No Dogs Allowed Cape Keraudren, 80 mile beach

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:22
ThreadID: 38240 Views:7408 Replies:12 FollowUps:25
Cape keraudren and 80 mile beach Broome, don't take dogs anymore, THEY HAVE NEW RULES. We went especially to Cape Keraudren (140 klms up past Port Hedland and $70 petrol) to read it on a sign at the beginning of the road in. WHY COULDN'T THEY HAVE PUT IT ON A SIGN JUST OUT OF PORT HEDLAND. We wouldn't have gone there. After travelling 4 days up through the middle hwy we really didn't need to go that extra distance just to turn around. The ranger said it was in the local paper and on the local radio, well great, we came from Perth, alot of good that does people from other places. Anyway, we went to 40 mile beach below Karratha and it was nice.Then back to the blow holes at Canarvon, we could have saved so much petrol and driving if we had have only known at Port Hedland.

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:32

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:32
We were at 80 mile beach in 2003 and there were a lot of dogs. Some irresponsible let their dogs wander around and a little dog was attacked. It's always the wankers that spoil it for everyone else.

Did you see the spiders eyes at night while you were at 40 mile beach?
AnswerID: 197698

Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:31

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:31
The spiders eyes at 40mile beach were really interesting. We had a storm in the afternoon and once all that cleared there were eyes around everywhere you cared to shine the torch on.
FollowupID: 456297

Reply By: Bote - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:34

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:34
You may not but I agree with this NEW rule. In 2002 there was 2 dog attacks at the camping grounds at Cape Keraudren while we were there .
Rangers were planning to ban dogs at that time.

Mind you , with all the wild animals why would you bring dogs there anyway.
AnswerID: 197699

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:06

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:06
Mind you , with all the wild animals why would you bring dogs there anyway.

cos some people travel with their dogs, especially oldies. I agree though that there are plenty of f..kwits with big stupid dogs that ruin it.
I lived in Coral Bay for a few years with my dog (now 15) and it was great but for the tossers who rolled in with their Rotties etc (rotties are not all bad either)

sad thing for kids is that with the smaller blocks for houses, and dog bans everywhere etc, kids are losing the last contact with probably the only interactive animal they will know.
FollowupID: 456236

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:03

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:03
MOST OF YOU MISSED THE POINT. it wasn't the banning of the dogs, it was the fact that the shire of Port hedland could have put a sign 140klms before we actually got to the Keraudren turnoff to find out about it. I am mainly puting this on this site to let you with dogs (that are part of your family) know so you don't get caught like we did. Just be aware dogs are not allowed at these places.so Don't waste petrol going on a special trip there.
FollowupID: 456573

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:09

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:09
Sorry fisho64, I was leaving the reply for Bote and others that missed my point. I fully agree with YOU. We are "nearly oldies" and love our little dog, where we go she goes, and if she can't we don't either.
FollowupID: 456574

Reply By: silkwood - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:35

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 21:35
I'm sorry to hear that.I have to say I'm in favour of limiting dogs in national parks, but there are ways and mens. Perhaps a timeline, indicating a total ban in the future might be better, allowing better communication.

I'm not sure what the easy answer is but abrubt notice like this appears unfair and unreasonable.

AnswerID: 197700

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:36

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:36
Why are you in favour of limiting dogs?

I would almost guarantee people do more harm!
FollowupID: 456245

Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:03

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:03
Living in Sydney ...and travelling to Broome..as I did last year .. ..well that part of the world is just the last place i would ever visit again ....for many reasons ...i wont tell you any of them ...the place is the pits and next door to the bleep of the world ...just a full on Tourist suck hole...expensive, dirty, crowded, miserable people who only work there to tear the arse out of the tourists...and no public facilities...Some day I will tell you what I really think of the place..A real pity its in W.A...
AnswerID: 197708

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:41

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:41
Steve, not everyone in that part of the world hates tourists except for their money.

I can remember Broome when it was pretty laid back. The locals were OK, and you didn't need to book into the van parks. I seem to remember only one resort, and people still stopped to say G'day to tourists.

That almighty dollar has a lot to answer for, eh ?

But I wonder what a Broomite might think of Sydney ? :-)
FollowupID: 456247

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:03

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 08:03
I visited Broome for a couple of weeks earlier this year and really enjoyed the place. BUT, I flew in, stayed in a hotel and was happy to pay for a number of expensive activities. It seems this is what the place is geared for now and if people are prepared to pay, you can't blame the locals for going down this path (damn, that means it's my fault!). I would have liked to have visited 15 years ago when, friends have told me, it was a great place for car-based tourists and a lot more laid back.

Can't help think though, that back then there were a few whingeing about how things were better in the good old days.

FollowupID: 456282

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:54

Tuesday, Oct 03, 2006 at 22:54
I just came back from a Cape York trip and my travelling companions had a dog with them, a Staffie.

