Wouldn't these blokes have fun here.

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:23
ThreadID: 38463 Views:3307 Replies:5 FollowUps:22
"Police have shot and killed a 45kg, 1.5-metre emu that tormented drivers on a busy American highway.

Police in Illinois shot the bird on Monday out of fear that it could cause a fatal accident, after six reports that the big bird had wandered onto the highway."

SMH 12/10/06

I can think of spots that would keep em busy until retirement !

Surely the emu is one of the animals with the least road sense. I find them kind of cute... until they appear in front of my bullbar.

Reply By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:33
As a kid my grandmother loved on Foxwell Rd Comera QLD. There was an Emu that used to walk onto the road with passing cars. It pecked the windows and you would have to feed it to get past. We always had to remember to take food to get past the emu, it was like a toll. I suppose that was its main food supply. Anyway it was all pretty normal at the time, looking back I doubt a situation will ever happen like that again. Anyway, some Ftard ran it over after nearly a decade of memories feeding the thing.

Promts the question, what other cool/unique aminal stories are floating around out there?
AnswerID: 198911

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:58

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 20:58
Mate my story, is as kids walking our daily trip of 3 miles to primary school was the fact that we had to walk past a property entrance that always had a Red cattle dog sitting out front.!!. It used to walk out in front of us and snarl its head off!, IF! we pulled a sandwich out of our lunch pack and dropped it in front of him , we continued on our merry way. the big scare was going home no sandwiches!!, so we had a1km detour through the bush to bypass that ba...rd. And that never ending statement from mum," Where have you been"

Axle.
FollowupID: 457674

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:11

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:11
Friend of mine had a pony when she was 12yo. Pony didnt like trucks, so she pulled off and stood in a driveway. Guy came out yelling his head off get outta my driveway. Horse bolted and narrowly missed truck.
Sometimes I wonder how we survived childhood.
FollowupID: 457689

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:29

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:29
Was up near Chilli Beach near dusk and what appeared to be a small leopard loped across the road in front of us. 4 blokes in my vehicle, all stone cold sober. Was so disturbing that we reported it to the Ranger. He assured us that it must have been a feral cat !
They must grow em big up there !
FollowupID: 457698

Follow Up By: donks1 - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:09

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 11:09
damn right they are big up there...so are the wild dogs... we were told by a few locals to shoot the " dingos " if we saw any....
the ones we saw were as big as the pigs we were chasing. it was only the colour of them that told you what you were aiming at...
FollowupID: 457761

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:02
You're dead right Footy emu's have absolutely no sense, be it road or otherwise. Have a look at the body mass to brain size ratio, it's worse than a chook and they're downright stupid.
The worst part about emu's on the road is their centre of gravity. Everything is above bonnet level for most vehicles.
All you do is take the legs from under them and they arrive at the windscreen horribly peeved! Have you ever tried to explain to a peeved emu if he only sat still you'd open the door and let him out?

As to other strange animal stories, years ago my mate and I did an overnight run from Mitchell to Gladstone in my old FJ40.
Pete was driving and I was asleep at the time, all I remember leading up to it was a lot of swearing and braking.
When I opened my eye's, here is this bloody great Brahman bull standing in the middle of the road with a pipe framed gate stuck on his head!!
Stupid bugger must have shoved his head throught the gate and got stuck. So he did the only reasonable thing for a Brahman bull, pulled the gate clean off its posts and left the scene of his crime with the evidence!!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 198918

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:12

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:12
Geoff, I can just imagine it. Not funny at the time I guess.
FollowupID: 457690

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:15

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:15
Since when do yanks have Emu's ???
AnswerID: 198920

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:33

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:33
I was wondering when someone would get to that!! LOL
FollowupID: 457682

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:35

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 21:35
dunno, we must have given them a couple.....But if they are going to treat them like that........

Stu
FollowupID: 457683

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:06

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:06
We really should continue to give the yanks emu's. After all emu's are capable of raising the intellect of the entire nation.
Eventually one of them will be born there and aspire to be president. That one will probably fail due to its superior brain capacity and love of peace.

Geoff.

FollowupID: 457686

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:08

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:08
"Raised for their eggs, oil and protein-rich lean meat, emus have become a bit of a farming trend in southern Illinois, where they are not native."

Full story at
Site Link

FollowupID: 457688

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:16
buggers don't know how to pronounce the word either - like em-U or M-U like you were trying to pronounce just two letters independently.
FollowupID: 457692

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:22

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:22
John, Don't you mean eem-you (spelled phonetically)?

