We have another 4wd nut in the house

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:18
ThreadID: 38438 Views:3092 Replies:10 FollowUps:23

Just a note for everyone. My daughter decided that she couldn't wait until the 30th to become a normal 4wd nut like her Dad and graced this world with her presence at around 2pm this afternoon.
The only thing that is wrong with her is that it looks like she's inherited red hair from both sides of the family.
So thats my gloat for the day enjoy life and some days it comes back ten fold like the birth of a wonderful little girl that I have.

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:26

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:26
Kev M,
Congrats to you and the missus.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 198764

Reply By: TJ Hach (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:27

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:27
Congratulations on the birth of your daughter, enjoy every moment beacuase they grow up far too quick........and make sure she gets the right start in life, make sure she only drives a Nissan and follows the Saints....

TJ
AnswerID: 198765

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:34

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 17:34
The nissan bit I can handle, missus has an X Trail
but supporting the Saints, I think not.
Daughter no. 1whos nearly 3 already knows who to support. Broncos in the NRL, Sydney in the AFL, and all Aussie sides and anyone playing the All Blacks. ha ha ha

But as long as the girls are happy and get to spend good quality time discovering Aus I think that they'll grow up and be very independent young girls that know right from wrong and help those that need it.

FollowupID: 457470

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:00

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:00
I love hearing happy and exciting news! Our congrats to you all. Enjoy all the precious moments you will have together.

From the BigKidz Family.
AnswerID: 198771

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:23

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:23
hahahaha a girl .... and red hair :))))) You'll go decidedly grey during her teen years Kev LOL

Congratulations to you and the missus from one with a red haired daughter, long out of her teens though, thank God :))))))))))
AnswerID: 198777

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:22

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:22
Gramps,
The first daughters nearly 3 with blue eyes and blonde hair.
The shotgun is already primed and ready to go for all the little boys who want to get there hands on my little princess.
The grey hair should stay tamed hopefully if the next ones a boy. ha ha ha the missues isn't real happy about going through that again though
Kev
FollowupID: 457521

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:35

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:35
How true Gramps, when she gets home from camp I'll tell her the grey are her fault. LOL My redhead left this morning on an overnight camp canoeing along the Glenelg River..... no mobile reception no showers and long drops, what a shock for some of those kids.

Congrats to your wife Kev. Suggesting that she have another one straight after childbirth isn't a good idea, Nearly as bad as the inlaws telling me the next one would be a boy when the first was still in ICU...

Mrs S
FollowupID: 457597

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:13

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:13
Mrs S,

We actually knew that we were having a girl but didn't tell anyone.
So we both knew before the birth that we were going to have another so it was very light hearted in the suggestion.

I'm at work at the moment and have just been told it's an early knock off since there is not much happening. So I'm now excited as I can give Peta her first bath I missed out with the first daughter, something about a first time Dad cant do it, yet I did it every other time when we got home. The wife has MS and couldn't hold her up high enough or for that long. So I had lots to do with the raising of her. Some nurses need to realise that some Dads are involve with the kids
FollowupID: 457602

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:09

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:09
Kev

Slave was very hands on when our redhead was born, including giving her the first bath at about 8 weeks( and a few more after that). Due to her being 12 weeks early and us having to go to the 'big smoke' in a hurry he had plenty of time off work. The nurses in ICU knew him much better than they knew me !

Due to a job change when our son was born Slave wasn't around as much, but I think he still gave him the first bath.

We chose not to find out the sex of the baby but to wait for the surprise. We were only having 2 no matter what sex they were !

