What are these engines like

Submitted: Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 16:46
ThreadID: 38552 Views:5730 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
Hi all just wondering what these motors are like in the 80 series cruisers HZJ 80 !!!and is there any thing to be care full of. Are there the same as the 1hz or totally differant. Excuse my ignorance as I know jack sh@t about cruiser motors only lux's. Any help would be appreciated. Regards Steve M

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:19

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:19
The HZJ80 is the model, 1HZ is the engine. What year cruiser ?
AnswerID: 199417

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:47

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:47
Its a 93 dx model with 250k on it. Apparently has been serviced every 5k oil and filter This is the add !!! Last Updated 12-OCT-2006
Vehicle 1993 TOYOTA LANDCRUISER HZJ80R Standard
Price $16,400
Kilometres 250,000
Body 4 door Wagon
Colour White
Interior Colour Grey
Transmission 5 speed Manual
Engine 6 cylinder Diesel Multi-point injected 4.2L (4164cc)
Reg Plate
Reg Expiry AUG-2007
Road Worthy Certificate Not Applicable
Brief Comments With only 250,000km, this legendary 4.2 litre naturally aspirated diesel has a very long way to go.
Long Comments As you can see from the pictures, this LandCruiser looks great and is ready for adventure.

If you are concerned about fuel prices, don’t be. You will average 11.5 litres per 100 kilometres.

This vehicle has been very well maintained. Engine oil has been changed every 5,000km since new using quality Shell Rimula X diesel oil.

If you are looking for an unstoppable 4x4 that is easy to drive, easy to maintain and cheap to run, you have found it.

This legendary LandCruiser has the following features:

• GXL Seats and Centre Consol
• High quality canvas seat covers
• 5 x BFGoodrich All-Terrain tyres with 80% plus tread
• 5 x new ROH steel Wheels
• TJM Snorkel and XJS Shocks
• TJM King Springs
• Engine immobiliser
• CD Stereo
• GME TX3200 UHF radio with high quality aerial
• Duel battery system with Yuasa Battery (plug wired to rear of vehicle for fridge)
• ARB aluminium roof basket
• Heavy duty canvas roof storage bag
• Heavy Duty Tow Bar
• Heavy Duty Bull Bar
• Heavy Duty Clutch
• Dual fuel tanks
• Hella Drive Lights
• Cargo Barrier
• Air Conditioning
• Tinted Windows
• Power steering
• Full service history

Ladies and gentleman, many $$$ has been spent on bringing this vehicle to the current specifications in the past six months.

If you are planning a serious adventure or need to do some heavy towing, don’t miss this one. Save yourself a lot of time and money (I wish I did).

Overseas visitors are encouraged to see this vehicle prior to looking in car yards. You will save at least $5,000 for the quality components you will need to travel Australia.

Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458269

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:56

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:56
AFIK the early 80 series , and this is one, didn't have the 1HZ engine. They had the 3F ?? engine which wasn't a patch on the 1HZ.
FollowupID: 458272

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:59

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 17:59
93 definitely had a 1HZ, they came out with the first 80's in 1990.
Petrol 80's had the 3F and then changed to the 4.5l later on.
FollowupID: 458273

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:09

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 18:09
Thanks Peter, my mistake, mixing diesel and pitrol models.
FollowupID: 458274

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:09

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 19:09
sounds good but it is too much - somwhere around 11 -12k would be more like it
AnswerID: 199431

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:31

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:31
I agree, even though its got heaps of gear , it is in the high end of kms(not meaning end of life though) and is 13 yrs old.You could pick up a 105 series for that.
FollowupID: 458307

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:05
I was wondering about the price but thought it had a lot of xtras added to it. There is another one I'm thinking about as well but doesnt have any xtra's but my wife loves the electric gizmo's eg elec wind etc
Here is the other advertisement

