100 Series Cruiser
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:21
Member - Stephen M (NSW)
OK, I can get a 100 series Petrol 99 GXL Auto with 130k on it 1 owner all service history dark blue in colour in mickey mouse condition. Firstly does the price sound ok, 2nd are they the same motor as the petrol 80 series if so I presume the fuel economy will be the same about 18/20L per 100k around town or am I dreaming ?? Apart from the
well know problems with the front diffs is there any thing else that I should be looking for. Has only been driven on sealed and dirt roads (no actual 4wd eg trying to climb rocks etc). I can get 10k for the old lux tomorrow no problem. Also would there be a big differance for rego here in
Sydney. Any answers appreciated as I have to jump at this one as he will be trading it on the weekend on a 100 series Sahara turbo diesel (I WISH). Regards Steve M
Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:35
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:35
Whats the price??
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:29
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:29
Price is 15k I take it thats all they are giving him for trade in. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:42
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:42
sounds like a top price...
Go for it
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:38
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 19:38
Ah, what is the price.Petrol 100 series dont have the weak front diffs, infact petrol models seem to be alot stronger than diesels all round.Will be almost , if not identical motor to 80 series,very strong.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:39
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:39
Sorry there Nick I'm a di@k head forgot to put in the price didnt even realize sorry. 15k is his price. Regards Steve M
Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:14
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:14
The front diffs are OK - but the front
suspension cracks up and sags
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:26
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:26
All
suspension sags, what cracks?
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:36
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:36
Hi there Nick is yours petrol or diesel ?? If petrol on an average how many litres per 100 would you use around town and also on the open road say with out towing anything. This is really my only main concern, I know you are going to use more in a big petrol motor I realize that but to what extent, does 18/20 sound realistic or would you say more ???. Also I didnt realize the petrol diffs are stronger than the diesel what is the reason for this.Dont want to rave on but trying to add up the differance's between running the petrol over a diesel, eg more frequent oil changes, dearer diesel at the pump and so
forth. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:41
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 20:41
Also what size tanks do they have. Are they the same as the 80 series where you pull the lever and it diverts to the reserve
tank. I think for memory the 80's have 90L main and 40/50 reserve. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:04
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:04
Gday Stephen,sorry we have a diesel.Apparently the petrol models have a stronger gear box(5 th gear) and stronger front diffs,dont know what it is about them though.If I had known this before we got our diesel I would have got a petrol for sure.
About the same size tanks but ours(not sure on petrols) has two filler holes in the one cap.In all our touring(mostly outback) we've done, me old man has been tagen along in a petrol 80 series auto and getting fuel hasnt been a problem,they ave 6.5km/lt(very light footed).When we drove the Duncan rd from here to Halls crk and round our fuel consumption was near identical.We had our camper on, they had there tent and
camping gear, no trailer.Both around 7.5km/lt.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:05
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:05
By the way, price sounds good.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:39
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:39
Says who garrycol? sounds like you got that info straight out of a mag which may or may not be true for IFS cruisers but the one he is looking at is a beam axle front end. never heard of specific problems for them
Reply By: Steve - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:35
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:35
sounds a good price Stevo - I have the 98 model and have put LPG on it. 22L/100ks and about 30 when towing van. LPG conversion is pretty cheap. Had
mine done 18 months back for $2200 on C/coast, NSW.
Follow Up By: Deano72 - Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:41
Tuesday, Oct 10, 2006 at 21:41
You could do your self far worse favors by not snapping that up. If it is in as good a nick as you suggest I wouldn't think twice
Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:26
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 08:26
I've got the same. Love it. Comfortable, reliable, powerful, makes bucket loads of torque, quiet etc.
The 1FZ-FE 4.5 petrol motor is a gem.
No problems with the front diff as the model you're talking about is actually a FZJ105. The auto is very robust from all accounts too.
I think I'll keep buying this model from now on and just swap my accessories over when this one wears out.
At $15K you'd be mad not to get it.
Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:34
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:34
G'day Steve
I have an 80 series petrol. Very happy with it. $15K sounds cheap - if it is in the condition you say then it's a bargain. The $$$ you're saving will pay for a lot of petrol. Don't worry about the economy - certainly a diesel would be better but you'll never buy a similar consition diesel for any where near that sort of money so you'll be
miles ahead. Plus petrol's usually significantly cheaper than diesel around cities - much to the annoyance of many diesel owners on this site :-)
Cheers from the Moose
Reply By: Craigww2 - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:52
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 13:52
I got one and its great. I get between 20/22 per 100 on highway whether I am towing my boat or not (5m half cab ali). Fuel tanks are 90 and 45 I usually around town and freeway get about 500ks total, this can vary +/- 100ks depending on whats happenning. In a week over at
Moreton Island I only did 300k's out of both tanks.
Mine is stock except bullbar and tow bar and have not had any major hassels with its off road ability with my lack of off road ability : P
I paid $22k at the start of the year for
mine with 150 on the clock(but this was from a car yard) and also before petrol went above $1/l.
I say do it!!!!!!
Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:53
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:53
They are fantastic vehicles if you can afford the fuel bill..! The diesel model is far more economical , almost half the fuel usage at times.! NVH levels very similar. Sounds very cheap. Lot being sold now due to the fuel price issue.
