Sensitivity of FRIDGE owners!!
Submitted: Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:30
Troop-a-dour
The ever ongoing debate of fridges must only be eclipsed by that of tyre choice. Why is it that people form such an allegiance to a brand name??- after all, they all keep the beer cold (most of the time).
At the 4WD shows, every brand exhibitor claims theirs' is the most efficient, lower current draw, more robust etc etc. Someone must be right, and the rest must be wrong (and telling porkies)..
One particular brand supplier, who used to rest the laurels of his unit because it had a Danfoss compressor. It now doesn't have a Danfoss, and now claims Danfoss are no good- his is the best ( I think it's now Electrolux compressor).
The often quoted "Fridge Test" at the Dept Of Defence?? facility at Penrith was was nothing more than an advertisers farce. With one company not supplying a unit, because they knew it wouldn't give favourable results. Another unit was modified to get a result, but wouldn't have lasted in th real world. And another that required at least 3 units to get one that operated to the conditions required.
And, of course, there's always the claims about the great warranty and after sales service. Mate, if I were a week into a one month trip and the fridge broke- I wouldn't give a rat's ar$e about warranty. I'd be very pi$$ed off.
If it works, keeps the beer cold and doesn't suck the guts out of the battery- then that's good no matter what breed it is.
Just my observation !!!
Reply By: mike w (WA) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:44
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:44
and thats why we should all have a waeco!!LOL
Seriously though, if it does the job and meets your expectations, then goodo. I have a waeco based purely on price. It was in my price range and had some of what I was looking for at the time. Are there fridges available that are better? More than likely, but they wouldnt be in my budget. If I ever upgrade (and Im sure some will be of the opinion that I will ned to in the next 30+ days :))) I will look at the other brands available, and who knows, I may find something better than an wengcokool.
Now, a real question, what do you think about my Desert Duelers??? LOL
Hope you all have a good weekend
Follow Up By: Troop-a-dour - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:05
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:05
G'day mike
Don't know about your D/Ds- but I am very happy with my 693 Duellers. Obviously there may be better rubber out there.
By the looks of your pic- you wouldn't have a wear rate problem??
Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:49
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:49
Who the bleep cares really..? As long as they work. I have a Waeco but would gladly go backwards to an Engel..!
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:54
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:54
yeah but most farts work too. i'd rather a fart that lasted 20 secs than 2 secs eh?
well, it's all relative....
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:14
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:14
WTF...??? That makes sense...
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:24
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:24
he he...
what I mean to say mate, is that build quality is also important. something might do a good job, but not for long. i would rather something that does the job for longer, thereby being more dependable and requiring less maintenance, less down time. Something that is proven.
but i remember a mate who did a 13 second fart once and that was a few years ago but what a legend. (he was around 60 y/o too so a voice of experience.)
:) it's Friday you bloody bewdy!
Reply By: ed. - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:59
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 13:59
I have neither a waeco nor an engel.
Bought my 40L compressor fridge from supercheapauto for $400.
Spent $50 on replacing insulation and low power PC fans in.
Hasn't missed a beat.....yet :D
This summer will be a good test though.
Just buy what you feel comfortable with (or can afford, in my case LOL)
Reply By: Notso - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:12
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:12
Anyhow the definition of Quality goes something like this. The object meets the manufacturers specifications and meets the needs of the purchaser.
Most things do that. I have owned 7 vehicles in my 46 years driving and each one has been a different brand.
Reply By: hl - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:44
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:44
No,
3.0l Patrols rule....
Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:03
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:03
I hope you mean the RB30!
Reply By: The Bigfella - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:58
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 14:58
How true.
I love reading the Waeco and Engel debate.
7 years ago I bought a Chescold and besides having to turn it upside down (for 24 hours) a couple of days before I head off it never misses a beat.
Works great on gas.
Works great on 240 volt.
Works average while travelling on 12 volt but still keeps the beer (homebrew) and food cold.
When I bought it they were $900 and I got it from a
camping store in
Sydney and it had a mark on the lid and no box to pack it in. The store knocked $200 off for the mark and no box so I went away $200 better off and with a fridge that does the job for me.
The Bigfella
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 18:21
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 18:21
Different horses for different courses.
