Submitted: Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:03
Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.
Hi ,
Could anybody tell me of one of these units which apart from giving you a warning of speed cameras , warns you when approaching school zones . I guess the ultimate would be if the unit only warned you of the school zones during times that speed restrictions applied.
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:18
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:18
My UHF unit, Uniden GPS105 has the speed camera, red light camera and black spot locations though it doesn't have the School Zones. Besides that it works very
well and doubles as a GPS and
UHF radio......I've been more than happy with it....
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:46
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:46
Perhaps the best judge of speed and impending danger (in the absence of advanced technology) is still the driver who has complete control over speed and braking. Makes it all sound too simple doesn't it !
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:49
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:49
Oh, so negative.......Yes, your right though anything to help must be a good thing?
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:29
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:29
Yes but that does not save you from being booked by a speed camera does it .
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:33
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:33
No it won't if you ignore the warning it gives you? Though it will if you heed the warning.........
Follow Up By: DIO - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:07
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:07
Please excuse me if I've got it all wrong, but I thought that speed cameras were only a problem if you were caught exceeding the speed limit which in my humble opinion is breaking the law. What else is it?
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:56
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 10:56
Since when has driver interaction with the speedo, brake, steering etc been negative? I thought it was more likely to be 'creative driving'.
Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:56
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 11:56
That's actually a really good idea that wouldn't be too hard to impliment. When I used to drive on the road for work I'd be working from 8am to 6:30pm most days. Bugger me if I always new that it just happened to be between 2:30pm and 4:00pm!! I mean your consumed with your day, your work, the traffic, deadlines and you are driving through a DESERTED school zone because the kids all buggered off at 3:00pm, then you discover that it's 3:55pm and you get booked! (it's happened before for the doo gooders say that it woulnd't!).
There are lot's of school zones where there is NO school visible (main roads, some as high a 70kph zones that between certain hours of the day with no warning other than a
sign that can be either damaged, missing or just hard to see through bushes or traffic and all of a sudden with no bugger around you are expected to be doing nearly HALF that speed.
Don't get me wrong I'm all for school zones but I've always said that they should installed BIG flashing lights like they have on major intersections for the road trains that come on when the school zones are active, at least that way if you are in an umfamiliar area and between those times you have some kind of warning to slow down!
It's easy if there are mums, cars and kid's everywhere, hell regardless of school zones you are normally going real slow anyway (even less than 40kph) but it's a bit of a far cry to expect people to automatically slow down when there ain't anyone around without some kind of prompt....
I mean we are expected now days to keep one eye ball on the road and one eyeball on the speedo, I don't have any more eye balls left to keep one on my clock too!
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:41
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 12:41
Jeff ,
My sentiments exactly . I want to slow down for them , but sometimes your on a three lane 80 klm road with traffic and you don't see the
sign etc etc etc .
Willie .
Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:50
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:50
I know what you are saying Willie....close to home and I suspect you also is Epping road near the Boys college. Three lane highway and it reduces to 40 kph from 80kph. I'm happy to slow down, but put flashing lights there to assist in identifying when I need to.
If the authorities are serious about safety around schools (and I think they are!) then put flashing lights in.....I'm not sure where the disconnect happens.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:41
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:41
Landy ,
Flashing lights would solve the problem for me . A few schools in
Sydney already have them , but most do not . The one at Epping Boys as you said , is a typical example .
I actually got booked on Carlingford Road - I was doing 50 in a 40 klm school zone . I was not concentrating on the road 100% , as I was taking a phone call from my local ARB . Expensive phone call .
Cheers ,
Willie ,
Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:49
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:49
The school zones are inconsistent with their signing. Some have flashing lights, some have old geezers with flags manning them who should be helped across the road their selves and some have incospicuous signs
Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:09
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:09
My father got caught at that one last year, the crazy old bloke was doing 50 as he thought that was the speed he was supposed to be doing. My car, I wore the ticket.......
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:20
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:20
Landy,
Like your new canopy . Are the panels aluminium or steel ? What are the black things on the top at the rear ? Who made the canopy .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:48
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:48
Well I reckon the school zones should be 40kmh 24hrs a day same as in Canada. Schools are a mecca for kids theyre about the
places at all times of the day and nite, drive slow past em and be happy
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:01
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:01
Hmmm, maybe that would work in theory but it would be the same as always... All that would end up doing is Inconveniencing the people who do the right thing anyway.
