ABS and brakes offroad

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 12:43
ThreadID: 39070 Views:2814 Replies:8 FollowUps:26
Just finished reading posts on here about ABS, very interesting.
Was thinking because a mate who's run offroad events for years just called in to have a cuppa and say gooday. He's just back from a "recce" up north, the Gulf anf Cape, in his new 4wd ute. Not sure of the type ( Holden ?) , but the lockable tray lets a lot of dust in :))
When I looked inside the cabin there was no dash. Apparently he's having a "ABS disable" function installed somewhere/somehow.
He narrowly missed a tree and said that in his situation his brakes were worse than useless. Apparently he had to stop in a big hurry and couldn't.
Questioned about the legality he said "I don't give a s&uff. I'd rather be alive and having to foot the bill than dead and covered by insurance"

Sometimes I'm glad when offroad that my vehicle doesn't have all the bells and whistles :))

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:02

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:02
== Apparently he had to stop in a big hurry and couldn't. ==

And just how does disabling ABS ensure that he doesn't hit that tree again?

AnswerID: 202523

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:41

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:41
Andrew I don't have any first hand experience with ABS brakes. As I understand it they allow you better control over steering in an emergency stop, but take it takes the vehicle longer to stop.
FollowupID: 462047

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:52

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:52
Andrew,
What happens is when you slam on the skids on a loose gravel surface with ABS, the ABS kicks in big time to stop the wheels from locking. It does such a good job on loose gravel that the end result is virtually NO vehicle retardation whatsoever. Can be very scary.
By disabling the ABS, in the same situation the wheels lock up and push a bow wave of gravel in front of the tyres, providing SOME stopping power.

ABS works fine on a firm surface and I for one wouldn't buy a car without it. But it can be very scary on dirt.
FollowupID: 462052

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:01

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:01
Thanks guys for the heads-up..........still can't guarantee that he wouldn't have hit the tree though ;-)

FollowupID: 462054

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:01

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:01
Quote: == Apparently he had to stop in a big hurry and couldn't. ==

Then maybe he was going to fast for the conditions.

People believe that ABS makes you bulletproof.

NEVER had any problems on dirt/gravel with my ABS . . . EVER.
FollowupID: 462055

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:09

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:09
flappa, I've heard his story from others, and the fact that he's highly experienced offroad makes me think that it might not have been him that caused the problem.
Scenero is easy to imagine, some idiot coming on the wrong side of the track around a blind bend...we've all been there and done that.
FollowupID: 462059

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:42

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:42
I totally agree with Mr Bitchi....... I have installed a simple on/off switch to by-pass my ABS.....simply replaced the fuse with an adaptor, with 2 wires leading to the switch and with an in-line fuse.

The feeling of having NO brakes on loose gravel is BLOODY SCARY!!!!!!

People (who don't know any better) say that without the ABS working you run the risk of locking the wheels up (not a good thing as you lose your ability to steer). I would MUCH rather be the master of my own destiny in this regard, thank you very much!!!!!!!!!

ABS is great on hard-packed surfaces (bitumen, concrete and dirt roads with no gravel).
FollowupID: 462074

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:23

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:23
Quote: == Apparently he had to stop in a big hurry and couldn't. ==

Then maybe he was going to fast for the conditions.

People believe that ABS makes you bulletproof.

NEVER had any problems on dirt/gravel with my ABS . . . EVER.

Couldn't have said it better myself

FollowupID: 462093

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:43

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:43
Flappa and Baz...............

Haven't you blokes ever been tootling along at a "safe" speed on a loose gravel road and

1). had a skippy jump out at you?
2). had an idiot come at you around a blind corner, all over YOUR side of the road?
3). come across a large washaway that "shouldn't be there"?

The scenarios are too numerous to list...........basically the question would have to be: haven't you ever had to do a "panic" stop?

Okay, so the operative word in my 1st sentence was "safe". You could travel everywhere at 20k/h and probably never find yourself in a panic-stop situation.

The scariest situation I found myself in was on our 1st Cape York trip. There are all these DIPs in the road. Some wag has added to each "DIP" sign with things like DIP stick; Chilli DIP etc etc.

Anyway, when I first came to a couple of these (they are deep enough to swallow a Kenworth), I slowed right down from 80k/h (what I considered to be a "safe" speed) to about 30k/h. After having done that for the 4 or 5 DIPs, and finding that they were all really smooth, I decided I was being a bit of a wus for slowing down so much.......my "cavalier-level" rose considerably and I decided I didn't need to slow down as much. Imagine the view the inside of my jocks must've had then, as they watched my sphingter valve tighten up quite considerably when I reached the top of the entry point of one of these suckers........about 20 meters above the lowest point......and about an 18" wide x 6" deep wash-away at the bottom.

Anchors away!!!!!!!!!!!

Naught happens!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BANG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lucky I'm in a Patrol and not one of those namby-pamby independant front end machines!!!!!!!!!!!

Get to the other side. Pull up. No damage (thank crikey). Pull fuse on AB bloody S!!

Make mental note to assume EVERY DIP has a similar washaway at the bottom of it!!!!

;-))
FollowupID: 462099

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:10

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:10
Quote: Haven't you blokes ever been tootling along at a "safe" speed on a loose gravel road and

1). had a skippy jump out at you?
2). had an idiot come at you around a blind corner, all over YOUR side of the road?
3). come across a large washaway that "shouldn't be there"?

The scenarios are too numerous to list...........basically the question would have to be: haven't you ever had to do a "panic" stop?

Yes . . . so what ?

I stopped ?

Still had control over the vehicle , and was able to turn.

What would you prefer ? To have all wheels locked up with NO chance of being able to do anything.

Sorry , I'll take my chances by HAVING my ABS working.
FollowupID: 462110

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:15

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:15
Your call mate.
FollowupID: 462113

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:20

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:20
Ive put a centre diff lock switch in my ABS cruiser, which disables it till next time you shut the ignition down....imagine being on the "marbles" coming up to a tee intersection and the wheels wont skid..they keep a turning....
When it does happen to the rest of you, i hope you have spare undies under the seat.
FollowupID: 462218

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:24

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 22:24
Hey Dozer, According to some of the dudes on here, the likes of you and I are prone to driving beyond the conditions if we have to brake sooooo hard that our ABS causes us any grief. You and I are on the same wave-length I reckon; until you've been there, you can't know what it feels like.....bloody scary chit!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 462222

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:05

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 08:05
And again i gotta agree with Graeme (flappa) been there done that Roachie with and without ABS, i'll keep my ABS thanks i like to be in control and ABS gives you control, aspecially with the camper on

FollowupID: 462314

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:25

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:25
Baz
I got to agree with you too...there is a place and time to disconnect ABS. Legally, it is nowhere...so you have sided on the cautious side...Toyota make their trucks in a way that you cant drive too fast to ever need the ABS...ie disconnected in low range....however, now that i have the switch, i also have brakes on corrigations and marbles.
FollowupID: 462328

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:55

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:55
Baz,

with a camper on, you of all people should want to pull the fuse. Unless the camper is electrically braked with a separate controller.
I drive offroad for work in a myriad of hire cars, 4wds etc. An mechanical override trailer will push an abs cruiser down a sand hill with the bakes on as far as you can push them, and the thing will run like it's freewheeling.
A commodore on gravel is similar - even the bloody handbrake is subject to abs!!!

We aren't talking about silly people doing silly things here.. but like the others say - until you've experienced it you won't ever know.

Manufacturers are aware of the shortcomings of this and are trying to do something about it, but offroad I want full control of the brake pedal, and abs takes that away.

Don't get me wrong - abs onroad is great, but it isn't all things to all men (and women).

C.J.
FollowupID: 462925

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:07

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:07
Not the the speed that kills - it's the SUDDEN STOP!! (ABS or NO ABS)

DIO
AnswerID: 202525

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:42

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 13:42
True, but if you can stop in time you don't have the sudden stop at the end :))
FollowupID: 462048

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:48

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:48
Ah yes that's the secret to survival. Go for a walk through any cemetery and listen carefully and see if you can hear the screams from the road accident victims as they tried to stop IN TIME!!
FollowupID: 462102

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:05

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:05
DIO, if you're hearing screams in cemetaries mate, I'd be a bit worried if I were you.

That's not what you're on about , are you.
I suspect that the same could be said for any driving situation that resulted in a fatality.

FollowupID: 462106

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:46

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 17:46
Don't mind me - seen too many fatalities, young blokes, speed, modified vehicles, thought they were indestructable/bullet proof, most of them COULDN'T STOP IN TIME they paid with their lives THEIR FAMILES ENDURE THE LOSS AND ANGUISH EVERY DAY. Just makes me sick when I hear of yet another driver, wanting to modify their vehicle - in this case disable ABS etc. What ever happened to the tried and tested survival technique when driving i.e. DRIVE WITHIN YOUR CAPABILITIES AND THAT OF THE ROAD AHEAD. Sorry to sound like I'm beating the drum (I AM) too many drivers look upon their vehicles as something to have fun in (whilst on the road). The road is NOT the place to have fun whilst driving.

There said my piece, cleared my chest.

DIO
FollowupID: 462139

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:10

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:10
Don't mind me either. I've lost people in road accidents, as have others on here.
I wasn't having a go, it's still an emotional thing for me and always will be. Sadly I'm not alone. I wouldn't want anyone else to have to suffer.
But the post was about ABS, not my background. I've already said that I know nothing about it, so the debate is informative for me.
FollowupID: 462147

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:45

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 18:45
Life is all about learning. I like the idea of learning from others mistakes although believe me I've made 1 or 3 myself over 60+ yrs. Try not to make the same one twice though.
FollowupID: 462167

Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:17

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:17
Depends on the vehicle and the way the ABS is calibrated. My son has a Nissan Pulsar and it is hopeless stopping on gravel/dirt, etc. So is our Rangie but the Subaru Liberty and Honda Accord that I used to have were both OK under normal driving conditions.

I used to race cars on the dirt and once used an ABS equipped car - not for long as the ABS fuse was pulled very quickly as I wanted to stop.

More aggressive tyres do help as the wheels do not lock up as quickly.

For the majority of drivers, ABS is great but you need to know its limitations on slippery surfaces.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 202547

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:11

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:11
spot on steve.

I drove a magna with ABS on gravel at about 30km/h. Hit the brakes and it just kept going and going and going towards a dirt embankment- scared the crap outta me because it wouldnt stop with the ABS chattering away. I went back to the same place and tried it in my 4 tonne cruiser- it pulled up in half the time even with twice the momentum. After that I pretty much refused to drive an ABS car on gravel.

A few years later I drive a 100 series with ABS down a haul road and had to hit the skids for a skippy- It felt like the cruiser pulled up as fast as my non ABS 80- I was well impressed. I dont know if thats the difference in ABS between onroad and offroad vehicles or if thats just where technology got us in those few years but Im still not sold on it. I reckon ABS on gravel sucks compared to cadence braking. On road- well, I'd have seen at least 2 pedestrians cleaned up by city drivers already if it wasnt around. It definately has a place on roads.
FollowupID: 462111

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:48

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 14:48
The moral of the story is don't bleep in drive that fast on dirt roads, comeon anyone who regularly uses dirt roads will know the dangers. You should always drive to suit the conditions, dirt roads especially. Removing ABS I think is absolutely stupid, slow down would be the better suited. If we are talking rally events on dirt roads, or competition racing with or without ABS that's ok.

I also had a friend who whinged when driving fast on snow that his ABS failed to stop him from running up the arse of his mates car in front. Well Hello was all I said to him, what can you do.
AnswerID: 202553

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:21

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 15:21
Some ABS systems only work for a short stretch of time. If you are going down a long steep hill the abs system may switch it self off and go to sleep till it resets it self. ABS is not very good when doing real tuff stuff off road but I would not be without it on a hard surface and at normal road speed. Sometimes you may want to use accelerator and brake at the same time when 4wding, ABS does not usually like this!
FollowupID: 462092

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:30

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 16:30
If you learn how to brake properly using the threshold braking method you can leave your ABSin place for both road and dirt. Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 202580

Follow Up By: ferris - Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:55

Thursday, Nov 02, 2006 at 19:55
Just thought I'd throw my two bobs worth in. I've had ABS in both work and private cars since the early 90's. On the bitumen ABS is terrific, and an excellent life saving device. I wouldn't be without it. On loose gravel and worse still mud, ABS will actually reduce the braking effort and increase the stopping distance. There have been plenty of comments here about driving too fast., but has anybody making these comments tried driving on wet red clay. It is like driving on ice. Even 20 km/h can be too fast. With ABS, as well as losing all braking, you can lose all steering as well. Under these conditions, the only pedal that provides any real control is the right one. Rob is correct in talking about the threshold method or feathering the brakes, but ABS can make that very difficult. I challenge those who have made comments about driving too fast etc., to drive on a wet gravel road and perform an emergency stop using ABS. Then take the fuse out, and use maximum braking without causing a skid. I'll bet if you've feathered your brakes properly, the stopping distance will be shorter without the ABS.
Keep the shiny side up.
Ferris
FollowupID: 462180

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:20

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 07:20
==I challenge those who have made comments about driving too fast etc., to drive on a wet gravel road and perform an emergency stop using ABS. Then take the fuse out, and use maximum braking without causing a skid. I'll bet if you've feathered your brakes properly, the stopping distance will be shorter without the ABS.==

I think the alternative viewpoint was that if you just slow down, then the stopping distance will be even shorter still.....ABS or non-ABS.