No I like the dog, but you can't leave a staffie for a minute before it starts whining and therefore we were unable to see/visit most of the most interesting places, eg no walk through the daintree, we could only drive through, no fishing charter trip, because of the b!oody dog, you get the picture. You should have heard them bitch and moan because they had to pick up its bleep - they would have gladly left it around for us to step in.

So I spent thousands on the trip (and I don't regret going) but I do regret the restrictions caused by the animal which should not have been on the trip at all.

Dog owners are all parochial about their choice of breed as well- owners of large dogs hate the small yappy terrier types, and the terrier types hate the rottweilers (with justification) and I hate the lot of them when they are in the wrong places. These include Caravan parks, camp grounds, national parks, Cape York. I hate people who have pit bulls and register them as staffies - these people have a mental defect. One I know has a pit bull which has bitten humans, they have a 5 month old baby and the dog snarls and raises its hackles whenever it catches sight of the infant - and they still think the dog is harmless.

When they are in the right places, I love dogs, we had them all our lives. But I won't take them travelling and I resent those who do, when it impacts on the enjoyment of humans.

So it's too bad that you spent heaps of money on petrol/diesel going to where you coudn't stay. How dare they not let you know in advance. But if you didn't have the mutt, you wouldn't have had the problem.
AnswerID: 197723

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:32

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:32
I am perplexed that you would, willingly, go on a lengthy trip with people who you were aware were taking a dog which, you were also aware, would limit your options and then have temerity to come on here and moan about the consequences of your decision!?

PS. If you think dogs limit ones options you should try children.
FollowupID: 456270

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:14

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:14
QUOTE: "PS. If you think dogs limit ones options you should try children."

MIke, couldn't have said that better myself, we have been away with people with dogs, & also been away with people with children ....... I certainly know which I prefer!
FollowupID: 456292

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:24

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 09:24
Gentlemen, I agree. But the original whinge in this post was about dogs.

And I have done my penance with children, one now 24 and the other 21.

As to why I would travel with the knowledge of the dog, it was because I was leery of going to the tip alone, and when all said and done, one rainforest is much like another. I grew up in Tassie in the central highlands where there used to be plenty of forest (before the woodchipping), there used to be spectacular fishing, and the national parks didn't charge, you could go anywhere you wanted. No fourbys in those days though, except rare army jeeps.

But you can take children into parks and they don't regurlarly try and shag your leg like the staffie, which has persistence to be admired when trying to get his rocks off. At least you can whack them hard enough so they fall off without hurting them.

FollowupID: 456294

Follow Up By: Member - Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:26

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 11:26
Gerhardp1, I agree with you about dogs in general; I wouldn't inflict our crazy mut on anyone - he stays home. But driving long distances to find you're not welcome isn't a dog issue, it's a communication issue.

That sort of thing has happened to me a few times; walk a few km to see a waterfall only to find a sign near the end of the track stating the rest of the track is closed for whatever reason. Drive for half an hour along a track to get to a camping ground to find a sign saying closed. Why not put the signs at the start of the tracks? Both these instances were National Parks, strangely enough.
FollowupID: 456320

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:31

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:31
Member-Bware, you hit the nail on the head, you know exactly where I am coming from, my complaint was not about the dog banning, it was about not being given a sensible amount of distance before the sign told us of the ban.
For joy, for joy, there is someone in the world that understands me :-)
FollowupID: 456578

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:35
and Gerhardp1, NO the original whinge from me, in the post was NOT about Dogs.
FollowupID: 456579

Reply By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:53

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 06:53
Ban em I say
AnswerID: 197739

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:08

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:08
if you are going to travel with a dog then you are going to limit where you are allowed to go. best thing is to leave them at home - wherever that is. too many baits now laid throughout WA anyway and will be 'live' for the next 4mths - unlike the animals that will eat them. i must agree with those that ban dogs in caravan parks and other camping places - not suitable places for dogs (then again some dogs are better behaved than some peole). do yourself and your dog a big favour and leave it at home and enjoy your trip. rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 197790

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:28

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:28
You'll search long and hard and, maybe, never find a person who is as good and loyal a friend to you as a dog will be.

Dogs are OK.

AnswerID: 197795

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:38

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 14:38
I have a pure bred Australian Silky Terrier, 6 years old and quiet as a mouse. In fact I sometimes think he is a mouse!

He's barked 6 times since he was born, usually three barks at a plastic bag blowing in the wind. He sees everything, misses nothing and hardly says a word. He's great company and better than most humans I've been out with. I pick up his litter everywhere I go - even in the bush, I burn it. I can leave him in van for hours and he just lies there and doesn't make a sound. He knows he'll get his walkies and a treat when the time comes.
He loves people and small kids and will play with 'em for hours. He's got all the patience in the world. He's only ever off a lead in our backyard. In fact he feels insecure without his lead when he's out and about.

