Depreciation on new vehicles a joke!

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:42
ThreadID: 38913 Views:3215 Replies:11 FollowUps:18

Looking at prices on late model vehicles , makes you wonder where its all headed! The amount some of them drop in value in the first three years , makes you wonder if its ever really worth it? Tax benefits &all the rest isn't enough to compensate any more. Paying big repair bills is know fun either, try &stay mid stream i think. My thoughts only,

Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:50
Motor vehicles were NEVER an investment - they alaways go down in value - some more than others. I think the issue centres around what you are prepared to pay in repairs etc.
AnswerID: 201471

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:32

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:32
Yeah Trekkie,

The only people that tell you they're an "investment" is the dealer.

"Sir, would you like to protect your "investment" with rust protection/paint protection/fabric protection/blah blah?" (VOMIT)

It appears if you own Australian, British/European or American they seem to depreciate more than the rest.
FollowupID: 460958

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:50

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 19:50
Hi Axle,

Not much you can do, other than dont buy the car.

Unfortunately, it is a matter of supply & demand, and there ain't a big demand for 2nd hand vehicles
AnswerID: 201472

Reply By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:29

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:29
Record new car sales= record used cars on the market, The old supply and demand...buy a 1 to 3 YO car and laugh at the poor mug who dropped 50% of his cash...you will drop maybe 25% over the next 5 years.

stefan
AnswerID: 201479

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:03

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:03
Stefan thats the thing, the guy that hands over the cold hard cash for a newie, would have to be p...ed off when only half is handed back in 2-3 yrs time.thats reality ,lease finance& all the rest is a fantansy world sometimes.

FollowupID: 460806

Follow Up By: GQ_TUFF - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:18

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:18
Its also getting to the point where they are finding it hard to shift the new ones....so what happens? they drop $5000 of the price....Then what happens? your 3 yo used car also just dropped $5000 as well.....I have never owned a newie seems alot of cash to spend on that new car smell!! LOL. I bought a 6yo GU with around $5000 worth of extras...110000 km, service history for approx 40% of new price. Plus who would really want to take their new $60000 4WD down a narrow bush track and rub up against some over hanging bushes?

Stefan
FollowupID: 460815

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:43

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:43
Never experienced a 'new vehicle' ; what is it? LOL
Going along with your reasoning, why do some people buy new and upgrade every few years? More money than sense? I'm sure someone out there will enlighten me, but the only benefit seems to be owning a vehicle in warranty. That seems a high price to pay if you never need any warranty claims.

Doing research and buying a 'near new' vehicle saves thousands of dollars. Plus you may get accessories included which don't seem to add to the value of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 201485

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:52

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 20:52
Great minds think alike!! If the budget allows it fair enough, but a lot of money can disappear!.
FollowupID: 460804

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:02

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:02
recently bought this cruiser(rigs photo)
full service history, few accessories, still got 20kms/2 years factory warranty ex Qld gov, done a few k's in a short time(NOT stop/starting) for about %60 new value WHY would you buy new !
AnswerID: 201490

Reply By: Dave198 - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:05

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:05
I have only ever bought 1 new car and it is now 4 years old and going well.
I also am of the opinion that the hard earned money is too valuable to throw away thousands driving out the showroom door. Not to mention the unbelievable stamp duty on a new car. I realise there is S/D on used as well, but not as much.
I drive a 20 Y/O turbo Sahara and have no intention of upgrading.
All the new vehicles have too many gizmos for me.
But by not buying new, you don't get all the new safety features, and I would like to have a few of the new safety features.
What price for safety?
I know we are all some of the most highly skilled drivers around, but it's the other ones out there are a bit of a worry sometimes.
AnswerID: 201491

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:41

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:41
This is an 05 model
The only safety features I have above your sahara would be airbag(which go off from time to time,blowing hands off the steering wheel in the process) and crumble zones,
4 wheel disc(not really THAT much safer)
It is only base model,but every day some one buys one NEW
I wouldn't be spending to much time missing safety features If your rig is good
FollowupID: 460823

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:45

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:45
That's a good point about safety, Dave, but it's a twisted world. If I buy a new standard cruiser I still don't get the airbags etc.

I'll stick with my '93 cruiser and rely on my skills and luck (or Murphy's Law) LOL
FollowupID: 460826

Follow Up By: Dave198 - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:54

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:54
Didn't realise that airbags were not standard equipment across the range, moreso the drivers airbag
I guess if you want airbags, you gotta get the next model with twin overhead sunvisors and flushing toilet. Only another $5K.
That shows you how much I look at a new one.
FollowupID: 460829

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 21:57
Nah........
Ya do get drivers & passenger side airbag as standard in entry level cruiser
FollowupID: 460831

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 22:31

Saturday, Oct 28, 2006 at 22:31
Shane, I did make a big assumption there; I would never imagine that the 78/79 series had 'crash pillows'.
FollowupID: 460837

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 07:47

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 07:47
I should've specifide 100series
dunno if the 78/79 has airbag
FollowupID: 460877

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 08:57

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 08:57
78/79 do not have air bags,

Geoff.

FollowupID: 460881

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 07:23

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 07:23
Hi Axle,

To throw an example into the mix, if you have a vehicle that you can claim through your business - ie tax deductable, then the only thing to consider is how much is the vehicle going to cost you each year in lease costs & maintenance.

