TNT Express would have to be the worst courier company!!!
Submitted: Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:13
Mark Taylor
Hi there folks... ordered a Drifta set of drawers for the CT. (heading to Fraser on Monday!)
Anyhow, Luke from Drifta sent them overnight (so he tells me) on last Monday night. You can track them on line, 48 hours later they have gone from
Gloucester to
Taree.. and then have vanished into thin air. Every time I ring TNT, they start a search... which reveals nothing. The bit that really gets to me is that as a self employed Professional Photographer, I have been knocking back work all week so I can be here to
sign for the bloody delivery that never arrives.
If you ever get something sent interstate.. give TNT a big swerve.
You simply can't get to someone further up the totem pole to fix your problem.
The faceless men in Holland who own the show will beat you every time.
Mark T
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:26
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:26
I once lost some stuff using TNT. They "found" it 3 months later, in a depot 20K from where it had been sent. No apologies....tough luck mate.
Another item arrived at a depot 30K away from the country town sent to. Could I pay for delivery ? Yep, but they only deliver once a week. Hang on I paid big money for delivery ! Oh
well, you get that sir !
Not as bad as a
well advertised courier I used once but never again. Took 24 hours to get a big package from Las Angeles to
Brisbane, delivered to Nerang at 8.30 am next day. It then took 3 DAYS to come 30KM !
If that company "lives to deliver", then someone died !
Basically many courier
services are crap. They simply aren't competative globally, and some smaller companies seem light years ahead in the domestic market.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:34
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:34
I send stuff all over WA using many of the BIG transport companies, and one thing people do not realise is that the country town stuff is handled by contractors who couldn't give a toss, just wants the money. It's not always the attitude of the Freight company you may have originally dealt with.
Quite often they only go to a some towns once or twice a week.
HOWEVER.... TNT are one of the worst to deal with.
For this reason, if we are to pay for the freight, we will only use Aust Post and we WILL NOT guarantee anything, time wise. Most clients have an account with one or another of the main players, so if something goes missing it's their problem, not ours.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:33
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:33
hahahaha don't bother with Allied then. You can talk to someone in their office, call back an hour later and find they've left the company i.e. gone elsewhere. The turnover with their drivers is even worse.
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:35
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 16:35
The faceless men in Holland ?? Sure you dont mean the "seven gnomes of Zurich " that own the world ? ,, good luck with the dynamite transport [tnt].
Reply By: rolande- Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:19
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:19
G'Day Mark,
May have gone the way of my
water tank
Sent from
Sydney to Vic, went "missing"
They sent another, it went "missing" also
The third they sent arrived. Took 6 weeks all up
The manufacturer said it happens to him all the time, they just claim it on insurance.
Come to think of it, chrissy present time soon, won't the couriers have fun then shopping for the family. I was told this by a guy in the industry, said Danoz direct the best invention ever - drivers don't have to buy presents any more
Rolande
Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:22
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 17:22
Mark, Their a bloody worry to say the least!, that is couriers overall. I recently had a bad experience with Star Track , they freighted a windscreen for a excavator for me, it came from
Brisbane & was supposed to be dropped at my place here on the central coast NSW. Mate it went through to
Sydney stayed there for a week, then finally turned up at my door, AS A BAG OF BROKEN GLASS!!.
Oddly enough TNT were the ones that got me one in a day in ONE PIECE.
Cheers Axle
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:32
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 20:32
"AS A BAG OF BROKEN GLASS!!. "
And you said oh dear me I think we have a problem.
Thats one of the worst ones I've heard yet.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:38
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:38
Footloose, There's more! Star track sent it back to the supplier, with a message.
The Customer won't
sign, here's your screen back!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:51
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:51
Axle, good on you ! One for the customer !
Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:10
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 21:10
Guys, if you wanna talk about freight going missing, talk to me.I have never been anywhere in my life where more freight goes missing, dosnt matter which freight company.We were waiting on a gearbox at work and it took three months-yes months- ment to come from
Brisbane to
Kununurra but ended up going to
Darwin-
Perth-
Melbourne-
Sydney-
Darwin and finally
Kununurra.Its a nightmare to rely on freight here.
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:37
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:37
Try Shaw's
Darwin Transport.
Reply By: SunWizard - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:51
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 22:51
use TNT courier every day to deliver all round Aus and not a problem
Rep say most problems are with incorrect addresses spelling and errors in address and even wrong towns. All our address labels are computer printed with no handwritten addresses
Reply By: Maddmav - Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:22
Friday, Oct 13, 2006 at 23:22
No good Mark on the transport scene.
But when you get the drawers I am sure you will be impressed as we were with our
camp kitchen we bought from Drifta. Terrific unit and sturdy.
We were a little more fortunate that
Gloucester is an hour & a half away so we picked ours up from the factory.
Hope yours arrives sooner than later.
Vinnie
Follow Up By: Member Boroma 604 - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:57
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 08:57
Gooday,
"Toll /IPEC" is just as bad, had to get caravan spring freighted from Bne to Kalgoorlie last year, qooted 5 working days, only took 21 days, wore half the life off my tyres while waiting for it. They told a constant bunch of lies.
Boroma 604.
