Battle trux - the truth....
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 19:55
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD)
Ok - after starting WW4 last week about Pajero's I am now looking at the reasons why more people do not use Nissan pathfinders and Toyota 4runners as their vehicle of choice when towing camper trailers all over the show.
Are they under powered - too cheap to run, not strong enough or what? R They diesel powered and auto dadadadada ......etc....
I am leaning the 4 runner way at the present (getting a 4B July next year when I retire) to drag my Trackabout trailer over the surface of our beaut country.
Looking forward to your replies as usual.
Rock on Monday - off for 3 weeks towards
Gladstone and inland......
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:12
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:12
Hi Crazy Dog.
I am heading up to
Yeppoon on monday in my PAJERO!!!
Enjoy your trip.
Vince
Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:20
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:20
What are these "trux" of which you speak?
Mike Harding (watching a spinning George Orwell).
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:04
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:04
Sorry Mike - forgot the "S" - should have been TRUXS....
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:39
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 20:39
Should i turn up at your place tomorrow with the paj ,, or should i bring "my ute" with the mill mud !!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:05
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:05
Will it make it ?
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:18
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 22:18
Will Neil & Margie turn up at Lance & Marg's house tomorrow , put your trailer on Paj and take you for a drive up the Gillies and out around
Stannary Hills so you can see for yourself ,, ring me at home in the morning if this suits his Worship !!
Neil !!!!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:28
Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:28
Sorry mate,
Grandaughter's birthday so on the way up to
Atherton....Thanx for the offer...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:29
Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:29
Ute wot ute?
Oh you mean the 40 ton tonka toy.....nah - I'll give it a miss...
Grrr!!!
Follow Up By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:51
Sunday, Oct 08, 2006 at 11:51
Will be on your driveway when you get home ,,,,, smelly stuff that mill mud with wet chook poop in it !!
Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:10
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:10
Well, for Pathfinders anyway, they are relatively thirsty and have a low payload (450kg thereabouts), although you can still drag 2000kg with it and until recently there wasn't a diesel option.
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:55
Saturday, Oct 07, 2006 at 21:55
Had a runner for years, did the cape,gulf,grr,gjr,kidson,tanami x2,oodnadattax2,flinders etc and it was a great vehicle.Would never have sold it but being the 2,8 diesel it was way under powered to tow(
well even not towing) so I bolted on a turbo and it was great while no trailer but still to slow with the camper on.
Going on our cruiser I reacon the 4 runner was a rock solid vehicle and sometimes I wish I still had it.
Always got around 10l/100kms even with turbo,dropped to around 8 with camper on.One great thing about them is they sneak in and around tracks where bigger vehicles struggle to fit.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:01
Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:01
What did I miss, WW4?
You didn't stir hard enough crazy dog!
Been a couple of postings on the 4runner 2.8l imported turbo diesel and overheating problems. Seems to be the head. Was in at Highway Diesel last year and they had two in there. Seems the heads used in Japan are different to the 2.8l heads used in OZ and cause a cooling problem. They reported the
grey import surfs coming in on a regular basis. But then I am a little biased too.
Be interesting to hear what others have found with thier 2.8 turbo diesel surfs.
Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:07
Monday, Oct 09, 2006 at 17:07
I have a Nissan Navara 3.0TD ST-R, and I have found it a great car for towing my camper trailer, and have comfortably towed a car trailer with a Commodore.
As far as any of these size car's go, I think they would have no problems with towing a van.
The only thing I have found is the Navara is too squashy for family of 5, hence why we prefer the bigger vehicle.
A mate has a older model Toyota Surf, and his family of 4 fits very comfortably in his car and tows a trailer.
So in answer to your question, I just think these cars would be fine, but as bigger cars do not cost much extra, we all purchase the bigger cars
TonyG
Reply By: madfisher - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 15:50
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 15:50
Hi Crazy Dog
We have a 4 runner and a pajero. My 4 runner is the 22r engine which is not a lot faster than the diesel but are a much longer lasting motor than the 3ltr v6. Infact they may outlast yhe diesel. I only tow my boat on long runs and its weighs arround 600kg. I found a sports exhaust and finer filter lifted performance to a reasonable level. Infact I realised the other day that it will pull my boat up hills guicker than my old fj40 and use half the fuel.
Mine has been a reliable and comfortable 4by.On a run down Hume sitting on 105ks averaged 11l per 100ks.