Air Compressors?

Submitted: Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 21:33
ThreadID: 38766 Views:11324 Replies:8 FollowUps:15

I'm looking at a new air compressor and liked the Bushranger ProAir for $250. The Bushranger brand seem to get good feedback in these archives and I thought it seemed a good unit for the money. Don't want to spend $400+ for the more popular named ones. Then I read about a new twin head from 4wdbiz1 for just under $300. Seems like a lot of compressor for the money, anyone know about these or recommendations around the $250-300 mark?

Mark.

Reply By: Emo - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:07

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:07
I think that someone is selling the Bushranger Max Air on eBay for around $300.
AnswerID: 200603

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:18

Monday, Oct 23, 2006 at 23:18
BCF are selling the MaxAir for $349.00.

The ProAir is a good compressor, I had one a few years back but sold it cos I bought a bigger bugger.

You can get the tasmanian [twin head] compressor for less than $200 on ebay if you look a bit harder. If it's not advertised, try 4X4buyerstore.
AnswerID: 200607

Reply By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:24

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:24
Hi Mark,
I bought this one by Projecta from this crowd, is it the same as you are referring to! This guy was very good to deal with and I had it the next day, the machine is awsome I and the kids use it all the time, pumps my tyres up from 10pounds to 38pounds very fast. What impressed me most was when I was unpacking the package here was a can of VB, he said it was for when I had finished using it in case I was thirsty. The guy won my heart I would recomend anyone who shouts me a beer. I think I have seen a look-a-like one ebay since slighty cheaper but I don't know if it was the same.
Wazza
AnswerID: 200619

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:25

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 06:25
Here is the link sorry
www.4wd1.com/i_tyre_pump_kit.htm
FollowupID: 459713

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:17

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 11:17
Also forgot to mention the big heavy plastic case it comes in won't fit under the seat where I used to keep my old one.
FollowupID: 459768

Follow Up By: Markymark - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:14

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:14
Cheers Wazaaaa,

Great to get 1st hand feedback, was worried no-one would know about them yet. How long have you had it mate?

Mark.
FollowupID: 459776

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:35

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:35
Mark, had quick look but can't find the receipt but it would only be about 6 months, but from experence in that time all I can say is it is awsome. When I bring it out at the beach I cop a bit from mates, I think it has something to do with "mines bigger than yours" thing, I take it as though they are jealious. Not that it is out as long as theirs, 150 ltrs per min. blows the tyres up nearly as good as the servo.
Wazza
FollowupID: 459784

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:27

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:27
Hi Wazzaaa,

Good to know that you are happy with the Typhoon. Cannot see how they can justify the price tho'

I bought one from the Adelaide 4wd show a couple of weeks ago for $180.oo, and I guess that they must have made a profit too.

Have not used it in anger yet but impressed by the specs.

Michael
FollowupID: 459824

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:56

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 18:56
Michael when I was pricing arround I saw then dearer as much as $ 379. How much are they making. Is yours a Projecta as I saw similar but no brand for less on ebay
Wazza
FollowupID: 459849

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:53

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:53
Mornin' wazzaaa,

The price reductions/fluctuations of some items do make you wonder just how much profit some people make.

I had been looking for another compressor and had given E-bay a cursory look and saw a Typhoon listed.

One of the first things that I saw at the Adelaide 4wd show was a Typhoon compressor, and yes made by Projecta.

Had not had any experience with this brand, however the show price was $170.oo (not $180.oo -just checked the invoice). Given the specifications it seemed to be a worthwhile purchase.

As you say, it comes in a really good hard carry case too, not a problem for me as it doesn't make much of a dent in the Troopy.

Tried it out when we got home and it pumped up a couple of tyres from 10psi to 35psi in a minute or two and did not raise a sweat.......

Time will tell I guess but most compressors seem to be cloned from a master one somewhere!!

BTW the company was Independant Battery Distributors based in Adelaide.

Michael
FollowupID: 459959

Reply By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:31

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 07:31
Mark,
If your looking for a compresssor that will do the simple job of re-inflating your tyres after some beach driving etc - then i would highly recommend the Bushranger Pro Air II. I've had one since they came onto the market (just on 2 years or so ) I use it nearly every second weekend .. and it hasn't missed a beat yet. .. and best part .. the RRP is $99.00.
Obviously, if you need it for more than just that re-inflating tyres .. go for the larger models, but if you want value for money then the Pro Air II will do the job fine.
P.S. It also comes with attachments for pumping up air mattresses, soccer balls etc which is handy.
AnswerID: 200623

Follow Up By: Markymark - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:18

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:18
Hey Mozza,

Are you referring to the Pro Air or the Power Air. The Power Air is $99 and Pro Air $250 according to their website. Was thinking about the smaller one early on as its had good reviews and is a great price but thought she might be too small for larger tyres. Pumping tyres is all I want it for.

