Dead Kipor Generator

Submitted: Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 11:52
ThreadID: 39186 Views:8618 Replies:14 FollowUps:29
I've had a 1KVA Kipor generator for about 15 months. Up till now it has been very good and I have been an advocate of them.

Well last week, while camping at Awoonga Dam, it died. Still started first pull, but the power kept cutting out.

As it is over 12 months old, it is out of warranty. Took it to the local generator service centre and they say the inverter is stuffed. A new one will cost $595 including labour. They can sell me a new Kipor for $795.

I figure it is not worth repairing and I'm reluctant to buy another (even at that good price) as the same thing may happen again.

I originaly bought the Kipor over a Honda as it was half the price and the warranty was similar. Honda have now come down in price, plus they are offering cash back deals. Also since July this year, they are offering a 4 year warranty.

This might have been just bad luck. The best brands occasionally have duds. But with Honda's excellent rep for generators and their extended warranty, it looks like I'll have to become the owner of a new Honda pretty soon.

Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:08

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:08
15 months deserves a follow up the place of purchase....
AnswerID: 203313

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:39

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:39
I've contacted the retailer Nudie. They will 'get back to me'. At least they didn't say 'tough luck' straight off.

I won't identify them until I know what their response is.

This is similar to a recent experience I had with a Fullriver battery that died a few months out of warranty. On that occasion the retailer (Fridge and Solar) replaced it with a new one despite the warranty period being over. Great service on that occasion, but unfortunately a bit rare these days.

I can only hope.
FollowupID: 462906

Reply By: rolande- Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:43

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:43
G'Day Norm,
Unfortunately you may find the Kipor comes out of the same factory as those branded "H" and "Y". Post on another forum from an electrical engineer who has just returned from the Kipor factory in China.
You will find the inverter has been upgraded since you purchased the original - push with the reseller to at the very least get Kipor to provide a LARGE discount on a new generator
Rolande
AnswerID: 203315

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:00

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:00
even if that is the case it doesn't mean they have the same quality componentry.
FollowupID: 462997

Follow Up By: rolande- Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:11

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:11
G'Day John,
Yep, at the moment they are not quite the same, but he was assured that the difference in quality was getting smaller by the day, they predict to soon be equal in componentry, and the build quality is identical
Rolande
FollowupID: 463162

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:42

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:42
Rolande, it is a point I was making last week to someone on Chinese bikes, they are catching up quickly indeed on quality control issues. Components not there yet, but getting there like the Japanese manufacture of the late 50s early 60s.
FollowupID: 463286

Follow Up By: rolande- Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:57

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:57
Scary isn't it? Cheap labour, quality parts and on a short-track to quality build as well.

Not hard to imagine them being the No.1 world manufacturer in less than 10 years.

They are already beginning to make a mark in dairy also, something we would not have believed 10 years ago. Buy bulk milk powder from Australia / New Zealand, which we usually sell at close to cost, transform into sweetened condensed milk - sell back to Coles under the Home Brand label, straight profit!

Rolande
FollowupID: 463469

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:09

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:09
Mate, you have an interest in dairy or have you noted I have? Company I work with hasn't exported anything there as they haven't wanted to pay high enough prices. Just about to start but with cheese at good values - they need to be as they won't get it otherwise. Bit different with our Kiwi counterparts. Quit it at any price it seems.
FollowupID: 463476

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:49

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:49
G'day John,

Mutual industry? I work for the kiwi's, took over last year.

I can tell you that regardless there is no money in powder. Retail comes first, export second, what is left becomes powder.

Rolande
FollowupID: 463660

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:50

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:50
Sorry,

Should have noted, if you would like to reply off-list E-Mail address is

UHUFORREST at YAHOO dot COM dot AU

Rolande
FollowupID: 463661

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 18:17

Saturday, Nov 11, 2006 at 18:17
Have sent an email Rolande, but I have an email addy at the bottom of my rig pic if you don't get it
FollowupID: 464061

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:44

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:44
Hi Norm,

Sorry to hear of your misfortune Norm and I know it is a bit selfish of me but seeing as I’m heading up that way – how was the fishing? Catch any serious barra?

