Nissan 4.2 Turbo upgrade

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:17
ThreadID: 38286 Views:8473 Replies:9 FollowUps:10
G'day, I am looking for some feedback on the MTQ turbo upgrade to a 2004 GU Nissan patrol. I already have the 3" mandrel bent exhaust system with the 3" dropper & am looking at getting MTQ to do the job.
Have checked the threads which show recommendations but no real feed back on performance, reliability etc

Many thanks

Reply By: Flash - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:29

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:29
Only secondhand info I guess.
But my cousin did it and was very happy, with big gains in power and economy.
AnswerID: 197952

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:33

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:33
is this including modded wheels in the turbo? if so, Memeber John has it in his Ute, and loves it.... What price you been quotd, i "heard" $3000

If not, most powerups are $1400upwards.. most cost in the exhaust.
AnswerID: 197954

Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:03

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:03
Truckster,
Price is around 2,400 but I already have the Dump pipe & 3" mandrill bent exhaust.
It also i cludes for the upgrade to bot inlet & exhaust fans
FollowupID: 456557

Follow Up By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:47

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:47
I'll drop round for a coffee sometime soon.
FollowupID: 456840

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (WA) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:57
Mods done in 2005 on my TD42 GU resulted in a very noticeable improvement, can email you dyno read out if interested.

Nightjar
FollowupID: 456889

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 13:41
i had one on my 4.2 gq...
i had 1 warranty issue where they didnt hang up the main oil feed line away from the chassis and it rubbed through causing a pretty gutsy oil leak...
always check their work.....
i didnt and i paid the price...
AnswerID: 197956

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 19:18

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 19:18
Hi OJ,

I had MTQ do a stage 2 power up on my 2000 GU on about April 2005 and I have done 70000km since then. I had a stage 1 Safari upgrade done on this vehicle before MTQ got to it and I feel the MTQ kitted GU is a marked improvement over the Safari kitted GU. I have had no issues with their work and all is still good with the time it has been on my truck. I had it done at Toowoomba if this is of any interest to you.

Cost me $2400 but I had to fit a dump pipe as well cause the mob who installed the Safari kit didn't put the dump pipe on even though I had paid for it but that's another saga. Exhaust was already done in 2001 so add this to price if need be. (Only put exhaust info for future readers as I see you have the 3" already)

Hope it helps
Trevor.
AnswerID: 197982

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 19:59

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 19:59
Old Johno, Member John that Truckster refered to here. I had it done, bigger ends for the turbo, to my 2000 CC and am rapt, had it fitted in Morwell Vic and then some time later drove to Towoomba to get it fine tuned. I already had the 3" exhaust and dump pipe. Went from standard 72 kw to 120 kw at the rear wheels. Drives much, much better. Have had it fitted now for over two years, no problems at all. The EGT in mine compared to a similar ute making similar kw over the same test track is nearly 300oF cooler than the other. Have since fitted an Inter/cooler, (awill4x4, lovely piece of work), has lowered the EGT by another 50oF cruising at 100K, but have not dynoed it since fitting it, so don't know of kw increase, but it isn't much, just makes it easier to accelerate when over taking at cruise speeds. Any other questions you may have, just ask.

AnswerID: 197990

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:32

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:32
DAMN YOU!!!!! I'd almost settled on just going the stage 1 with exhaust, dump and pump tune, but them figures are givin me a chubby..... although still toyin wiht the idea of the ballbearing turbo instead
FollowupID: 456563

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:09

Thursday, Oct 05, 2006 at 20:09
Thanks to all. Your feed back is what I was looking for, will have it done in Toowoomba in November. Could have bought the kit in Sydney but like to have the supplier do the fitting then there is less chance of any problems being blamed on others.
Will make comment when it is fitted as I intend pulling a caravan up to Toowoomba & return to Sydney so should give it a good workout.

AnswerID: 197994

Follow Up By: Shawn - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 15:31

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 15:31
Damn,
Now I'm going to have to get one!
See you next week.
Shawn
FollowupID: 456696

Follow Up By: Old Johno [NSW] - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:18

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 17:18
Shawn,
Glad to see you are still reading the forum
FollowupID: 456721

Reply By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:41

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 18:41
Had my 04 done at MTQ dandy last week. Much more drivable, need only half the size break in traffic to enter than before. Excellent help from staff when fitting boost gauge after the job. $2750.
AnswerID: 198123

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 06, 2006 at 21:46
Was that boost gauge put in an A pillar pod and if so what else did you put in with it?

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 456790

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 01:04

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 01:04
did you get dyno sheets with it? What is it pumping out now?

Was that the bigger wheels etc?

finally, come round for a coffee, take me for a run to see !!
FollowupID: 456811

Follow Up By: Member - Miles P (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:46

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:46
They don't have a dyno set up yet, but reckon it was a good result by 'feel' @ 118 at the wheels by other dyno tests they have done, Thay do reckon there was a noticible difference with the 285's.

Yeah, boost gauge in the A pillar, plus water temp and oil pressure. Put a thermo gaurd digital beside the cigarette lighter.
FollowupID: 456839

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 15:47

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 15:47
"they do reckon"...
what you think?

if you want a dyno run done, go to Auto Gas connections in Carrum Downs, they have a 4wd Dyno.. right next to AWILL4x4's work....

then look at Andrews Tig Welding work on intercoolers while your there... bleep in amazing!!
FollowupID: 456866

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:40

Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 09:40
Check with Roachie ,, think he did this,,

Not too sure if it was the root of his cooling problems, after that.

You will need about 1 hr after you make contact with him ,, ( yaks a bit )

I think he is off on Kangaroo Island at the moment

Cheers Bucky

AnswerID: 198190

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:50

Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:50
Hey Old Johno, I have just got my rig back from Mike Vine Turbo's up here in Brissy and the results of dyno's he has done to both MTQ modified trucks and those running the original Nissan hair dryer show that the original turbo is the one to keep as it pumps out crap loads more torque at lower rpm than the MTQ modified turbo but still produces 153hp.
My modified MTQ turbo helps to produce 168hp at the rear wheels according to the mike vine dyno (about 125kw) but bugger all torque low down by Mike's own admission compared to GU's he has worked on with original Nissan turbo.

If you want me to post some dyno sheets he has given me, drop me a line by MM and I'll scan them for you. I hope this doesn't affect your decision in any way but rather arms you with more info.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 199196