trailer to accomodate family of six

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 17:49
ThreadID: 38723 Views:4073 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
We are looking for a new camper trailer to accommodate ourselves and or 4 children. For the last 4 years we have had a Goldstream wind up camper, which has served us well. We have ventured across the Gibb River Road., toured Tassie and the corner country N.S.W. as well as jaunts in between. However, we would like something a bit more compact and smaller to tow BUT with lots of storage(no room in the Patrol for anything other than ourselves) something Tardis like. At the moment we also carry a tent (on roof rack) and leave the trailer behind for the rougher stuff i.e. Kalumburu.
Any ideas?
P.S. 2 boys take their swags,need room for 2 girls and ourselves to sleep, fridge, clothing, food. Hope to go to Cape York 2007

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:33

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:33
What about a TrakShak, ours sleeps 6 with heaps of room on the floor and the option of an extra room which takes another queen size mattress...

you have storage within the belly of the trailer, Al has custom made _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx for ours which stores, 70Lt fridge, portaloo, coleman hotwater service, camp ovens and a section for non perishable foods. He also extended the drawbar, built a "toolbox" for the front and we store chairs, table and solar panels in there...

easy to tow and we've taken it on a couple of rugged drives...

Lyn
AnswerID: 200357

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:35

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:35
Get a Trak Shak ,,

We have one !
Plenty of room ,,,10 minute setup,, massive storage area,,
Cannot go wrong

FollowupID: 459714

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:53

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 18:53
I agree that the TrakShak has oodles of space.

However, we are a family of 6 as well and find that the Ultimate Camper (which we have owned since feb 1999) suits our needs well...........except if the weather turns REALLY foul. Our youngest lad (6) still sleeps in the King Size bed with Annette and I. The other 3 boys sleep in their swags......if the weather is too cold or wet, they have the under-lid tent which can accomodate their swags too; just!

The TrakShak shines with the large amount of under-cover floor space it has. This is really valuable when the rain really sets in....(we can only close our eyes and try to remember what good heavy rain was!!!!!!!)
AnswerID: 200359

Follow Up By: Georgina - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 19:11

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 19:11
Thanks Lyn, and Roachie
we hope hope to get to the Melbourne 4WD show this weekend to check out a short list.
Roachie could you tell me in what and where you store the boys clothes as I find this quite a challenge when we are away for 4 or 5 weeks.

Georgina
FollowupID: 459440

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 08:23

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 08:23
G'day Georgina,

We've got our clothing needs down to a "fine-art" (or at least Annette has...hahaha). Being able to fit all 4 kids on the back seat (I'm not sure whether you are able to do that or do you have to use the 3rd row of seats?), the cargo area contains a fridge on a slide, a drawer for tools etc, a large AGM battery, 2 air compressors and air tanks, large 1st aid kit, 30 litres of water. All of that is contained within a rough-made plywood structure. (If you have any back issues of 4WD Monthly, our truck/trailer was the feature article in December 2004). On top of the plywood contraption, there is room for 3 plastic tubs which hold most of the clothes for Annette and the our 3 youngest boys. My 17 y/old son (from my 1st marriage) carts his gear in a backpack sort of thing and that fits in a slot on top of the drawer and in front of the battery. My gear also goes in a backpack and I fit that in where-ever I can.

The boot of the camper is quiet large and holds a lot of gear. We also use the roof rack (with zip-up bag) for storing all manner of gear. The swags normally go on top of the camper.

I guess the main thing is that we've learnt to minimise the amount of clothing we take.

FollowupID: 459526

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:15

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 21:15
We have a Trak Shak (since 96) it has been all over the place including Cape York.

Heaps of space, easy to set up and easy to tow.

The best we have done was when New Years eave 1999. We were staying with a crowd at a mates property near Goulburn and had 14 people in the Trak Shak. Most of them were small and scattered on the floor but there were 4 adults sleeping in comfort on the two queen size beds.

As for storage space, we can and do fill it up but mostly with stuff we don't use. I am thnking of making up some boxes to mount on the jerry can racks so I can take even more useless junk on the next trip. Push bike rack hangs off the spare wheel and we can put a tinnie on top.

AnswerID: 200393

Reply By: Member - Alan (WA) - Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:19

Sunday, Oct 22, 2006 at 23:19
Spoke with someone in the industry recently who suggested that Trak Shak are now being made in China - but that they are not saying much about this. As this chap said, no drama as long as the purchaser knows and is not being led to think otherwise.

