OT: Ghosts, goblins and the supernatural...
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:36
Member - Blue (VIC)
As requested by Jeff via MM...
My supernatural
camping experience was as follows...
The day started oddly, weather was all over the place and I had work to do (building a pergola on the van we had at our bush block). I battled through the rain and finally finished, deciding a counter meal at the local was just the ticket. I entered for my first experience with the new owners and was immediately shocked. The publican was doing all he could to avoid speaking to me even though I was the only person in the bar. He was straightening already straight bar mats and picking up non-existent fluff from the floor... I finally ordered a meal and two other guy's walked in, I said "g'day" but they all but ignored me... Feeling a little strange, I ate up and went back to
camp.
I lit the fire and fumbled around with the wet wood for a while before retiring for the night. While trying to get to sleep, I hear the definite sound of footsteps near the van. I lay there for a second before I realised the dog had not so much as budged... He is normally up and at any noise in the area. With footsteps still audible, I got up, grabbed the torch and the axe (from the cupboard next to the door). I flicked on the torch and rushed out the door to confront whoever was walking around on my property... No one there... Strange, I looked behind, under, over and around everything in site...Nothing... Thinking I was losing my mind, I went back to bed. not 5 minutes later, the footsteps are back and it see's me flying out the door screaming like a sheila(no offence meant), swing the axe around and shining the torch everywhere I could think of...Nothing...
Exhausted from my efforts, I decided lighting the fire and calming down for a while was just the ticket. Got the fire going (with petroleum persuader) and sat down with my torch, axe and a smoke... Suddenly the dog got up with his tail between his legs and crawled under my chair without making a single noise, he was shaking like a leaf. Next I heard the footsteps again, sounded like they were only a few feet behind me... I flicked on the torch, grabbed the axe and with the fluid movement of a 120kg ballerina, I proceeded to fall backward out of my
camp chair... After nearly cutting my own head off with the axe, searching everywhere for the sound and coming up empty again, I packed up and drove home to
Melbourne...
Never heard the sound again but it's always in the back of my mind...
Still want to take Cammo up there Trucky...lol
Anyone else care to share...???
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:42
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:42
I've known sound and light to travel great distances on a still night. Perhaps the sound was being made by something a bit further away ?
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:54
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 11:54
"I've known sound and light to travel great distances on a still night"
Agreed Footy but 'twas a night of light breezes and occasional drizzle.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:23
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:23
Come to think of it, were the footsteps on top of a metal roofed van ? Maybe a big bird ?
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 12:41
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 12:41
In 1980 I was taking tourists on a trip out the back of what is now known as the Mereenie Oil Field, west of Alice. The
Mereenie Loop Road was a very vague and sandy 2 wheel track in those days. We arrived at a
fork in the road and we were looking for a way to Ayreonga Community but I drove off in the wrong direction. The NatMaps of those days were 20 years old and I became disorientated reading them. My passengers were no use at all. This track eventually took us to the west of where we were heading for. At sunset we pulled up to
camp on the banks of a
creek.
After tucker and beers we were bushed and all elected to have an early night. Then the noises started. Normally the Outback is very quiet at night. We could hear occasional screeches(probably a Night Owl) and then a faint moan(unknown). My passengers were becoming uneasy. Then a short while later we heard Glunk Glunk noises.Soon after two Emu's approached us and then sped off in fright.
We all pulled our swags closer to the fire. The noises abated for a while. Then I thought I heard the sound of a vehicle. It was faint for a while and then gradually became louder. At around 10pm lights came into view and we flagged the vehicle down with a torch. The BJ40 Toyota stopped and two
Sydney Hairdressers(Boyz) stumbled from it. Were they glad to find us. They were totally lost, with a quarter of a
tank of diesel left, half a bottle of
water and no food. We did not admit to being lost as
well at that stage. We rustled up some more tucker and it was midnight before we all turned in. The noises stopped for the rest of the night.
The next day we found our way out of there after a number of dead ends which were then being created by Oil Exploration Shot Lines and ended up coming in to Haasts
Bluff Community from the west.
This year I was out in that country again but all was quiet. However I had people I had never met before join the convoy(they were friends of a friend). Further out to the west we saw some ancient artifacts lying in the sand. The new arrivals decided to help themselves to some rubbing stones. I objected and told them not to take these artifacts from where they were as in my view it was Bad Luck and that the spirits might not like it. They ignored my request.
Sequel to this is that after they left my trek they ventured to the
Kimberley and then back to
Perth. Along the way they started agruing with one another and the marriage of 25 years split when they got back home. The spirits had had their revenge!!
See. There is an explanation for everything.....LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 12:45
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 12:45
Good one Willem... Glunk, Glunk...lol would be bloody scarey in the middle of the night if you didn't know any better...