AnswerID: 203316

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:49

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:49
It was very windy when we were there Beatit. I got one at 740mm. There were a couple over a metre caught while we were there, but a few people had spent between 1 and 2 weeks without getting any.

With less wind and warmer water you might do OK.
FollowupID: 462907

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:53

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:53
Thanks Norm, will be up there later this month. Taking my dad to do the 4 dams (Monduran, Awoonga, Pete Faust and Tinaroo). We are leaving Wednesday and will really only have 1 day at each location so very little time for trial and error.

Hope the Kipor problem works out OK for you.

FollowupID: 462909

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:57

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 12:57
We learn some painfull lessons and it does not matter what it is, it is better to buy right first and avoid trying to save a few dollars which in the end only comes back to bite us...for example wether to buy warn or premier in winches...don't be a dill and buy warn of course...it also applies to fridges, aircompressors, etc etc.
I now how you feel however we don't always get it right.. I bought a toyota troopy and guess what I had to replace the gearbox and output shaft at 110k's at a cost of $6500 thanks very much (includes new clutch and rear main seal)..... then I still love it and would not swap it, it has given me a lot of pleasure...I don't think you can do this activity and it not cost you money, you have to be ready to spend money for this and for that etc.
I just bought a laptop...now I have to buy trackmaster and maps and...it goes on and don't it.( I don't really have to do anything heh heh and I am going to a 4wd show this weekend and guess what....$$$$$$....don't tell the missus..Ithink I have a problem...somebody help me...not really...I hope this helps you feel better)
AnswerID: 203318

Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:53

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 14:53
Not meaning to ruffle the feathers but..
The only GOOD generator is a DEAD generator !!
This only applies to those inconsiderants who run their gennies to all hours- to power their TVs, microwaves, hair dryers, stereos, kettles, toasters and all the other trappings of 'home' when they're out in the Great Outdoors.
AnswerID: 203327

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:24

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 15:24
You'd have to work a lot harder to ruffle my feathers Signman. In part, I agree with you.

My gennie never runs before 10.00 AM and never after 4.00PM. And then only if we are camping in the same place for more than 3 days, which is not often. It charges the deep cycle batts and the camera, laptop, boat and other batteries mostly.
FollowupID: 462931

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:28

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:28
Well I ran a 2kva Kipor to "all hours" of the night down at Boyup for the weekend (it wasn't mine I borrowed it of a relative) but I'll tell you what, in that situation it really doesn't matter as everyone is running around "yahooing" to early hours of the morning anyway and they had a big diesel lighting tower going until 2 o'clock in the morning each night. The lighting tower would have been at LEAST 500m away if not more and it still drowned out the sound of the Kipor. To tell the truth I walked off from our little camp site a couple of times to do my "business" and each time I paniced becuase I thought it had stopped for some reason. No, I just couldn't hear it! We had it about 4 meters away from where we were sitting and it didn't bother us at all (there was a group of about 10 or so of us). If we had john williams playing on the stereo we coulnd't even hear it and could still have a normal conversation!

So I think people just need to be a little careful making statements such as "the only good generator is a dead one". Personally, I don't use one, don't have the room in the car and I don't really want to have to carry ULP around when I run on diesel, seems pointless to me when I can just carry bigger batteries, but in saying that those sinewave gennies are incredible and to be honest it had be re-elvuating my choice not to have one.

I also think that one Kipor that has had an electrical component fail after 18 months is not a reason to say OH you get what you pay for, if there were 3 or 4 or more reports of that same problem, perhaps you could make that comment. Hell my supercrappy compressor fridge is still going strong it's 34c outside at the mo and it is at -1c under the back patio (where it sits while not in the car, runs 24/7) and it has been all kinds of places with us in some rough tracks airborn on sandunes etc etc etc and for $299 mate you gotta argue the point that even if it only lasts another 6 months $299 for 2 years is pretty good! Hell a smaller engel would cost me prob $1200. Even if I had to buy a new one every 2 years it'd take me 8 YEARS to make up the price of the engel! And that's if it DOES die it 6 months, who's to say it will??

