CYA later(again!)

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:15
ThreadID: 38765 Views:3535 Replies:6 FollowUps:22
Going up to the Flinders Ranges in the morning for some RnR and to do a bit of mapping. Will be away until the end of the week or later.

Tell you what, after receiving all the bills(rates,phone,electricity, water,emergency services levy, etc etc) I am leaning towards going back on the road permanently. Trouble is SWMBO doesn't see eye to eye on this one. Maybe I will have to go it alone...lol

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:18

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:18
Dont forget to find me some nice places to go
AnswerID: 200576

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:23
I can find you lots of nice places to go but will you leave the comfort of Mexico(or even the Big Smoke, for that matter)...:-D
FollowupID: 459669

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:21

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:21
leaving in 1 week :D
FollowupID: 459781

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:32
Where's Hells Gate in the pic? It looks dark & mean.

What year?

Have a good'un - I think Leigh Creek had a shower last week, but its gunna look ordinary, ain't it?

RM
AnswerID: 200583

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:41

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:41
Hi Rick

Hells Gate is on Deep Well Station and it was a pass built in the late 1800's to move cattle and camels trains through. Photo taken 1993.

FollowupID: 459671

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:29

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:29
Hi Willem / Rick,

Isnt, Deep Well Station where Kurt Johanson ( transport pioneer) grew up?
One of there main jobs was watering travelling stock.

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 459789

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:49

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:49
Pesty & Willie,

I reckon Deep Well is owned by the Hayes family (as in Ooraminna homestead & Bush camp, Undoolya etc).

Here's a radio interview link which describes some of the issues they currently face there.
Site Link

I am informed that Kurt Johanssen's book/life story is very interetsing. Have you read it?

FollowupID: 459844

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:17

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:17
Yes Rick, I do have it and have read it a couple of times.
It is a good read.

"A Son of the Red Centre" by Kurt Johannsen

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 459864

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:48

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:48
Pressures of modern life getting you down again eh ? Bills, maintainance, etc etc etc.

Some of us can't always just slip away for a bit of 4wding when we want to :((

Have a good break mate, come back refreshed.
AnswerID: 200599

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:45

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:45
Yeah mate. I yearn for the days when I was travelling this great land and when the only bill I had was my Mobile Phone account. Now that SWMBO is getting into local politics the urge to get away from it all is ever so great again...LOL
FollowupID: 459723

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:10

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:10
Local politics ? Oh No ! I am going to have to stop slamming pollies and policies, and you, my friend, are going to have to learn how to behave ! LOL
FollowupID: 459738

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:17

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:17
Vote 1......Judith for Mayor....yeessssssss

You can't go away again Willem......ever.

Have to stay home and 'entertain' all the councillors -and hangers on............lol lol

-might just move up the road a tad to give you some support.....every vote counts;))))))

Michael
FollowupID: 459777

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:22

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:22
stand against her willem, then when you win, she will give up, then you quit, then back on the road... Easy plan
FollowupID: 459782

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:39

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:39
nah he'll go soft from all the perks. bound to. :)
FollowupID: 459791

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:47

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:47
Can just picture Willem in his long, fur lined (have to be cat fur) robe with a bluddy big chain of office hanging around his neck..........Oh the mind boggles....LOL LOL LOL
FollowupID: 459793

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:53

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:53
Willem would never stoop to taking bribes ....unless it was chokky, or....or...or.....
(I'll bet he's sorry now that he went away :))
FollowupID: 459795

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:29

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:29
Guess we will all cop chit when he gets back........lol

-this could all be the start of something big........Lord (or Sir) Willem has a nice sound to it:))))))))
FollowupID: 459800

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:54

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 22:54
Have fun mate, please say g'day to Stoney and Gina.
AnswerID: 200600

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:42

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:42
Will do
FollowupID: 459722

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:09

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 14:09
The real reason that he's heading that way again is so that he can sleep with Rosie again.
FollowupID: 459798

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:07

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 15:07
You aren't trying to start stories again are you Mr Lexic.
psssst, what do you know about Willem and Rosie?
FollowupID: 459806

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:29

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 16:29
Who me start malicious gossip. Me NEVER
I do know that Willem's heart pumps harder when he and Rosie are together. LOL
I can just see him now, sitting in her lap, fiddling with her knobs, embracing her curves, exploring her inner sanctions.
He may never come home again.
FollowupID: 459814

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:40

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:40
"You're a very naughty boy" Mr Lexic!!
FollowupID: 459839

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:11

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:11
OK I'm being rebuffed.
Spank Ouch
Spank Ouch
Spank Ouch
Spank Ouch
Ooooh I'm starting to like this LOL
FollowupID: 459889

Reply By: Des Lexic - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:11

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:11
"Trouble is SWMBO doesn't see eye to eye on this one. Maybe I will have to go it alone."
In you dreams young fella. SWMBO wouldn't let you go nor would you want to.
Now just go back to your kennel and be a good boy. Have a great time up there anyway. CD will be in the post tomorrow.
AnswerID: 200604

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:38

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:38
Wanna bet?
FollowupID: 459720

Reply By: Blaze - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:33

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:33
Hope you will have some good plots to send us when you return, maybe I can get Des and Mrs Des to come for a drive up there with me next year some time.

What areas you heading for Willem, maybe I shouldn't ask only make me even more envious.

Have a great trip
AnswerID: 200610

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:42

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:42
Going out to Warraweena Station and other station tracks which criss cross the Flinders
FollowupID: 459721