I live in a school zone and the street is an older type street, hence it's quite wide, down
hill on a sweeping bend. Sometimes I find it hard to do 50kph on it as you feel like you should be going faster, 40kph is a snails pace when there is no one around. I really don't think the hoons that fly past my house at 150kph+++ are really going to give two bleep s if the
sign says 50 or 40, it'll only effect the people who do 40 when schools in/out and 50 the rest of the time. (if you get what I mean).
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:13
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:13
one will never legislate or enforce and stop the hoons, the ONLY effective thing I have found is to suck it in and wait for the inevitable BANG when the car blows up or it comes into contact with a seemingly immovable object and hope no-one is injured. Of course u can take their nop plate and mention it to crimestoppers, or see if your shiny new leatherman really will pierce rubber, most cars allow you to try it out at least 4 times and some 4b's allow u to try it 5 times. Makes a LOUD noise at 2am tho
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:23
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:23
It's suprisingly difficult to read number plates on cars that are doing 150kph!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:34
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 23:34
Jeff I find if yoou hole their radiator with some type of small to medium
bore forearm they stop rather quickly
Reply By: garthyguts - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:13
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:13
they call them the speedo it has a arrow on it to show you your speed
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:32
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 14:32
Gee Garthyguts ,
When I am looking for inane , cretinous comments , I will look you up first .
Thank you for your valuable contribution .
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:14
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 13:14
Willie,
Just let me say that I read the post about negative comments before I read this one.
I can see what you are getting at with a warning for school zones. I have often wondered how far away we are from some sort of transmiter being attached to speed signs that communicates with cars, adjusting the cruise control to the speed limit as posted on that
sign, or the same percentage margin above or below the speed limit that the driver has set the cruise control to. These devices could be fitted with a timer so as to take into consideration the various times that these zones are operating.
I am not yet ready for a situation in which something outside the vehicle has any form of control of that vehicle. I agree with Dio to the extent that ultimately the driver must remain reponsible for what the vehicle does. I can see the court case now "It's not my fault the technology should have slowed me down!!" However, reliable technology which will assist drivers must be employed to help improve both vehicle and pedestrian safety,ABS and Traction Control are accepted examples of this. I recently watched a program about a device which monitors the drivers eyes and warns when they are blinking too slowly, a sure
sign of
driver fatigue, bring it on I say.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:00
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:00
I'm all for large flashing lights at the point of the speed
sign. It will attract your attention and your speed can be adjusted appropriately, thus achieving the desired outcome.
The problem I see with a warning device inside the vehicle is that it will draw your attention from outside the vehicle to the inside to ascertain why the GPS (or other device) is flashing.
If it was a voice activated message than that might be a better outcome.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:20
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:20
LOL C'mon bro !!! Have'nt you got enough gadgets/doodads on that truck of yours yet ?
Good to see you're back and did'nt get lost in the Land of the Limey hahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:33
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:33
Hi Brother,
How have you been ? Done any trips in my absence ?
I got booked by a speed camera in a school zone two months ago . I was driving along and did not notice the
sign . I need an audible warning .
Six weeks of eating out has turned me into a porker and I have started an urgently needed diet .
It was interesting looking at the 4WDs that were popular over there . Most of England was dominated by Landrovers except in the SE where there was a hell of a lot of Nissan Navaras . In Ireland the Prado reigned supreme .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:46
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 15:46
Willie,
Unfortunately no trips on the horizon till March :(((((
Are you able to add POIs to your current Magellan system? I've added heaps of speed/redlight cameras (most states) to an old PDA I have running OziCE which seems to work
well enough with an audible warning that scares the ---- out of me LOL
School zones are a separate issue, unfortunately, although I am looking at this to see if I can sort something out along those lines. I don't have the $$$s available for one of the fancy all singing and dancing gizmos so I'll see if I can cobble up something useful at zero cost :)))))))))
Good to hear you had a great time.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:44
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:44
Al ,
Where are you going in March ? I am going to the Vic Highlands in Feb and the
Kimberley in June ( I hope )
My problem is that few of my friends are retired , and it's boring going by yourself .
Cheers ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:48
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 16:48
Al ,
I forgot to answer you about my Magellan . It has no beeper or buzzer in it even if I was as clever as you and could program all the positions into it .
I was going to buy one of those "Road Angel" type jobbies .