FollowupID: 462941

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:29

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:29
PS I should clear up that Boyup Brook was the Harvey Dickson's rodeo, hence the all hours of the night thingo.
FollowupID: 462943

Follow Up By: cloughie - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:02

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:02
Cup Weekend,on the Murray Set up Friday at 5pm. All is great in the World. Small amount of space next to us. Come 9.30pm 3 families arrive and set up on this site. 9.45Pm 3 Generators all GMC start up to power domestic type fridges,cooktops,kettles,toasters etc. Extension cords snaking everywhere. !0.30 PM mentioned that the noise was unacceptable. Got told they had no alternative for keeping perishables and drinks cool for the weekend. 11PM Overheard mobile conversation,another 2 families still an hour away. Setting up lasts till 1.30AM. How can people be so insensitive to others that have arrived and set up early .
The whole weekend then sounded liked a 3 day episode of Kath and Kim and The Wedge combined. All washed and shampooed in the Murray. Dishes also rinsed in the river. For us a disappointing weekend to say the least.
FollowupID: 463134

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:07

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:07
1. You cannot compare the noise generated from a GMC to a honda/kipor type product, they are very very different.

2. We had fridges running off battery's so the generator could be switched off before bed, so perhaps these people you mention should be a little better prepared, not a fault of the generator.

3. What the hell does shampooing and washing dishes in the murray have to do with generators?
FollowupID: 463139

Follow Up By: cloughie - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:09

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:09
I am just commenting on that with certain generators being made available to the masses via Bunnings etc very cheaply they see it as an easy way of making camping easy to the detriment of us that are in the know about the benefits of quality equipment.The bit about washing in the Murray has nothing to do about generators but I just felt it needed mentioning to remind people of their responsibilities to the environment.
FollowupID: 463161

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 12:29

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 12:29
Not as good as the toilet tent set up on the bank next to the Murray that I saw!!

Leroy
FollowupID: 463295

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:03

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 01:03
re - environmental damage, c'mon guys, you know what to do.. take down the regos and give the bush telegraph a call, let them explain the right way to treat the environment to these numbnuts.

Ps - yeah i was invited up to the murray myself, but learnt a long time ago that any holiday time its just a magnet for imbesciles, especially jet skis and wake boats.
FollowupID: 463500

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:01

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 22:01
you can't escape the jet ski's and wake/ski boats especially when you are fishing.

Leroy
FollowupID: 463707

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:58

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 16:58
Could be the right time to invest in solar and not have all the problems you mention L0L
AnswerID: 203352

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:51

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:51
Not ready for solar yet Mainey. When we eventually move our camping habits to longe term (several days) in one place I'll certainly go solar. But I'll probably still want a gennie. I run an electric trolling motor on the boat and it would take too long to charge on solar.
FollowupID: 462993

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:29

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 12:29
Norm,
Yes, would be true if you use the battery each day you could then charge it each night between fishing trips.
Another choice is have two batteries, swapping them over each day!!
Beauty of a 'good' solar system is you don't have to set it up or connect anything to it, it sits on the roof and does it's job daily without any human intervention.

Yes, solar may have some limitations
but after using it for ten years I'm not sure what they are yet :-)
I've never used a gennie.
FollowupID: 463082

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:47

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 11:47
Yep real good if your camped somewhere for several days in cool cloudy weather,
What a load of crapp, 10 years and you have never camped under heavy cloud? WA doesnt have any cloudy weather?
Sorry I get a bit sick of these solar people who are the experts!
Reality is that yes some places are ok for solar and some need more than this can produce, so a genny is mostly the only answer.
Yes some moron's spoil it for the majority but there are thousands of considerate genny users out there.
If spending $1500 for a system to recharge your setup my money is on a decent genny, before some bulky solar panels.

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 463288

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:06

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:06
Yes, in 10 years I have not run out of battery power due to cloudy weather....

You have to remember that 'quality' solar panels will work in cloudy weather, what I'm saying they don't need direct sunshine on the panel to work.