Stu
FollowupID: 457696

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:25

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 22:25
John, you're right. But then I can't pronounce their Sturr bucks either :))
Young friend of mine , first time in the States asked at a shop for a coke. That stirred em up a bit. Apparently they thought she asked for some Coke...to sniff not drink.
So they asked where she was from.
Australia.
"Oh yeah, that place with all the big mountains".
No mate, Australia not Austria !!
FollowupID: 457697

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:20

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:20
Stu, I have onely heard em say it with a very short e as I have tried to show phonetically.

F'loosie. They are pretty ignorant really. Heather and I were proceeding through a slow immigration desk at Heathrow back in 2000 and there was a 'Merican with a very loud voice saying how the Brits can't organise their immigration on his mobile phone in an area where phones aren't to be used.

Well we got through immigration and I noted the guy was behind us as my dearly beloved said in an equally loud voice about the said 'Merican how he was just so loud, then quipped " and from a country that can't even organise their own Presidential election" . Remembering the hoo-haa about the recounts because of failed vooting procedures and the legal challenges.

Must say I was proud of the girl as I have no doubt he heard her
FollowupID: 457716

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:38

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:38
As pointed out, emus are farmed in the US for meat, leather and feathers. Lots of them in places like Texas.

Good to see "yank bashing" is alive and well. Makes my wife feel so welcome in this country.
FollowupID: 457720

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:48

Thursday, Oct 12, 2006 at 23:48
John, that story makes me laugh because I met my first septics at Heathrow. All wearing their full cowboy outfits, daughter yells out "Hey ma. Hey pa. Over here !" Now that girl would have made a great RSM in the army, what a loud voice.

Scooby, We bash Poms and Kiwis and Yanks equally well. So it's not a personal thing, purely a form of affection. We also bag our own Yobbos no matter where in the world they may be drinking. I cringe whenever I hear them, and I guess a few Americans cringe when they hear someof theirs. We've all got our "trailer park trash".
FollowupID: 457723

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:08

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:08
Scubaroo, I am sure your wife is lovely and is welcome. It is the loud variety of "Yank" or winging Pom or e x t r e m e expert Kiwi that we hang a bit on. Actually we have NY Staters here over the weekend, to early next week. Delightful young woman with her new hubby.
FollowupID: 457737

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:11
F'loosie, on the Coke, I guess it's good not to succomb to their advertising and buy Pepsi ;-)
FollowupID: 457738

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:22

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:22
I have only met two NYkers John. I am SO pleased that not all NYkers are like those two. I can't stand big loud aggressive know it alls. Just the memory of those two (customers) makes me cringe.
FollowupID: 457741

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:36

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:36
NY Staters as distinct from Nykers. Countrified folks from near Syracuse. Would leave if it was likely to be your customers.

We used to have an accommodation business too mate, and we had people staying a couple of nights from White Horse Alaska. He was of the 'legal' profession, but I asked him what took him to live in Alaska, just my term of phrase you may understand. His response stopped conversation for some time when he told me, wait for it..
"...pickup truck"
FollowupID: 457747

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:53

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 08:53
hahahahah....
Yes, after posting I realized that you had sais NYstate, the centre of the universe where they know everything.
Mine were cityfied.
I was mortified.
Rude doesn't even come close.
Have never been to NY city.
Will never go.
This bloke told me that he didn't need advice on how to drive the bush, he'd driven here before.
Melbourne to Sydney.
He ended up writing off a couple of rentals because he didn't need any advice.
FollowupID: 457750

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 09:20

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 09:20
I have the misfortune of having to call through there next year. Not looking forward to it at all, though some friends love it, well the wife does, hubby NO.

I though it was just cross Pacific intonation. Apparently not. Must say I laughed aloud here about the guy who had driven bush.
FollowupID: 457752

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 12:14

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 12:14
One of my younger bros loves the States, he's been there a few times. Not sure what keeps him going back, maybe too many movies.
First time he went he was in a Casino complex at Las Vagas. A guy was shot dead at the entrance. Welcome to America.
FollowupID: 457771

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 01:04

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 01:04
The copper would need a full magazine out my way.

Saw a program on TV a while back with this researcher talking about the humble emu. She had just come from Africa and a study of Ostriches. Her comment was along the lines of....."the Ostrich is a big bird with two very big eyes in a small head, doesn't leave a lot of room for brains. The emu has a smaller head and bigger eyes."

That said I love the big dumb birds, even got one painted on the Patrol. Photos of Eric coming soon.

AnswerID: 198950

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 07:38

Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 07:38
Emu's make me laugh, except when the run into the side of the cruiser...and leave a big dent....there is a SA winery called Four Emus, their wines are named after each of the emus, the label on the bottle states that "Emus are the rockstars of the outback. Emus are berserk. The run fast, play hard and to be honest we admire their insanity" they are nuts...

Lyn
AnswerID: 198958