Make TOYOTA
Model LANDCRUISER
Series GXL 80
Year 1993
Colour Mica Green
Body type Wagon
Fuel type Diesel
Transmission 5spd Manual
Cylinders 6cyl
kms 254,000
Miles 157,828
Price $14,900 AUD
Reference Code Registration No.
Expiry Month 7
Expiry Year 2007
Road Worthy Certificate Yes

vehicle description

254,000 kms. Excellent condition. 4.2 diesel. 5 speed manual. Always serviced. New bridgestone A/T tyres. Ten months rego. Hayman reece towbar. Aluminium bullbar. Driving lights. Central locking. Power windows. Air-con. 8 seater. Roller roof racks. Front sheepskin seat covers. ????? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458321

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:27

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:27
dont worry bout the extras they dont add value to the vehicle - the 80 i bought had all that and more but it didnt add anything to the price. Just offer him 11 and see what happens. there arnt really many buyers for 4wds the one i got had been advertised for quite a while and i was the only serios buyer so haggling was no probs
FollowupID: 458328

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:39

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:39
Hi there Davoe what do you think of the GXL, do you think it is worth more than the base model I imagine it would be, as said excuse my ignorance on this as I know nothing baout the cruisers and from what people have said on here the red book is really nothing to go by. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458338

Follow Up By: Joombi - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:28

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 07:28
agree with davoe, & yeah you will pay more for a GXL but not much for the same condition, K's if you know what I mean.
personally I like the GXL (only because the very few DX or Standards I have driven, the barn doors have squeeked) but have a mate who preferes the DX & have also found the 80 to be a much better car than the 100, but again, thats just my opinion.
if I were you, I'd be looking for a 93-98 GXL turbo diesel with less than 250k for less than 15k, they are rare, but they are out there if you look hard enough.
the most important thing with buying a 2nd had diesel car, check the service book for a good service history, one thats been looked after well will serve you well for a lot of years.
hope this helps you a bit...
Rick...
FollowupID: 458385

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:12

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:12
gxl are obviosly more upmarket but many dont like the constand 4wd on them. personally a loaded dx or base model makes far more sense for 4wding than a sparten gxl. easier to clean etc. i have heard of the barn door squeeking but mine doesnt
FollowupID: 458394

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:04

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:04
The 1HZ was the same motor Noah used on the Ark!(been around as long) Its written in the bible that if its oil/filter has been done at 5k (and regular services)IT WILL GO FOREVER.That is why they haven't found the ark.
it's still going!! and no-one can prove otherwise
AnswerID: 199448

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:15

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 20:15
LOL!!!

"Reiner G" has a post up on this site about how much to rebuild his 1HZ that has only done 200000km. Always exceptions to the rule isn't there.

I do agree that thier reputation preceeds them when talking about the 1HZ. Supposedly a bloody good motor.

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 458303

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:14

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 21:14
Hi there Trevor, yes I did read that and thought is that a one off or is it due to lack of servicing, I suppose there is that chance with anything. I am coming up for 300k in the old lux and so far so good, no major drama's, same gear box, transfer case, diffs etc but then again there aint much power going through to these parts to really put a lot of strain on them, LOL but then I cant complain she's done 2 full trips around oz and looks like we will be taking the old girl down to the high country again at the start of december, just wacked a new rear main and clutch in her last wednesday. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458322

Reply By: Chucky - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:46

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 22:46
Can't go wrong with a 80.
But he is asking a bit much considering it isn't even turbo'd.

My best mate has a 1hz 80 with over 500K on the clock and the compresson is only a few psi lower than mine at 270K. Both are serviced at 5k. And both are close to the 'factory' pressure as listed in the service manual.
AnswerID: 199491

Reply By: V8Diesel - Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Oct 16, 2006 at 23:05
Great machines, but that 11.5l / 100km's quoted is a little bit optimistic I think. Perhaps sitting on 90km/h with a tail wind maybe, but drive them normally (ie: keeping up with the rest of the road users) and 14 is about right in my experience with them.

Didn't you find a low km GXL 100 series with half the km's for that kind of price? 13 year old twice superceded model with a quarter of a million km's on the clock - well I know what I'd be looking for.........
AnswerID: 199494

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:44

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 08:44
Hi there V8Diesel, yes I did but I stuffed around too much thinking of the cost of running a petrol over the diesel and was sold by the time I had made my mind up. I was to look at it that afternoon but was sold just after lunch so I missed out my fault. I know this one is alot older but is in the price range I'm looking for. I doubt there will be another 100 series for that price come my way, it wasnt just the fuel but also the issue with front diffs as well with the 100 series that I was also concerned about but have also since found out that the 100 series that I was meant to look at was solid front end so annoyed with myself even more. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458402

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 11:32
Ohh well, such is life. Don't knock yourself out about it mate, they do come up from time to time.

