Red Centre Trip

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 14:46
ThreadID: 38434 Views:3708 Replies:4 FollowUps:6

Got back from trip on Friday. Went as follows,

Over to Nhill for the night, 2 nights at Tiparra Rocks on Yorke Peninsula, on to Glendambo then Coober Pedy. What a place!! Went to Crocodile Harry's I reckon it should be called Dirty Harry's!! Knickers and Bra's everywhere and the old geezer was asleep in bed when we walked round.

Next stop Curtin Springs the on to the ROCK. Absolutely fantastic, did the climb. Only disappointment was the Cultural Centre. Too touristy and the Indigenous population have made only a token effort to show their culture. This is a real bummer as they have obviously got great things to pass on if they want and also they get 25% of the Rock revenue.

Anyway two nights at Yulara so did the Olga's as well and walked the Valley of the Winds. (Brilliant).

Next stop Kings Canyon, did the rim walk. Place fantastic, campground very average.

On next day around Mereenie loop to Palm Valley. Loop very bumpy and the door fell off the trusty Jayco (quickly riveted back on). Palm Valley Great, stayed two nights and had a quick look around. Then onto Redbank Gorge etc. We were pretty much all Gorged out so we ended up staying at Ellery Creek Big Hole which was fantastic.

Onto Alice Springs, lovely Caravan Park (McDonnell Ranges Caravan Park) Great facilities and entertainment every night. Two nights there with a quick look around Alice.

Down to Maree, turn left on Oodnadatta Track and stop at Olarinna Creek. Mates toolbox fell off his van and spilt Porta Potti and firewood all over track. Good fun. Went through Oodnadatta, stopped at Pink Roadhouse. I was amazed at how low they told us to drop tyre pressure!! We were running 32 cold all round but then on their advice dropped to 26 front and 30 rear. It made a huge difference and the ride was comparatively soft. Stayed a William Creek and watched the last quarter of the Grand Final (Great Game)

Next day onto Coward Springs, stopped and had a quick spa and chat to owner. Onto Leigh Creek, stayed overnight and then drove through Brachina Gorge (fantastic) on the way to Wilpena Pound. Wilpena Pound was a bit of a disappointment because you really need to see it from the air. We did go to the Woolshed and viewed paintings by local artists.They were fantastic (Oh for a god given gift like that).

Next day on to Mildura and two nights on the bank near Psyche Pumps. Finally down to Torrumbarry Weir for one night and then home.

A real fast trip 6400K in 21 days with 3 families and Vans.

We know we missed heaps and could have spent more time everywhere, but we had 3 weeks and we crammed it in. The good thing is that next time round we can miss all the "Big" things and concentrate on having a good look around.

Now planning next one. Hopefully Canning Stock Route in 2008 with my son who will be 16 by then and able to drive. I don't think I'll take the trusty Jayco on that one!!!!

Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:04

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:04
Travellers from down south are always amazed at how low the locals run their tyres in this part of the world, but you also need to be told to keep the speed down when running on these pressures.
AnswerID: 198750

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:14

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 16:14
Too right! We kept the speeds down, as we were towing vans we couldn't go too quick anyway.

FollowupID: 457461

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 23:48

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 23:48
Yeah you're right. The bloke from the Pink Roadhouse keeps it down to 140km/h when he lets the tyres down. Almost never gets a flat tyre.
Personally I can't afford to drive that fast, but I do let the tyres down since living in Oodnadatta (and I don't wreck tyres any more!!)
FollowupID: 457556

Reply By: slammin - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:28

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:28
I don't bother with the indigenous debate so don't get started however I am RAOTFLMAO

"ROCK. Absolutely fantastic, did the climb." -- "the Indigenous population have made only a token effort to show their culture."

So the point of explaining their culture to someone who has justed broken their cultural wishes is what?

Irony = Marked by or displaying contemptuous mockery of the motives or virtues of others.

Beautiful,

Slammin.
AnswerID: 198766

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:02

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:02
You might not want to start a debate pal but you just have!

How about educating the visitors and showing them your rich cultural heritage. how about impressing on them the thousands of years of continuous habitation by your people. How about by doing that gaining their respect and then there is a strong chance of them respecting your wishes. how about not taking 25% of the income!

Get real

FollowupID: 457474

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:11

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:11
And also while I'm on my high horse, it was a genuine comment with no "Indigenous Debate" connotations. A straight up tell it how you see it. Unless of course it's something else you can't say these days.

Stay Beautiful

FollowupID: 457475

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:28

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:28
Good to read that you had a great trip mate. Time to start planning the next one now...:)
Gotta ask,,,,how the hell did the door come off the Jayco?
Enjoy your brief respite beforeheading back to work.

meow

rick.
AnswerID: 198818

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:34

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 10:34
We have an Outback Swan. we have done a couple of rugged trips so the heads fell off the rivets on the top two hinges of the bottom section after going around the Mereenie Loop. Just taped it up till we stopped, put some self tappers in until we got to Alice. The I bought the right size rivets and popped them in.

It's always the same with the Jayco, good van but built to a price. I accept that and replace missing screws etc at the end of each trip. I also snapped a roof clamp off but I carry fencing wire so just crafted a new one. it worked fine so it's just a case of writing up the spares list and paying a visit to Jayco.

FollowupID: 457584

Reply By: phillowe - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:16

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:16
Hi Grizzle,

Recently got back from the area ourselves...Adelaide to Cadney to Kings Canyon to Palm Valley to Ormiston George etc then out to the East MacDonnel....Ross river was fantastic and the pub out at the goldfields was greta for a cold drink on a hot day. Found the Mereenie loop to be corrogated but we dropped pressures down to 20psi and kept up betwwen 80 and 90 and had no real problems. Palm valley was nice ( would be better with some water around ) lots of friendly dingoes.

Been back almost 2 weeks now and am ready to go again....where to next Tassie or the West....Hmmmm.....next holidays will not come quick enough.

AnswerID: 198859

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:26
Spoilt for choice!! Both areas are fantastic. You are right about the tyre pressures. We found out only towards the end of our trip. I was aware of lowering tyre pressures but not so low. I did meet a guy who said he let his tyre down until he had 230mm of contact on the road (in the direction of travel). he never worried about pressures as such. It certainly is one of those sciences based on experience.

FollowupID: 457596