We have and Engle since 1989 mainly used in car as freezer
Old trailer had a chescold fitted 3 way only a frig
New trailer no frig fitted
So for 3 month travelling trip brougt a Everkool which we ran as Freezer and Engle as frig 12 volt both in car
Stay in unpower caravan site for 4 weeks xmas and also sit on Fraser for 1 week a year usually ended up buying a Chescold Frid/Freezer 3 way. When at unpowered site have frig in Jayco and use Chescold as frig for drinks in annex but when on Fraser take either Engle or Chescold as Freezer and turn Chescold into all frig on gas.
Yes totally spoilt
Jenkie
Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:19
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:19
toyota is king
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:48
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:48
Rich mans talk...Hello Kerry....lol
Follow Up By: hz75 - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:58
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:58
YEEEAAAHHH BAABBBYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I AGREE (slightly) By the way No 1, Do you think toyota is a better vehicle than a nissan?????? And is engle better than waeco???he he
or is weaco better than engle???????????????lol
yabbadar yabbabder!!!
Doesnt really matter does it?
As long as were all having fun, half tanked and catching a fish, DOESNT REALLY MATTER DOES IT?????
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:57
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:57
the only good fridge fridge that I know of is the one i own...no one else in the world has one...comes complete with lifetime warranty
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 13:39
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 13:39
My fridge is good, keeps my beers cold day in day out, don't need no friggin warranty either. When it breaks buy another.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:48
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:48
oh nudie not again
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 09:25
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 09:25
:)..ok i will refrain...
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 09:32
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 09:32
Nudie, it seems a continuing refrain. LOL
On anothe subject, wouldn't you rather have a more senior pic like one of Flacco the Aussie legend with sunnies? He had more hair.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 10:49
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 10:49
Ha Ha Ha
but he doesnt have virilty on his side like I...I wore
mine off on the bedhead ...why has he still have a full head of hair
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:03
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:03
Funny thing Nudie
You always give the impression of being on the submissive side. I thought you lost you folicles from working for too long inside fridges......LOL!!!
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:28
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:28
you are sort of right Willem
There is a misconception out there that goverments world wide are banning the old refrigerants cos of the ozone hole and their global warming potential...
they have failed to tell you the true reasons... the old refrigerants have the real possiblity to cause over
population of the world that could not be sustained..it has tripple the effects of a 1/4 of one Viagra tablet
the enclosed environs of working inside fridges/coolrooms etc ensured that i inhaled copious quanities of the now banned refrigerants giving me the virility equivalant of 100 x 25 year olds....now surely you can see why they want to rid the world of this powerful aphrodisiac cant you..
Reply By: Moose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:24
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:24
Mate - people like to think they've made the best choice. And they can't live with the possibility that they didn't. When you see people quoting this and that about their particular choice they are obviously trying to justify their choice - just as some of the respondents to your post have exhibited. They couldn't just agree - they had to add a statement about how great their brand is. Ppsychologist probably has a name for it.
How many times do we see a question as to "what is the best such and such"? If only people would wake up and realise that there is, in all likelihood, no best. Most things are a compromise. Fridges, vehicles, tyres, batteries, etc etc.
The Moose's 2 cents worth.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:48
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:48
Friges, Tyres, Shower Units etc: etc: everyone has an opinion and invariably that opinion will be that the unit/brand they purchased is the best.
I'm getting sick of it!
Now! Let me tell you about the GREAT Deal I negotiated together with the FANTASTIC Performance I get from my new thongs.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:58
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 15:58
What brand Ian?
Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:00
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:00
Don't tell him. He'll have gotten a better deal and his will outperform yours for sure! You'll just end up disillusioned with your purchase.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:15
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:15
Do they come with stickers ?
Follow Up By: On Patrol - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:10
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:10
Hey Landy, the brick LOOOOOKS GOOOOOOD, you can be proud of it. BUT its got the wrong fridge and tyres mate, LOL
Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:16
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:16
Well, perhaps we could debate the tyres, but believe me it is the right fridge - SWMBO said, Baz it is a 60 litre Engel, nothing more, nothing less - who was I to argue as I wrote cheques left right and centre to rebuild the thing.....yep she's the right fridge alright!
Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:56
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:56
I prefer Waeco tyres and Cooper fridges. Or is that Coopers in the fridge and Waecos under the tyres? BAH, pass me a beer.
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:34
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:34
I tell a lie, I have an Explorer Fridge Freezer and Toyo tyres
:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 14:16
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 14:16
I like my Coopers out of the fridge wrapped in a stubby holder and in my right hand. If at the same time I can mamage a view of the Cooper then I am a happy man.
As for the type of fridge I have. I bought it cause when the old one broke I was on a trip and bought the only one I could. It works.