Reply By: Mark Taylor - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:11
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 09:11
Yes, I hope the draws are
well built.. whenever I get them.
I could have driven to
Gloucester with the CT, fitted them and driven home in half the time it has taken TNT not to deliver them!
Mark Taylor
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:48
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 10:48
And Toll are just as bad, when we had the camper sent over 1st one damaged big time, bent the side of the trailer so sent it back to purchaser as they were the ones that organised the transport not me, they sent me another new one they even rang Toll up and told them to be more careful
well stuff me I went down to pick up the new one and it to had been damaged again where the jerry can holder is, luckily it was only the piece that swings open to put jerry can in but still had to get it fixed no major thing, but not the point. These blokes dont give a flying fu@k what the coditions like when it gets to its destination (if it gets there in your case Mark) as long as it gets there. I had the manager come out and take photos and also
sign the paperwork indicating the damage. Hope fully Mark they will turn up for you in good order and soon. Regards Steve M
Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:08
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 11:08
Having worked as a courier for many years with star track express, I can tell you its across the board. Most problems arise through individuals though. Things like ...... stupidity, attitude, sabotage and "couldnt give a toss" are the main reasons why things go missing. Personally i would go out of my way to make sure my run was all delivered each day. I took pride in making sure the goods arrived on time or as close to time as possible. Id even call the customers and tell them id be late. But some people just enjoy making sure things go wrong.
THEFT is a huge problem with couriers too. Most of the drivers / Frieght handlers can identify boxes and they know whats inside them. Mobile phones are a huge problem as they tend to dissapear alot and it takes so long for the managers to work out where things go missing.
Another factor in all this is "organised groups" that know when to steal. Very
well organised indeed. Sometimes freight is never found and no idea where it went missing. I can tell you its very easy to do, especially with large companies.
We had this one guy in the bulk shed, he was with company for many years, he earned excellent money too, but that wasnt enough, he wanted more. He had the advantage of being trusted so they allowed him to load his own truck. At the time he was in the depo loading, most were at lunch so he had the whole yard to himself, he would hop on a forklift and load up, every know and then he would "take" a couple of pallets extra, mainly easy selling stuff on black market. HE got away with this for years before one day his neighbour called the company asd questioned why he kept comming home and unloading things off his truck into his garage. So the alarm bells rang and they watched hime to 2 weeks before they finally had enough evidence to charge him. Thats how easy it can be.
He was charged and lost his job. Now he works for himself picking up freight from unsuspecting companies of his past.
I could go on but i think u get the drift of it.
Ange
Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:44
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 15:44
Hi there Coke addict, I worked for this mob as
well use to do the Miranda Fair area. They wern't a bad mob to work for but as you would know you worked your ass off especially around chrissy time, I got sick of being half way back to base and they would radio through and ask you to turn around and go back @ 14.98 an hour but you needed the o/t for a decent wage, got out of there and now earn $10 an hour more sitting on my arse in aircondtioning. We actually use them for our deliverys from our penrith branch and have had no problems with the
young bloke, very good, reliable and friendly. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 20:35
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 20:35
In 2001 I was asked to organise a pair of gumboots for a bloke working on a
mine up past Kalgoorlie.
The gumboots had to come from NSW cos they were size 15 and I could only get them from one supplier.
I asked if this could be done "overnight" on "Australian Air Express" to
Perth and then Overnighters [now Toll Ipec] to the
mine site.
Sure enough, three days later the boots turn up, the guy has been sitting around "on site" doing nothing without his boots, but the
mine won't
sign the frieght document cos they recon I should pay, so the bill gets sent to me....
ONE THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED BUCKEROONIES !!!!!!!!!!!!
I rang the transport company and explained that in no way are we gonna cop it, considering I could have flown from
Perth to
Sydney, bought the boots, stayed in a hotel, had a hooker for the night, flown back to
Perth and then put the boots on a truck for less than a grand.
In the end, after six or seven phone calls they gave up!
Reply By: Luke SA - Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:19
Saturday, Oct 14, 2006 at 21:19
Hi Mark
i had a bit of trouble with getting some side steps sent over here to
Adelaide from
Sydney that i bought off here.
first they rang me and said they will be at their depot in half an hour so i went down there, when the truck rolled up......... no side steps so they rang the
sydney depot and they said they wern't even put on the truck and they were still sitting in their yard
even though the paper work said it was on the truck. A few days later i finally got them and the boss/manager (what ever he was) personally delivered them to me no extra charge and couldnt appolagise enough
To me, thats the way freight co. should be. I hope you finally get your drawers and you get, mabe a little compensated for the stuffing around
Cheers Luke
Reply By: jaksun - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:13
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 00:13
6months ago I ordered a wood splitter from a company in NSW. (I live in Victoria)It disapeared within 50 ks of leaving the manufactures factory in
Sydney and was never found(TNN transport)The replacement wood splitter was so badley damaged I had to return it to the manufacture for replacement,never again will I use TNT transport for delivery of goods
Reply By: Old Nick - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 06:10
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 06:10
I've used K&S Freighters to send and recieve things from S.A. and the east coast (larger items) and never had a problem. They have always been fast and goods arrive in good order. I have no interest nor shares in K&S, just advising of my experiences. Nick