Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:33
squaredeal
Can anyone forsee any problems towing a 750 kg offroad camper trailer by a BA Ford
Sedan Most travelling will be on bitumen with brakes on the trailer.
Thanks for any comments
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:40
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:40
G'day, sounds like a great combination, should give you heaps of enjoyment and little trouble although I'm sure there'll be someone on the site who will have only negative comments to make. Usually is.
DIO
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:43
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 17:43
My boat and trailer is about the same weight and behind our commodore (previous car) it was a breeze to tow that weight
Regards Bob
Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:11
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:11
Hi squaredeal
My old EB would tow our 22'
Franklin c/van with ease. What you want to tow is a piece of p1ss. You worry too much mate.LOL
Follow Up By: squaredeal - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:27
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:27
Thanks mate,
I'll go and have a few more worry pills
Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:49
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 18:49
Hey, buddy
If you've got some purple ones i'll have a couple. He Ha. LOL
Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:23
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 20:23
No problems to be seen what so ever, only thing I have with
mine as my commodore is lowered by 2 inches the trailer is on a down
hill run but no probelms. Behind the lux she's dead level. But I would still make sure she's loaded correctly so it doesnt get tail happy at higher speeds.Dont forget it will probably be up around the tonne or more once loaded. Go for it enjoy Regards Steve M
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:06
Wednesday, Oct 25, 2006 at 21:06
Only issue may be if it has an auto box. Even 750KG will put added strain on it & although I'm not familiar with the BA model, on most auto's that tow a transmission cooler is added particually if heading for the hills or the tropics.
Cheers Craig..........
Reply By: ross - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:26
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:26
A couple of decades ago all nearly all caravans and boats were towed behind a car on roads that are probably worse than they are now.
Some of the older vans were pretty heavy too
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:33
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 09:33
Friend tows a 1200kg van behind a BA.
Only thing he has done is fit a cooler for the auto.
He is quite happy with it except for when he gets on steep dirt roads!
Reply By: oldmagpie2 - Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:55
Thursday, Oct 26, 2006 at 22:55
nah.cheers