If you want to knwo what kind it is I'll show you if you bump into me in the bush have a quick look as I dig into it for a Coopers.
As for tyres I like round black ones.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:02
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:02
Got an 80lt Waeco + a 15lt Engle + an old 40lt Chescold and a 70lt Baileys esky , all do the job asked of them , beers cold and swmbo happy so who cares "what brand".
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:01
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:01
"swmbo happy so who cares"
You have hit the nail on the head as everyone must be happy in all aspects of 4wd, camping keeping drinks cold but Don't really care about the beer the wine yes and the ice for the scotch yes but the beer no otherwise we wouldn't enjoy the great outdoors as a happy family.
As I said in a previous response - its horses for courses depending on the type of travelling you do at any given time. What is good for one trip doesn't fit another trip.
jenkie
Reply By: Jimbo - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:41
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 19:41
Have you ever walked into a Pub and heard blokes debating the various qualities of a Kelvinator, Westinghouse, LG, or Fisher and Paykel?
As far as camping fridges go; buy the design/layout/size that suits your needs.
They all keep stuff cold.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:08
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:08
>Have you ever walked into a Pub and heard blokes debating
>the various qualities of a Kelvinator, Westinghouse, LG, or
>Fisher and Paykel?
A _very_ good point Jimbo. And one which conjures up a hilarious image :)
“Look mate, you can’t go past a LG 550lt with ice maker, nothing to beat them. And as for washing machines… the F&P is the king, no doubt – double rinse cycle AND a minimum crease setting, bloody Westinghouse can’t even come close and as for the reliability….”
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 18:46
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 18:46
Domestic whitegoods are boring, they are famous for being boring, even the fridge with the internet connection is regarded as being boring however the small 12 volt versions take on a different character, they obviously suddenly become interesting hence all the discussion. People will talk about what people want to talk about. 12 volt fridges are obviously interesting. We cannot in this country dictate what people chat about, if some people get a kick from 12 volt fridge discussion what's the problem.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:34
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 23:34
Ray,
John Howard is boring but people talk about him LOL.
Dull as he is, I reckon he's more interesting than a bloody fridge.
Now about my shoes, I used to buy Florsheim but I reckon Rivers last longer and are far more reliable and they..................
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 02:55
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 02:55
Dat's funny sheet.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 03:00
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 03:00
As the Beatles sang, 'LOVE is all you need'; is that a brand of whitegoods?
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:19
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:19
"Why is it that people form such an allegiance to a brand name?"
Whether people buy a product based on research, word of mouth or just sold to them by a smooth retailer it doesn't seem to matter. If you've forked out lots of money most people will talk up their purchase pure & simply because they don't want to be seen as buying an inferior or dud product. Time & time again I see people buy lesser quality fridges that break down justifying their choice by saying how cheap it was & how great the warrenty & after sales service was.
The majority on this site would only have purchased 1 or 2 fridges at the most which they raely use more than 1/2 a dozen times a year & really would have little knowledge or 1st hand experience if any of many of the better brands sold. I agree the often quoted "Fridge
Test was not done quite right & missed some of the better fridges altogther.
Cheers Craig...........
73L Autofridge.
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:36
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:36
G'day, Yeah! we spent so much on all our accessories at ARB the re-badged Engel was thrown in for nothin'. Can't beat that price!!
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:33
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:33
ARB are making so much out of accessories that they can afford to chuck in a fridge?
I always thought they were overpriced.......you have confirmed it.
Reply By: SunWizard - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:56
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:56
Engel owners are always nancy boys with clean motors and no scratches on the paint work to scared to go offroad
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:48
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:48
Themss fightin words boy.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 00:39
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 00:39
LMAO, wont be much of a fight, he's gotta be drunk.
This country is full of 30 year old Engels showing the scars of many a battle with nature.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:16
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 22:16
mine is clean and nice
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:03
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:03
My Kelvinator keeps the Milk and Bacon REALLY cold.
The Westinghouse in the Garage ensures a cold beer every time.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:08
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:08
Wow I'm impressed, you take two fridges and the garage with you on your camping trips :)
Reply By: Davo_60 - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:27
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:27
Waeco, max air, daihatsu. All fitted with hyclones.......
Reply By: jayswan - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:55
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:55
I have a Waeco, and it keeps the beer just as cold all the other brands, and it was cheaper.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 03:04
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 03:04
"
Beer...good" - Buffy the Vampire Slayer.