Show baggers
Submitted: Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:33
Rock Crawler
Getting sick and tired of hearing people wing and wine about how bleep the show . Nothing really new , use to be great now its not.
The way I take it , was probably great the first few times you went , due to the fact that it was all new to you. It probably took you a few years to get to see everything that was there. Not sure about the majority , but I still get a big kick out going. I always seem to find that gadged that I dont need but have to have lol . I also love to see people that are just getting into
camping , running around like headless chooks wondering what to buy first .
How does everyone else feel about this topic???
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:39
Friday, Oct 27, 2006 at 23:39
Yes I know what you mean Eric.
Went to the 4WD & Adventure Show in
Adelaide a couple of weeks ago.
Enjoyed it, plenty there,
well layed out, but just couldn't justify buying anything that we really needed. We appear to have reached "saturation point".
Good day out all the same.
Follow Up By: Disco123 - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:50
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:50
Sand Man - I am seriously disappointed in you.
Since when do you need to start justifying what you "need".
If my wife reads your post I'm in serious trouble !!
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:04
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 10:04
Hey Eric, spent 4 hrs there yesterday and had a ball, could have been there another 4 but had to be home at 8, (left town at 7:15) and home at 9:32 slightly late but not in trouble at all - amazing
The show itself is pretty good I reckon
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:02
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:02
You didn't set off any circuit breakers did you? Just in case readers hadn't noticed Western Victoria has had more than it's share of power disruptions this week. Bonz may be as bald as me soon, hair torn out.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:03
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:03
hey hey hey unsubstantiated rumour and 5 different causes :(
Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:38
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:38
hey hey hey unsubstantiated rumour and 5 different causes :(.
i can think of a few.
(1)Bonz
(2)Geoff
(3)Sir-bonz-alot
thats 3 just need 2 more.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:40
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:40
(4) the Minister for Everything
(5) the goat fancier
LOLOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:56
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:56
KS of TI
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:03
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:03
Hahahahahaha Bonz. How could I have forgotten that one LOL
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:45
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 15:45
Our local
camping show is in March every year. Our club sets up a display track and members take people for a lap or two for a gold coin donation to the club.
It's how we joined the club 3 1/2 years ago.... by going around the track. We are now "veterans" of 3 more of these shows where we participate and drive people around, we see it as a great way of showing people "our" side of the 4wd debate.
We always take time out to go for a browse around the stalls... never know what we'll find there!
No, we never get tired of it, but I reckon you're right Eric about others that whinge and whine.
;-))
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:53
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:53
Well I'm excited about going tomorrow coz Al has a ute on display in the foyer...I may even take a few pics...
welcome to the DarkSide.. :)
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:59
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 16:59
Nick noticed it Lyn, I told him I was on the look out for the tall chick draped over the bonnet but he said there were some others there in painted on skirts he thought looked alright.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:06
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:06
I may drape tomorrow....I won't have anything painted on though...I don't think it'll be warm enough!
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:05
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:05
I've got a paint brush. A 4" one for the broader areas and a fine squirrel hair one for the fiddly bits. What colour paint do you want me to bring. I'll use enamal as it will keep you warmer.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:19
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 18:19
Well I'm partial to chartreuse...but I might stand out too much
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:04
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:04
I saw those blue WAECO girls I may sell the Engels
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:06
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:06
I reckon Bordeaux would flatter the curves
Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:02
Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 17:02
I used to go every year to the shows, then every 2nd, now it's every 3rd. Really there is very little new gear that you don't see in the shops & magazines so unless you're setting up a new truck & looking for show discounts there's not much point going. With costs of sites starting at over $2000 for 3 square metres, many of the small offroad business's can't afford to to go so often what you are looking for won't even be there. Shows like Wandin probably have more to offer the
recreation 4 wheel driver.
Cheers Craig...............
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:12
Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:12
What's more annoying is that people whinge about something that others don't have access to......Just be thankful that you have an opportunity to check out some new gear every now and then. Some of us live outside of areas that can benefit from a large show such as these.
It would be nice to go and check out the latest in fuel saving devices, or Mitsubishi's latest release of the Pajero, or see more than 2 different camper trailer in the same area etc