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 13:10
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 13:10
Were the spirits called "white" and "lightning" ? LOL
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:33
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:33
Footy
No those spirits have moved on. But I still have half a bottle of Mampoer(Google it) in the cupboard. Was hoping to get a Still this year and make my own moonshine. Will see how the summer goes.....LOL
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:52
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 19:52
Willem, had some Italian mates once who used to make something called Grappa from memory. Apparently it was illegal , as it was all Italian wink wink when they handed it out. I had a taste once....and when the room stopped spinning I said in my best Italian (ie none) Belissimo. At least thats what I thought I said :))
Went to a French Xmas dinner once. One long table with about 40 people, kids and adults. Started drinking about 9am. Kids and adults. By 11 everyone was kissing everyone, old and
young alike. As I was the honoured guest they kept me topped up with drinks and kisses. I can't remember what the food was...I don't speak much French..in fact I couldnt speak much English at that stage :)))
Drank some imported Russian WODKA once. Now I know why they lost the Cold War.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:06
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:06
Ok I Googled it . It doesn't register in English here. Maybe Dutch or German, certainly in Indonesian and there's a lady with that surname looking for a bloke.
By crikey it must be strong stuff !
Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:15
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:15
You need to upgrade your computer system Footy. Maybe something wrong with the settings.
www.encounter.co.za/article/179.html
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:21
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 20:21
Willem, that page certainly didn't come up...hmm.
You light it and check the colour of the flame ?
Obviously thats where the English got the expression, "Flamin 'Ell !!"
I take it that all who drink are advised not to have a smoke for a while ? :)))))
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 13:14
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 13:14
Most here will have seen this already, but if not here goes.
The Min Min
I hadn't been from
Longreach to
Boulia before. I'd come from
Charleville that day, and seeing as it was only another 300K to go I decided to push on carefully through the dark, narrow bush track that wound through some hills and then across the long plains. One landcruiser driver passed me as I was sneaking uphill. He obviously knew the track as his speed was considerably more than
mine. As in about 100k more. This startled a family of bush pigs who decided that the other side of the track was home. Remembering the hari kari roo , I managed to miss them all.
There was a bush pub about half way along the track. As I approached it I noticed a herd of grazing cattle both sides of the track so I slowed from 80 to 50k/h. What I didn't see was a couple of roos who were also grazing . As they put their heads up and bounded away I noticed that they seemed taller than my Landcruiser. I was obviously in need of a stop and revive so I pulled up at the little pub.
The pub itself was a collection of buildings with some travellers sitting on the verandah drinking wine (!) and a couple of station types at the bar. The barmaid was a tall backpacking girl who came straight across and asked what I wanted to drink. Somehow I don't think that the answer "You wouldn't have coffee would you ?" was what she wanted to hear, but I scored a one anyway. I guess I must of been there about half an hour during which I decided that there was a bit too much life in that place for this sorry soul. Off I trotted to try for a quiet spot in
Boulia.
The track itself was a lonely place in the dark. Flat but lots of trees and what might have been in the wet, swampy ground. I started to think of the stories of the min min lights. According to the story many travellers have not only seen them but actually been chased by them. I did read somewhere that they were caused by some sort of spontaneous combustion involving marshy gases. Of course the white fella explanation and the aboriginal ones were as usual, quite different. The aboriginal one involved spirits that chased you.
As I was musing about the min min there was a single light in my rear vision mirror. I estimated it to be about 2k behind me and thought "gee its a small moon tonight". It was too
bright for a car or bike and stayed about 2k behind me for the next 5 minutes or so. I slowed down and the light appeared to do the same. I went faster and so did the light. Now the min min story seemed a bit more immediate. I didn't believe it for a minute...or did I ?
I estimated I was about half an hour from
Boulia. As I drove I had one eye on the track and one eye on the rear vision mirror.
Finally my min min light decided enough was enough. It started getting closer and closer behind me.
The min min turned into a huge road train with one surviving headlight. He'd been waiting for a long straight stretch so that he could pass me.
It's the only road train I've ever been happy to see. I pulled right off to the side of the track and let him go past . Bloody min min !
You know, in
Boulia they have a min min
visitors centre.
I reckon that road train must do that trip fairly often.
Follow Up By: Member - Garth J (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 14:18
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 14:18
Footloose,
Had a similar experience myself about 7 years ago when
camping out the front of the
Middleton Hotel halfway between
Winton and
Boulia on the Min Min Way.
Saw the lights and heard the noises.
About half an hour later a road train rolls past the pub.....how many beers did we drink in that time........
Must be bloody flat country and the sound really travels
well late at night.
Maybe we've discovered the whitefella's min min lights.
Garth
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 14:33
Sunday, Oct 15, 2006 at 14:33
Garth, I think you're right ! :))
Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 07:52
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 07:52
wont need to watch chainsaw masacre tonight!
Follow Up By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:38
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:38
On this subject - we haven't told many people about this - but a few years back we hired a campervan and toured around Tassy - first stop out of
Hobart was to Lake Pedder and we found a nice place to
camp on the edge of the late - think it's called Ted's Beach - anyway in the middle of the night we were woken by a light shining in the distance - this light just stayed still for about one hour then disappeared. We thought - it must be on a
hill in the distance - but next morning on checking there was no
hill or mountain where the light had been - it was a very strong, large
bright white light. Never forgotten it - put it down to just one of those things - UFO? who knows???
jules
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:23
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:23
MUM!
Im scared
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:50
Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:50
Someone farted in my pants... I dont know who it was, and I was the only one in the building.
Follow Up By: Joombi - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:59
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:59
I had a dream the other night I was eating a giant marshmallow & when I woke up, my pillow was gone!!!!!!!!