Not necessarily ideal in all cases, yet it would solve most of the problem.

FollowupID: 462297

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 00:15

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 00:15
My Advice to anyone reading this is to set aside an afternoon and get out there and experiment.

Find a nice wide bit of dirt road and then practice a few panic stops from various speeds and familiarise yourself with just how your particular vehicle handles it compared with the same on dry tarmac and maybe on wet tarmac.

I make a point of regularly doing a panic stop in various conditions to keep familiar with the way my car handles. My Prado had ABS and also has BA (Brake Assist) which many people are unfamiliar with. BA senses when you SLAM on the brakes (as opposed to a normal application of the brakes) and then automatically applies maximum braking power in association with the ABS until the vehicle is stopped or you get completely off the brake pedal.

Even if you are driving a car that is not your every day car such as a hire car or fleet vehicle it is YOUR responsibility to know the characteristics of that vehicle so you are prepared for an emergency situation.

If you CAN disable the ABS then it would be a great idea to try the practice runs with and without it on a few different surfaces just to see how it goes. If it takes a while to find suitable places to do it so be it.

Another one is tyres. I recently went from Cooper ATR's to Goodyear MTR's on the Prado and I compared panic stops on gravel roads between them. The ATRs performed pretty good and activated the ABS a fair bit but the MTR's hardly activated the ABS because they were so grippy on the gravel themselves. Reckon I pulled up quicker with the MTR's.

Go forth and familiarise! Every rig is different and will also act differently with different drivers.

Muddy
AnswerID: 202736

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:51

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 09:51
Knowing your vehicle and testing it out under varing conditions , sounds like good advice to me Muddy.

Not all ABS systems are created equal , with some not controlling all wheels but
say rather the back axle as one system.

There are clearly circumstances in which ABS does not work , and a lot more in which it does.

For me I have experienced ABS failure driving friends cars on steep loose hills and I went out of my way to get a car without ABS (manual patrol 4800).

FollowupID: 462336

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:24

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:24
I would like to contribute a slightly different slant on the ABS issue.

My vehicle doesn't have ABS and I don't need it either. I figure I have the best of both worlds.

No ABS to cause potential problems on the loose stuff.
A learned driving skill, picked up at a safety driving course where you learn to use control over the braking so that whatever the surface, be it loose gravel, or wet bitumen, of even mud to a certain extent, you apply the brake just before the point of locking the wheels up. This provides the shortest braking distance while still having full control over steering.

I have said it on here before, the Safety Driving course is the best days effort involved in learning to control a vehicle one could spend.

Muddy's statement is spot on.
Regardless of whether you have ABS or not, it pays to experiment so that you know what to expect. I have driven vehicles with ABS and one certainly gets a fright on first eperience with ABS when slamming the brakes on.
The wheels lock & release, lock and release, until you think there may be something wrong with them, whereas this is the way ABS is meant to work.

Me, I am most comfortable in an automatic, where I can use the left foot to brake and the right foot to control the accelerator.

Interesting thread Footy.

AnswerID: 202852

Reply By: GU-Nissan - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 00:40

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 00:40
I may be coming in very late in this thread, and I thought I should post my own experiences.
First 4wd 1997 Nissan Pathfinder Ti auto, came with ABS as standard. Very first off-road trip, in the Vic High Country around Pineapple Flat/King Hut area. Had been raining softly o/night after dry spell but was fine & dry by mid afternoon when i came to a medium steep entry to a river crossing entry. Track surface was damp bare clay with some medium sized rocks right at the edge of the water. I poked the nose down the slope (using 1st gear low range & no throttle) and promptly slid (that's what it felt like anyway) with no brake control whatsoever down into the water whilst banging over the rocks. Talk about scary! After several other similar moments, I decided that the ABS system should be left behind once I engaged 4wd. This involved just pulling the fuse which would illuminate a warning light on the dash, prompting me to insert the fuse again once I was back on normal roads. I even contemplated installing a switch on the transfer lever to do this automatically, but ended up selling the car.

Ross
AnswerID: 202974