So, in defence of well behaved dogs,,,,,,,,,,Take yer dog ban and shove it.

They'll not all bad or badly kept.

My motto - If it ain't good enough for my dog then it ain't good enough for me.

Who needs Broome and it's environs anyway. Overrated, overstated, overpriced and if the locals are anything like those at Denham, you can shove them too.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 197798

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:27

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:27
Bilbo, National Parks ban dogs for more than just their aggressiveness and disturbance to wildlife. Call them up and ask why. Issues such as disease (many native wild animals can be susceptible to common dog diseases), lost animals (it has happened more than once when a dog has got loose and chased after an animal), urine (the smell of dogs urine can attract foxes nto an area they have not normally frequented, and, conversely can scare of native animals away from their normal range or keep them from waterholes), baiting (most National Parks have baiting programs for foxes. Your dog could find a bait much easier than you could detect he's eaten it) and also, because they believe the only animals which belong in National Parks are natives.

I'm sure your dog is terrific (actually he sounds great!), but that doesn't make him any more suitable to enter a National Park.

I once saw a ranger go ballistic at a guy walking his dog (some kind of rat-type thing, I think it was a maltese:) ) in Telowie Gorge here in SA (he apologised profusely for his outburst later). His reason- this is one of the few areas they had managed to have population growth for yellow-footed wallabies (an endangered species in some areas) in a place people could have the privelidge of seeing them. This had taken much work to keep foxes away, and he was appalled that this could be threatened by someone's dog. His name was Stewart (Binnie?) and I believe he's still stationed at Mambray Creek if you want to discuss it with him.

As has been said in a previous post, perhaps we can have just a few areas in major parks where dogs are allowed, but how do you police those who'll disregard the restrictions (they disregard them now!)

Absolutely no offence to you or your dog.

FollowupID: 456394

Follow Up By: Member - Errol (York WA) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:59

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 18:59
On ya Bilbo , couldn't agree more . Our little fella a very well traveled dog , he go's most places we go with no problems .
FollowupID: 456401

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:28
Mark,

I'm fully aware of WHY dogs are banned in National Parks. I don't take my dog there.

Cape Keraurdren is not a National Park. Neither is the township of Broome.

What's been said here, by some, is ban all dogs from caravan parks and I suspect, the bush in general.

As a prospector of 20 years, in the W.A. bush I strongly suggest that humans have done far more damage to the bush than dogs ever will. They don't leave rubbish behind, don't chainsaw trees down, don't make complete fwits of themselves, don't get monkey drunk and play up all night, don't have a drug problem, don't landclear, don't tear down fences, don't chew up tracks, don't shoot sheep, don't add to the greenhouse effect, don't shoot roos, emus and goannas just for the hell of it etc,etc, etc

Geez, gimme a trained dog anyday. They leave very small "footprints", unlike the human race, some of which still needs training.

I also reckon that the use of 1080 bait for dogs is vile. It is a poison for which thier is no antidote. That in itself is a crime IMHO. See my earlier thread on two dogs being poisoned in a carvan park. If a poison must be used then an anitidote should be available that can be carried with you to treat an unintentional poisoning.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 456432

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 07:34

Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 07:34
Here, here Bilbo. well said.
FollowupID: 457184

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 15:01

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 15:01
My dog, my choice.

Plan a bit more, some say that it limits the places you go and the enjoyment of the trip...ehhhh so there are a couple of places I cant go likes some national parks and caravan parks- National parks, well that can be disapointing, but the other XX yobbos would ruin it for me anyhoo, and caravan parks???? Not why I go camping.

Saying that dogs should be banned is as poignant as saying that all 4wds and their bull bars should be banned from urban areas. there will always be an element that dislikes the animals, wether it be due to bad experiences, personal preference or a general dislike. I have issues with people that play there stereo at camp, my problem. I agree that some yobbos do the wrong thing and have caused the 'issues' that are present these days. these people are irresponsible, ignorant, or simply dont know because no one has said anything.

For me, Ill keep camping with my dogs. If I ask anyone to come along, it will be known that the dog will be there, and that YOU can make up your mind as to wether you think my way of camping suits yours.

The original issue- communication is the issue. It would be nice to see things communicated more readily, for I myself have encountered places where you drive 100km and find that the track is closed- frustrating!. However in this day and age of instant communication (email, mobile phones, internet, etc) it doesnt take long to do a quick bit of research and find out what the G-O is.