Mrs S
FollowupID: 457611

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:37

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:37
I am the last of my family name so I feel a bit of a need to continue to allow the family name to continue.
And yes I did give Peta her 1st bath. yeah

FollowupID: 457653

Follow Up By: slave - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 09:28

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 09:28
Slave was also the last of the family name with 6 sisters so guess he decided there was no way that he was going to keep trying LOL

Mrs S
FollowupID: 457753

Follow Up By: Kev M - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:36

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:36
I might stop after the next one though,
It will get a bit hard to squeeze into a standard 4by.
Unless I buy an Ocker but I just don't like the look of them.
FollowupID: 457766

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:58

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 18:58
Congrats Kev to you and your wife....and let me tell you from personal experience there is nothing wrong with red headed gals... :))

Lyn
AnswerID: 198784

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:14

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:14
Yes but your opinions are extremely biased LOL

Congratulations Kev and from my experiances with red headed gals (aka Mrs Al) they're OK Well pretty good really

Des
FollowupID: 457489

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:23

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:23
Yes I know my mums one as well so it cant be all that bad
FollowupID: 457522

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:53

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:53
Not sure on your score of brownie points Mr Lexic, up one side marginally I reckon
FollowupID: 457601

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:45

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 12:45
only pretty good Des?
FollowupID: 457605

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 13:41
You picked up the point Mrs Al, certainly down your side for Mr Lexics brownie points. Once apon a time I never looked to red headed girls much with their pale skin. Funny as you have got older you change.....
FollowupID: 457615

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:32

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 19:32
Pretty Good coming from me is a top class compliment so Moses' dad can stop stirring LOL So there!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 457651

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:18

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:18
understatement is it? LOL I see if you analyse the dyslexia the sentence did contain 'pretty' and 'good' but was disguised in a sentence. May have been better as 'good and pretty'
FollowupID: 457664

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:47

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:47
"May have been better as 'good and pretty'" That may well be the case John but it would be dangerous for me to persue that avenue any further. Mr Al is much bigger and younger than me and I have great trepidation in going any further LOL
FollowupID: 457672

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:18

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:18
Come on mate, I was hoping you would REALLY put your foot in it and then you could have fun. LOL
FollowupID: 457694

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:56

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 19:56
My congratulations to your better half who did all the hard work. Hope you all stay healthy and reasonably sane :))
AnswerID: 198797

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:24

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:24
She's holding up better than I am at the moment. I put my back out on the hospital floor playing with the eldest just a while ago.
Talk about bad luck.
FollowupID: 457523

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:56

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:56
Kev, that is bad luck. My memories of those times include thinking "And if you only knew what you'd put ME through !" Our last one was born while the district was having a 4 day blackout. I had our 4yo daughter to look after and I can tell you kids and candles don't mix well.
Hope the back comes good soon.
FollowupID: 457540

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:31

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:31
Its actually an old injury from work that I keep doing when I get excited. Makes you wonder how I've had 2 kids hey.

The eldest took the news that the baby decided that it didn't like mums belly any more and its now her baby.
She wasn't real happy about leaving mum and baby at the hospital last night but thats was expected

FollowupID: 457563

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 20:34

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 20:34
Congrats from all of us here, kids are a joy to behold, so be holding her as much as you can

AnswerID: 198807

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:19

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:19
Congrats on the arrival of another 4by nut. Hope mother and daughter are doing well. Must be time for Dad to shout a round down at the local pub...:):):) lol

rick.
AnswerID: 198817

Follow Up By: Kev M - Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:26

Wednesday, Oct 11, 2006 at 21:26
The party to wet the babys head is already being planned SWMBO doesn't know about it yet, maybe I could slip it in before she comes home so she'll be none the wiser. ha ha ha
Kev
FollowupID: 457524

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:54

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 08:54
They always find out , Kev!
Congratulations to all of you.

Regards, Brian
FollowupID: 457574

Follow Up By: Kev M - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:11

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:11
They may well find out but at least I'll have a good night.
I may just need to clean the carpets again if the party gets a little out of hand. We only got them steam cleaned on Monday.

FollowupID: 457594

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:32

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 06:32
Many congratulations to you and Mrs Kev on your daughters arrival. Here's wishing you and your family health and happiness!

AnswerID: 198832

Reply By: Kev M - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:14

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 11:14
Thanks to all for the best wishes.
Boththe girls are due to come home tommorrow arvo so I'll have to get a good nights sleep tonight and see if I can get off work early to settle them in at home.
Yes I know I'm still at work.
But when a baby decides to come 3 weeks early an her dads holidays don't start till Friday Arvo then it looks like I either suffer or get a new job.

AnswerID: 198857