Blown engine

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:35
ThreadID: 38920 Views:3477 Replies:7 FollowUps:22
My engine is now drinking more oil than fuel. The poor thing doesn't have the get up and go that it once had. My trusty steed is gradually fading. It's getting harder to start.
Is it a Yota? A Missan ? The Camry ?
Nope
It's my Rover Rancher sit on mower !
The poor thing has done more cross country in its day than Willem. It used to sneer at tall wet grass. It's even left pieces of snake in its wake.
Alas, no more. The neighbours are starting to avoid me (they always did but I won't put that in here :) and I'm sure the council goes up the road a bit slower past my place now, trying to see if there's still a house there somwhere. (Who do those people think they are ? National Parks ?)
Just like a car or 4wd I'm faced with the old dilemma. Replace the engine or buy a new one. I'm tending towards a new one but I can buy half a 4wd for what they want.
My local lawnmower place is starting to look too prosperous, so I'll give them a miss. Maybe somewhere in Brisbane ?
Might have to settle for s/h...its the depreciation (on my wallet) :))
My father always said if it had wheels or was female it would keep you broke. (thats the polite version)
One things for sure. I get more cross country trips on the ride on than in my 4wd. Not to mention the price of fuel :))
If only I could sneak away on a decent trip I wouldn't have to listen to the jungle growing...oh well.

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:46

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:46
I had one of those trusty conveyances once. Snapped ( yes ...... SNAPPED ) an axle, destroyed various pulleys, blew up a battery, turned it into an amphibious assault vehicle when we used to have heavy rains and minor flooding, terrorised the Wood Ducks who used to delight in pooping all over the paved areas, used it to pulverize concrete collars around sewer lines, etc etc.

It had a hard life before I got to it hahahahahahaha Traded it in on a new Husky and so far I've only stuffed a battery LOL
AnswerID: 201515

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:53

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:53
Thats all very interesting, but how do you cut grass with a dog ?
FollowupID: 460868

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:12

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:12
He's a vegan :))))))
FollowupID: 460871

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:15

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:15
Do I really need to know about his personal life ? :)))))
FollowupID: 460872

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:30

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:30
I'm prepared to bring my Husky around to help with the mowing. Of course mine only cuts to a width of about 4.5"
About the width of a knobbly tyre. Mind, the cuts are quite good, it takes ages before you need to mow again.

FollowupID: 460935

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:39

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:39
Thanks, Geoff, you're a champ. Of course the Husky might just not agree, once it sees this place. Raining at the moment here, all this talk of mowers has angered the rain Gods. I can hear them from here. "Ya should have mown grass instead of using the puter. Serves ya right ."
FollowupID: 460937

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:56

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 00:56
Footy

I hope it's a 4wd mower, 'cause if it aint why are you posting here about it. :-))))

Now assuming that is the case now would be the perfect opportunity to shorten the wheelbase and cut off any overhang, fit huge competition tyres, a second motor to the winch, some plasma line and when you fix the motor triple the horsepower, twin turbos a supercharger and 4" mandrel bent exhaust should do it.

Then you can enter it in a few off road races.

I know you think I'm mad but I always regret not doing that with the old GQ. If I ever get the chance again I'll make sure I take it.

AnswerID: 201518

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:07

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:07
There's always method in my madness, Duncs. It does have 4wd , actually. Although there have been occasions where I could have used a couple of diffs instead of the solid axle construction. The turning circle is similar. And I have done some really interesting acrobatics in the past. I have the scars to prove it. Not quite as good as the bloke up the streeet who tried to kick his out of the way while it was going, but still interesting.
Saw a couple of teenagers on one on the footpath today. Thats right, they were doubling. Scary stuff.
FollowupID: 460869

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:10

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 01:10
I forgot to add.
It's actually a racing machine already.
It's a race to see if I can mow one section and do another before the first section needs mowing again !
FollowupID: 460870

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:24

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 11:24
Gee Footy, you must have had some rain where you are. I have only gave the weeds a bit of a trim here in the central west of NSW twice scince winter. Could you send some our way pleeeese
FollowupID: 460896

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:04

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:04
Madfisher, apart from Tully and FNQ, we have a very green area. When returning from trips its the first thing I say, geez its green here. Might have a lot to do with the Great Divide being a couple of k away.
Green jungle might be great for farmers, but when you spend every weekend in summer slashing and cutting it's not so hot. If I look backwards from the ride on I can see it growing behind me !
FollowupID: 460903

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:43

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:43
Now I'm not saying it's dry out my way but...............

I got my mower out the other day. Actually spotted it under all the other stuff in the shed and dug it out to see what it was.

Mower, I thought, this could be interesting. Check the fuel, it's all evaporated so I fill it up. Check the oil, it's all evaporated so I fill it up.

Press the primer button a couple of times, after reading the manual to re-familiarise myself with th operating procedures as its been a while, and pull the cord. At this point I got the shock of my life. The Mower looks up at me and says "Are you kidding", then it points at the lawn (flat area of dust surrounded by dead roses)and says "Whats the point?"

I put the mower away.