As with all things, if you buy cheap elcrappo equipment you get the same results.

I have an agm battery bank in excess of 200a/h so I don't have to worry about lack of power for a many days, as I said I have never run out of battery power.

To read your statement "so a genny is mostly the only answer" implies to me you have never used a 'decent' solar system as I have never used a genny.

With a "quality" Solar system the power is going into the battery bank continuously during the day, replenishing the power as it is being used, remember the Engel/Waeco use about 3a/h max and a decent solar panel, (100w panel rated @ about 7a/h) puts in at least 3a/h, (a 80w panel @ 5.1a/h delivers ~2a/h) even on a cloudy day so the fridge is using about the same or less than the solar panel is putting into the battery on a cloudy day and the battery bank is being continuously recharged at the same time during the day, yes the a/h numbers are much higher on sunny days or with low white clouds.

At days end the battery is still fully charged, each morning the battery bank is re-charged because the lights and fridge etc, used just some power during the night from a fully charged battery.

FollowupID: 465403

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 17:42

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 17:42
Norm, sorry to hear of you bad luck with the Genny. Did you use it often? Occasional camping use would not add up to many hours, and it should have lasted longer. Things these days seem to die when just out of warranty, and it is often cheaper to replace and item than repair.

One of the reasons we chose the Honda over the Kipor was reputation. It also was the best one suited to run the air conditioner in the caravan; the main reason for our purchase. Another reason was noise - we used to camp (well and truly alone) with a noisy Yamaha 1 kva. When we camped at the Saw Pit camp in Vic earlier this year, one of our neighbours was using the Honda 2oi, and when in the caravan, we could barely hear it at all - i was most impressed.

While camped in free camp sites in Tasmania, some of the campers used Gennies regularly, but generally kept to sensible hours. They were noisy enough to be annoying, but i respected their right to use them in a free camp, and we could have moved on if we objected, but chose to stay. One Tasmanian was most unpopular - he seemed to be in a "2 day" free camp long term, and must have been working. He ran his noisy big Genny starting too early, and again when he got home running it a little late into the evening. Tasmanians there were embarrassed by the behavior of "one ignorant Tasmanian". Other campers who all respected the sensible hours, were angry.

With the added benefits you mention of extended warranty, and the cash back offers we are seeing now, i think you would be wise to go for the Honda.

AnswerID: 203364

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:53

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 20:53
I reckon it had 50 to 60 hours of use. That's the frustrating part. We didn't use it a lot. But when you need it, you need it.
FollowupID: 462994

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:04

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:04
Check out my post way back when....

PostID: 35773
Posted: 12 Jul 06 17:41

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 203406

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:08

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 21:08
Hi Norm,
I am taking my Dad to Awoonga in a couple of weeks. He is pushing 80 and wants to catch a Barra. We are booked into the Caravan Park at the dam for the facilities (for his comfort). Because you were using a genny I guess you were camped somewhere around the dam - can you please let me know where you stayed for future trips without the old man. I really don't want to pay the fees they charge too often. Use member email if you want. Thanks.
Mike.

AnswerID: 203408

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:21

Monday, Nov 06, 2006 at 23:21
We stayed at the Boynedale Bush camp. It was set up by the GAWB. Only facility is a hybrid toilet, but there are nice shady trees, garbage bins and fire rings. The boat ramp is just dirt and currently about 2 km from the camp ground with water being low.

It is a free camp and very good, though a bit dusty when we were there. Bit of rain since might have solved that.

Hope you are well set up with fishing gear. 50 lb braid and 80 lb twisted leaders seem to be the go if you are after the metre+ barra, particularly if casting lures around the trees.

Hope you and your dad get a barra. But be prepared for a lot of hours between fish. One guy we met had been there for 2 weeks without a fish.
FollowupID: 463026

Reply By: smort - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 06:25

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 06:25
Hi Norm

the response from the reseller may be interesting.

Suggest you dont let give up too quickly - just over twelve months is hardly an expected life for generator - even from china - it is probably where the the h brand electicals at least are souced anyway.