Mike W
AnswerID: 197801

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 17:45

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 17:45
Mike, stacks of caravan parks allow dogs, provided they are accompanied by responsible owners.
FollowupID: 456381

Reply By: dj Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 19:59

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 19:59
Well my little pooch a Jack Russel comes with me everywhere I go and if they dont like my dog then I dont give them any of my $$$ and move on , by the way my little friend is very loyal more that I can say about a lot of yahoo,s that I see on my travels in camping and caravan parks and on the road she never complains never abuses me or throws crap out of the windows or leaves garbage at camp sites or creates a disturbunce, And anyway I will always take my little friend and when they stop me then all the yobbo,s can have it because I will stay home.

dj patrol
AnswerID: 197844

Follow Up By: Miss'n Nissan - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:41

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 21:41
My sentiments exactly dj. where we go, our little dacshund goes too,and if she can't we don't either. ;-)
FollowupID: 456580

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:06

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:06
I wonder if Dingos are aware they are prohibited from entering National Parks?

AnswerID: 197846

Follow Up By: dj Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:20

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 20:20
Very good question mike mabey they should all leave just in case they cause a virus or something to the millions of kangaroos.
dj patrol
FollowupID: 456414

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:03

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:03
It's good to see you gys understand the issue, and aren't just sounding off like rednecks.

FollowupID: 456425

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:13

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 21:13
You don't need to patronise us Mark.

And we're still waiting for supporting references to claims regarding this matter you have made in these, and other, posts??? Blanket statements by an individual on the internet don't cut the mustard - they need to be supported.

FollowupID: 456428

Follow Up By: silkwood - Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 22:00

Wednesday, Oct 04, 2006 at 22:00
Blanket statements don't cut the mustard? Show me where ANYONE here provides valid citations for their opinions? The whole site is full of blanket statements. I'll get hold of the correct citations to references Mike (as I said, it been 10years since I studied the subject but the references will still be there)., just show me one where you provided a citation for your remarks regarding "empire builders" or others provide for the crap about being controlled by masters from the US? Be honest, the whole bloody site is based upon blanket statements. Not one post would pass muster as a serious piece of information in any university.

Yes I shouldn't have mentioned the word research (but I WILL back it up) though the points I mentioned are available from a number of web sites from national parks, just look up "dogs foxes national parks" The sites aren't a valid referenced citation which I'd get away with for a disertation, but they're a damn site better backed up than the rubbish presented as fact on many of these posts. You can't have it both ways, demand facts but present opinion.

I'm not patronising, I'm dissappointed. I started looking at this site because I use my 4WD and recognised there was a great deal of experience (more than my own)and some good, well thought out information given (yes including your posts, Mike). But when it comes to discussion on issues where you aren't getting your own way good discussion gives way to rhetoric of the worst kind.

Sorry to have bothered you, I thought I presented information in a balanced way which gave a varied perspective of some complex but serious issues. It seems I should have just advocated a "they're all out to get us and we should have the right to do what we want regardless of the regulations" approach.

Bilbo, my apologies for mistaking the place as a national park, but my comments stand, I don't think the poor communication of the ban is acceptable (if indeed that's what it is).

cheers,

FollowupID: 456438

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:36

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:36
I live in a neighbourhood that is full of barking dogs and most ignorant people think its their right to let them bark night and day.
So after spending 500k+ and working my guts out to pay for it I have to listen to their $5 mongels bark.
I try and get peace by going on hoilidays once a year and I am not a happy camper when people like my neigbours(which is about 80% of dogs owns) camp near me.
I agree people should be able to take their dogs camping and if they let them bark at the flys I should be able to shoot them, then we would all be happy with no repeat offenders!
FollowupID: 456463

Follow Up By: silkwood - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:52

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:52
Actually, Mike, I've slept on it and changed my mind. I've said I shouldn't have mentioned the "researched" word without the citations right infront of me, you were right. I'll ammend it to "well accepted opinion of most natural resource managers". This is easily confirmed by simple searches on the net. Reason I'm ammending is because it struck me- why should I go out of my way to find papers I haven't seen for 10 years when it would make NO difference to any who will still think it's their right to do as they want. Some here will look into the issue and perhaps change their minds, I know a number of people who have decided not to take their dogs into parks when they have discussed it with rangers.

The others? I could get a Nobel-Prize winning report on the issue and it would make one iota of difference.

Thanks for pointing out my innappropriate use of evidence. I won't do it again. Looking forward to ANYTHING which supports reasons for ignoring the rules (other than conspiracy theories about access issues being due to Bush wanting to close off National Parks to protect potential oil reserves which could be exploited by the US).

Stu-k, sorry, I see your point but can't agree. This concept is relevant for almost anything. I wouldn't ban kids from campgrounds (though sometimes I'd like to have banned my own!) even though some of them can be little sh%#s. I think there are places which are resonable for most activities, just not everywhere.

And Bilbo, I read your post about stuff the bans as pertaining also to NPs. That was presumtuous of me, I agree with most of your following comments.

FollowupID: 456465