cup?
FollowupID: 456220

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:03

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:03
I am sure it is no different if you were to go to a footy match or cricket those sort of prices,not to mention the ticket to get in.Yes you no before you go as the they are (most )are rported on this site.Read "WHINGED".& you don't have to have a beer or the chips or any thing else you just don't "BUY".Fuel yes you do if you need to get anywhere.The rip offs are very wide spread in the CITY not just country,This site is becoming more like the site for" WHINGER'S". Cheer's Bob.:)
FollowupID: 456268

Follow Up By: SantaAus - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:14

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:14
Where ever your friend got those prices from, I can't tell.
I was at the Deni Ute Muster last weekend, none of those prices are correct.

bucket of chips $11.20 WRONG --> around $2.50
can of bundy $12.50 WRONG --> @ the bundy bar $5
can of beer $12.00 WRONG --> @ the bundy bar $2.50
plain hamburger $9.00 WRONG --> almost everywhere $5 to $6

SantaAus
FollowupID: 456291

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:48

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:48
I guess I'm just lucky and haven't had the same experience or feelings jamiel.
Sure, we've paid $4 for a washing machine, but we wanted to do our washing and didn't mind too much.
We carry a fair bit of fuel when we fill completly (200Litres), so I can avoid the real expensive ones. We also take not of prices as we go to compare before filling, and fill before we are desperate so we have a choice. But we haven't objected when we have paid up to $2.05 per litre in very remote places.

Similarly we have never felt unwelcome in our travels. Guess we have been to different places.

Hope things improve for your future trips.
AnswerID: 197619

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:57

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 12:57
Some years back I saw a guy in Kakadu with a T shirt that said "Don't rip me off, I'm a local". How appropriate.
$20 for a hamburger at one Pilbera roadhouse. $50 for a donga I wouldn't put a dog in.
Fuel you have to have. I don't mind paying at remote locations, no business means no establishment. I can factor it into the trip finances somehow.
But my local laid back cafe has gone up market. Now the touros think they're overseas at a trendite establishment. Can't afford a burger there anymore. Come to think of it I can't afford most of the attractions round here. I won't even mention real estate !
It's not just the rip off artists in the bush. At least they have a reason for it. User pays philosophy has put many services out of the reach of many Australians. All the govt tiers from the Council up now think that the public has an unlimited supply of money that they can tap into. Legal theft.
But as long as I'm all right Jack, I'm going to get slammed for this post.
AnswerID: 197621

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:20

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:20
Im, with you footloose not all of us have a unlimited amount of cash like others who travel ,So I weed out the thieves and just walk away or just go without,

I travel on a very limited budget because I love to travel when the wallet has some left in it,And why shouldent we weather we spend a little or a lot in these towns.

So if its too expensive dont buy it or go elsewhere,I remember the towns that are friendly or have reasonable costs and I go out of my way to go back to them if I can.So its up to us all ,Stop paying big bucks for something that way overpriced.

dj patrol
FollowupID: 456122

Reply By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:03

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:03
The premiums on fuel might be the only thing keeping some remote servos open - which is what you want them to be when you limp into town with two flats in need of repair.
AnswerID: 197622

Follow Up By: jamiel - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:35

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:35
I take the point that fuel stops in remote areas need to charge more but the ones i am complaining about are the ones actually closer to their suppliers who charge extra to those further away.I would like to afford the luxury of a 200 litre tank but there is just not the space or power to tow around an extra 200kgs of fuel The stations that charge like this are usually not interested in the concept of servicing anything except their bank balances My last word. Thereare great places and great people everywhere and the best people I have met are those at really remote places I have found plenty to enjoy but please dont let Australia become like some places in europe where the locals pay a different price to the tourists .
FollowupID: 456124

Reply By: Troop-a-dour - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:12

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:12
The only solution-
Stay at home !!!
AnswerID: 197626

Reply By: looking_4_BJ42 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:31

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:31
Unfortunatly some towns seem to dislike tourists. I dont understand why, the tourist dollar is the only thing keeping some of these towns going and they have the audacity to treat you like rubbish. Must be some type of inbreed hatred. MAybe there jealous that we get to travel Australia while there stuck in there own back water. I have had a few run ins and it gets me very very angry. If i am giving you money for a service there is no need to treat me like trash!! This is one thing that really gets me going.

I guess their just dumb ar$e country hicks!!
AnswerID: 197629

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:48
Having lived and worked in some outback towns I'd have to agree. Many have always had a "locals and blow ins" sort of culture. Then there's land holders and townies. Then there's the floating population. And in some cases a deep suspicion of strangers.
Thankfully I've seen a lot of changes in most country towns. Tourists are welcomed in most, as some survive mostly on the tourist dollar.

