Rotten thieves! !~@#$%^
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:12
Scubaroo
Someone in the 4WD or UHF community must be *really* hard up - came out of the office today to find someone's nicked the 6" stubby aerial off my vehicle.
Sad thing is it happened in a relatively secure
carpark of a client, so it was most likely someone who thought they were pinching it from a co-worker. The
carpark isn't a situation where there's passerby foot traffic. Why lower yourself to being a thief for something you can pick up for about $15?
At least it was the stubby one, and not the "good" one I keep in the vehicle unless we're actually out on trips (in case some light fingered so-and-so decided they wanted it!)
It was only $15 but I had to get it off my chest. Thieves are thieves.
Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:25
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:25
Mate - I had my 5' ground independant GME antenna (and base) unbolted off the bullbar, coax cut from my driveway.... (about six weeks ago) - cop this though - also took the (standard) ram head off my
snorkel!
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 17:26
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 17:26
Have you seen the price of a new ram head , saw some on ebay ,$90 per !!!! seems that "prices" are out of control ,4x4s a thief's paradise.
Reply By: Member - Ray - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:56
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 21:56
Some low life unbolted my UHF aerial while I was parked opposite the Cooloongatta pub a few wekks ago. Had to use a spanner so they must have come prepared. Maybe Karma will get them oneday.
Reply By: atoyot - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:03
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:03
I got hugely p155ed off the other week when I noticed someone had pinched all my steel valve caps. Looking around at all the other bits that they could have taken put's it into perspective though. I got them back though; I bought 2 sets with one set spare for the next time it happens.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:41
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:41
I reckon I have lost 3 or 4 sets of machined alloy valve caps, it is bloody annoying, not for the cost, around $10.00, but for the possible ramifications of being offroad with unprotected valves.
Follow Up By: atoyot - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 14:15
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 14:15
Thats why I stick with the steel ones; about $3 for 4. Why don't they ever knock off plastic caps? Actually, I could almost answer that as years ago, at a race meeting, my brother got caught in scrutineering with plastic caps; needed steel caps quickly, so found a car with steel caps, swapped his with plastic caps and left a message on the windscreen saying we'd return them. Car was still there when we finished with them. I thought if I was in that guys situation, I wouldn't have minded so much. Maybe there was a race meeting on in the National
Park I was in when
mine were knicked.
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:54
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 22:54
Scubaroo. Have been thinking of buying a cheapie myself. What make was it and where did you get it from. I need a cheap one before someone nicks the good one.
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:33
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:33
GME 15cm unity gain - pretty much any GME dealer should have them. Will pick one up at the 4wd show in Melb (only 8 days away!).
Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:42
Tuesday, Oct 17, 2006 at 23:42
Geez, you guys make me laugh at times.
I had the WHOLE bloody Landcruiser stolen!!
$65,000.00 worth!! Never saw it again.
A two bob aerial wouldn't bother me AT ALL!
;) ;)
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 01:25
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 01:25
Nice one, Bilbo,
Still, everything happens for a reason; now you get to play with a big chevy :-)))
It is frustrating having something stolen that costs less than the excess on the insurance....
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:51
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 08:51
Doesn't matter what they actually steal (
well it does to a degree - not meaning to talk down your loss Bilbo) but it's the principle of it that gets me riled up! Boils my blood! :-S
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:34
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 09:34
Bingo Scoey - it's the bloody principle. Thieves are thieves, doesn't matter if it's a packet of gum from the newsagents or a Landcruiser.
Follow Up By: nissnut - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:22
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:22
Sometimes you win. Had a spare wheel and tyre taken from the back of the 4by the other night. The tyre was bald and had a huge egg on the inner sidewall. The wheel was badly bent from the same impact. The lowlife saved me $18, the charge of dumping a tyre at our local tip. I think Ill bolt the rest of my rubbish onto the wheel carrier and slowly watch it disappear.
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:30
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:30
Haha! Nice one nissnut! Yeah you can put stuff out the front with a
sign "free" or "give away" and it'll sit there for ever & a day, take the
sign off and stick it up on the front porch and it'll be gone the next day! :-S Some people just nick stuff for the sake of it!
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:34
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:34
Mate... that was a 'king hit'.... I guess the only thing that would have made it worse is if they had stolen the vehicle.... but left the stubbie aerial behind!
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:52
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 10:52
I used to own a WRX that was religiously parked in a lockup garage at night - the one night I didn't bother putting it in the garage because it had started raining, someone jacked it up and pinched an alloy wheel.
Bloody lucky I noticed the funny angle of the car before I jumped in and drove off, because they took one from the passenger side and 90% of drivers would probably have jumped in, started and tried to drive off while still on the crappy car jack they left behind, causing even more damage.
That was an $1100 hit, and it was no use claiming insurance, because my excess was about the same. THAT hurt at the time. Cops reckoned that they get a few more reports of wheel theft that week - apparently it's easier to hit a car for a single wheel and be gone in 2 minutes, than to try and flog a full set - they just hit four different cars over the course of a few days.
Reply By: Member - Rotord - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 11:01
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 11:01
How about a bit of sympathy for the poor thief . To be a thief you have to be stupid . They are going to be punished all their life by being stupid . How are they going to get educated enough to get a good job when they are stupid ? How do you attract a good wife when you are stupid . How do you have a happy marriage and raise
well ballanced children when youare stupid . I can't think of a worse punishment than being stupid . Imagine Amnesty International's response to a suugested punishment of brain surgery to lower a criminal's IQ ! These people are condemned to doing snatch recoveries on the tow ball and over the bonnet
creek crossings without a
snorkel . It is a real shame when you are effected by the actions of a thief , but remember , he is going to be punished far more than anything you could inflict on him with a pick handle .
Follow Up By: atoyot - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 14:09
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 14:09
Good point! When stupid people breed with stupid people, they end up with small stupid people who will grow up to be even stupider than their parents!
Reply By: Shane (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 12:36
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 12:36
Was waiting for the Mrs to return with the Fish & Chips when I heard a call on the Police frequency about something stolen that was roughly behind my place in the bushes. On getting home I went out the back to look at what was going on to see a Police Car & 3 stolen Jet Ski's on trailers. Obviously they were stealing them & leaving them there for a truck (probably Pan Tech) to pick them up later.One of the neighbours spooked them at in the morning. The Council has just put in a walking track that is wide enough for a vehicle to drive on & every low life now has access to grafitti every ones back fence.
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 12:40
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 12:40
Should have Said at " 1am in the morning ''.
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 13:20
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 13:20
I used to live in
Sydney(Cronulla). I had a undergroung garage under my unit and always parked my truck in there. One night I gave my mate a hand to take his enhine out of his kombi. We didnt finish till the early hours of the morning and by the time I got home I only had four hours till I had to get up for work. So left the truck out the front thinking that it will be right with all my
tools in the boot. Wrong on the four hours between two am and six am when I left for work someone broke into my truck, stole all my
tools and even used my
tools to take out my stereo, uhf, 4 x speakers and anything else of value. The insurance didnt even covet the cost of 1/5 of the replacment of all my tools. Bloody thieve's. Now I live in WA. But I still lock my car up in a garage every night.
Matt
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 22:50
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 22:50
Matt,
,,,,,,,,,"Now I live in WA"!!!
Mate,
WA is the burglary capital of 'Oz". I live in WA and I had me "Cruiser stolen off me driveway.
Bilbo
Reply By: ooze - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 15:50
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 15:50
I lost my 4th PLASTIC TOWBALL COVER last week!! Not even a flash silver one, plain old black. Things must be tough. Like someone said earlier, maybe karma will catch up with them. Then they'll need to write a list..... :)
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:58
Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 17:58
Hey, thanks Ooze !
You have made me feel much better, I kept thinking I was putting these covers somewhere when hooking the trailer up and losing them, have gone through half-a-dozen of 'em lately, it wasn't me after all ! lol.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:32
Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:32
They will be commonly stolen as they are 50mm and the same size as a 50mm aftermarket guage (boost, oil temp,
water temp, you know what I mean). Cheap way to make a guage holder is to buy a 50mm towball cover for $5 at Supercheap. Even cheaper to pinch them by the looks of it !!
Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 23:02
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 23:02
Al jokes aside, it is frustrating when this happens and it does make ya wonder about people.
In hindsight I was glad that I didn't catch 'em in the act. In the 'Crusier, when it was stolen, was a genuine US Marine Corps "Killing Knife". This was the real McCoy and an illegal deadly weapon. Don't ask how I got it. I just did.
I am so sick of this garbage that had I caught 'em I would prolly have used the knife and suffered dire consequences. My wife seems to be able to shrug off these things. I can't, I get really angry about theft.
Also in the car were 50 rounds of ammo. Good job they had the ammo & I had the gun!! But just in case they come back, I now have another 50 rounds!!
The real phisss orff was the attitude of the police when I phoned 'em about the 'Cruiser having been stolen. They didn't want to investigate it, talk to me, come and see the scene of the crime - zilch - and I've never heard another thing from 'em since. Makes yer mad when the West Australian newspaper does a "Crime Watch" column about 2 aboroginal girls shoplifting 2 bottles of Jack Daniels from a bottle
shop in Freo - worth about 60 bucks - and a $65,000.00 car goes missing and ya don't hear Jacques Schhitt about it!
Hmmphh!
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:50
Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 21:50
Bilbo,
Was thinking of you when the press got all excited in the last month about the rebirthing game the cops uncovered in the hills - Mundaring area I think. Pikkies of Cruiser parts and a big story about how quickly it all happens. Compliance plates from wrecked cars, components swapped around etc etc.
I suspect your 50 rounds of ammo would probably have got added to the pile in the chop
shop office - these aren't decent law abiding citizens that do this stuff!
Tim
Reply By: Member - Tim - Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 23:23
Wednesday, Oct 18, 2006 at 23:23
A friend of
mine used to have to
park his car on the street outside his house in New Farm in
Brisbane. One night the car alarm went off in the early hours of the morning so out he goes to have a look, no one around, no
sign of anyone trying to get in etc so he resets the alarm and goes back to bed. Five minutes later the alarm goes off again with the same story. This happened a couple more times until he got fed up and assumed the alarm was playing up so he turned it off. Next noise he heard was the car driving off down the street.
I have to agree that the whole concept of theft gets me extremely irritated, what makes them think they have the right to take things that you have worked and saved for? Insurance never covers it properly and certainly never covers the inconvenience of having to replace things. Sometimes the things that are taken have personal significance way past their value but they are still just gone. I just don't get it. It's odd though, most of that kind of thief doesn't seem to be rich so perhaps they do fall into the stupid category as mentioned above.
Tim.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:11
Thursday, Oct 19, 2006 at 22:11
The biggest problem here is petty theft is becoming socially acceptable. Be it $15 UHF aerials or a couple of biscuits at Woolies.
Case in point was Tuesday night. My youngest daughter and I went to the movies. Here's this butt ugly bugger foraging in the self serve lollies, great ugly fist shoved and then stuffing them in his semi toothed gob.
I gave him a funny look and his comment was, "you've got to try before you buy" My answer, "pity you're stealing them and have no intention of paying"
He mumbled and muttered and stumbled off with a blank look on his face.
Theft is theft no matter what the value or how it's window dressed.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 00:10
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 00:10
Hi Geoff
Is petty theft
the same as stealing a bit of speed (e.g speeding) ?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:48
Friday, Oct 20, 2006 at 20:48
Hello Richard,
I've never really thought about it in those terms. I guess they're both against the law!!
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |