Bush Bogans

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 08:46
ThreadID: 38736 Views:4646 Replies:8 FollowUps:44
We have all met or seen the city and burb variety of bogans but to those of you who have not seen this other species of bogan let me explain. Yesterday I went to fish some trout at lilydale lake. I walked through a bushy area to a spot hard to get to but also good for fishing. We arrived to find a heap of beer bottles and cans all over the place, the bush bogans had been here. I dont know how they got here or their motivations to leave the TV, but somehow they have adapted to this new and harsh environment. On another occasion I was caving, we drove for an hour or so, and then caved to a difficult & hard to reach part of the cave, and yep, you guessed it, bush bogans had been there before us, opening up unreachable territory, surviving on nothing but what the land has to offer - and beer. Thankfully they left an easy route to follow out or we could have been lost, this glass trail has helped countless people find their way out of many difficult situations long long before GPS was here. These people are the innovators, explorers and trailblazers of our fine land. So next time your out in the remote, remember a bush bogan has been there before you, making safe your perilous journey.

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:02

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:02
Pain in the butt, isn't it!

Last time I drove the Gulf section of the Savannah Way (and that's pretty remote country) I didn't need a map or GPS I just followed the trail of beer cans along the side of the road.

AnswerID: 200445

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:11

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 10:11
you know who dropped them dont u... lmao
FollowupID: 459540

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:07

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:07
That reminds me of a story I was told once.

Somewhere in North Queensland there is a conical hilltop, jutting out of the tropical jungle. An itrepid adventurer decided to climb it one day. He drove to within 6 kilometres of it and then set about the walk and the climb which took a fair part of the day. He arrived at the top, puffed and feeling that he had achieved something, and to view the surrounding landscape. The cone was about the size of a basketball court.

But he found that the Bogans had been there long before him and had left their calling card of a dozen or so empty beer cans.

It transpired after sopme research at a later date, that a heli muster mob had gone there after a days work somewhere and had slaked their thirst, leaving a monument to their endeavour.

AnswerID: 200446

Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:12

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 09:12
Willem, I remember reading the same story. That's going back a while.
FollowupID: 459532

Reply By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 11:54

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 11:54
I must admit I have trouble understanding why even otherwise "responsible" campers seem to have an overwhelming urge to throw stubbies & cans into the fire!
AnswerID: 200460

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 12:30

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 12:30
I don't have a problem with them throwing cans into the fire as long as the fish them out in the morning. Some people seem to think they disolve after they have been burnt. Last trip on the CSR we had half a bag of our crushed cans and a full bag of other peoples. We could have picked up another bag easy but had nowhere to carry them.

FollowupID: 459557

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:33

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 17:33
Likewise.... I often throw cans into a fire at night, but ALWAYS dig 'em out in the morning.

Not stubbies though.....
FollowupID: 459610

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:34

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:34
I still struggle to understand the logic of throwing them into the fire, why not just crush them & put them in your rubbish bag, saves dredging through hot ashes the next morning.
FollowupID: 459743

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:52

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:52
Depends where you are. If you are driving past a bin every day or two I may not bother either. If you are on a longish trek, burning stops them from smelling and they don't attract flies, dingos etc. We have a rubbish bag holder on the back and burning decreases the volume of rubbish (paper etc) and if you are 2-3 weeks between points where you can drop your rubbish that can be important. At the end of 17 days on the CSR we had 1/2 a bag of our own rubbish. I could have filled a truck with other peoples though. While it sounds like a chore it only takes a few minutes to do.

FollowupID: 459749

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:54

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:54
shaker they may be talking about food cans in which case the reason for throwing them into the fire is so they dont start stinking later after you have fished them out and put them in the rubish bag.
For alu cans it takes a pretty decent fire to burn them and even then some is often left - very hit or miss - I just check them behind the seat and have a bog out into the bin at home
FollowupID: 459751

Follow Up By: Jodi - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:08

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:08
Hi shaker, we throw all ours in the fire and pull out what has not burnt the next day. Few reasons.
1. No food smell when you have to cart your rubbish around for a while
2. They crush even smaller again after they have been burnt and take up even less space.
FollowupID: 459767

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:24

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:24
I was mainly talking about drink cans, I can understand burning out steel food cans.
FollowupID: 459783

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:40

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:40
I always use to carry out aluminium drink cans but have lately taken to burning them (Al melts at 660C - which is well within the capability of a modest fire) and find that providing I wait until the fire is burning well the can vapourises nicely. I suppose it would be better to recycle them but I doubt global warming increases much because I burn a few drink cans?

FollowupID: 459792

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:09
what's wrong with an udder mike? ;)

well, that's what I herd....
FollowupID: 459799

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:30

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:30
Nothing at all wrong with an-udder Mike - in fact, this forum would benefit from three or four more of them :)
FollowupID: 459801

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:09
So do the aluminium cans melt or vaporise?
I fail to see how filling the fire pits of the High Country with molten aluminium is ecologically responsible.
FollowupID: 459917

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:52

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:52
Well... I'm no physicist, and you don't appear to be either, but they seem to burn so I suspect that equates to vapourising.

>I fail to see how filling the fire pits of the High Country with
>molten aluminium is ecologically responsible.

I don't think I am - the bloke who suggested I do this seems to know his stuff but if you know better then please enlighten me and I'll stop doing it.

Btw what do you do with your waste at home? I believe most (all?) councils put much of it into landfill – how, I wonder, do you remain “ecologically responsible” at home too? Or doesn’t that count?

PS. Many would suggest having fires at all in the High Country is not ecologically responsible.
FollowupID: 459948

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:06

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:06
"I fail to see how filling the fire pits of the High Country with molten aluminium is ecologically responsible."

Well.... for my part, filling the fire pits and leaving the pits full of half molten alu cans would definitely NOT be ecologically responsible.... however, the next morning I spend a whopping five minutes of my time to grab my shovel, sift through the ashes and remove the said molten cans and leave them to cool beside the fire whilst I enjoy a nice steaming cup of coffee and the quiet reflective pleasure that early morning brings. Once they're cool, I place them in our rubbish bag. (Our club hosted the 4X4 Qld Corroborree earlier this year and I made it my job to do this at each of the fire pits each morning, albeit NOT with a cup of coffee at each one.... ;-)) and "cleaned" the fire pits of much in the way of what can only be described as litter. I like to think that many of the people who placed it here would have got their litter out themselves only I beat them to it.....)

As Mike said..... when you take it home and put it in the bin, the council puts it in the ground!!

;-))

FollowupID: 459951

Follow Up By: Steve63 - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:26

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:26
The Aluminium does not vaporise. Foil and cans do loose density and can be crushed much smaller. I suspect some of the mass is converted to aluminium oxides ie it oxidises. If you want to call this rusting or burning fair enough. If someone has a mass spectrometer they can take a sample and find out exactly. Is aluminum oxide an issue in the environment. Good question. If it is you think it is you better check your toothpaste.

FollowupID: 459969

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:32

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:32
In my experience alu cans will burn but it takes a decent fire like after you first light it. They wont start fire in a gently flickering campfire. Even after being burnt they dont completly burn and leve bits behind. It is pretty hit or miss with putting the cans in the hottest part some times they burn sometimes they diont and sometimes they 1/2 burn. Besides if they burnt easily i would have a roaring fire with all the cans i manage to finish off!
- Tried it didnt like it and now just treat them like normal rubish
FollowupID: 459972

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:46

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 09:46
I was merely trying to provoke thought as to what we should, or shouldn't be throwing in the fire, my main objection is to stubbies.

BTW Mike, the melting point of aluminium is as you said 660.37 degrees celsius, but the boiling point is 2467.0 degrees, which I assume is when it "vaporises"

I assume that my household rubbish does, in fact go to landfill, but that doesn't mean that it gives us the right to create "landfill" in places of our own choosing.
FollowupID: 459973

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 10:01

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 10:01
That'd be brill Davoe,

"darl, can you crank the fire up a bit more, I'm getting cold.'

'sure love, just be a few mins...' he he he

vapourising temp of aluminium is EXTREMELY high I believe. To boil it you would need a temp of around 2000 degrees C higher than normal hydrocarbon flames.

tin I believe is less, steel even higher.

so, for all cans, you should take them out with you eh?
FollowupID: 459976

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 12:55

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 12:55
QUOTE: so, for all cans, you should take them out with you eh?

The short answer to that is obviously YES!
If you can take them in full it's a bloody lot easier to take them out empty!
FollowupID: 460002

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:04

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 13:04
yep. and another reason being that they are even smaller then (crushed) too so no dramas. interesting watching what happens to cans and bottles in a hot fire though, just remeber to fish them out later and take them with you.
FollowupID: 460003

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:34

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:34
"I was merely trying to provoke thought as to what we should, or shouldn't be throwing in the fire, my main objection is to stubbies."

I'm with you all the way there Shaker...... and you have provoked thought on this matter..... good thread indeed!!!

FollowupID: 460067

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:50

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:50
Except I remain unconvinced that burning aluminium cans is an issue.

The only person on this thread who seems to understand the chemistry/physics involved is Steve63 and, if I read him correctly, he's saying that if you think burning a few ally cans is an issue you had better stop using toothpaste (containing aluminium oxide (Colgate)) in the bush?

Given, that as one report I read said "Australia is swimming in aluminium resources" I would appreciate input from anyone with a scientific background who can contribute fact rather than opinion?

btw Steve: Funnily enough I do have access to a mass spectrometer. As you may know, a company in Melbourne designs and manufactures them and I have done some design work for them in the past – what should I ask them to test? (I’m electronics not chemical, so keep it simple please :)

FollowupID: 460072

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:57

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:57
Except you aren't burning them ... you are merely melting them.
FollowupID: 460074

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:29

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:29
I might not understand the hows and whys Mike But I do have a fair bit of real world experience with burning cans. Yes I do believe they "burn" oxadise or whatever with a green flame (or is that just coz they are vb cans) but one of my jobs was to rake out the burnt food cans etc in the morning and IMHO burning alu cans isusully an incomplete process
FollowupID: 460698

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:06

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 14:06
Take a drive to Bungleboori campsite/picnic area on the Newnes Plateau to see the reminence of the animals that go there.

And ride there bikes up and down the road around the camp ground, they've got the whole forest to ride in, but oh no lets ride around the camp area and pi$$ everyone off.

Dirty filthy inconsiderate Mongrels.

AnswerID: 200479

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:23

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:23
Actually this topic has been raised plenty of times here. I think over time people such as virtually everyone who visits this forum probably can have a possitive effect. It will continue to become more and more unacceptable behaviour. I remember I was out for a day trip and one guy threw an empty can on the ground, I didnt have the gall to speak up but someone else did. Funny thing is the can dropper left it there anyway. I went and put it in my ute, I tried to do it inconspiciously as I really was not being bold or making a point, and in the end nothing was said but I think the guy saw me and maybe next time he wont do it. From some of the remarks made on this site there are a lot of you who would have told this guy off head on, and its probably the bravest approach, the least bravest being to take no action at all. I dont have a point other than I think the whole environment message will eventaully get through, thanks to people taking leadership roles by saying what is right, even if its not too popular.
AnswerID: 200507

Follow Up By: silkwood - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:38

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 16:38
Sometimes best to say nothing at all. Two years ago I was camping besides the Howqua and a small group of youngsters (18-20) had their shower tent set up on the pebbles in the river bed. I politely pointed out the downside of introducing soap and shampoo (there were young women with them) into the very river they took water fromm and was promptly told to get f^%$ed. A little less politely I told the little scrote to watch his mouth, pointing out I had't been offensive.

Next morning they were gone before sunrise, leaving two great scratches down the side of my car. If they had decided to slash a couple of tires I could have been in a bad situation.

FollowupID: 459601

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:53

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 19:53
We were having a spot of lunch at Leichhardt Falls in the Gulf Country when 9 newish Landcruiser utes towing boats, with two blokes in each, turned up. They were fishing fellas and had been in the Gulf somewhere doing their thing. We watched them unpack their eskies, have two or three cans of beer each, some lunch and other things and left all their rubbish there as they ambled back to their vehicles. I grabbed a rubbish bag and we walked over to collect their rubbish. They still hadn't left so we walked over to the lead vehicle and my missus said to the driver 'How about taking your rubbish with you' to which they said to the missus 'F....off bitch' to which I said 'Well it shows that you don't have to be educated to buy a flash new Landcruiser' (off the top of my head wishing to be rude in return)...The fella spun his wheels and drove off. The next driver got out, took the rubbish bag from the missus and put it on the back of his ute and said 'Sorry' and then they all left.

I will say things if it needs saying. Most of the time people are so embarrassed they don't know what to say, as like with most things, they had not given it a thought. All the advertising on TV and in the papers has done very little to change peoples preception of their role in the environment. Indigenous people are the worst offenders.

FollowupID: 459641

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:20

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:20
With a response like that from the offender I would have been scared for the wifes safety. Sounds like he was the the kind of guy to start getting physical.
FollowupID: 459686

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:46

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:46
Tourers aren't imune either.

The roadside stop on the WA NT border on the Tanami is disgraceful. Litter every where. Most of it lunch remains rather than alcohol containers.

Of course the road from Halls Creek down to Billiluna is kept in a pristine state by the indigenous owners....not.

Apparently they who want to restrict access to the Canning have no issue with lining the road to the top of it in green aluminium and empty green cardboard boxes.

FollowupID: 459692

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:10

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:10
Yes F4Phantom

It could have been nasty. I suppose in hindsight one has to be careful when approaching groups of people to confront. If you stand up to people though on the whole they will back off. My observation is that people who utter words of nastiness like that are normally cowards. However I wouldn't take on a city street gang on a train or bus as experienced in Perth in 2005 when a group of drunken aborigines boarded a bus and looked menacing. We got off at the next bus stop...lol
FollowupID: 459717

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:21

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:21
geocacher (djcache),

was just going to post the same thing - wen't down the Tanami about 2 weeks ago. Followed the trail of beer cans from the turn to Billiluna - started flattening a few to keep myself amused. Mind you passed abot 4 'local' vehicles going the other way with about 8 lads in each and all missing the windscreen and a shower of cans issuing from each. Wasn't going to stop and correct the though.

Border is a bit grotty.

Mind you, I thought Billiluna was a bit 'rough', however it appeared the model of civic pride compared to Yuendemu. Total f*ing rubbish tip. I have never seen a bigger sh*thole. The one place on the whole trip I would driven out with flat tires rather than stop there.
FollowupID: 459813

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:38

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:38
Maybe Exploroz could put the EPA number for reporting offenders in a prominent position on this website, & we can all program it in to our phones & report people that we see leaving sites like rubbish tips.
It really annoys me to have to fill my rubbish bag with other peoples crap, BEFORE I even set up camp!
AnswerID: 200645

Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 10:09
As most of us carry digital cameras a quick pic taken and E mailed to the relevant council / nat park office with a description and number plate if not in pic often will stir the possum so to speak.
Have done this myself and was informed by the council of the results.

I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

FollowupID: 459755

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:18

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:18
both of these ideas are a much better idea than trying to convince people on site. I recon I am going to start doing this. Also the EPA have a dobb in hotline

"Reporting litterers

You can report to EPA someone throwing litter from a car:

* online – registering with EPA and then submitting a report online (log in to the EPA Reporting System)
* by mail or fax
o downloading the EPA Litter Report Form (Adobe PDF file, 403KB), filling it in and returning it to the address or fax number specified on the form, or
o calling the EPA Litter Report Line on 1800 35 25 55 (24 hours) and having the above form mailed to you to fill out.

Please note that other cases of littering, including putting up of posters without consent, windblown litter from commercial premises or construction sites, should be reported to your local council or other relevant agency. Further information on litter is available. "

this is found here

" target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link

FollowupID: 459787

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:46

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:46
==Maybe ExplorOz could put the EPA number for reporting offenders in a prominent position on this website==

Be aware that this freecall number being banded around here is ONLY for Victoria, therefore it makes sense not to place it all over this website. Just for others following this thread, the numbers above refer to EPA Victoria! (as opposed to EPA Qld etc). NSW has different numbers (1300 and 13 numbers IIRC). Qld doesn't really promote a single number, maybe we should use the Victorian one due to the number of them up here at the moment ;-)

FollowupID: 459956

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:21

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:21
As someone that hasnt had a haircut for over 10 years and feel more comfortable in work clothes than dressed up i resent the insinuation that i and my other Bogan mates are responsable for all the littering
AnswerID: 200665

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:58

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:58
It depends if the hairstyle is a mullet or not LOL
FollowupID: 459796

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:32

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:32
What's wrong with mullets???........ says Member - Brian (Gold Coast) who proudly wears a mullet "do".......