Plenty of good stuff being made in China - but better to check whether build specs / quality have changed - as the people who have them and will give you no doubt great feedback may own CTs manufactured locally before this change.

Anyway - hope this is of some use.

AnswerID: 200412

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:40

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:40
Spoke to the Trak Shak Maker / Owner at Caufield show last year,, yes they are importing a lot of it,,assembling them here ,,

But you can still get the Australian version ,,, just pay $6000 - $8000 Extra
FollowupID: 459715

Reply By: Teabag - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:09

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 07:09
Mate,

The best camper Trailer I have seen for a family that sleeps 2 adults and 4 children all of the ground is the Camprite. I personally think it is better than the Trak Shak though this is only personal opinion. Truely worth a look.
AnswerID: 200426

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:03

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:03
Mate I have to agree, hello on another forum teabag!

I have recently taken delivery of our Camprite and we chose this model for the exact reasons you are stating, we have only one cild at the moment but she is too young to sleep in a tent by herself.

Send me your email address and I will send you some photos,

Try www.campritecampers.com.au
FollowupID: 459531

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:26

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:26
Looks a good set up. How does it fit 2 adults and 4 kids? I see a double bed and 2 singles?
FollowupID: 459729

Follow Up By: cam_champion - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:51

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:51
as the side pods (singlebeds) form the roof of the camper when folded, these have a solid floor when set up. Camprite make a bunk beds option for each side pod which means that you have a double bed (mine was extended to 2050mm long as I am 6'5") that extends over the draw bar and each single bed with the bunk option will sleep 2 on either side.

One big advantage that we realised after we bought the unit and had it set up next to another type of camper being the fold out type is that the footprint required for the camprite is a lot smaller, whilst the livable area is the same size. This is because the main bed utilises the space above the drawbar. You are then left with the entire floor space of the trailer as general access area which is plenty big enough for a couple of those aluminium fold up tables. Down either side of the camper is bench seating for the length of the camper. So in its basic setup you can sleep 6 and have undercover eating area in about 7 minuites setup time.

I have no official affiliation with this company, just am happy to promote a product that we love and have had nothing but excelent service from Reg and the guys at Camprite!
FollowupID: 459735

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:15

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:15
I think what everyone is saying that get a soft floor camper trailer, 7 x 4 box, with 50 mm sides (fairly standard), with tough off road suspension, and you can't go wrong. No need to take the big tent and everyting else associated with tent camping because you'll be able to tow the camper everywhere pretty well.

Our trailer is as above, with a full length slide out kitchen (about 2m x 38cm wide x 45 cm high) with a number of custom made shelves, doors etc, fits a stack of food, all cooking stuff, stove, water pump etc, still leaves room for 6 x 65 L tubs with oodles of room on top to spare. Combine that with carrying up to 145L of water (tank plus 4 x jerries), 2 x 4.5L gas bottles (water and gas all stored externally) a big tool box up front for spare plus other stuff (like all our chairs, bbq etc). Queen size bed plus 11 extra feet inside main tent area, plus a full size awnning with full annex walls (if weather warrants) and there would be stacks of room for 6. All this is costing me $11500 brand new, all custom made to our species, but this included the indulgence of $1300 in 3 x wheels/tyres.

A number of companies make decent stuff, ours is a custom made trailer with Sar Major tent part, but others like Tambo, Cavalier, etc make good low cost options. If your budget extends to $20000+, then the Trak Shak is a good option (but they need a lot of room to set up as they are very large, and most of the area is in the main tent section).

D-JAck
AnswerID: 200630

Reply By: Discorob - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:40

Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 21:40
Hello Georgina

We have a Camprite and couldn't be happier. We are only a family of four, so not entirely comparable, but the bunks that Camprite can supply appear to work well.

Have looked at a number of Trakshaks and others, but we still think the Camprite is the best bet for a young family. And we don't think it's just bias...We often chat to other campers around the camp fires (as you do!!!) and do the standard "check out each other's rig" thing... And we are yet to feel any sense that something else would serve our purposes and young family better.

Once the family grow up a bit then other options are open.

Search the forum here on "Camprite" and check out the posts...few bad words if any about them.

There aren't many of these campers on the east coast - we live in Canberra - but they are still well worth it despite distance to the supplier. We called in on the factory when over in Perth - 6 months after receiving the camper - and they were only too happy to give us a supply of various bits to take away with us... should we ever need them... (not yet!).

Camprite also has a newer model out now with around double the storage that ours has - and ours is fine for us.

By the way - no afiiliation with the company -just a happy customer.

Rob
AnswerID: 201118