Chescold Fridge
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 19:24
Rocky_QLD
We have just returned from a week on Fraser Island, unfortunately our just over 3 year old Chescold decided to slow down after about 5 days, until then it had been making ice each and working perfectely. When I got back on last weekend I took the back and cleaned all the tubes and heat sinks this would solve the problem. After hooking it up to gas and getting the flame lit I waited and nothing happened, tried it on 240v and it started to cool straight a way. What the hell turn it upside down for 24 hours. Tried again this arvo,gas lights ok with a nice blue flame but still doesn't get cold. Change to 240v and almost instant cooling, latest check beginning to freeze after 2 hours. I can assure everyone it sitting on a flat surface. Any advice would be appreciated
Reply By: Barnray - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:12
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:12
I had the same problem with
mine and of all things it happened on Fraser about 10yrs ago. I tried to get it fixed at Hervey Bay but the people i sent it to did not have a great deal on experience with the fridge. When i got it back from the repairer my mate said its no good as it is you may as
well try to fix it yourself. I found that even tho i had a "good flame" it was't hot enough to do the job, i cleaned the filter in the gas thermostat and also found that the gas jet was partly blocked, this was the major problem. After reassembly the fridge worked as good as new. Give it a try if your handy or send it to a repairer. barnray
Reply By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:16
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:16
If it's working on 240V then the (internal) gas system must be intact as the 240V and 12V systems just operate electrical heaters to "mimic" the gas flame - so to speak (write :)
I can only guess that, for whatever reason, the heat from the flame is not making it to where it should be - or there is insufficient heat from the flame? Check the flue to ensure there is good flow and (clutching at straws here) try another gas refill?
Please keep us informed of your progress and eventual solution.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:51
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:51
and if it is then there is no need to turn the thing upside down or what ever....as mike says they require heat the generator...obviously gas is not putting its heat up the generator...flue must be ok if 240v is working.
there is something wrong with gas system...eg gas burner not under generator flue, no flame, flame not strong enough etc etc
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:20
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:20
its a jet thing I reckon
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:53
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 20:53
Mine did the same thing in
Alice Springs. It now spends it's days sitting beside the Bar-b-q keeping drinks cold while the Engel 40 comes on hols with us.
When I get it back to
Sydney I may take it to Gas and Electric, I think they are at Wetherill
Park but not sure. They are the best when it comes to Chescold.
Reply By: dazza0503 - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:26
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:26
Rocky,
I have had exactly the same problem with my chescold RC1180 flame perfect works on 240v and 12v slowly got warmer over weekend took it to Alternate gas and refrideration.
Just cut and paste address for you. I have no deal with them. ARNDELL
PARK Alternate Gas & Refrigeration 20 / 14 Holbeche Road 2148 02 9672 1664
Follow Up By: dazza0503 - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:31
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 21:31
Sorry, flame looks perfect on gas but couldn't keep cold. 240 and 12v still worked.
Dazza
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:55
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 07:55
I take it Rocky_QLD refers to the fact that they may be located in/near
Rockhampton, central Queensland! Should be one or two
places closer to get a servicing :-)
Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:14
Tuesday, Oct 24, 2006 at 22:14
Clean the gas jet
Follow Up By: kev.h - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:02
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:02
Ditto the flame may look good but is not hot enough If you cant find someone in rocky try Barron refrigeration in
Bundaberg they repaired
mine once
Kev
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:09
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:09
I believe the dealer for Qld is in Lawnton Brisabne ........ You could try and call them to find a service agent in Rocky. Or at least ask what the problem maybe, they were great when I took
mine in.
Reply By: Bros 1 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:30
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 10:30
Rocky_QLD,
Mine had the same problem several years back. Gas jet found to be partially blocked - cleaned - end of problem.
Bros.
Reply By: Ken S - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:41
Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 14:41
Just been through the same thing , only mistake I made was to order a new jet instead of cleaning the old one $ 97.80 . Fit a cap to the inlet on the back of the fridge to stop dirt etc getting into gas line