Engel Fridge Spring Base
Submitted: Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:44
Member - Ross (NSW)
I purchased a spring base for my 40 litre Engel several years ago but have only used it on several occasion's. I'm a little concerned that the constant rocking of the fridge I notice in my rear view mirror may be detrimental to the workings of the Engel. I'd be interested in other members opinions.
Ross!MPG:5!
Reply By: Member - Phantom (WA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:59
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 17:59
Ross,
I leave my spring base on all the time. They are very strong springs and I am sure that they work
well when pounding around on very corrugated roads.
Engel obviously approve of them also!
Reply By: N.T. Home - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:15
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 18:15
G'day mate,
like the bloke before me, I have had
mine on the base from the day I bought it (about two years ago). The only thing I would suggest is that you actually tie the fridge down so
the springs are under compression (just a bit) that way
the springs work better and there is less wobbling around. I hope thats sort of clear???
cheers timbo.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:51
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 19:51
Used
mine for a couple of years until I fitted an after market roller to assist moving the fridge around.
Now it just sits directly on the fridge slide and secured with a couple of adjustable "Rok straps" which provide a little bit of "give".
I figure the vehicle
suspension should provide enough absorption of shock and vibrations.
Reply By: honestjohn - Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:05
Monday, Oct 30, 2006 at 20:05
i have a 40litre aniversary model in the back of our patrol ute.
i've got one of those rubber mats made of recycled truck tyres,
on the tray .ihold the fridge down with 2 ocky straps been there
since i've had the fridge'no dramas
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:25
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:25
G'day,
Our 40 litre has been on it's base and switched on for approx 5years-(bought 40 litre within months of release). On recent trip to Cape, both fridge handles cracked/broke at both sides, still haven't fixed it. Did the spring base help them break??? I don't know. Not sure if I'll be keeping it though.
Matt
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:25
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 00:25
Had my 40l engel on the back of the ute for 3 years...... It is now bolted to the tray but for 2 and a half years it simply slid around...... have had no dramas, It sits proud in the rain......... goes through the car wash with no problems and always delivers an ice cold beer. I'd like to see other makes go through the hell i put the engel through
Reply By: Sign-man - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 12:09
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 12:09
Have ours rigidly fixed to fridge slide (no springs). Done squillions of corrugations over 6 years with no dramas.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 15:26
Tuesday, Oct 31, 2006 at 15:26
Even Engel reps say that with modern vehicles you don't need the spring base, maybe if you are putting the fridge in a trailer they might be needed.