Your local consumer affairs and accc have just been giving apple computer a squeeze to the nether parts about their ipod poor performace and service life and have they (apple) have had a remarkable change of heart - they have also been giving LG a touch up also about similar behaviour - it may be in your interests to have a chat.

The warranty is one thing - trade practices and state sale of goods acts give rights to consumers far in excess of those provided in the so called warranties dished out by manufacturers.

With them on your case who knows?

hope this helps

smort
AnswerID: 203472

Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:52

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 08:52
Hi Norm,

Thanks for the tips. I will recce the campsite on this trip. I am making up some 80lb twisted leaders at the moment - preparation/anticipation is half the fun. There will be 4 fishing and anyone who hooks up will give the rod to Dad. Truly hope we/he is successful.

Mike.
AnswerID: 203487

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:30

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 17:30
Well, I got my answer from the retailer. I had to ring them back to get it, despite being assured they would call me. They say the can't (read won't) do anything about it. But they gave me the phone number for a person at the importer.

I guess I can now name the retailer. They are Camper Land of Ipswich. Apart from their store at Ipswich, they do a lot of web selling including eBay. I'm not sayinig they are worse than many other businesses, but with my experience, there is no good reason to buy from this business. You will do as well on price if you shop around and at least have a chance on after sales service if something goes wrong. You seem to have no chance at this business.

The business name is actually one word (C@mperland), but I've had to edit it. This site won't accept thier business name as they seem to have violated the terms of use on this site. Strike two.

This experience is dramatically different to my experience with Fridge and Solar when my AGM battery died a few months out of warranty. He gave me a new one the next day and said he would try to sort something out with the importer to recover some of his costs. That is good service and Fridge and Solar is a much smaller business than the other. I'll be back to Fridge and Solar, but not to Camper Land of Ipswich.
AnswerID: 203561

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:06

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:06
Sorry to hear about your dilemma, Norm.

The thing is, some businesses want you to come back, ie F&S. Others don't give a rats.

One point well known in marketing circles is how people report service standards. For good service, they might tell 1 or 2 friends. For poor service, they tell at least 10. And that was before the advent of the net!

The net significantly amplifies the poor side of the equeation. Lets face it, most people go to the net for help when they have a problem with something.....

Now I'd say quite a few people here are having second thoughts about buying a Kipor.

I'm getting solar on the new van, and also getting a 2Kva gen down the track. I was all but sold on a Kipor until today. Now if, lets say you wrote back and said "jeez, the importer was fantastic! They're gonna replace the inverter out of warranty as a goodwill gesture" I would have probably been even more swayed towards the Kipor.

A replacement inverter would have cost the importer bugga all. The goodwill will cost 'em heaps more! :-)

Guess what generator I'm NOT buying?

Thanks for the heads up, Norm.
FollowupID: 463158

Follow Up By: Member - John R (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:08

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:08
I meant EQUATION.

We need an edit function!
FollowupID: 463159

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:24

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 18:24
It's not over yet John. I'm dealing with the importer at the moment. Don't want to do or say anything that might prejudice those discussions. I didn't make any comment on the retailer until I had their response. I'll do the same with the importer.

Perhaps I can come back and sing the praises of the imorter and how they stand by their product!! We'll see.
FollowupID: 463164

Reply By: Craigjackaroo - Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:15

Tuesday, Nov 07, 2006 at 22:15
Hondas aren't without their prolems too.
Father in law had to pull his motor down after a couple of years of about 2 months worth of camping use. The main problem was that the ring had lost its temper and had collapsed back into the piston groove.
No other problems were encountered though.
He said after replacing the ring it literally ran better than when it was bought new.
Unit was impecably maintained for those who might think to ask the question.
AnswerID: 203615

Reply By: Sam from Weipa Auto Electrics - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:11

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:11
I had someone buy 2 kipor 1kva's and they both packed it after one fishing trip they blame it on the salt water but I dont know no warranty though and they were only a week old. we did manage to mack one go out of the 2 but it wont turn of.
AnswerID: 205416