Of course this is assuming you do not have the ability to pay cash for the vehicle.

Example 1 - New Patrol Purchase - assume $50,000 and travelling 30,000km per year

- Lease payments of $750 per month, or $9,000 per year
- Maintenance - only servicing costs of approx $700 per year
- After 4 years driving, total financial outlay is approx $39,000
- Sell the car at 4 years, get $25K - $28K trade in value, pay out lease approx$15K, so $10K cash left over.
- Therefore, true cost over 4 years is $29K, or say $7.5K per year.

Example 2 - Buy 4 year old Patrol, 120K on clock for $30,000 through dealer

- Hard to find company to carry out lease, as they say car too old.
- Finance company that will lease charge higher interest rate on vehicle, similar to personal loan rates
- Repayments on lease / loan $650 per month or $7,800 per year
- Higher maintenance costs as replacement parts are to be considered.
- Maintenance costs approx $1,500 - $2000 per year
- Sell car at 8 years for value of $15,000
- True cost over 4 years is $36 - $39K, less sale price of $15K
- Therefore true cost is between $21K - $28K depending on maintenance costs.

So you can see, the numbers are not much different, so why not go for a new car as it is tax deductable

Of course if you can pay cash for 2nd hand car, then much bigger savings using both cars, but outcome is similar.

My thoughts anyway.

TonyG

AnswerID: 201525

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:01

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:01
Hi Tony , Interesting figues, but those quoted on a lease for a newie would involve a residual at the end would'nt they?

FollowupID: 460884

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:04

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:04
Hi Axle,

Yes there is a residual, as I said above

"Sell the car at 4 years, get $25K - $28K trade in value, pay out lease approx$15K, so $10K cash left over."

TonyG
FollowupID: 460885

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:05

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:05
A personal car (not claimable) and abusiness car are two very different kettles of fish.
Did you include the price of business registration in your figures?
FollowupID: 460962

Follow Up By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:29

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 18:29
Hi Bware,

I was not trying to quote exact figures, but lets assume business rego is $200 per year extra.

This does not change the yearly figures by a great deal, and by the time it is tax deductable, not really an issue.

I was just trying to give an example, but of course each person has their own situation to consider

Tony G
FollowupID: 460970

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:15
You just have to pick the car you lease well .

Is it really worth looking at second hand for a lease vehicle , normally the money you save is the same as the fleet discount .

If you get a stock commodore or falcon like the rest of the world then it will depreciated like nothing else.

Fourbies dont seem that bad.

Glenn.
FollowupID: 461299

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:51

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:51
I agree..
I'd never buy another new car and enjoy the feeling of dropping 50% in 3 yrs.

but remember, cars are only designed to last 3-5 yrs now, thats what the "normal" turnover for the rich and stupid is...

I like the bloke that bought the Lexus 4b, and went to trade it in, in the mean time, sales of them were extinct, so Yota dropped the price of them.. You dont need me to tell u what he was offered for a trade in...
AnswerID: 201541

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 16:57

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 16:57
For a private user who cannot claim their vehicle on tax, you are spot on.

But for those who can claim a business deduction, the real cost between new and second hand is very similair ( as shown by TonyG above) and hence why people go down this route, not because they are rich and stupid but because use they use the tax system to their advantage! The tax system doesn't make the comparison between new and old a level playing field.

FollowupID: 460954

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:58

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 17:58
you are quite right .. only the stupid drive a private vehicle .. the others are rich ..
thats how I understand the rich and the stupid or was it meant differently ???
Well some merry(or not) a virgin ... some don't .. money speaks .. rofl
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 201596

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:40

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:40
WTF are you on man?
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 461017

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:13

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 21:13
Of course it's never really worth the price of a new car but don't be fooled into thinking the 2nd hand ones are any cheaper when in fact the running costs will make them conciderably dearer to run. New cars come with new batteries, new tyres & new windscreens, then also come with with a warrenty that will limit the maintenance you'll need to spend on it. Occationally one may buy a perfect vehicle 2nd hand but for the majority it's a lottery whether it will be a lemon or not. My first thought when buying a 2nd hand car is why did they get rid of it, whats wrong with it? There is often a good reason. I know if it was my 4x4 you were buying 2nd hand all polished up you would be looking at a life time of expensive maintenance :-))
For me reliability is #1 so new or as new cars suit my needs. I could think of nothing worse than spending my time fixing up an older car when I could be up the bush driving. All too often I see people not spend quite enough on their purchase only to spend heaps over the following years as the damn thing broke down.
That said the gap between old & new does seem to be growing making it harder to trade up this time.
Probably a good example is my current dud car(105 series). I've blown 3 front diffs all covered under warrenty. If I had bought it 2nd hand the repair bills could have topped $7000+! Add that together with a new set of tyres, a windscreen & a major service then all of a sudden the gap between an old & new car is not quite as big as it may seem:-)
Cheers Craig.....................
AnswerID: 201665

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:24

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 21:24
The car with the biggest depreciation is apparently the Range Rover HSE 4.6 .

New price around 140K . 2 yr old around 60K.

My mate just bought an 03 Merc with 30km that was new at 57K for 33K .

If you were after a luxury vehicle there is no way you would buy new , they dont even change body shapes like Holdens or Fords every year .

Glenn.
AnswerID: 201900