The Darwin award goes to a girl in a Cape York town, several years ago. While serving my wife she told her mate that she couldn't wait to see the end of the tourist season. Now that's bloody rude.
I've been back and strangely enough she doesnt work there any more.
FollowupID: 456126

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:46
G'Day BJ,

Not surprised they treat you like trash if your attitude to them is one of "dumb ar$e country hicks!" Is it them or you?

Scoey!
FollowupID: 456140

Follow Up By: looking_4_BJ42 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:10

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:10
No NO quite to the contrary, I am extrmely nice to all people i meet on my travels and all people in general. I NEVER stated that i walk around the town saying that you are all dumb country hicks, why would i do that!! Please read my post properly before wrinting a follow up like this!! You are just trying to cause conflict!! Why would you do that??

When i am in another country or in another town, I know i am the visiter and extend my respect to the locals of said country and town. If i am nice to someone and they treat my like I am a piece of cr@p, of course i am going to get mad. I never say anything of course it is not the right thing to do and it is not my town or country. I voice my protest on places like this to try and get the message out that some people are just darn right RUDE. Just because they live in country town does not give them the excuse to treat poeple from out of town badly!!!!

I treat all country folk who come to Melbourne extremely well.

I guess that the fact is just because someone lives i the country and is a country folf doesn't make them a good person, as everyone seems to think.

P.S. Read posts properly before responding badly to a post.
FollowupID: 456146

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:31

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:31
It's not country wide but I have seen the attitude which BJ42 mentions too.
FollowupID: 456149

Follow Up By: Spango - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:56

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 15:56
I live in a town in the North West of WA that is a tourist haven in the winter time, mainly because of our beaches and the fishing, I must admit you have your times when touro's become a bloody nuisance, i find a certain age group, arrogant, rude, have little respect for others, and always in a hurry, example was last week camped at our favourite camp spot at Ningaloo in comes visitor asked me if I was local, I said yes, asked me about driving on the beach, I said sands a bit too wet at the moment, off goes visitor, hour later in walks visitor, he was that bogged in wet sand that you could not see his wheels, this is not the first time I have had to help some one after they had asked my opinion about driving conditions in this area, crossing Yardie Creek is another classic case, in particular when the mouth of the creek opened after good rain,
As for being a dumb arse country hick could not care less what some one else thinks of people who live in the country, I know that I have great live style, work four and a half days a week, camp and fish the days off, does not get any better, in fact I am making the most of it because with increased tourism comes more rules and regulations and before you know it we will be like the east coast. Only have to watch the Four Corners programme the other month to see how this great piece of coastline is loved too death and the negative aspects of of all those people who stay on it in a short space of time.

Spango
FollowupID: 456153

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:38

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:38
G'Day again BJ,

I re-read your post as you asked and still got the same impression. Maybe because I come from a small country town or a "back water" as you call it. I don't mean to cause conflict as you suggest, my follow up was simply to pose the question to you, that, was it your attitude to country folk that couses a dissrespectful attitude in return? Quite clearly you think not.

Personally, terms such as 'back water' and 'dumb ar$e country hicks' paint a pretty clear picture to me about your attitude, and to suggest that they are jealous of you because they're 'stuck in thier own back water' is ridiculous! I'd rather live in my town than Melbourne any day!

Maybe your attitude isn't deliberate or even a concious thing - but believe me, it comes across loud and clear to me. Look - I don't mean to offend you, as I'm sure you didn't mean to denigrate country people, I was simply offering an opinion as you did. Take it in or ignore it - your choice! :-)

Scoey!
FollowupID: 456158

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:50

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 16:50
LOL we're getting a bit tetchy here are'nt we :)))

IMHO, percentage wise, there are just as many dumb ar$e country hicks as there are rude arrogant city-based tourists. The difference between the country and the city is while some will try to rip you off in the country, EVERYBODY will try to rip you off in the city hahahahaha
FollowupID: 456159

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:01

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:01
Amen to that Gramps! ;-) I was going to say that the rude country people that are mentioned actually go by a different name when being referred to by country people; and that is ar$eholes! :-)) hehe! they come in all shapes and sizes but when a city person finds one in a country town or vice versa it must be a country Vs city thing!

