Electronic injector pump 1kz-te specialist

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 18:56
ThreadID: 39255 Views:5711 Replies:3 FollowUps:5
Hi all i was wondering if anyone can recommend a good diesel specialist for reconditioning an electronic injector pump off a 1kz-te that is not gonna charge me out the a*# e... Alternatively does anyone have a spare or 2nd and one laying around that they would be willing to part with for a reasonable price?

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:22
Where you located ?? Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 203799

Follow Up By: Ta22Wepn - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:24

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 15:24
Hey steve,
im currently located in western sydney
FollowupID: 463598

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:14

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:14
Hi there Ta22wepn, there is one in Penrith if that is close for you. Does diesel pumps and nothing else. If you are interested please let me know and I will call in tomorrow and get his number and address. I can see the place in my head but for the life of me cant think of the street name. We had our van at work done by them and thing runs better now than it ever did. Has a good reputation apparently around our area.I personally havnt used him on the hilux but will if need be next time. Westend diesel are very good but apparently charge the earth and also will tell you one price and and charge another usually the higher end of the scale,was on here not so long ago about them doing that, but as said they are good at what they do. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 463642

Follow Up By: Ta22Wepn - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:19

Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:19
Hi Steve
Yeah penrith would be great for me as it is only about 20-30mins away. That sounds ideal as the old girl has been running like a pig with the electronics on their way out. Cheers
Regards Ian
FollowupID: 463851

Reply By: On Patrol - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:26

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 22:26
Yeh
West end diesel in Smithfield NSW or Berrima

NSW Metropolitan Wetherill Park WEST END DIESEL SERVICES
26 Davis Road
Wetherill Park NSW 2164

Ph: (02) 9757 2100
Fax: (02) 9757 2200

Or

www.berrimadiesel.com/
AnswerID: 203801

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:37

Wednesday, Nov 08, 2006 at 23:37
Ta22wepn

Please keep the forum updated on this issue, because I have been told by various people (dealers and diesel parts importer friend) that the new breed electronic pumps cannot be 'reconditioned' as such.

They are replaced with a 'new' one and the old one is sent back to the manufacturer or closest global geographic service centre, where it is 'renewed' (not reconditioned) and then goes back in to world wide stock as a 'new' part.

It will be interesting to know exactly what does go on with these items.
AnswerID: 203819

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:06

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 19:06
Hi there Lucy not sure on other models but I know the ones on the 1kz turbo hilux motors can be done. My mate works for toyota still where I use to work and he said they had a lady in last week picked a bad lot of fuel (from a local servo mind you) stuffed the pump and needed an overhaul. New pump was just on 3k, rebuild was 2.5k, not covered under warranty which is fair enough not toyota's problem that she picked up bleep ty fuel. My self personally I would have paid the extra $500 and got a newy. Cost her just a tad over 3k for the whole job. This wasnt the current shape the model before,04 model. Its a scary thing these new pumps when they go bang but I presume like most things they probably dont go bang that often. I would have freaked if I had to hand that over for a new pump. I have been told the ones for the 3.0l patrols are just on 7k for a new one, thats scary. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 463641

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:30

Thursday, Nov 09, 2006 at 23:30

I am no 'ball of knowledge' in relation to electronic pumps, just rely on what others tell me.

That JEEP service dude I mentioned was telling me a month or so ago that a JEEP owner had just filled his diesel CRD with petrol and driven it until it stopped.

No major fanfare, boom or white smoke cloud - just stopped.

Apparently the electronic fuel management is suppose to detect such a 'hiccup' however in this case, didn't, and resulted in the wizz-banger electonic Bosch pump being 'totalled'.

Only fix possible was removal of pump, fit 'new' pump, and send cactus pump back to Bosch via Chrysler-Daimler return system.

And of course drain system, flush and fill with diesel and fit new filter.

COST - No idea, but I reckon you would be talking a few four digit figures there.
FollowupID: 463731