Cobb Cookers Advice
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 05:26
Pajeroman
Has anyone experience with using these. How hard are they to use? clean etc?
What about using as a smoker? any comments. Is it worth the extra to buy the Stainless Steel one?
Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:03
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:03
We've had our Cobb for a couple of years - love it - it is like the modern
camp oven I suppose - follow the instructions you get with it and you can't go wrong - make sure you always put liquid in the
well - be it
water, beer or wine (wine or beer puts a flavour through the meat) - we also put a handful of Italian herbs in the
water well if we are using plain
water - seems to permeate the meat - we have cooked roast beef, chicken, chicken peices , casserole (using an old cast iron saucepan we had that fits perfectly into the cooker - changed the plastic knob on the lid of the pot for a big screw - took handle off suacepan) - we have also used it for bacon and eggs as we have the frypan insert.
It is so easy to transport in the bag, never leave home without it.
They reckon the new stainles ones are even better as some of the older style had a bakelite or plastic outer which cracked occasionally - though never happened to us but we ALWAYS use liquid in the
well and never too many heat beads - about 6 - 7 are sufficient to
cook a roast. Haven't used as a smoker.
Cleaning is a breeze - it isreally only the cooking trray that needs a good soapy wash - the rest can be wiped out and only washed occasionally (especially helpful if
water is scarce in the bush).
We have been cooking a roast in the middle of nowhere and had people coming up to have a look as to how it is done with no fire.
You will enjoy owning a Cobb.
jules
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:10
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:10
They're great. A word of caution; DON'T keep taking the lid off for a peek! Leave it till it's time to turn. Otherwise it takes AGES to
cook. I'd get the stainless base if I was buying now.
Reply By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:31
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 08:31
Have had our for a number of years now. Have had no problem with the reported breakage but two people I know have had to replace their bases and we have had ours travel over many corrigated and dirt roads.
Have used ours as a smoker a few times with tailor fillets when
camping on Fraser.
I usually take a meat theromoter with me and as it is on a long spike I can use it throught the holes on the lid without removing the lid to check if the roast is done.
As we
camp in a caravan
park on a unpowered site for 4 weeks every christmas the cobb gets a great workout. Would not be without it now.
Reply By: drinky - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 12:33
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 12:33
We have had a cobb for a couple of years and swear by it. Our friends borrowed ours the other week and were sceptical but when they returned from thier holiday they said they would definitely be buying one. They cooked fish,chicken and a fillet of beef and said all of it was delicious.
Cheers Stephen
Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 14:06
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 14:06
I got the new stainless Steel one about 4 weeks back now at the show. tried my first roast next day, followed all the inteructions and put 8 beads in.
Well...i guess i put too many vegies in it but for a first attempt, it was ok. Also the
water in the moat was spiced with fresh garlic and some shopped onions, Its amazing how much extra flavour that added to the raost.
Overall....its definately worth the money. I was reluctant to buy it that day, but am glad i did. I now use it at home as often as i can, saves me heaps of cleaning up in kitchen and cooks itself.
Go for it.
Ange
Follow Up By: ed. - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 17:37
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 17:37
Hey Ange,
Glad to hear you finally got yourself one ;)
Catchya soon mate.
Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 18:34
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 18:34
WE got one last week. Tried it Mon this week, Only put a Roast in it No veges.
Turned out good and all liked it, so I reckon its OK.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 18:59
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 18:59
Well,
What can I say after all the above but agree.
I do most of the cooking in the Cobb, or
Camp Oven and I must say the cobb is one of the best investments I have made in
camping gear.
We have the plastic base and have not experienced a problem with it, but seeing you have a choice, go for the SS base up front. These bases are available as a spare part for $50.00 if the plastic base fails.
I wouldn't have thought the units with the stainless steel base are actually extra cost. Maybe the older model is just being sold cheaper at present.
I don't bother with liquid in the moat, as I usually have vegtables in there and I like the vegies roasted rather than "braised". That's the beauty of Cobb cooking though, the experimenting.
The only thing I don't use the Cobb for is baking bread, or muffins. That is a job for the Hillbilly. (
Camp Oven)
Reply By: ed. - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:23
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:23
Another quick easy meal is leb bread pizza's.
I use salami and cheese as the topping and it only needs 5mins in the cobb before the cheese is melted and the base is crispy.
Reply By: Diver1 - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:10
Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 23:10
If it was up to me to pay for one I wouldnt cos i love my
camp oven but seeing that the in-laws bought me one i didnt argue...
definetely dont take the lid off...not once...not ever!!!
If its windy you'll hav no chance of keeping it warm
Keeoing it clean isnt that hard...just wiping out and soapy
water will do the trick, cos there are head beads involved things will get charcoally but what do ya expect!!LOL!!
We use smoking chips in ours and does fish like a beauty!!!
They are worth it but fussy,
Cooked the same size chook in it quite a few times but eac time its taken different lengths of time, guess it just depends on the weather outside the cobb, but sometimes ive been able to
cook a chook, 2 batches of scones and still have a tonne of heat left to keep going....
hope this helps,
Laura B
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 08:07
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 08:07
Another thing, use the best quality heat beads you can find. The cheap home brand type are useless.
Follow Up By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:48
Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:48
what are the best quality heat beads?
Reply By: daisygirl - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:02
Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 19:02
We use our Cobb quite a bit. At the weekend did pizza for lunch with just shredded ham, fetta cheese, sundried tomatoes and pineapple and then for dinner had the roast. It was extremely windy where we were and husband kept saying the Cobb was fine at dinner but in the end the meat was cooked but the veggies around the side were still half raw. He finally listened to me and put it in the camper out of the wind and they finished cooking in half an hour!!! Wasnt one of our best efforts but still quite good and I love the fact that you just put in all the food and then walk away and have happy hour, shower, etc.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:26
Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 20:26
Chit Hot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |