Advice needed on the purchase of a GU Patrol 3.0ltr
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 11:53
damon_m
Hello all, I am looking at buying a 3.0ltr GuIII or GUIV 2002-2004 ST or DX model.
I'm in WA and there does not seem to be a lot around, the dealers have a lot of petrols and what diesels are around are over priced. I have been looking into Government auctions and have found some nice examples at good prices. 2004 models 3.0ltr with accessories inc winch for around $30,000 which is about my buget. However they are all auto's. I was really looking for a manual. But am now thinking about the auto option..
I would love to hear peoples feedback on the autos, some one told me they had a 2003 3.0ltr auto and it had a lot of turbo lag and now they have a manual and it's heaps better.
What are the autos like off road?
Is fuel consumption worse then the manuals
I dont do a lot of towing, eveery now and then i tow my go-kart trailer which is only about 600kgs max.
Also.. Do you guys think its a risk buying from an auction. Some vehicles are still under new car warranty, but the ones i'm looking at are in
Sydney and i'd have to purchase with out seeing it and get it put on the train or transport to
Perth. To buy from the east, i'm saving thousands and it's worth the cost of transport to get it here i think.
Thanks in advance for any help here, sorry this post is so long..
Reply By: RosscoH - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:04
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:04
Hi Damon,
I have a 2000 model 3lt Auto, Would never have another manual, I have always had manuals but wife only has an auto licence and she wanted to be able to legally drive it, so bought the auto and never looked back, fuel consumption is about the same as the manualls and is magic in the bush. The auto seems to have some sort of a transmission brake on low range 1st as you can select this in the steepest decents and the vehicle won't overrun the engine, it just goes down the
hill at idle and usually don't have to touch the brakes. Never had any problem with turbo lag. Am running 285/75/16 tyres. Hope this helps.
Cheers RosscoH
Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:07
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:07
Hate to be the negative one hear, but
Do a search of 3.0ltr Patrol topics on this
forum and you may reconsider your purchase, they do not have a good reputation for reliability.
Follow Up By: damon_m - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 14:54
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 14:54
yeah I know all about the 3.0ltr reliability problems, prepared to risk it as I'm going for a later model and although it still can be an issue, the occurrences of engine failures are not as common.
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:23
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:23
All 4x4s I have owned have been manuals except for one. That was a 4.2 ltr petrol GQ Patrol.
I found that the auto was brilliant for sand driving.
I have a 4.2 turbo diesel GU Nissan. I suggest that you look at the 4.2 diesel. It has a reputation for reliability that has been earnt since it was introduced in 1988 in the GQ Patrol.
Reply By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:48
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 12:48
When I was looking for a diesel patrol the local turbo guy ( Mike Vine Turbo) advised agains't the 3ltre and said stick to the 4.2ltre he out lined numerious reasons some were way over my head. I thought if anyone should know he should.
Wazza
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:05
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:05
Did you see the dyno charts he has for the 4.2's? If you see these I don't know why you would consider a 3.0.
I agree that if Mike doesn't know what he's talking about no-one does.
Did you end up with a 4.2? and are you southside or north?
Regards, Trevor (Northsider).
Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:04
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:04
Hi Trevor,
Yes at the time I did buy a 4.2 turbo diesel nissan, as I was a full time share trader at the time things change financially week to week and so I was forced to sell it (bo hoo) I now have a GQ patrol that is running on gas. As you can imagine it was hard to go backwards but the fuel economy in the GQ is good though.
Wazza
Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:06
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:06
Southside just up the road from Mike Vine
Reply By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:35
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:35
damom,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,this friday we trade our 02 patrol 3,otdi manual in at Waneroo nissan. It has just ticked over 13ok, has had regular
services at nissan and Rabson bros, rancho 5ooo's fitted about 20k ago( tho
the springs are still original anda bit on the soft side now :):) ), it also has a snorlel.
If you want to, just zip up there and get in early as when we were up there looking at a new patrol,we had half a dozen people ask when we were trading in.
hope this helps.
meow.
rick.p.s.,,,,they are giving us 28k as a trade so if you are quick and get in b4 it goes to the workshop, you may get it at a good price, as they said after it had been at the wirkshop, they were looking at around 33k on the floor.
Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:56
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:56
When I bought my 3L t/d Patrol Auto (VERY happy with it by the way) - I had arranged a trade-in of previous vehicle. Between deal and actual handover, a work colleague became interested in car. Yard was happy for me to sell it privately and just apply $ to new car. Worked out
well for him as the car was in great condition and he saved Dealer margin for no benefit.
Not sure if it is too late in this case, but thought I would mention it.
On the 3L, auto is very good in the sand - and yes, my wife would not drive manual so that counted out the 4.2 debate. I have no regrets, - have recently installed dtronic which I also found good.
ALan
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:01
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 01:01
Was gonna suggest the same thing.
C'mon Rick, be a nice guy :-) sell Damon the wagon for 28k and then renegotiate a 'no trade' deal on the new one, in my experience you will get a better price without a trade anyway.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Reply By: garrycol - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:55
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 15:55
Don't forget to factor the cost of new engine - not a matter of if but when - don't buy a 3 litre it is just not worth the risk.
Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:56
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 16:56
Don't keep one long enough to need injectors add up to $2000 each if you do
Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:52
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:52
Advice on buying a 3.0l ZD30 Patrol.......... Dont!!!
Look on this
forum and then go to google and type '3.0l ZD30 Patrol' and you will agree with the above.
The auto 3.0l Patrol I drove annoyed the cr@p out of me as it was reluctant to kick down and in normal driving refused to change gears until it had atleast 3000rpm on the board (even when I would take the foot off the accelerator it would not upchange!). This is too far high for my driving style and will lead to very short engine life (not that its very long anyway!) so people like to drive on the redline all day and reckon with no-ill effects but time shows this cannot be sustained. The 2-3 change as
well is huge difference as it leaves the 4 banger very off boost and is just as effective as applying the brakes to kill acceleration. I spent 9 months investigating all medium/large 4x4's that would suit my requirements and in the end settled on two: 100series and GU Patrol. I couldn't afford the 1HD-FTE Cruiser and the 4.2l Patrol (Petrols for me are not an option), and after reading this I was not going to touch a 3.0l Patrol if it was bought for me. I ended up with a 2.8l TD-6 Patrol and although it has a reputation of needing a decent right foot poke to move this is different in reality. I have never exceeded 3600 rpm (Big Red sandhill !!!) and the amount of times it has seen 3000rpm I could count on one hand. I never got the whole burning rubber thing but that said the Patrol keeps up with traffic easily and on the highway it has power to burn. That said though I am looking at various way too cure its sub 1500 rpm sluggishness that is a 'standard extra' of small capacity turbocharged diesels(exhaust, chip ect but $$$ restrict that currently). The 2.8 however is a six cylinder with a higher compression ratio (21.5 I believe) than the 3.0l (17.9) so that it is not as noticeable although I am expecting differing opinions on this from the diehard 3.0l matyrs. Basically the more pistions you can have the less the engine will work as the load is more distributed over the engine and not having be reliant on power being given every 180 degrees of crankshaft rotation. (120 degrees with a six, 90 degrees with a V8). Car makers are slowly waking up to this: 2.7l TDV6 in Discos, 3.0l V6 CRD/CDi in Merc/Jeep, 4.4l V8TD in new Cruiser and Nissans new big capacity 6/8 (??) cylinder engine on the way.
This said though I have done a few trips with a highly modified 3.0l (was a manual though!) and was pretty keen on one until the reports of 'grenading' surfaced. I do not use
mine for towing anything over 1.5 tonne. Small capacity engines are by designation for light towing only (again those from an un-engineering background will swear opposite), if towing anything over this and want some kind of longevity then you have 3 choices: 4.2lTD 100 series, 4.2l TD GU Patrol or F series.
I hope some of this helps.
Ben
Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:00
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:00
Oh, and look at Trucksters website (www.gupatrol.com.au) for 3.0l confirmation. The later ones are supposedly 'fixed' but no-one knows what Nissan/Renault did to it and only time would tell if this bandaid has worked. Older tech engines may not be the most economical/fastest but thier proven beyond doubt reliabilty is the reason they are still selling in larger numbers than modern unproven/unreliable donks.
Follow Up By: PatrolBen - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:16
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:16
Sorry Truckster.
its actually www.gupatrol.com
Follow Up By: Member - Kingsley N (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:01
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:01
What a disappointing website from a bloke who has had heaps to say on this
forum about 3.0 Patrols!
Kingo
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:24
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:24
Go the Auto. Turbo lag is only an issue in the manual, you should drive one to satisfy yourself. The reason they are scarce and the resale is so good is because they are hard to get on the second hand market relative to the petrols. Personally I would only buy one with a very good history because being relatively high tech in the engine dept. they do not suffer
well at the hands of fools in the servicing area. IMHO relatively minor issues can become major if not corrected quickly.
Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:49
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:49
I've got my mouth zipped so I'll leave the fireworks to Truckster and Leroy :-)
Regards Andrew.
Follow Up By: AJB - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:24
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:24
Or me. Are you insane?
Reply By: Member - Ben H (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:51
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 20:51
Hi Damon,
I have just traded my 04 ST (safety pack) 3.0TD auto and moved into the new Pathfinder, the Patrol was a great truck, did 100k's in 2.5 years and it never missed a beat (a few little minor issues under warranty but all resolved). I had 285/75/16 BFG's on it and they are a great match for the car.
Fuel on a trip between 10/11L p/100k's sitting around 100kph.
Around town heavy city traffic about 13/14l p/100k's.
With the tyres at around 16psi it was great on soft sand, I had to get the Auto as the wife will not drive the manual, off road it was great all round.
If I was buying another one I would make sure that I got the safety pack as it has the dual airbags and ABS, the ABS is a must have IMO.
There will be people out there that will bag the 3.0 (just be wary of them) but
mine was a gem of a car.
Thanks, Ben.
Follow Up By: dublediff - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:00
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:00
sorry to post off topic but interested in your opinion of the pathy, I drove an auto on the weekend and found it to be very quick off the mark, but also very noisy, what is your opinion, thanks Eric.
Follow Up By: Member - Ben H (NSW) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:00
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:00
Hi Eric,
I have had the new Pathie for about 3 days now and have about 450kms on the clock, the noise level in the cabin is much quieter than the Patrol and comfort for driving is fantastic. I got the Ti with all the bits and for a smidge under 60k drive away (bull bar, tow bar,
snorkel, winch, lights and roof racks there is not much else around that offers a better bang for buck. The way that I judge the noise level is with my GPS unit in the car, in the Patrol I need an extension speaker and on high volume to hear it but not in the Pathie its only about half volume.
I love the new truck for comfort and fuel economy!
Ben.
Reply By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:13
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:13
Just in time it seems damon_m my mate has just spent $2700 on his 2002 GU good on you
Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:19
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:19
I mean for not even concidering the 3 ltr
Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:44
Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 22:44
I would not go for the 3litre manual,,,, lacks low down torque and has wicked turbo lag...
If i was standing where you are now with the oppotunity to make a fresh decision,,,,
well i would buy the 4.2litre manual...and if there wasnt one of these in the world left to buy i would buy an auto 3litre...but i would never touch another manual 3litre as long as i lived...
The minute you take it offroad and sample an uphill rocky slow speed track you will then know what i mean,,,, everywhere else it will appear fine....
Actaully,,, even a standard hillstart in traffic will get you to...
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:18
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 06:18
Auto shouldn't be a hindrance off road, in fact it can be an asset, particularly in mud or sand.
My only thoughts on the 3.0 v 4.2 debate are that when you are going slow off road with very low revs..... the 3.0L is a n/a 3.0 trying to push a 2 tonne+ car around.... at least with the 4.2 it has the low down grunt to get going.... even at 100 revs.....
Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:49
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:49
Damon
Reading this
forum for some time it becomes apparent that the early (pre 2003) 3.0L Patrols had a chequered history.
But I bought my 2003 3.0L auto in
Perth secondhand with 20,000km on the clock in 2004, it has just recently ticked over to 100,000km. In that time I have fitted 285/75 tyres first Bridgestone AT's and then MTR's, fitted a Safari DTronic this was a worthwhile investment (133kW, 420Nm). Fitted Ironman aftermarket
suspension with a 2inch lift another worthwhile invesment, and blocked off the EGR which I am still trialling,
snorkel and a few other bits.
I started off buying it purely for doing lots of long distance travelling in remote WA and since moving to SA have gotten more in to the 4WDing stuff. I know I may be driving a ticking time bomb, but so far it has been great, the auto is excellent off-road. Having said all of that though, at the time if I had a spare $80k at the time I still would have bought a new TD Landcruiser.
Snowy
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:04
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:04
Best advice - DONT.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:31
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:31
If you're not doing heavy towing, and aren't going to flog it's guts out, you will find it a good vehicle. My 4wd enthusiast son fits auto's to his 4wds, as he prefers them. I can see you won't be put off by the negativity here after the few horror stories. I do think the engine will not last as long as we usually expect from a diesel, but that is speculation on my part (maybe I've been listening to the horror stories too)
If you
check out the history (like what that Department would have used the vehicle for), Government auctions are a good way to buy. Our 3 ltr was ex Govt, but had been traded at a dealer, so we had to pay the mark up, but it had the extras including large fuel tank, dual spare wheels, heavy duty springs, and had been
well looked after by the lady driver. We have bought several times at Govvy auctions in the past.
Buying in the ES can be worthwhile, as the prices may be lower, and
check out the stamp duty in each state - WA charges are appalling, so you can save there as
well. May be worth flying over rather than buying unseen and getting it transported.
Follow Up By: damon_m - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:45
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:45
cheers for that adivce motherhen, your right, and there are positive stories out there for the later models. For the past 6 years I have been driving a 2.8ltr Hilux and to be honest, i have and quite often have to, flog the guts out of that, 304,000kms and its still going strong. I know with the 3.0ltr patrol, flogging it to death will be its death. With all the extra grunt over the hilux, i'd doubt i'd need to give it to it. Steady as she goes. Holding off a few more weeks untill i'm in
Perth and then off to
Sydney, hopefully some good rigs will come up during that time. If i buy from east, i'll see how i go for transport. It wouldn't be so bad if i lived in
Perth but i'm in the North.
Tom Price, Karijini country!!
Follow Up By: damon_m - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:46
Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:46
Sydney to
Tom Price is a hell of a long way on a rather tight for time scedual
Reply By: AMack - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:38
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:38
G'day damon, we bought a patrol (new) as it is the only diesel/live front axle/auto and what I regard as real 4wd left on the market. We had previously had many great trips in a GQ 4.2 diesel and a 2.8 hilux both manuals and want'd to share more driving with wife hence the auto. I still own the hilux, which I love to drive and bash about in but want'd a decent touring / off road vehicle 50k being our limit. (couldn't get any landcruiser near that price except a prado and it has IFS so it didn't fit my 4wd criteria) The 4.2 patrols don't come in auto. (and are way overpriced.) We have travelled across the
Simpson Desert towing a camper trailer and found it very capable and just returned from a trip through western
Queensland towing about 600 kg trailer with no effort. Can't comment if GUIII / IIII engines are an issue but did notice the absolute abundance of these vehicle out in the bush. In caravan parks, grey nomads, family tourers/ government depts. all 3.0's and mostly autos. (7 out of 10 patrols would have been 3.0's. ) In days gone by it used to be all Toyota, but they have priced themselves out of reach. The nissan does have its faults, interior is not as functional as some and the ventillation is a sore point but it is roomy inside and its got roof gutters which made fitting our roof tent easy. Round town it uses 11.5 l/100 and trips up to 15l/100.
Hope you find what your looking for.