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:20
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:20
Hi there Terra Firma, thats my main thought at the moment is fuel, I know they will use more and so
forth but I'm thinking of the costs if fuel happens to jump back up to the $1.50 mark again it will cost me around the $200 mark to fill it. Not sure yet what Im going to do, having a good look at this arvo but yes fuel is still in the back of my mind, the only other option is to drop back to an 80 series diesel base model (DX) and whack a turbo on that but then that will push me back up to the 20k mark so would then be looking at a GXL 80 series factory turbo diesel. Decisions, decisions, if it wasnt so cheap I wouldnt even be thinking of it but at the end of the day I have to look at what I will be usuing it for and 80% of that time it will spend on the tar to and from work. I will make my mind up by tonight. I just had a new clutch and new rear brake shoes and rear main seal whacked the old girl today, its just been so reliable to me that I really dont want to part with it but power is now an issue with the camper behind now. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:28
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 15:28
At $15k even with fuel prices you will be ahead because you bought it so cheap. Also you won't be exposed to resale value issues at $15k. So yes it will use some fuel, but you will be $5k ahead to begin with.
Use this as an extreme example. If you spend an extra $50 per week on fuel with this vehicle it will equate to $2600 per year, so it would take 2 years before you consumed just over $5k, which is how much cheaper this vehicle is. This would also work in reverse with the diesel model, you'd pay $5k more and use lets say $50 less per week, give or take.
If you smoke, give it up and the money you'll save will easily pay the extra cost in fuel, say 3 packets per week at $45.00 plus $5 here and there for the Lysterine mints to keep smelling nice.! LOL
Finally if you really want the vehicle, remember this, you only live once.! Live it up and enjoy..
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:20
Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 22:20
Put it on gas mate! - the 4.5 can run twin scuba tanks - one either side, without having to remove either of the existing tanks.
If your only concern is fuel costs, I'd reckon gas is the answer, especially with the current rebates being offered
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:11
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:11
So your telling us that there is a 100 series 99 GXL with 130,000 genuine kms for $15000 and your asking if you should buy it .
Your either full of bleep , or taking the bleep .
If the car does exist , its either wized back bleep box , or the bargan od the century
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 09:14
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 09:14
Maybe you should pull your head in and you are just jelous that you payed a sh@t load for yours and its worth jack sh@t now due to fuel costs. The vehicle actually got sold at luch time for $16,500 as the owner told him I was coming to have a look at in the afternoon so this bloke went out had a look at it and offered him an extra $1500 for it and the owner accepted his offer which is fair enough, I wouldnt expect him to be waiting for me till the afternoon so yes I missed out on a top vehicle and I still went and had a look at it incase the other bloke pulls out on the deal for some reason. Full 12 months rego and 4 new all terrain tyres fitted to it as
well. Had the woodgrain around the air con vents and also down on the arm rests near the electric window controls. So yes it was a bargain of the century and I missed it so my bad luck. So no not taking the bleep or full of sh@t and not a sh@t box either just a 100 series in excellent condition with full log books service history and a bloody top vehicle. Maybe I can give you the number and you can ring him for yourself and he can tell you the details and the sh@t load of money that you will lose on yours when you go to sell it. Steve M
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:25
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:25
For starters , I work as a wholesaler , so NO , I wont loose heaps on what i bought, and dont stress I do ok
My enfisis is on how cheap the car is , so maby you can pull your own head in and read my reply withought emotion,
Just trying to indicate how cheap it was , was good wasnt , who cares the price warrants a second look, I am sorry that you missed it , for that money you can only get mizzed boxes. By the way , dont stress on fuel cost , it hasnt brought the price of petrol 4bys down at all , if anything , they have gone up due to gas been a good option
better luck next time bloke
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 15:41
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 15:41
Hi there Rock Crawler, you must admit that if I had replied to you with the same sort of reply you replied to me implying that I am full of sh@t you would be a bit pi@@ed off as well, but if you didnt mean it that way then I apologise to you for my comment. Anyway at the end of the day I missed out on a bargain due to thinking too much about the running cost of the vehicle.And yes you are correct for that type on money I doubt I will ever get that type of vehicle again on offer. I did think of the gas option but also didnt want to lose any of the main or reserve tank but have since had a reply stating that you can get 2 narrow tanks while still retaining the original tanks. At the end of the day its all over with now and no bad feelings. Have a great day. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 16:03
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 16:03
I just sold my 4.5 auto 80 for 8400 dollars...just b4 the gas option was put out, and fuel was $1.30....u couldnt sell one....dont think things are going to get much better either.....so yeah...a 98 100 is worth about 15k....i was offered 6 trade in...i dont know if he is being offered 15 or not, but the 4.5 100 is a gr8 4wd, the front diff does go bang...but the best improvement is a front locker, and paying such a good price for one....it would be affordable to add 2k to the price to get this plus bearings/discs/oils etc done at the same time.
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 16:36
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 16:36
Hi Andrew , in October last year, (the start of the fuel hike) you couldnt give a 4 wheel drive away. People were dumping them like there was np tomorrow . Since June this year, there is a shortfall in 100 series cruisers and there making big bucks. I stole mine in Octuber Black on Black 100 with roof and 90 k on the dial for $21k , Every time I drive into a yard today , I get offered $25,000 to get out of it . They know I aint selling , but the stur me up anyway.
I would put my hand up any day for a 100 with low 100kms for 15 k , there is plenty of wholesale profit left in that today.
4.5 80 series cruisers have come up as well , there was a blac on black 97 with 70,000 kms had a roof and wholesaled at 17 k last week .
Things will change as they always do , but whilest its a little dry for stock , the price is up
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:22
Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:22
To all above, as mentioned above I lost out on a bargain due to me humming and harring to long over fuel and so forth but is my fault so not to worry. Might be lucky enough and the other person will decide to pull out or what ever but I doubt it. Not to worry keep driving the old girl for now. Just wacked a new clutch and rear main and rear shoes in her yesterday. The bloke that was going to buy mine is spewing that I didnt get the cruiser as he is now having to look elsewhere but he new from the start that I hadnt made my mind up on the 100 series so he's cool about it. Its a bloke from work. Thankyou every one for your replys and information about the vehicle in question. Looks like I'l be doing the high country in the old girl again. Regards Steve M