Have you taken an auto petrol 105 for drive? IMHO it's well worth paying the little extra for fuel which usually is made up for well and truly in purchase price, servicing expenses and the actual cost of the fuel per litre.

FollowupID: 458424

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:01

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:01
HI there V8 diesel, no I havnt, only ever driven an 80 series auto petrol and also a turbo /d both auto but never even sat in a 100 series. Yes we did look at the extra oil changes and the extra price per litre for the diesel over the petrol but the time I thought about it all as said vehicle was sold. Maybe I might hold off a bit and wait and see if another 100 series comes around or maybe at the auctions which I havnt tried yet, but just a bit wary at the auctions as you cant test drive them or anything so very hard to know of any mechanical faults if any. I know the old lux isnt going to bleep its self tommorrow so not worried about that so might keep ploding around in it till after chrissy and done our high country trip instead of trying to rush before hand, unless another bargain does come up. I like to own some thing for a month before taking on any trips just incase there are any faults at least will be picked up and fixed prior to going away in the vehicle. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458431

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:16

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 09:16
To me my impression is that the seller sounds like a bit of a prong, trying to over sell the vehicle. Offer him 11k.
AnswerID: 199539

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:05

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 13:05
HI there Off Track, as said dont know jack about cruisers so not sure on prices, but maybe thats why its still for sale. I dont like to insult people in offering some one alot lower than they are asking for. If its too dear I will leave it and maybe he will get some one that will pay that much for it and dont have the privilidge of being able to ask people like yourself of the value of things. Thanks for your reply, by the responses it is too dear but I thought with the xtras it might be worth that much. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458433

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:28

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:28
Haggling is not an insult it is the way it is. My 80 was advertised for 17 and i got it for 12,400 and my camper i sold at the same time i wanted 10 and took 6. End of the day if they think they can get a better price they dont have to sell.
Definitlly offer 11 and maybe go to 12 if it really is in good nick - wouldnt go further.
Word of warning you have to be used to driving a diesal (old school diesal) to put up with them. cars just go faster and faster and you will frustrate yourself to tears punting it round the city if you are that kinda guy
FollowupID: 458500

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 20:44
Hi there Dave yes very use to cars going past me not really all that fast actually just going past me and I'm only talking about the flats not to the uphill stage yet LOL with a 2.8D hilux you get use to it. But yes seriously that is my reason (mainly towing) is the struggle up hills, turn air off all that crap to get to the top, wasnt so bad before but with new camper really starting to annoy me, I've put up with the slowness for a while now and didnt really bother me before as the old lux would sit on 100 all day with air on no probs, but with the weight behind me she strugles at 100 on the flats, foot pretty well flat to the boards especially with air on. Have thought about turbo and the rest but dont think I will be happy with it and also there is a few other issues relating turboing as on recent replys to my question before about it.I think I really need to take a 1hz non turbo for a run and see how they go. I have a good size hill near me will be a good tryout. Good point you bought up about that but any thing has to have more go uphill than a 2.8D hilux. I was just looking up the specs on the 2.8 nissan patrol and was surprised they are pushing out more kw's and torque than the 4.2 non turbo. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 458509

Reply By: PatrolBen - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 19:45

Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 19:45
The prices those sellers are asking they had better be gold plated (inside and out!). About the petrol 100 series I saw an ad (memory is wellington-booted and cant remember where), but was one of the sydney carsguides ; 1998 GXL 4.5l auto with 145,000 km, factory steel bar, towbar, new dunlop grandtreks (means its been a road car!) for $21,500 private.

Personally Id spend the extra acorns you southern lot saved up before the hibernation started and get something like this. If you got there early and got into the seller over the price I'd say she'd be a keeper for $20k.
AnswerID: 199590