FollowupID: 461473

Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:52

Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 09:52
Duncs, I just drove to the mailbox. Checked the mail. Oops, its for next door. Its next doors box ! I really am going to have to cut the grass so I can see where everything is again. :)))
FollowupID: 461476

Reply By: Barty - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 08:15

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 08:15
Hi Footy

went through that my self a couple of years back and settled for a new one after looking at all the make s and $$$ :/ the john deer was the way for me 18 hp 42 inch cut auto stubby holder and cruise control at $3800 it was the cheapest and best bang for buck and you buy self service kits for $50 just service at home still covered by warranty

Barty
AnswerID: 201526

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:05

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:05
John Deer have a good reputation. Hmm...
FollowupID: 460904

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:27

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:27
Cruise control ? The police have radar on your place ? Wow :)))))))) Stubby holder wouldnt work here, too hilly. When I need a drink its time to have a break. Come to think of it those breaks happen a lot :)
FollowupID: 460909

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:39

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:39
Footy,
You will just have to get creative, and mount the stubby holder on a gimball or similar, so it doesn't spill.
FollowupID: 460912

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:16

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 10:16
G'day Footy,replaced mine last year Had an MTD replaced with the same brand but green & yellow this time instead of red good price i think was about the 2500$s so far good mower has some bell's & whistles bought it up here in Yatala at farm machinery place on the sevice rd just past the big PIE shop.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 201535

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:08

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:08
Mate I've been past there on the M1 three times in the last 2 weeks. I'm stsrting to get dizzy going to Brizzy :)
But I'll struggle up and take a peek. Thanks.
FollowupID: 460905

Reply By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:01

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:01
Gday Footloose, all depends on the cond. of the rest of the mower.You should be able to pick up a new briggs and stratton motor for around $1100.A good quality s/h ride on starts around $2500, sure you can get them cheaper but quality, nope.Also dont trade your old one in, ask for a better no trade price.If I was a bit closer I could do you a good deal on a John Deere ride on.
Now if you want to get the lawns mowed quickly we built up a John Deere "RACE" mower for the annual show, its got a 13hp motor and at last speedo reading we got 72kph down the main street, scary ride too.
AnswerID: 201549

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:13

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 12:13
Nick, yes unfortunately you're just a tad too far. My trailer wouldn't survive the Plenty but thanks for the thought.
73km/h ? I can easily top that...downhill with feet off everything....it's only the stopping bit that worries me :))
My place is quite slopey.The important thing is how slow can I go, not how fast.
FollowupID: 460907

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:13

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:13
Geez, you have a hard life footloose.
Wife cuts the grass here, when it grows. Mainly weeds at the moment with no rain.
And of course, when the mower needs replacing, she finds a new one to suit her.
I am normally too busy working on the 4wd getting ready for the next supposed trip to cut grass. Pity the trips don't happen as often as planned :-(.

Come on, get a life, or you too manly to let your wife cut the grass:o)).
AnswerID: 201568

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:36

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 14:36
My wife doesn't do grass. Never has, never will (although to be fair she gets the clippers out when it becomes obscene around the house). She's still recovering from serious sickness so it's not an issue. She works and pays the bills, I'm at home and trying to cobble up enough for a few trips away. But life is good at the moment :)) Until she gets well enough to go swanning around o/s and I'm left with it all to do that is :((
The 4wd is neglected at the moment. There's still red dirt in it from 6 months ago. Apart from the oil change it had the other day, its a sad case. But I'll get a round tuit.

FollowupID: 460936

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:32

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:32
Really better half likes cutting the grass.
Guess I am lucky, so I do other things to try and help aropund the place.
FollowupID: 460989

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:41

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 19:41
Oldplodder, each to his or her own I guess.
I once had a mate who was female. She could do most things a guy could, and still look good. She reckoned most of her female friends thought she was a traitor :))
Funny thing was her hubby never appreciated her, and ran off with someone more feminine. Now he has to get his own beer, find the remote and go out to work ! People are funny creatures.
FollowupID: 460993

Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:15

Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 10:15
Guys, I reckon my wife is the handiest lady arround. Change a tap washer no problem, I was going to call a plumber to rebuild toilet cistern , Sal when down to local hardware shop got all the bits and rebuilt it. Couple of years ago decided she was going to build a new dining room table, Built one from jarrah Beautiful.Mine you it might have been cheaper to just buy one by the time she brought all the tools. But she doesnt do lawns but she has a lot more patience than me. Mostly I can outfish her, But she has this knack of hooking monsters. Hooked into two double fig Brown Trout in the last couple of years, I have been trying for a 10lb plus one for 40 years
FollowupID: 461147

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:39
Footy,

Two, or maybe three, sheep......and off you go into the wild blue yonder...

-and the council can go and get nicked....

Michael
AnswerID: 201639

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:44

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:44
Michael, yes, thought about that when I first came here 20 years ago. Problem is they pull it out by the roots I'm told, leaving very little to hold the soil down during the rains we get. Anyway thats what I was told.
Next door had sheep. They had to have them shorn every while etc etc, they got rid of them. And their grazing area didnt grow much for a long time.
FollowupID: 461020

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Oct 29, 2006 at 20:56
perhaps a tethered goat??????????

-and if their grazing area doesn't grow much for a long time.......BONUS;)))
FollowupID: 461027