;-))
FollowupID: 459815

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:23

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 23:23
have to agree Davo

as I sit here with my flannel shirt on, and a Calton Mid in front of me (to old to drink VB LOL)

No one likes littering as well as name callers

FollowupID: 459919

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 02:25

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 02:25
Brian, I didn't say there was anything wrong with them, ya bogan ;-)))

Richard, I don't think mid-strengths qualify LOL

Fellas, I get around in trackydacks, 3 day growth, swear, and tell my son to stick his food in his 'gob'. What else do I need to do to join the club?
FollowupID: 459934

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:18

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 06:18
"trackydacks, 3 day growth, swear, and tell my son to stick his food in his 'gob'. What else do I need to do to join the club?"

Nuthin..... yor inn bloke!!

;-))

FollowupID: 459941

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 10:09

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 10:09
www.bogan.com.au
FollowupID: 459977

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 12:42

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 12:42
Noice LOL
FollowupID: 459999

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:35

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:35
Sweeeeeeeeeet!!
FollowupID: 460068

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:36

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:36
Davoe

I'm now known as a CUB

And I voted
FollowupID: 460116

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:41

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:41
I just lov it

The Definition of a Bogan
What is a bogan?

BOGAN (pronunciation boe-gn) is a term used primarily in Australia to describe a particular section of the working class demographic. This derogatory slang word is a gender-neutral noun; this being important as many bogans tend to gravitate towards one another forming relationships and extended families. A bogan family is not an uncommon phenomena in certain regions. A bogan typically resides in either a low-cost housing estate, government housing or in the outlying regional areas of continental Australia. Generally bogans tend to congregate in areas with little or no features & amenities.

Generally the bogan fits a particular stereotypical image. The perception of what actually constitutes a bogan has been shaped over the years primarily by the media; notable especially are television programs such as Channel 7's Today Tonight and Channel 9's A Current Affair . These programs regularly feature stories of harrowing boganism- including communities under siege from bogan terrorism, and bogans "rorting the system" in relation to welfare benefits and questionable practices. A number of comedy programs have also featured bogans in the past, prime examples being Kylie Mole of The Comedy Company, Poida (bogan pronunciation of the name "Peter") played by Eric Bana, and more recently Bloke Man of the Comedy Inc late shift. Eric Bana's portrayal of the character Poida gained him accolades within the industry and effectively launched his professional acting career. This is one of very few examples of extreme boganism leading to success & wealth.

So now we have a basic understanding of the bogan, we may delve further into the mysterious world of mullets and long-kneck beer bottles in brown paper bags. Traits of the bogan can be summarised by the following points:

• A pronounced lack of dress sense in social situations. Typical bogan attire consists of a flannelette shirt, King Gee stubbie shorts (either blue/khaki), torn or soiled jeans from the 1980's or earlier, and of course double-plug standard issue white thong sandals with black rubber. A bogan's dress sense is not influenced by intended destination/occasion hence the line between workwear and formal wear is often hazy at best. On rare occasions bogans may be spotted wearing enclosed shoes when entering the local RSL to "have a slap on the pokies" or to "get bleep wif me mates on the veebs (VB)". A female bogan will usually wear a matching ensemble usually consisting of second-hand fashions or products purchased from the discount retail chains Best and Less or Big W.

• A lack of personal hygiene. A bogan will often allow his/her hair to grow into an attractive style named the "mullet" as popularised in the 1980's. A hair cut is a rare event for the bogan, and most styling occurs when the razor is brought out to either a) produce a "skinhead" style cut or b) a "frullet" (front-mullet). Similar styles apply for females, however the female bogan frequently colours her hair auburn. The bogan bathroom usually contains a bar of multi-purpose soap used to both cleaning the family, washing the hair, styling the hair and manicures/pedicures. Whilst most non-bogans will use Eau de Toilette spray as a perfume, the most common boganistic fragrance is "Odour of Toilet". The bogan frequently rosters showers at irregular intervals such as once a week for males and twice for females.