Mark.
FollowupID: 459778

Follow Up By: Member - Mozza (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:08

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 13:08
Yeah sorry about that .. Power Air II is the correct model. seriously if your only using it for tyres .. it would do the job fine. personal choice in the end i guess. If you going for value for money that that would be my pick hands down.
FollowupID: 459786

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:12

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:12
I got sick of the cheap pumps failing so bit the bullet and bought a Max Air after it got some good writeups. Works pretty well.
AnswerID: 200629

Reply By: gav99x - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:16

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:16
I picked up a Bushranger Maxair from the last 4wd show (Homebush) here in Sydney for $275. It came with the good zip up carry bag and the rest of the bits and pieces. I now have it mounted under my passenger seat.
I bought it from the ARB St Peters stand. If you aren't desperate perhaps wait for the next show as if you can get it at that price, for the extra $25 I think you'll be getting way more compressor for your money.
If you are desperate though, I know ARB sell them normally for around $349, If they can go down to $275 for a show you might be able to get a better price out of them than $349.

AnswerID: 200632

Follow Up By: Markymark - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:21

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:21
G'day Gav,

I'm heading to the Melbourne 4x4 Show this weekend so I'll check them out for sure, that's a great saving to be had. Their website says a RRP of $390, you do wonder exactly what they pay for them if they can cut out $100+ at the shows.

Mark.
FollowupID: 459780

Reply By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:52

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 08:52
Mark,
Go to your nearest BIG-W. They sell an 'air max' compressor which is identical to the Bushranger max-air at only $89.00 with a two year replacement warranty.

I was a bit sceptical about buying one however I did and have had no problem with it and it works very well. Pumps out 72lt per minute and has thermal cutout to protect from overheating and also a washable air filter.
I let the tyres on my cruiser down to 10 psi and pumped them back to 35psi in less than 2 minutes.
As i said they are identical to the Bushranger ones even down to the hose, fittings and pressure gauge...........even the carry bag is the same, just different name on it. I am sure it is the same compressor just marketed differently. The two year replacement warranty (no questions asked as long as you keep your receipt) is also something to consider.

Rob
AnswerID: 200635

Follow Up By: Robin - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:11

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 09:11
Hi Rob

Got one of them myself and in timed tests it does the job as well , however its not as good in quality and in mine the plastic hose weren't as good as Bush ranger d but in terms of value for money the Big W one is a real winner espically as its no questions asked if you take it back in the first year if you don't like , and after a few uses you should no if its any good or not.

I still always carry a back up , which for me is an air transfer hose.

FollowupID: 459739

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 00:48
They come from the same factory as the Max air but do not have the same quality internal components and the Max air has a 5 year warranty.
I agree they are still good for occasional use
FollowupID: 459930

Reply By: Markymark - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:27

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 12:27
Thanks everyone for your replies. I'm off to the Melbourne 4x4 Show this weekend so I have some wheeling and dealing to do. Looks like I'll be bartering with the Bushranger/ARB guys and hopefully this 4wdbiz1 mob will be there too. Not too sure about the Max Air copies on e-bay and Big W, 4wdMonthly tested a heap last year and a lot were supposedly 'copies' but were defintely not the same in quality even though they looked nearly identical. I appreciate they probably would do the job for most of us anyway but like the idea of a proven name -rightly or wrongly.

Cheers all,

Mark.
AnswerID: 200656

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:04

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 17:04
cya there Sunday

FollowupID: 459822

Follow Up By: Markymark - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:48

Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:48
Hey Bonz what is the "BonzInc dual battery setup"?
FollowupID: 459886

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:48

Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:48
It means that its one I made uo myself with a RedArc relay and made up the leads etc myself, snagged a cheap battery tray and got someone to donate me a battery, all up less than $200 and its away, since then I have replaced the battery with a marine battery, sort of a hybrid deep cycle and starting battery, which I managed to hole before I even got it into the car, but hey thats a hole other story.

FollowupID: 460043