What do you think of Hummer coming to Oz?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:40
ThreadID: 39130 Views:3773 Replies:15 FollowUps:11
Mate of mine told me that Holden is to bring the Hummer 4X4 to Australia about the middle of next year.
Is it a true off-roader to rival Landcruiser & Patrol
or could it be another Ford Explorer type of vehicle.
I've just had alot on an US web site and they certainly look the part.
I also noticed that they have rear leaf springs (which made me think of the Ford Explorer).
5 cylinder petrol engine too.
What do you guys think?
Cheers Loughma.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:58

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 16:58
Is that the H3 you are talking about.?
I think some one on the Sunshine Coast (Corvette Imports?) imports the H2 already.
AnswerID: 202861

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:08

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:08
I saw a Hummer on the Central Coast (Wyong) on the weekend and looking at a photo of a H3 I'd say it is thae same vehicle I saw.

Must say it (still) looked quite wide which would be a problem on a lot of tracks.

FollowupID: 462882

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:13

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:13
My guess is that it will be ones built in South Africa and should have a diesel , Who in hell would consider a petrol in a vehicle of that size

Just found this
Car maker Holden has brushed aside fears of continued high petrol prices, announcing moves to import the imposing Hummer sports utility vehicle.

The company says the midsize H3 Hummer will go on sale mid-2007, with the vehicles to be built at the General Motors plant at Port Elizabeth in South Africa.

It will initially be offered with a 3.7 litre five-cylinder petrol engine, but Holden plans to add a diesel to the range at a later date.

Site Link

AnswerID: 202868

Reply By: AusSteve - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:17

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:17
Hi Loughma, this was tried some years ago, albeit in limited numbers, with Hummers & they were a startling failure. Why, because in true 4WD application they were too wide for our tracks. If it is tried again I would be concerned at their impact on the bush as their footprint precludes them from the principle of "tread lightly" used by all responsible 4WD'ers.
AnswerID: 202869

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:20

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:20
H3 has a normal wheel track width.
FollowupID: 462443

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:18

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:18
The H3 is smaller than a Ford Territory.

Before you bash something, get some info :)

The H2 is bigger and won't fit our 4wd tracks, but so is an F100 Ford and the rest of the F series.

So you needn't be concerned any more.
FollowupID: 462665

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:20

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:20
Oh yeh I can just the anti 4x4 brigade sharpening the knives already [mongrels]but this H3 will be much smaller than the Military Version , and to answer your query about it's capability yes it will be a rival and damn good at that ,

Site Link

Doug

AnswerID: 202870

Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:23

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:23
Loughma,

I had a look at the H3 at the Melb 4x4 Show as I hadn't seen one in the flesh before. They are small compared to the Humvee and the H2. The look prado sized compare to the bigger Hummers.

As already said being only petrol may inhibit their sales but I suppose if they do sell a few they may consider a T/D engine in the future.

I just can't help thinking it will be the Holden/Suburban thing again........No sales.

Tim - Stratford.
AnswerID: 202871

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:24

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:24
The Hummer H3 is selling extremely well throughout Europe, as well as in it's "birth country", the USA.

Not as big inside as the Cruiser, or Patrol, but still a serious performer off road.

I believe the crunch will be the selling price. If it is priced at $60,000 why would you by it rather than a Prado, or Pajero.

This may be the General's only chance of getting it right, but are they up to it?
(I hope so, the Jack is getting a bit long in the "tooth" and I am pro GM Holden)

AnswerID: 202872

Follow Up By: Off-track - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:59

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 23:59
I dont think it will be a hit but should sell a small amount just for the pure looks factor...if that's what takes ya fancy.
FollowupID: 462514

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:32

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 23:32
As another happy Jack owner, I too would like to seriously consider the Hummer.

There will be a diesel which will be fitted with the 3.0 litre Isuzu engine as in the latest Rodeo, 115kw or thereabouts. Still a bit under powered I feel but will be much easier on fuel than the petrol. The diesel is already being sold in Spain and England, but will not be sold in the USA. That's because GM is still smarting over its diesel disasters of the 1960s, and most Americans won't touch them. Partly because they have had dirty diesel like us so only crude engine availablity and partly because they don't need to due to dirt cheap petrol (until recently)

The 3.7 litre petrol is way better than the 3.5 according to a poster on a US forum who had one as a loaner while his 3.5 version was being serviced for something or other.

As you say Sand Man, the big crunch will be the price GM decides to ask for it.

If the diesel manual with adventure pack comes in at $54990 I will probably buy one, since there will be nothing else available with the same transfer reduction and 33s. If they start at $60,000 for a basic one and then want to go higher for the options, it will be ridiculous. The diesel will be 3 months behind the petrol, according to one dude at the stand at the show.

The one they had at the show was an auto with adventure pack, which is not a combo available in the USA - there it's manual only for the off road version.

FollowupID: 462669

Reply By: MikeyS - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:25

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:25
I'm pretty sure it was the H3 that I got all excited about many many months ago. Checked out the Hummer website with some nifty animations on the H3's log climbing abilities. But then I checked out the specifications, and it seemed to be little different in approach, ramp over and departure angles, fording depth, general exterior dimensions etc to a Prado or similar mid size vehicle. Visually it looks like its big brother, but I'm not so sure that it's the giant killer its appearance would have you believe.
AnswerID: 202873

Reply By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:38

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 17:38
It was mentioned on radio news up here a couple of weeks ago & they said GMH were to import the mid size fuel guzzling Hummer using a staggering Wait for it 16ltrs per 100ks yes that's what she said.I just laughed as that is what some of other brands are getting now.WFC's Lol Enjoy it.
Cheer's Bob.
AnswerID: 202877

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:45

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 18:45
And we can say goodbye to the H1.
Production in the States is to finish this year.
Were selling less than 200 a month or so world wide.
Miltary version will keep going though.
AnswerID: 202899

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:05

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:05
I would go the jeep commander with the merc diesel way before a hummer, is heaps better.
Site Link
AnswerID: 202900

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:06

Friday, Nov 03, 2006 at 19:06
Well have a look at this link you may have to copy and paste the first, if that doesn't work.

http://www.hummer.com/popups/h3/h3_full_specs.pdf

Try THIS LINK

Hummer Jeep tribute

AnswerID: 202901

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:32

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 14:32
I preferred the music in the pro-Hummer video.

Jeez - they're all wallies aren't they?
FollowupID: 462593

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:56

Saturday, Nov 04, 2006 at 15:56
I reckon the average aussie would be too smart to buy them. AFAIK these things are just trading off the hummer name with a simular look in a smaller size but with nothing to back them up
AnswerID: 203050

Reply By: one4dirt - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 04:05

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 04:05
This move by Holdens is stupid.
Of all the GM available 4x4 trucks in the world why choose the Hummer. They will be lucky to reach double figures in sales per month on these gas guzzling things.
Why not bring over the GMC Yukon or the Chev Tahoe, at least something that can compete in the Large 4x4 market.
AnswerID: 203282

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:35

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:35
"Gas Guzzling" LOL Who has been Americanised now?????

I thought Australians used Petrol?????

FollowupID: 462873

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:23

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 09:23
They did and they didn't sell, remember the Holden/Chev Suburban, well the Hummer is the same vehicle, it's what the Hummer is based on, a Chev Tahoe.

Holden is hoping that this time it will sell, and if the one at the show is anything to go on, then heaven help anyone who buys one cause there ain't anywhere to put gear.
FollowupID: 462884

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:49

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 08:49
Not much :-)))
AnswerID: 203296

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:04

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:04
It's not a HUMMER .. thats a HUMMER
http://www.lynchhummer.com/New.inv.Photos.2/h2390.700.jpg

castrated piece of equipment ...

I remember the times when the 190 Mercedes came out .. a bit like that
just a small piece of something original ...

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 203310

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:06

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:06
forgot to add:

people are buying 500 sqm blocks with 1.5m distance between the wall and the fenceline now .. so it's probably in line with the trend ... roflmao

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 462895

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:12

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:12
Yes it is a HUMMER a H3 HUMMER........ yours is a H1 HUMMER, it's called going to a new model albeit not much improvement, "they still have leaf springs"

Like most american cars they are still built for the 1970s
FollowupID: 462918

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:30

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:30
sorry you missed the point ...

it was meant as : "That's a knife !!" .. understood ?

it has the name .. right .. but thats it :)) ...

its like like buying a Porsche 940 when you cannot afford a 911 ...

not that I ever said that a H1 makes sense .. or a 911 in Australia for that matter

have fun
gmd
FollowupID: 462921