• Distinct vocabulary. The bogan language is somewhat foreign to most English-speaking people. For example in boaglish, the word "shooting" would be pronounced as "shootun". Similarly, the word "look out" is pronounced as "look eet". The boaglish alphabet does not contain the letters "i" or "g", hence the pronunciation of words containing the suffix -ing are simply pronounced -un. Examples include "rootun" (rooting), "fishun" (fishing) and the common phrase "where's me bleep un beer woman" (what is the current location of my alcoholic beverage dearest female partner). The boaglish vocabulary is mostly limited to frequent curse-words and miss-pronunciation of common English words. A common bogan trait also includes shortening words. Locations such as the Wyong Leagues Club become the "leaguesy", the Crown Casino becomes the "leaguesy" and females/males such as Sharon/Barry become "Shaz" and "Baz".

• A particular choice in motor vehicle. The bogan usually drives one of two makes of vehicle. Typically this is either a Holden or a Ford . Common bogan variants manufactured by each of these companies include the Holden Commodore (VB-VP models), Holden Kingswood and the Ford Falcon (all models up to the recent EF). Other well known bogan vehicles include early model Datsuns and Toyotas . Bogan accessories include anything HSV/HRT for Holdens, and FPV/FTR for Fords. These vehicles tend to be more prevalent on the roads whilst the V8 supercar races are being held. Drivers often attempt to imitate in heavy traffic their heroes Skaifey (Mark Skaife) and Ambrose (Marcos Ambrose). Bogan vehicles are rarely detailed, and are serviced even less frequently. Most bogan drivers hold animosity towards imported vehicles " bleep en rice" and are still bitter that the Nissan Skyline beat the Holden and Ford racing teams at Bathurst in the early 90's. Consequently, many bogans believe their VN Commodore has the ability to beat anything with the badge "Ferrari", "Nissan", "BMW M3" or "Pagani". Click here for examples of bogan vehicles.

• Choice in music. The bogan prefers either metal or pub rock. A bogan would suggest that the song Khe Sanh by Cold Chisel would be a more appropriate national anthem than Advance Australia Fair. AC/DC is also a popular choice. Anything Barnesy. Midnight Oil is another classic example of the bogan genre.

• Employment status. The common bogan is either a) not employed or b) a tradesman/labourer. A bogan employee can be spotted kitted up in a fluorescent vest or polo shirt. Unemployed bogans often frequent RSL's/clubs for discount lunches during the day, before continuing on to the local Centrelink office to receive the hard-earned cash of the tax-paying public. This will be followed by a journey to the most convenient bottle shop ("bottlo") to purchase 2x24 cartons ("slabs") of Victoria Bitter ("Veebs") for $60. Also included in this purchase is the all-important packet of Winfield Reds ("Smokes"). The rest of this pension money is budgeted towards the "pokies" at the local pub.

• A poorly-maintained house or unit. As previously mentioned, the bogan often resides in regions of a lower socio-economic standing. Basically, in most cases the bogan is located some way inland from a coastal fringe or major waterway. In the case of Sydney, this has lead to the term "westie" being coined in order to distinguish the boganistic population of the inland western suburbs from the more affluent residents of the east. In the case of NSW/QLD and Victoria, the majority of bogans are located on or west of the Great Dividing Range. Whilst this is not always the case, it is important to note that the concentration of bogans per capita is somewhat higher in these areas. The bogan house usually consists of a number of elements (see below):

The bedroom (for rootun).
The balcony (for smokun/shootun).
The livun room (for watchun telly/smokun/gettun bleep ).
The kitchen (for storun beer).
The combined bathroom/laundry (for washun bleep ) .
The shed (for rootun/smokun/shootun/gettun bleep /storun beer/workun on the commo).
All-in-all the bogan is seen as a top bloke by his mates, but is a menace to the rest of society. Our bogan awareness campaign aims to expose the secrets of the bogan by delving into previously uncharted territory.... n bleep

AnswerID: 200958

Follow Up By: Member - Gomax (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:57

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 09:57
& they reside in boganvilleas... lol
FollowupID: 460687