Scoey!
FollowupID: 456161

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:03

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:03
Its getting worse in the cities. Had a woman looking over my shoulder while I was using an ATM. I nearly called the cops. But instead I frightened here away by smiling...before using the machine of course.
Had another woman pull my shopping trolly out of the way while I was looking at an item in a fridge. Ican now assure Mark Latham that the Ozzie male isn't always politically correct :))
I suppose that I was lucky that a member of the sisterhood wasn't standing behind me with a lump of 6x4 !!
I hate rude, ignorant people wherever they are.
FollowupID: 456162

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:31

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:31
Scoey,

hahaha we call 'em ar$eholes too :)) See, city and country folk are'nt completely different species LOL

Footy, Footy, Footy. Why are you becoming such a thrillseeker and taking all these risks at this stage? There's no way in the world I'd stand in the way of some of the ladies at the local supermarket. Especially when they are armed with one of those four-wheeled WMDs. Have'nt you noticed the height the front edge of those things is set at? It brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it LOL
FollowupID: 456169

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:43

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 17:43
Gramps, isn't my strategy obvious ? I'm trying to get banned from doing the shopping !! :-)))
FollowupID: 456171

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:50

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 20:50
Getting banned is easy.

If I go shopping, the bill is usually a bit bigger, as I don't look for the "specials"
Also, going shopping when hungry is also good, as all sorts of snack foods migrate into the trolley. :))
FollowupID: 456207

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:23

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:23
Stu, I do the grocery shopping every week. It used to be my big day out. High point of my social life. But then I changed days and met the shoppers from H E L L. It's bad enough having grey hair and being invisible. but the battle strategy of some of these people is incredible. I must be the only one on permanent retreat all the way around the battleground.

However when some mum and her child smile and wave me on, it can still make my day.
A bloke did that once, and I looked at him pretty carefully. He had a little cross on his collar:))))

Geez I've only been back for a couple of months and I need to go away again...
FollowupID: 456240

Follow Up By: 666toy - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:09

Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 18:09
hey there city dude,
before you go calling country people dumb a@#e you should do a little thinking . its wankers like you who upset the locals in small towns with your big city mexican out look . country people supply the food on your plate the leather you ware & the wool in in your socks & usually if they give off a bad attitude its you who has made them that way. so if you dont like it dont go. the rural sector is better off without wankers like you . i bet your one of the idiots that leave gates open & cut the hell out of private tracks & leave your rubbish everyware. as for reading your post i have & you deserve a reply like this as you are the problem not country people .!!!!!!!!
as for being jelous ???? of you ....lmao why the hell would anyone want to give up freedom us country people enjoy every day that you might once or twice a year?anyway i have had my say read it & weep you ignorant mexican (no offence to all the nice vics out there just people like this that give melbornites a bad name !!!)
FollowupID: 458876

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:48
Dont forget alot of these places in the North west are struggling to get staff at any price. The only way to get people to work there is to go at least some way to competing with the mining cos for pay. Alot of business in headland and the like are struggling to keep their doors open due to lack of staff and some roadhouses have had to close their kitchens
AnswerID: 197632

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:56

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 13:56
Yes, WA has a problem there. All the kitchen hands are making a fortune as TA's in the mines. Naturally we have been left with the unemployed over here. But don't worry Dave, pretty soon they'll have enough non English speaking people there on visas.
FollowupID: 456130

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:05

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:05
already happening although to a certain extent it seems to be failing in regards to skilled migrants. barminco tried getting Phillipino workers over but found the word skilled and migrant werent exactly the same so most quitly disapeared
FollowupID: 456131

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:17

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 14:17
The number on visas has more than doubled in the last 2 years AFIK. But for those who don't know English and are skilled in IT or whatever , no worries. We just outsource. So what are we going to do with Australians without decent jobs ? Who cares. I'm taking my obscene 14 million dollars home to the US.
Grrr....it's still the lucky country for some !
FollowupID: 456134

Reply By: djm67 - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:22

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:22
Of all the cash cows I hate the most, it's the events that overcharge for everything, but ban you from bringing your own.

Think movies, think football, think just about every public event now days.

I don't mind paying a premium price for premium service, but when a cup of coke & a cup of popcorn leves no change from a tenner, then we are just getting touched.
AnswerID: 197793

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:14

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:14
Yes mate and add fuel or fares to get to the event and it basically becomes unaffordable for a family day out.
FollowupID: 456391

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:11

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:11
The worst thing I know has to be the self serve lollies at the movies , they have to be about $15/kg.

As far as I am concerned if it isnt outright illegal , I will have a go at taking my own.

Glenn
FollowupID: 456888