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:18
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:18
Willie,
Now that I have finished the edging and SWMBO is appeased (for a millisecond or so) I can get back to matters of global concern LOL
We will finally get out to Mungo NP (and others) in the South West in March. Will also use the trip for a 'try before you buy' exercise on a camper trailer. Don't know which one yet. Still dizzy from shows, brochures and searches on CTs on this site and others.
Planning on attending the EO gathering at Warraweena in July, annual hunting trip in August and a wedding in Qld in September. That lot should see me through 2007.
The Road Angel seems a good enough unit as long as it is regularly updated. I don't know if it has a calendar/clock function to account for differing School Zone times and dates to cover the different holiday periods in NSW schools let alone interstate.
I've been able to load the School Zones file from the link above into Oziexplorer but it seems restricted to the eastern suburbs and inner city areas. Looks like I'll have to add quite a few manually from my normal travel
routes.
Now, the subject of 'clever'. If I'm that clever, how is it that you do all the roaming/travelling and I'm stuck at home 99.9% of the time? I think I know who the 'clever' one is hahahahahahaha
Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:02
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:02
I think they are called a road angle or something like that from memory, there’s also the Bell NZ/AU Radar detector, which can’t be detected buy the Authorities He he he.
A. 410 out the window as you drive buy on the other hand would be a device to dispose of speed cameras LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:14
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 17:14
There was a big speed camera on a pole in Padstow and for many years it sported a number of bullet scars . Do you live in Padstow Exploder !!
Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:10
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 18:10
No LOL, and that’s Irresponsible, Funny but irresponsible.
Ff it were me it wouldn’t have been scared, it would off been Blown apart.
Thou I have never been booked buy a speed camera, I still don’t like em for a few reasons, it’s not worth a criminal record and a few other charges just to stick one up em thou, I would be more of the tape up the number plate and drive throe flipping it the bird cinder guy LOL
Reply By: HJ60-2H - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:32
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 19:32
This sort of feature (safety camera alert for fixed speed and red light cameras) is built into the version of Co-Pilot that I run in my PDA. Unfortunately in
Sydney there are so many warnings announced by the device that you are effectively always looking for the "safety camera" as it is always going off
For me there are so many about that I ignore the co-pilot device ( have now actually turned this feature off) and keep my eyes open as usual. Would be different situation in different areas I am sure.
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:52
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 20:52
DEstinator and TomTom have the feature, and I use proximity waypoints on my
GPS for the Geelong rd speed cameras basically cause when the traffic gets to them it slows down, and daft old me moves to the right lane and accelerates past the "slow" traffic under the camera at an encess speed almost 5kmh OVER the posted limit, I am such a irrresponsible driver, anyhoo, now wheren the traffic slows the
GPS has just told me why and I sit and grumble and
search for the .410 mentioned above
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:48
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 21:48
Thanks Bonz - I will Google them both.
Willie.
Reply By: WDR - Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:35
Friday, Nov 10, 2006 at 22:35
I use a recorder in the car for business and I have programmed it to play a message at 2.30 and then each half hour until 4.00pm. Cheap but helps a little.
Mobilr phones normally have alarms if a recorder is not available
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:15
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:15
WDR ,
That is an excellent idea if you are
on the road everyday . Somebody should market a gadget that does that .
Thanks ,
Willie .
Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:18
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:18
THANKS EVERYONE FOR YOUR ANSWERS . IT LOOKS LAS THOUGH NOBODY INCLUDES A WARNING FOR SCHOOL ZONES IN THEIR DEVICES ( UNLESS THEY HAVE A FIXED SPEED CAMERA ) .
I WILL HAVE TO MARK THEM AS I ENCOUNTER THEM AND BUILD UP MY OWN INFO.
WILLIE
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:27
Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 12:27
Willie,
As per my previous post , the file I've got has over 200 school zones (mostly eastern/southern subs
Sydney). You could load it to Ozi and pick the eyes out of it depending on where you are likely to travel.
Send me an MM if you're interested.
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:59
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:59
AL ,
Sorry it took a while to answer . I am having a new kitchen put in and there are lots of problems .
I have nothing to put the files into yet and if I did , would I have the know-how ?
Also I live at Epping which is in the north west - the opposite direction to the areas you have covered .
I wonder why they can give you some areas and not others . Odd .
Thanks a lot ,
Willie .
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:49
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:49
Willie,
No worries Bro. I guess it just depends on who is collecting the info and where they're based or travel. I'll just add to it as I go along.